Plan to buy a NEW / USED car?, ASK HERE for recommendation.
apersaje
Oct 5 2013, 10:57 PM

I'm currently having thoughts about these models below. Any thought from sifu zenix?
1. Skoda Octavia (2006-2007) 1.6/1.8 (A) 2. Peugeot 307 (2003/05) 1.6 (A)
My concerns are mostly about reliability and maintenance. I understand if it would be slightly higher since they're continental cars but I would like to have a baseline on that.
On top of that, any other recommendation for continental cars around the same price/year tag?
This post has been edited by apersaje: Oct 5 2013, 10:58 PM
apersaje
Oct 7 2013, 04:13 PM

Thanks for the comprehensive explanation sifu zenix. Earlier I considered the pug because my pug enthusiast friend racun me many times bout getting a pug. After I came across your post a few pages back and digging aroudn some info, found out about the Octavia. There's even a facebook group for it. Too bad only one Mk2 model up for sale currently but it's been targeted by one group member and it's out of my budget range of around 30k. There's also another Mk2 for sale but SW version. Since the new model has been launched, is it possible that more existing (tho small number) existing Skoda owner gonna let go their Octavia? This post has been edited by apersaje: Oct 7 2013, 04:18 PM
apersaje
Oct 8 2013, 03:39 PM

QUOTE(zenix @ Oct 8 2013, 03:34 PM) I've been chatting with an owner of a Skota Octavia L&K yesterday. As the conversation went on it seems like unless you're playing original there aren't many stockist for parts in Malaysia, he is mostly getting stuff either from chop shops or Singapore. His next plan is to link up with some suppliers in China to bring in OEM or original stuff from there since it is 20-25% cheaper than parts sold here. I've been told the current model there is one unit which is new and unsold but it is the 1600cc model, you're interested to buy, the price is about RM60k. Oh, seems that guy is really pushing the Skoda brand, going as far as bringing in spare parts from China. 60k for a new MK2? Very very tempting but that's too far from my initial budget. BTW, seems like u're a conti enthusiast. Wonder what machine you drive.