Plan to buy a NEW / USED car?, ASK HERE for recommendation.

adamw
post Apr 3 2010, 12:05 PM

Back to serve justice to those PKHKC corrupted Ex-ministers!
3,355 posts

1. Brand : Any
2. Budget : <65K
3. New/Used/Unreg : Used
4. Specs : 2L or below
5. Transmission : Prefer Auto
6. NA or FI : NA
7. Type : MPV 7 seater with luggage space
8. Remarks :FC is very important (Don't like Avanza, Unser, Exora or Alza becos after seating 7 people dunno where to put the luggage?)

This post has been edited by adamw: Apr 4 2010, 09:01 PM
adamw
post Apr 4 2010, 09:04 PM

3,355 posts

QUOTE(alcatrez @ Apr 4 2010, 08:29 PM)

Bro,

More than RM65k? I'm assuming t is below RM 65k.

Have you considered putting the luggage on the roof? How big is the luggage?

I think if the luggage is big, it will be very difficult.
Yes, you are right should be below 65K. Have consder Citra & Nabira but both also fuel guzzler! I think it's tough too so most probably will just go for a normal 5 seater sedan.
adamw
post Apr 5 2010, 10:16 AM

3,355 posts

QUOTE(ajay67 @ Apr 5 2010, 09:36 AM)
adamw, the question u need to ask is do u really need 7 seats to fully occupy? most MPV don't have big luggage space because normally not all 7 seats are occupied, i'm driving 7-seater too. my std configuration for family jalan2 is 6 seats occupied. then one seat at back row is flattened inside the floor to create big luggage space. enough for my balik kg needs. i hv tried roof box for one holiday (borrow from friend) but i don like it very much. too difficult to put things in there
Yes, have consider that option but notice some MPV like Alza the last seat cannot be folded individually. So either you sit 5 & fold the whole back row or you sit 6 with luggage on the seat.
adamw
post Apr 5 2010, 02:24 PM

3,355 posts

QUOTE(ajay67 @ Apr 5 2010, 11:33 AM)
then look for mpv that can fold individually  smile.gif
Know of any but must also be within my budget & FC is important as well?
adamw
post Apr 6 2010, 08:21 AM

3,355 posts

QUOTE(alcatrez @ Apr 5 2010, 07:13 PM)
How badly are you going to use all the space in the MPV?

If it is just 3 times a year (ie. Chinese new year, raya and Deepavali), then it is not worth while to get an MPV just for these holidays.

If you use it at least 5 days a week (school days), yes! Get one.

But like me, when i had my first new born, i was driving the savvy. We travelled light. Then, at my kampung (not actually in a kampung area), with the money i saved from buying a bigger car, i bought new clothes, diapers, walker etc..... But i sold my savvy coz the maintenance is high. What i'm trying to say is, do you need really all that space?
Most probably on weekends & school & public holidays only.
adamw
post Apr 6 2010, 06:01 PM

3,355 posts

QUOTE(ajay67 @ Apr 6 2010, 03:33 PM)
most are 1.8 & higher & body weight is of course heavier than normal car. hence u can't expect FC like normal car. try to increase yr budget & get a nissan lumina
Thanks but cannot find any details on this "nissan lumina"? Even on Google!
adamw
post Apr 7 2010, 09:54 AM

3,355 posts

Oh, that was my 1st choice actually but after through searching & also actual viewing the size is a bit small. If there's 2nd hand I don't mind! But now I might just take a risk with the B-Line Exora 1.6M. New car, MPV within my budget, in fact lower! What do you think?
adamw
post Apr 8 2010, 12:38 AM

3,355 posts

QUOTE(ajay67 @ Apr 7 2010, 04:14 PM)
good choice.. eventhough it is a bit under-powered but for most situation it should be fine. not so sure about FC though. u might check the exora thread for that
Test drive the Exora auto & it's really underpower so the B-Line being manual should be fine! But now am thinking, is the ABS/EBD necessary? The passenger airbag I know is a good thing but I can save RM7K if I take the B-Line instead of the M-Line. Can the airbag or ABS/EBD be retrofitted later? What about the cost?
adamw
post Apr 9 2010, 02:23 PM

3,355 posts

QUOTE(iambenyap @ Apr 9 2010, 12:58 PM)
don't compromise on safety. abs/ebd comes standard with almost all make/models in europe these days.

there's no price to safety. you hope you never have to use the features but you'd sure want them to be there if ever you need to rely on it for any situation
That's my final conclusion also.
adamw
post Apr 9 2010, 02:56 PM

3,355 posts

QUOTE(ajay67 @ Apr 9 2010, 02:32 PM)
no idea.. that's why i said IF
After I Google it last time, it's possible but also depends on the model/brand of the car & not for the faint hearted.

0.1089sec    0.91    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 05:54 AM