Plan to buy a NEW / USED car?, ASK HERE for recommendation.

T_flash
post Apr 5 2013, 02:14 AM

274 posts

Dear Zenix,

If I am willing to spend less than 55k for a non-local or non-korean car. What is my best bet??? Toyota Vios???

Kinda wish for a 1.8 engine, and low mileage...not sure if it's realistic?

This post has been edited by T_flash: Apr 5 2013, 02:35 AM
T_flash
post Apr 5 2013, 04:06 PM

274 posts

QUOTE(zenix @ Apr 5 2013, 10:21 AM)
Oic, so targeting a car worth 60k then put deposit of 20k or target 80k car with 20k deposit?  brows.gif
that's too bad, i thought it was still in production.
you can check with HQ to see if they got any cars left.
that's how i tracked down the last Ford Focus TDCI after they stop selling it officially.
a friend of mine even told me yesterday he found the last new mazda mps for sale from mazda.
that would've been horrible!  doh.gif
Cefiro A31 is very old, more than 10 years. Such cars are not loanable.
Nope, cannot pass loan without salary slip. Normally case like yourself get your parents/elder siblings to process the loan for you then you only service the loan.
No you cannot poslaju a car from east to west malaysia.
2007 VW Polo - this is yesteryear's Polo, the one before the twincharger engine, this one is the one with MPI engine. older tech but did you know that the current Polo sedan is using a similar engine but instead of 1400cc is a 1600cc? Styling wise it looks like a Merc with the two round lights at the front and kinda like a Myvi at the rear. It doesn't look that great IMHO but its a solid german engineered car. Parts wise shouldn't be an issue since VW Malaysia did sold this Polo before but not sure if its identical part-for-part since this is an import model not from VW Malaysia. At least body panels are available.

2012 Pug 207 - this could be a lemon coz it is suspiciously low and just a 2012 car, unless its a repo car normally people won't sell their cars within a year the losses are massive. However, do go to the dealer and have a look, it looks like a good deal if its not a con.

2010 Hyundai Elantra - looks like a good car, low mileage, young, and with leather seats, and in stock condition. Do make sure to check the car card that its been service properly and serviced at SC as the owner stated, if not you could probably nego abit more discount.

2007 Ford Focus - personally for me this is the car to get, it has the looks, the handling, the engine - 2000cc as nothing replaces displacement, and rear aircond vents. Only bad mark is the high mileage, however, this model is usually around this price so you could find others in better condition at around the same price  nod.gif

2007 Mitsubishi Colt R - among all in this round-up this is probably the fastest car and rarest car, rarity means that if something goes wrong with the engine/gearbox it is either going to be costly to replace or wait for halfcut from Japan, body panels are not a worry since there is a similar model that was sold here by Mitsubishi without the turbo. Even its trouble free its really a nice powerful car. At the time this model should be 4/5 star ncap but you gotta check the car when you see it in the metal if it has only 2 airbags or more.

2007 Toyota Altis 1.8 - the most safest choice of all shown here. cheap to buy cheap to maintain.
Thanks for your reply. How's Peugeot 207? there is another one on mudah

http://www.mudah.my/Peugeot+207+SV+A+-20858148.htm

It looks like an even less mileage and for less, or did I miss something??? Why are people all selling them after short time?? What is the brand new one's price??

I've driven my brother's focus for a while before, loves the handling, very bad fuel consumption though, and not very good turning radius. My dream car would actually be the new mondeo tdci or aecoboost..but It's not available, and much over my budget

This post has been edited by T_flash: Apr 5 2013, 11:56 PM
T_flash
post Sep 30 2013, 10:16 PM

274 posts

Sifu Zenix,

I would like a new Mazda 6 2.5, but I'm really not sure if spending 185k on it is a better choice or spend 100k on a second hand car is wiser. If buying this C200K you've mentioned before, is it a better choice?
T_flash
post Oct 2 2013, 07:41 PM

274 posts

QUOTE(zenix @ Oct 2 2013, 10:58 AM)
2007 Merc C200K W204 - if I'm going to buy a D-segment car of course for RM170k I can get the lower spec Honda Accord, Toyota Camry, Mazda 6, Pug 408, etc. however I think my money would be better spent buying a recon W204 because firstly first appearances matter alot, when meeting people and you're driving one of the cars I mentioned above they'll treat you differently than say you're driving a BMW or Merc -- that's why MLM guys always brainwash people by telling their downlines they're "successful" because they drive a BMW/Merc. Secondly, when not talking about parts from the service center the parts are quite affordable -- there are many stockist for Merc which sells OEM/compatible/recon parts so maintenance and parts are quite cheap in the context of a conti but its still going to cost you around the same as maintaining a Camry/Accord. Thirdly, safety equipment and spec would be on-par exceeding that of top-spec Japanese D-segment cars with things such as airbags, traction control, etc. standard.

If you're really interested in the W204 you should get more information at Mercedes-Benz C-Class W204 Forum.

W204 - Buying guide

2013 Suzuki Kizashi 2.4 SDLX - for the price you cannot find any new D-segment cars for sale in Malaysia with better specs and safety features. Just how safe? Below are a few video's to compare. Now the only issue you'll face is the dealership woes as there aren't alot of dealerships and service centers around for this brand, parts price and availability could be an issue because of its rarity, resale value is unknown at the moment but if it becomes desirable later on its resale value will rise (it could rise because people want a safe car but not willing to buy new because their budget not more than RM100k?).

Suzuki Kizashi

BMW 3-Series F30

Merc C-Class W204

2013 Mazda 6

2013 Toyota Camry

Sifu Zenix, what's the differences between elegance and avantgarde (just sporty look?)?? and k and non k c200(which engine is more reliable?)??
Is C200K the best model to get for w204??? or the newer model C200??

This post has been edited by T_flash: Oct 2 2013, 11:35 PM
T_flash
post Oct 12 2013, 11:58 PM

274 posts

Sifu Zenix, is it an illusion or is the cabin size of c200 really smaller than the new Mazda 6???? Still trying to decide between getting an used 204 for 160k or new Mazda 6...
T_flash
post Oct 17 2013, 12:15 AM

274 posts

QUOTE(zenix @ Oct 16 2013, 05:03 PM)
Why not?
You can also get a 2010/2009 VW Golf TSI for that price.
Limited service centers is hampering its growth.
RM160k only gets you a mid-spec Mazda6.
RM160k gets you a mid-spec to high-spec C200 depending on the seller/year made.

Prestige: Merc
Power: Merc
Reliability: Merc
Maintenance: Merc

What's the reason for choosing the Mazda6?
The looks? Or because it is new?
For the looks and technology might as well buy a 2013 Suzuki Kizashi which is just as rare and expensive to maintain but has much better safety features.
Thanks Sifu Zenix for the reply. I have been in the new Mazda 6, and W204 at the showroom. The only concern I have is that the cabin size in W204 feels bit cramped while Mazda 6 is quite spacious for the front and back, except the roof is bit low for the back. Is the cabin size really bigger in Mazda 6??

0.1120sec    1.37    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 03:36 PM