Plan to buy a NEW / USED car?, ASK HERE for recommendation.

ExpZero
post Nov 17 2009, 12:46 PM

1,522 posts

Hi, I'm 22 years old and looking for my first car with budget around 30k-60k auto, planning to use it for maybe 5-10years(of course if suddenly kena toto then it's different story tongue.gif ), the following is the brand & car in my mind.

1)Perodua Myvi Ezi. RM47k
2)Toyota Vios E(2004) Top mark selling RM56k (I think can get around 52k)
3)Honda City (Second hand) around RM50k
4)Saga blm M-line - RM41k
5)Viva Elite 1l, - RM38k

I test drive the myvi, vios, saga and viva(never have opportunity to test drive honda city)
Myvi
I feel the performance is quite ok, but it's too common on road sad.gif

Vios
I feel that the performance is around the same with myvi, just that the engine is more silent, a little bit more spacious. Comfortable wise, it's roughly the same with myvi.

Saga blm
The performance is not really good, the car tend to pickup slower than my expectation, I can't imagine what if it's 10 years old later. Not really like the design and the car engine.

Viva
Actually I think that viva is not bad, but I'm doubt that because of its size and it's not "very suitable" for highway drive, because many people tell me that if a lorry passby you, your viva will feel like "floating".

My question:
1)Will Vios maintenance more than myvi by a lot? Since it's not national car(thus the replacement part will be more expensive) and it's older car.
2)How is 5 years old vios fuel consumption compare to New Myvi?
3)Please recommend me if I missed out any decent car that is within my budget.
4)Is it ok to buy car at end of year or wait until next year january? Since I'll not utilize the car until my next year school started.

My preference:
1)Fuel consumption is a main factor since I foreseen I'll travel quite a lot on highway.
2)Hatchback or sedan is not really my concern since I'm single.
3)Maintenance fees is also one of the main factor.(maybe RM500 per year, I'm not sure since this will be my first car)
ExpZero
post Nov 17 2009, 06:42 PM

1,522 posts

QUOTE(victor87 @ Nov 17 2009, 03:04 PM)
My answer:
1) It's a Toyota, maintenance should be less than Myvi. Replacement part will be slightly expensive than a National made.. Not much different for me.
2) I'm not sure about the FC on a VIOS. But a full tank on a MT Myvi can give u 400KM +, an AT give u less mileage (around 350 or less).. But i think VIOS can fetch u a good FC than a Myvi, it has the VVTI technology which can help to save fuel. And it has higher engine displacement than a Myvi, give you more power @ lower rpm compared to MYVI.
3) I think those are the best choice within your budget.
4) I'll prefer to buy a car at the end of year, because car price drops every month/years.

Answer to your preferences:
1) Honda City IDSI give u the lowest FC compare to those on your list.
2) When it's the time, you'll realize that Sedan is far more better than a hatchback. (More spacious, can carry more luggage/thingy, much more stable?)
3) You should prepare at least 1k for a year maintenance fee. IF comes to replace those tyres, you'll definitely needs more than that.
I can't find decent Honda City and I heard Honda City have high maintenance fees for its gearbox.

QUOTE(travis_ckf @ Nov 17 2009, 04:38 PM)
Hmm if u dont mind keeping more than 5-7 years, u wont lose much on resale value although both these cars has poorer resale value compared to perodua or japanese made.

Good thing to buy car now is u will get splendid discounts for end of yr stock. Wont be a concern if u keeping ur car for long. Inokom is actually a decent brand in mysia brand.
FC as main concern, I can think either the vios or city. If u looking for a lower maintainence car, safest best is the vios. The vios has better FC and power than the myvi and its reliable as well.
Thanks for your input biggrin.gif

QUOTE(iluvena @ Nov 17 2009, 05:57 PM)
not just tyres, insurance and roadtax also.

plus, if frequently travel, prepare more on maintenance. coz the mileage will increase faster
May I know roughly how much the different between Myvi and Vios for insurance and roadtax per year?
ExpZero
post Nov 19 2009, 07:31 PM

1,522 posts

QUOTE(acefrost_88 @ Nov 19 2009, 01:56 AM)
Bro,my advice go n get a used car here..
a friend of mine just sold a 5 series around 40k
with d tax costing n stuff,its price r not longer reasonable.
here is my friend no,call him n consult bout the car
see wether he can get a better price
he is an ap car dealer(mostly BMW)
do ask him if got inquiries
he might even get u a 318i 4 a great price
mention dat eddy gave u his no

Added on November 19, 2009, 2:06 am
wahlaw...ur budget 50k still wan 2 buy a tin milo(viva) r?
vios is ok la only sumtimes a bit rough la(costy)..
im helping a friend dat sells cars
do giv me a call for recommendation
got a few cars dat i cn show u dat might suite ur taste
Budget 50k doesn't means that I have to use all the money, I still can save the money up for future usage.

The car I'll pick will be based on the overall performance and not the value of the car.
ExpZero
post Nov 19 2009, 11:34 PM

1,522 posts

Guys, besides the cars I mentioned above, my brother who working in Toyota get an offer for 2 years Toyota Prius(Demo Hybrid Car) at RM94k, the car will register under my name as first owner, should I take it as financial is not a big problem for me.
ExpZero
post Nov 20 2009, 12:06 PM

1,522 posts

QUOTE(victor87 @ Nov 20 2009, 01:39 AM)
I don't have any experienced on this car before, but it's rated as ULEV.

Why not request for a test drive?? But i thought u're looking for a better overall performance car?? 110hp might disappoint you.  laugh.gif
Pardon me, but what suggestion / advice are you looking for? Since you already decided on what to get.
Hehe, cannot test drive as it's a demo car and they kept it inside garage I think. Thanks for your advise.

QUOTE(travis_ckf @ Nov 20 2009, 11:20 AM)
U just pick the honda city so I have nothing much to comment here. Just get the 04-06 ones and choose either u want economy (idsi) or performance (vtec). Just test drive and check if the gearbox and engine are alright.
Is that the new Prius 1.8cc one? If its the 1.5cc one (previous gen), avoid as it was never released in mysia before.
U asking whether to go for saga or new city? Well it all boils down to ur budget. But if possible, try to come out with ur own money and dont rely on parents much on something which will depreciate. Go for the saga then.
I think it's 1.5cc, well I think I'll leave it alone then..
ExpZero
post Nov 22 2009, 07:47 PM

1,522 posts

Hi, today after the whole day of outing, I have 3 vios in my mind which need you guys recommendation.

A) Vios E 2004
mileage: 100k
Price : 53,800
seller: topmark
Remarks:
-Interior a little bit old.
-minor accident at the front which repaired.
-Low interest rate, 2.88%
-Top mark repair, polish all.
-1 year chasis and gear box warranty.
-Got a little bit sound at break when I drive.

B) Vios E 2006
mileage: 80k
Price: 55,500
seller: direct owner
Remarks:
-Interior ok.
-I don't like the "green black" colour.
-No major accident, the buyer fix those minor accident.

C) Vios E 2007
mileage: 133k
Price: 56,500
seller: direct owner
-The interior still got "new smell" and good.
-Test drove the car, it's just same as other car mentioned above even it's 133k mileage. I only test drive at short distance, less than 60km/h.
-No major accident, the buyer fix those minor accident for me.

I bold the disadvantage of the car above. Any advise you guys can give me? smile.gif

Btw, Which and what bank can get the best interest rate in case I buy from direct owner?

This post has been edited by ExpZero: Nov 22 2009, 07:52 PM
ExpZero
post Nov 22 2009, 09:11 PM

1,522 posts

QUOTE(victor87 @ Nov 22 2009, 08:41 PM)
Quite hard to decide la sleep.gif

If you're worry anything bad happens for the first year, go for the option A which comes with 1 Year warranty.

If you're looking for lower mileage wan, then go for the green black color VIOS (option B).. You can always respray the car after getting it.

I wouldn't go for the 133k mileage with 56k price tag... But if u're good with the "new smell" then go for it lor.. laugh.gif

All 3 cars above also met into accident before?? IF three of them also has minor accident, go for the option B lorr...

Let's see what travis would say...  smile.gif
Critics against Option A:
Option A car have accident until the "rangka" inside the car is bent and it can be seen that they repaired it. Option B and C do not have any bent over the "rangka", but only got scratches and minor accident at outside. I not really like because it's quite old from interior looks and do not have the new smell biggrin.gif

Critics against Option B:
I don't like respray because my brother and father do respray their paint and the paint looks "old" very fast(within 3 years). sad.gif it previous owner is own by indian and I don't like the indian smell(not racist or anything, just my preference). The car "rangka" never repair.

Critics against Option C:
The mileage is too high, his kid "conteng" all the interior with pen, but the owner said this will be clean under his cost. When I drive, the rpm tend to quite high even I only step a little. The car "rangka" never rapair.
I know the mileage for Option C is very high but I like the car more due to it's free from minor accident and the car looks well maintain over the others, (even the mileage is the highest), the owner shows me all his record with toyota SC. He changed new tyre and done major service this car 1 month before raya(he is malay). The price is kinda low for 2007 car.

anyone know which bank can get lowest interest rate for my case?
ExpZero
post Nov 24 2009, 10:45 AM

1,522 posts

QUOTE(dengwong @ Nov 23 2009, 05:30 PM)
My sis is 26 years old and looking for her working car (also same as me, sales ppl) with budget around 50K++, the following is the brand & car in her mind.

2nd hand
Toyota Vios G spec (2004)
Honda City VTEC (2004)
Nissan Sentra 1.6 (2004/05)

New
Proton persona 1.6 M/H-Line (manual/AT)

Remarks: Auto/Manual is doesn’t matter for her as long as SAVE OIL.

She did not consider about proton saga blm & myvi, since both cars are too common & under power for her. ( as what she told me tongue.gif)

As what we always consider is FC, performace,maintenance cost…etc. she travels a lot in Highway & City, sometimes even outstation…a reliable car is very important for her… nanti d car break down suddenly she also don’t know how especially kat outstation… rclxub.gif

Previously she was thinking to buy viva 660 by cash so that can jimat interest.  But end up she had changed her mind & increase budget for her next ride. Coz viva 660 is under power for her blush.gif
Please advice this lady. With little money but demand a lot sweat.gif . Thanks smile.gif
As you know I'm also hunting for second hand vios but fuel consumption is not as low as you imagine. I survey around the vios thread and I found that with current price of fuel, RM50 = 350-400km(depends on your driving style). While my saga auto(1992) can get RM50=300-330km. If you are a sales person and want to have very low fuel consumption, maybe get a new car and install NGV. I heard it can reach RM50 = 1000km.
ExpZero
post Aug 11 2012, 11:25 PM

1,522 posts

1. Brand: any
2. Budget : 100k-150k
3. New/Used/Unreg : New
4. Specs : Full
5. Transmission : Auto
6. NA or FI : -
7. Type : hybrid preferance
8. Remarks : insurance agent, need car for do sales.
ExpZero
post Aug 12 2012, 11:00 PM

1,522 posts

QUOTE(FollowMeRogerThat @ Aug 12 2012, 12:24 AM)
Cr-Z? If no problem with not using backseats
Need to fetch agent sometimes, now thinking of Lexus ct200h hmm.gif
ExpZero
post Aug 13 2012, 11:41 PM

1,522 posts

QUOTE(FollowMeRogerThat @ Aug 13 2012, 03:24 PM)

Added on August 13, 2012, 3:32 pm

Got a quote already for ct200h? Thought it's above 150k at least.

How about Civic Hybrid or Prius? Although the looks can be the decisive factor, at least for me.

I want the Cr-Z but need at least a possible-to-sit backseats even if 2-door
Ya, ct200h is 170k, not much different from our initial budget. I bought the new civic hybrid already, now my gf thinking another hybrid. She just made up her mind for the Lexus ct200h nod.gif

I was Crz lover, but she disagree with my decision cuz we have to fetch ppl sweat.gif

0.1135sec    0.47    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 10:09 AM