Plan to buy a NEW / USED car?, ASK HERE for recommendation.

Aurora Boreali
post Feb 22 2010, 01:21 PM

470 posts

Ok, I'm looking to buy a car in several months, so I'm starting to do some research.

I have 3 type of cars in mind:
1. Peroduo Kelisa (A) Used. 2005-06. Scouted price: around RM 25k.
2. Honda City i-DSi (A) Used. 2004. Scouted price: around RM 48k.
3. Perodua Myvi (A) Brand New. Price: I heard it's around 48k?

The reason why I shortlisted the Kelisa, it would be because of the affordability. I don't have to burdened myself with huge car loan and can pay it off faster. I would probably use this car for a shorter term, maybe 5 years before buying a better car.

However, I'm also thinking of getting a more reliable car for longer use, perhaps up to 10 years before I consider changing to a better car.
I'm considering a brand new Perodua Myvi or a used Japanese car (Honda or Toyota) for this reason. I'm torn between a brand new car (Myvi comes into mind. I don't think I want a Proton) with my 50k max budget, or a used Japanese Car (Honda City comes into mind).
So what should I go for if I want decide to pay more? Brand new Myvi or used City? The downside of this is the 23-25k price difference compared to used Kelisa. This means bigger car loan and longer payment period. It can be quite a burden.

So, can anyone give me any advice? In addition to that:
i) How is the maintenance like for these 3 cars? Which one would be low maintenance and cost me less generally, and in the long run?
ii) I skimmed through this thread and read about the supposed "Honda gearbox problem". What is this? Does it affect 2004 City?
iii) How do I check the engine when buying a used car? I mean, I'm really a noob when it comes to car stuff.
iv) Any other suggestion for a max 50k budget to buy a reliable car that can serve me well for 10 years at least?

Additional info: I will probably travel a lot from house to work within Klang Valley area.

I'd appreciate it if my questions are answered!

This post has been edited by Aurora Boreali: Feb 22 2010, 01:24 PM
Aurora Boreali
post Feb 23 2010, 01:11 PM

470 posts

Any Kancil users here? Is a year 2003, 67k mileage Kancil any good? It's 10k cheaper than a Kelisa of the same year. Both are auto transmission.

Better still if anyone can tell me if there's any significant advantage of a Kelisa/ downside of a Kancil that justifies the 10k price different.
Aurora Boreali
post Feb 23 2010, 07:56 PM

470 posts

Thanks heaps! smile.gif
Aurora Boreali
post Mar 21 2010, 10:32 AM

470 posts

What do you guys think of a 1997 Honda City? Will it be a time bomb waiting to break down since it's an old car?

0.0240sec    1.10    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 12:17 PM