Enquiries/Recommendations Buying new laptop? Need RECOMMENDATION?, PLEASE POST IT HERE !!! V5
cain
Nov 21 2009, 12:03 AM
Budget: <RM5k (might consider up to RM6k, depending on the specs) Usage: Some video editing, medium gaming, heavy multi-tasking (at least 4GB RAM, hence 64-bit Windows 7 is a must) Optical disc drive 14 ~ 15" LED backlit screen (13.3" are popular nowadays, but watching movies on the screen strains my eyes!)
I was looking at some CULVs, Envy 15, Acer Aspire 4810, ASUS UL80VT... Love Dell XPS 16's specs, but weight is a bit on the heavy side.
Going to US next fall. Wondering whether college students really lug around their laptops that much? If not i'd much rather go for performance rather than light-weights. I'm using an old T43 Thinkpad at the moment. At 2.3kg, i find that i get bruises on my shoulders on the few occasions i bring it to college. So basically my i'm torn between performance and weight. So should i go for the XPS 16?
This post has been edited by cain: Nov 21 2009, 12:09 AM
cain
Nov 21 2009, 12:49 AM
Thanks for the quick replies. I see that all of you guys recommend the SXPS 16. I did notice BenQ S57 but couldn't find any in-depth reviews of it. Btw, since i'm not a hardcore gamer, i'm guessing the i7 would be better than the dual core for me? Added on November 21, 2009, 12:59 amQUOTE(LokiD.d.G @ Nov 21 2009, 12:16 AM) The Sager NP8862 I bolded is a good choice. You can even get it at the States and enjoy the warranty there. Will all the gaming rigs recommendations, i'm actually reconsidering my choices a bit. Maybe i should go for a less powerful one so i won't be able to play the reaallly tempting games. My way of self-control: buying less powerful gaming rigs This post has been edited by cain: Nov 21 2009, 12:59 AM
cain
Nov 21 2009, 12:46 PM
QUOTE(penembak88 @ Nov 21 2009, 12:25 PM) 1. Brand. Dun care, as it comply with my specs and budget it is ok. (except benq)What's wrong with BenQ?
cain
Nov 21 2009, 01:51 PM
QUOTE(Fantasia @ Nov 21 2009, 01:32 PM) i doubt u can get envy 15 with ur budget...i think CULV cannot support ur needs Ooops ya, just realized Envy 15 is ~RM9k
cain
Nov 21 2009, 04:52 PM
lee, i just got an offer for Lenovo Y550-i7 WIN7HP 5902-6685 RM4799 CORE i7-720 /3MB/ 1333MHz / 4GB DDR3/ 500GB / DVDRW / NVIDIA GT240 1GB / 15.6"WXGA / BT / CAM / WIFI / CARD READER / WIN7HP
Looks pretty sleek. Seeing as you're a staunch supporter of the SXPS 16, any thoughts?
cain
Nov 21 2009, 05:04 PM
QUOTE(lee_what2004 @ Nov 21 2009, 04:53 PM) well, yeah that a good one, but you lose the onsite warranty from dell, and smaller resolution compared to sxps 16 to be cheaper rm 200. Just shot a PM to the person who offer me the Y550 asking about the warranty. Gotta read more on Dell's warranty too cuz i'm leaving for US next year so local warranties would not suffice. Smaller resolution would affect much? This post has been edited by cain: Nov 21 2009, 05:05 PM
cain
Nov 21 2009, 05:15 PM
Actually i wanted to buy over there. Plus later will have newer and maybe better choices. But couldn't convince my dad. Got any numbers on the "better offer and price"? Cuz my dad wants to deduct from income tax this year. I told him it's better to get it there but he wants me to get it by the end of this year
cain
Nov 21 2009, 05:33 PM
QUOTE(lee_what2004 @ Nov 21 2009, 05:17 PM) well, on there you can get coupons and such, like hp dv6t with i7 & gt230m for $999, or even last week, lenovo g550, comes with nvidia gt240m just for $580. can check here for deals everyday http://slickdeals.net/or try to look for hp coupon, which usually can cut couple hundred dollars. example: http://www.logichp.com/2009/11/16/deal-of-...-pavilion-dv7t/Thanks. Just got a reply for the Y550 offer. Can extend warranty to 3 yrs from Lenovo too. So warranty is not the issue here. I can live with the smaller resolution too. Cannot understand why my dad insists on buying it this year. Can't her deduct from next yr's income tax  ? If really have to buy in M'sia, cost aside, Y550 or SXPS 16? The Y550 is kinda new so i couldn't find any reviews. What about the GC? Which one better?
cain
Nov 21 2009, 05:42 PM
QUOTE(lee_what2004 @ Nov 21 2009, 05:39 PM) is the 3 years warranty is international? well, gt240m and hd4670 is comparable, but gt240m got physx, while hd4670 is slight better. y550 is not really new, but less user bought it. the rest is really subjective, the notebook style, resolution. Will have to check with Lenovo about that. Thanks for the very useful insights  Now it's down to these 2 for me, for now, at least  Added on November 21, 2009, 6:13 pmApparently there is a limited international warranty from Lenovo's website... http://consumersupport.lenovo.com/en/htmls...1210303937.html Added on November 21, 2009, 6:28 pmAnd btw, the Y550 with i7 is relatively new i'd say http://gizmodo.com/5390146/y550-laptop-len...-core-i7-insideThis post has been edited by cain: Nov 21 2009, 06:28 PM
cain
Nov 22 2009, 01:44 PM
I just realized the SXPS 16 i7 comes with the 9-cell battery. Does that mean that if i don't get an additional 6-cell battery and swap it myself, i'm gonna have to live with the larger 9-cell which protrudes at the back of the laptop? At least with the 6-cell battery it's flat.
cain
Nov 22 2009, 02:50 PM
QUOTE(Eugene91 @ Nov 22 2009, 02:35 PM) With flat one ur getting urself bad ventilation for your laptop(at least with abit rise at the back got ventilation  ).. Its an i7 man.. 9-cell is a must to feed its hunger  But aesthetic-wise not so nice lor with the 9-cell...