Bi-amping: how many ways to go about doing it?, need sifu's advice

TSsaprozeldo
post Oct 18 2009, 11:55 AM, updated 17y ago

113 posts

Hello..

i have front speakers that allows bi-wiring.. tried it before.. thought of doing bi-amping.. successful for stereo system but not for 5.1 system..

on stereo setup, really unable to distinguish the differentiation of bi-amping or bi-wiring.. any comments?

on the 5.1 failed setup is as follows,
source->avr(preamp output)->poweramp->speaker(top input) & avr(bi-amp output)->speaker(lower input).. didnt work, AVR error said "pls check speaker cable"..

also thought of using my subwoofer to replace "avr(bi-amp output)".. after the above failure, realised what a noobie i am, better seek advise first..

so, any advices sifus?
SiriuslyCold
post Oct 18 2009, 12:23 PM

1,976 posts

Assuming the starting point is this

AVR -> speaker inputs (bridge between hi and lo terminals on speaker is on)

why not first try just using the power amp on its own for the front pair?

AVR pre-out -> power amp -> speaker inputs (bridge on)

to see if that works, and if you like the sound better than the AVR on its own?

mpyw
post Oct 18 2009, 05:46 PM

3,603 posts

u need to check if you have enable your AVR's bi-amp (or disable zone 2/surround back speakers)

The 1800 can either go for 5.1 (with Zone 2 or bi-amp) or 7.1 without the bi-amp ability....but with the amp power of the 1800, I doubt it will improve anything using bi-amp or not as all power came from the same amp i.e. reduce power of other channel when more channel are being driven.
TSsaprozeldo
post Oct 19 2009, 02:16 PM

113 posts

QUOTE(SiriuslyCold @ Oct 18 2009, 12:23 PM)
Assuming the starting point is this

AVR -> speaker inputs (bridge between hi and lo terminals on speaker is on)

why not first try just using the power amp on its own for the front pair?

AVR pre-out -> power amp -> speaker inputs (bridge on)

to see if that works, and if you like the sound better than the AVR on its own?
yup.. tried bi-wired and also tried single wire with bridge on.. didnt feel much difference.. question, re d single wire with bridge, how does the speaker separate the high & the low signals?

QUOTE(mpyw @ Oct 18 2009, 05:46 PM)
u need to check if you have enable your AVR's bi-amp (or disable zone 2/surround back speakers)

The 1800 can either go for 5.1 (with Zone 2 or bi-amp) or 7.1 without the bi-amp ability....but with the amp power of the 1800, I doubt it will improve anything using bi-amp or not as all power came from the same amp i.e. reduce power of other channel when more channel are being driven.
bro michael, where to enable d bi-amp? in trying to bi-amp in my crazy mind, i thought to send high signals was via power amp (not via rxv1800) but to send low signals via rxv1800 bi-amp speaker output..

i agree there is no point bi-amping from rxv1800 as both share same power..

so, conclusion is that you cannot bi-amp from two different source (ie PA2400 & RXV1800), right?
mpyw
post Oct 19 2009, 02:31 PM

3,603 posts

QUOTE(saprozeldo @ Oct 19 2009, 02:16 PM)
yup.. tried bi-wired and also tried single wire with bridge on.. didnt feel much difference.. question, re d single wire with bridge, how does the speaker separate the high & the low signals?
bro michael, where to enable d bi-amp? in trying to bi-amp in my crazy mind, i thought to send high signals was via power amp (not via rxv1800) but to send low signals via rxv1800 bi-amp speaker output..

i agree there is no point bi-amping from rxv1800 as both share same power..
so, conclusion is that you cannot bi-amp from two different source (ie PA2400 & RXV1800), right?
i think it's possible...

Try this

AVR L/R RCA out -> HK -> L/R Spekers Low
AVR Back surround (using 5.1 setting i.e. set your speaker config as 5.1 with back surr as none, on how to ask the AVR to sent the power as bi-amp, read the manual) -> L/R speakers hi connector.....
TSsaprozeldo
post Oct 19 2009, 02:37 PM

113 posts

QUOTE(mpyw @ Oct 19 2009, 02:31 PM)
i think it's possible...

Try this

AVR L/R RCA out -> HK -> L/R Spekers Low
AVR Back surround (using 5.1 setting i.e. set your speaker config as 5.1 with back surr as none, on how to ask the AVR to sent the power as bi-amp, read the manual) -> L/R speakers hi connector.....
ok thanks bro.. will try tonite..

mpyw
post Oct 19 2009, 03:38 PM

3,603 posts

QUOTE(saprozeldo @ Oct 19 2009, 02:37 PM)
ok thanks bro.. will try tonite..
REMEMBER to remove the metal connector between your speaker's hi-Lo hor....else sweat.gif oops.gif moneyflies.gif
TSsaprozeldo
post Oct 20 2009, 01:13 PM

113 posts

QUOTE(mpyw @ Oct 19 2009, 03:38 PM)
REMEMBER to remove the metal connector between your speaker's hi-Lo hor....else sweat.gif  oops.gif  moneyflies.gif
hmm.. received interesting feedback from axiom experts.. see below..

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Delighted to hear you have your M80s. There is no advantage to "bi-amping" in a domestic home theater setup, so just leave the gold links in place and connect your H/K pa2400 to the M80s using your speaker cables. Axiom only includes the "bi-amping/bi-wiring" terminals as a nod to some audiophiles who mistakenly believe that bi-wiring or bi-amping actually makes an audible difference (it doesn't). Besides, it's not true bi-amping. The latter has advantages in huge outdoor rock concerts and big stadium sound and involves an outboard electronic crossover plus sets of amplifiers for tweeters, midranges and bass drivers.

Using the M80s, the default crossover is 80 Hz or lower. Some prefer 60 Hz, others 40 Hz. It depends on your setup and personal preferences as to how much bass you like. Using 100 Hz is too high---deep bass from a subwoofer may become directional if you use higher than 80 Hz.

Regards,
Alan Lofft

0.0159sec    1.67    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 02:06 PM