CLOSED

anfieldude
post Oct 23 2009, 06:13 PM

3,858 posts

QUOTE(sam240 @ Oct 23 2009, 06:08 PM)
oh...so far, plasma are better way if compare with LCD tv, how about LED TV? which one is much better black level and contrast?
Based on measured data, plasma's still have the upper hand compared to latest gen LED backlit displays. Its getting closer but still plasmas hold the edge for ANSI contrast and simultaneous contrast. With that the contrast ratios are still better on plasmas.
anfieldude
post Oct 23 2009, 06:46 PM

3,858 posts

QUOTE(ar188 @ Oct 23 2009, 06:29 PM)
latest gen LED backlight also got many types, RGB white or phosphor white type..
also need to see if got local dimming and how many zone.. at least 512-1024 zone would be ideal.. not simple 64zone type..
True. I believe that unless they can go to one to one pixel, it will be difficult to get the contrast ratios close to plasma. RGB vs white does not do too much in terms of contrast but improvement in colour accuracy. However, I think LCDs have come a very long way and I think they will close the gap within the next 2 years.
anfieldude
post Oct 23 2009, 06:50 PM

3,858 posts

QUOTE(richard912 @ Oct 23 2009, 06:48 PM)
Alas even when the gap is closed, pricing will not. I expect the pricing gap between plasma and LCD/LED would be bigger by that time
Only one question remains, will plasma last that long to find out? If Panasonic pulls the plug, its the end...I dread thinking of that day.
anfieldude
post Oct 26 2009, 01:16 PM

3,858 posts

QUOTE(daryl.k @ Oct 26 2009, 01:08 PM)
panny's Plasma TVs are still selling quite well right? dun see why they should pull the plugs...if anyone shud, it will be sammy...not saying sammy's plasma tv is bad, just i think the market share of plasma tv is lead by panny...in contrast, not too sure, but i think panny's LCD line aint that popular...so all the more reason for them to maintain Plasma tv production....

and, i did remember reading sumwhere, Pioneer will source plasma panels from panny in future am i right? does it mean pioneer will still come out with Kuro's? or its dead completely?

Kuro is still the Plasma TV to beat...if its not for the outrageous price tag on a FHD Kuro....
errrr...downlight can be switched off right? why not install light dimmer? watch movie with full lights dun give the kick la...must be dark & dimmed...then only got cinema feel marrr...
Pioneer has pulled out of the market.
anfieldude
post Oct 28 2009, 09:59 PM

3,858 posts

QUOTE(klang-valley @ Oct 28 2009, 09:12 PM)
I have been told plasma will suffer burn-in effect if turn ON too long, but not LCD.
Turn on too long will not cause burn in. Chances of burn in increase with viewing of bright static images for long periods of time.
anfieldude
post Nov 6 2009, 10:59 AM

3,858 posts

QUOTE(ar188 @ Nov 6 2009, 10:14 AM)
oppo owners should have this test disc.. anfield!..  biggrin.gif

but the moving resolution wedge could also be found in other test disc..
Yup, its a pretty good test disc.

There is especially one test there for chroma multiburst that was surprising. Apparently, there are a lot of displays/BD players that fail this test.
anfieldude
post Nov 6 2009, 11:36 AM

3,858 posts

QUOTE(ar188 @ Nov 6 2009, 11:27 AM)
is that related to chroma upsampling bug thing?
They have another pattern for that. This one tests the bandwidth of the chroma channels. I have seen quite a few players fail this, also displays.
anfieldude
post Nov 6 2009, 04:49 PM

3,858 posts

QUOTE(jodi @ Nov 6 2009, 04:42 PM)
I'm looking for a birthday present for my dad.

Need some advices with regards to some plasma... been researching but the terms are just too confusing.

Size : 42 - 50"
Resolution : Full HD / HD Ready
Distance from TV: 15 feet
Price : 4.5k

Purpose will be for Astro 70%, 10% Karaoke, 10% Wii and 10% link to PC to watch online movies or surf net ONLY.

Basically only looking for Panny models.  Would appreciate if someone could tell me where to buy in Ipoh.
Any suggestions?
50PX10 is in ur price range. Shd be good for your needs. I do not know where in Ipoh u can get it. PM commontan as they might deliver. from Penang/KL.
anfieldude
post Nov 6 2009, 05:12 PM

3,858 posts

QUOTE(jodi @ Nov 6 2009, 05:11 PM)
This is for LG model?
Sorry, Panasonic.
anfieldude
post Nov 7 2009, 10:01 AM

3,858 posts

QUOTE(jodi @ Nov 6 2009, 10:53 PM)
Thanks for th info.... I went to SenQ and they are selling 50" for RM5699....  huh!!!!  expensive and over budget....
As I said, the price is about RM4500 only. PM commontan and see if they can deliver to Ipoh.
anfieldude
post Nov 7 2009, 10:07 AM

3,858 posts

QUOTE(dannyw @ Nov 7 2009, 09:24 AM)
Now the price for TH-L37X15K and 42X10K is about the same. Which means 37' LCD is near to the 42' Plasma price.
Of course in term of money value, plasma will be great, but since same price only can get 37' LCD with 100 Hz, does it mean LCD is better?
No. It all depends on panel yields at the factory. At larger sizes plasmas are cheaper to manufacture than LCDs. To make small size plasmas is not cheap, hence the smallest size plasma was 42in. Panasonic and LG used to make plasmas at 37 and 32 in but it was not cost effective.

32 - 37in LCD panels are the sweet spot in the manufacturing plants, thats why the prices are so low. The panel maufacturers are also improving the yields at 40in > however its still not too cheap yet.

It has nothing to do with being better, its all about cost to manufacture.
anfieldude
post Nov 7 2009, 04:34 PM

3,858 posts

QUOTE(Lone*Wolf @ Nov 7 2009, 12:42 PM)
towkay, while u r at this, wanna ask why Pana S10 standby light is 'on' for sometime even the main switch is turned off?  mebbe stupid question but i am comparing with my older CRTs and LCDs, which doesnt do this.
There are large capacitors in there, it takes time to discharge. Part of the power supply circuit I think.
anfieldude
post Nov 19 2009, 11:10 AM

3,858 posts

QUOTE(htkaki @ Nov 18 2009, 11:32 PM)
Pioneer MY is clearing its KRP500 now with freebie. One of the best display panel if not the best (price tag too  sweat.gif )
Whats the freebie?
anfieldude
post Nov 19 2009, 01:23 PM

3,858 posts

QUOTE(htkaki @ Nov 19 2009, 12:36 PM)
RRP: RM13,999 comes with free HDMI cable and stand. 5 yrs warranty too. Still, elite price tag meant for elite Chew. *cabut*
Price dropped quite a bit. Do u know if there are limited units left?
anfieldude
post Nov 19 2009, 06:40 PM

3,858 posts

QUOTE(chewkl @ Nov 19 2009, 06:09 PM)
13,999 NIAH MAR!!! notworthy.gif

LG PG30, PG60 and PG70 all full HD with ISF calibration ready!!! thumbup.gif

Bro Anfieldude any comments and experience with those LG models?

Added on November 19, 2009, 6:15 pmFuiyoh was browsing the internet for PG60 and saw MPYW posting about it in avsforums back in 2008! thumbup.gif
LGs main problem is mediocre black levels..

Decent greyscale, good CMS, but not that great black levels.
anfieldude
post Nov 19 2009, 09:03 PM

3,858 posts

QUOTE(chewkl @ Nov 19 2009, 08:55 PM)
So Sammy B650 is a overall better buy than the PG60 I presume?
I would reckon yeah. The 650 has better black levels, has a 3D CMS and a 2 point greyscale.

The only point to LGs favour is the 10 point greyscale, but IMHO both don't do greyscale that well.
anfieldude
post Dec 31 2009, 10:38 AM

3,858 posts

QUOTE(jolipoli81 @ Dec 24 2009, 07:26 PM)
i was told by a salesman that plasma is fading, famous manufactures such as pioneer is taking out the plasma tv off the shelve, is that true? they said LCD and LED is more in demand now.
I initially plan to get the plasma panasonic S10, but the suggest me to get the LCD instead.

I know the differences, pros and cons between LCD, but is it true that LCD is more in demand nowadays?
Yes, unfortunately it is true.

LCD panel manufacturers marketing strategy has done its job well. Better margins for shops, better incentives to sell. As well as a good deal of "burn in" marketing has made LCD more popular. Most people looking to upgrade that 29in CRT moved to 32in or 37in LCDs.

However, this year saw a slight shift as Panasonic dropped prices of the 42in and 50in entry level plasmas. The cost of manufacturing has also dropped. Armed with >3 Lumens/Watt technology they became brighter and could compete with the LCDs in teh showroom environments. This year, nothing new came out of the LCD camp, LED backlighting that came last year saw some hype over edge lighting but it did not improve anything too much, slightly better black levels and the main improvements were in thickness.

Next year, Panasonic (which is the pushing hard on plasma) is pushing 3D tech and no real news of 5Lumens/Watt implementation. 5Lumens/Watt I believe is the real deal for plasmas to pull thru. However, with Pioneer pulling out of the market, not sure if Panny will soldier on in progress. They have licensed the Kuro patents from Pioneer and we shd see them in full force in 2011 if they start working on them instead of 3D.

Anyway, end the end, there will be something that gives. Let's see.
anfieldude
post Jan 1 2010, 04:48 PM

3,858 posts

QUOTE(ar188 @ Jan 1 2010, 04:07 PM)
they just completed their latest plasma plant..

Panasonic has just completed its largest and third plasma plant in Amagasaki which will now be able to produce new plasma displays and LCD panels to help its cause. The plant will begin commercial manufacturing in January 2010 with a target of 120,000 42” panels.
Panasonic Completes Largest Plasma Plant
Panasonic has completed its largest plant for producing plasma TV screens. The plant is the company's third plant in Amagasaki and can produce plasma TV screens up to 150-inches. The plant can also make nine 50-inch sets out of the same chunk of glass that goes into a single 150-inch screen. The process technology used in the new plant allows the production of screens designed to reduce afterglow and improve 3D performance.

Yeah, I know they will definately do their best, however, it irks me that they are pushing so much into 3D and not making some corrections to their display to make it better. There are some known technical problems that they need to fix. Not having a set with greyscale adjustments are just not acceptable. Also they have problems with rising black levels with time that needs quick fixing...
anfieldude
post Jan 1 2010, 05:46 PM

3,858 posts

QUOTE(saprozeldo @ Jan 1 2010, 05:29 PM)
more $ in marketing means higher price, not necessarily higher quality.. sometimes, its good that good quality product are on the quiet but priced right.. good for people who do their research..  tongue.gif  but i do agree, its a shame to lose pioneer's in the plasmaTV industry..

Added on January 1, 2010, 5:31 pm

seriously got an orgasm (can i say this word here?) when i first saw the pic come out of my kuro today..  rclxm9.gif  rclxm9.gif  rclxm9.gif
KRP-500M or KRP-500A?

If u have the M, then put it in Pure mode and Colour Space 2. That shd give u a very accurate picture.

Keep contrast for starters around 25, slowly crank it up.

If the A, then there is no pure mode. U shd get it calibrated as the 500 series with ISFccc is pretty darn good.
anfieldude
post Jan 1 2010, 05:48 PM

3,858 posts

QUOTE(ar188 @ Jan 1 2010, 05:15 PM)
improving on PQ alone no use, see what good that did to Pionner..

they need to market more bells and whistles like 3D or else having the best TV on the planet (compared to lousy LCD) also will not help plasma's sinking ship..
True, Quality alone does not sell a product these days.

I agree.

The future for plasma is really in 5Lumens/Watt and 10 Lumens/Watt.

Coupled with the lower cost of manufacturing, it will revive plasma sales.

Samsung and LG are still in the market for plasma for this reason alone.

4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0265sec    0.63    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 08:52 AM