CLOSED

ar188
post Jan 1 2010, 05:15 PM

9,206 posts

improving on PQ alone no use, see what good that did to Pionner..

they need to market more bells and whistles like 3D or else having the best TV on the planet (compared to lousy LCD) also will not help plasma's sinking ship..
ar188
post Jan 1 2010, 05:45 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(htkaki @ Jan 1 2010, 05:25 PM)
Only if I have the moolah sad.gif , I'll have join you as KRP-500 owner
u ask mpyw to bring in for you lor.. only 6k during sale.. (in US) biggrin.gif
ar188
post Jan 1 2010, 09:14 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(ronaldjoe @ Jan 1 2010, 08:00 PM)
I dealt with Chin once when I got my first skydragon from DesaHT.
The boss is able to give lower offer if you manage to catch him.
508XG is hd-ready...dun want la

Pay you and your new tv a visit when I return your audyssey mic.  biggrin.gif
dun say until so bad la.. HD-ready means can accept HD signal (irrespective of resolution) even could be lower than 720p HD panel..

508XG is 1366x768.. so slightly better than 720p.. but still 1 million pixel less than a proper 1080p.. biggrin.gif
ar188
post Jan 1 2010, 10:31 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(jchong @ Jan 1 2010, 10:26 PM)
Wow, the last of a dying breed. I wonder if these Kuro plasmas will become collectibles? biggrin.gif Sure is sad seeing Pioneer exit this market...
at that time, that's like saying you want to collect 70s era philips Wooden frame TV or not? biggrin.gif
ar188
post Jan 1 2010, 11:07 PM

9,206 posts

haha! can make aquarium?
ar188
post Jan 6 2010, 01:08 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(gocitygo @ Jan 6 2010, 12:54 PM)
i've seen comments that plasma gives more natural color vs LCD.  if one do proper color calibration on LCD tv, provided the tv set got CMS for tweaking, can I say the color reproduction of the LCD would be close to what the movie Director intended?
I don't think it can in 100% of the time.

for example, if you put a White Letter or word in a black background.. the black still looks like there is a layer of white Wax or white backlight seeping thro the panel...

also LCD backlight from CCFL and white LED doesn't reproduce 100% of the NTSC color gamut.. so you still can't produce 100% of what you should be getting..

ar188
post Jan 6 2010, 01:43 PM

9,206 posts

anfield, can you comment on resolution of moving picture..

I think LCD will be of lower resolution if motion interpolation kicks in...
ar188
post Jan 7 2010, 12:00 PM

9,206 posts

at the end of the day it's still price. even if got kuro tech, at what price?

also I wonder P42S2 series 1080p 42inch would be below 3k? (as was the S10 model in 2009)
ar188
post Jan 7 2010, 12:15 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(anfieldude @ Jan 7 2010, 12:09 PM)

Me, I just hope the give more accurate HD colour gamut. They really are pretty bad on this on all sets except the V and Z in 2009. It is no excuse not to have a better HD colour space when the Sammys and LGs can do it better. This if u do not want to give a working CMS.
everything has a compromise I guess, I could also add no point if sammys and LG LCDs give working CMS if they can't have 2 million Zone individual local dimming.. effectively that's what each plasma pixel can do..

of course if compare plasma to plasma, then working CMS would be advantage.. smile.gif

This post has been edited by ar188: Jan 7 2010, 12:23 PM
ar188
post Jan 22 2010, 09:32 AM

9,206 posts

for me, use CRT for so long also no burn in.. how come now so concerned??
ar188
post Jan 23 2010, 01:07 AM

9,206 posts

maybe it'should be black levels decresing over time? (means get worse) ??

(if black levels are increasing means the blacks are improving right?) tongue.gif
ar188
post Jan 23 2010, 04:17 PM

9,206 posts

biggrin.gif alarm clock??

This post has been edited by ar188: Jan 23 2010, 04:24 PM
ar188
post Jan 23 2010, 07:54 PM

9,206 posts

ft/l is measure of luminance not black level. U cannot measure black. U measure light. When ft/l increase means light level increase. Not black level increase.
ar188
post Jan 23 2010, 10:11 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(anfieldude @ Jan 23 2010, 09:21 PM)
But then again, u already knew this....u were just trying to have fun... smile.gif
truly u are calibration sifu.. biggrin.gif thumbup.gif

Added on January 23, 2010, 10:17 pmanyway, as for the english part of it.. , when you say black levels increase, means lighter (whiter)??

I mean when blue level increase, I would expect it become more blue, not less blue, no?

This post has been edited by ar188: Jan 23 2010, 10:17 PM
ar188
post Jan 23 2010, 10:26 PM

9,206 posts

so if black levels are increased to maximum value means it becomes white???

(nothing to derail.. we are discussing an area relevant to Plasma/LCD)..
ar188
post Jan 23 2010, 11:05 PM

9,206 posts

ok thanks for the info..
ar188
post Jan 28 2010, 03:13 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(anfieldude @ Jan 28 2010, 09:34 AM)
Some interesting developments for the LCD camp. Improved way of suppresing backlight levels meaning better blacks and essentially better contrast ratios.

High Def Digest Zeon Story

Hope this can be somehow cross manufactured in local dimming LED backlit.

If this does what it claims, the only gripes of the LCD tech would be of course viewing angles and method of refresh.

LCD fans rejoice.
again it goes to show what you have in the market now is still not so good PQ la.. tongue.gif

ar188
post Jan 28 2010, 09:49 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(kianwee @ Jan 28 2010, 09:42 PM)
Maybe old man need to change the avatar to this instead of Remy. tongue.gif

aiks! this some scary sh1t.. put spoiler next time.. ohmy.gif
ar188
post Jan 29 2010, 11:16 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(saiya @ Jan 29 2010, 10:36 PM)
what r the difrent between plasma n lcd screen? plasma is like a mirror isit?

3 Pages < 1 2 3Top

0.0468sec    0.36    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 10:21 AM