4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Bottom

CLOSED

Mea Culpa
post Apr 16 2013, 07:02 PM

5,184 posts

If you're going to consider an LCD Display (LED TV) for DARK ROOM viewing, they may present some problems. Currently only plasma has perfect uniformity.

a) Backlight Bleeding near the corners ( Flashlight effect )

2) Clouding ( Due to light guide gap with LCD)

3) Banding Vertical/Horizontal (Issues with LCD Panel/ during manufacturing)

All THESE are according to standard, not defects. shakehead.gif

Samsung ES8000 Banding

Sony HX723 Clouding.

This post has been edited by Mea Culpa: Apr 16 2013, 07:04 PM
Mea Culpa
post Apr 16 2013, 07:06 PM

5,184 posts

To check banding, you can download scrolling videos (fast panning), form BlinkTV.com

For static screen, you can create a RGB f bitmap file (20, 20, 20) using windows paint and display it with usb photo mode. Its a DARK GREY color, to make the banding visible on static.

This post has been edited by Mea Culpa: Apr 16 2013, 09:35 PM
Mea Culpa
post Apr 16 2013, 08:56 PM

5,184 posts

QUOTE(arcticmask @ Apr 16 2013, 08:24 PM)
I'm currently using SONY LCD 40+" and there are backlight bleeding on both of top corners.. they are so visible, it irritates me sometimes.. grrr... so im going to buy a second tv..
Im gonna follow your recommendation and going to check out Panasonic plasma tv ST50.. do i need to get extended warranty? May i know how much is the current market price? Thankiess.
I owns LG Edge lit LED LW5700, LW6500, I can tell u the bleeding and clouding is worse than the older generation ccfl backlight lcd which pretty uniform.

St50 50" is going for 3.4k.

This post has been edited by Mea Culpa: Apr 16 2013, 09:03 PM
Mea Culpa
post Apr 16 2013, 10:04 PM

5,184 posts

The BUDGET VERSION of Led TV, such as EX330, EX430, EX43B, LS3110, EH5000, EH5003, EH6030. These TV are not using Edge-lit LED, but Direct-Lit LED. So means its will not be using light guide plats, which is the cause of clouding. When moisture gets between it, then dries, the plates separates from LCD layer, according to samsung engineer.

Uniformity is definitely better than Edge-lit, even tho these are LOW END TVs, ironic isn't it? It has fewer Leds means brightness is lesser, around 250-300 nits. But the banding problem is still there, very obvious when viewing slightly above black gray materials. It will pops when viewing dark grey.

This post has been edited by Mea Culpa: Apr 16 2013, 10:06 PM
Mea Culpa
post Apr 17 2013, 12:04 AM

5,184 posts

QUOTE(arcticmask @ Apr 16 2013, 11:38 PM)
Nice!!! More choices for me... i noticed some of 'em are samsung's. Is samsung tv any good? I had nightmare with my samsung galaxy S3.. used for 2-3  months then suddenly it just died.. luckily it was still under warranty.. but even after repaired, it still gave problems especially the graphic....
There is panel lottery with samsung, so its 50-50 chance.

These direct lit r quite uniform just like lcd models no ugly clouding. The best thing is still the price. They can play usb hd movies but lack smart functions.
Mea Culpa
post Apr 17 2013, 06:49 AM

5,184 posts

What is "panel lottery"?

You'll get the idea here.

http://www.avsforum.com/t/1406151/the-offi...ners-thread/390
Mea Culpa
post Apr 17 2013, 03:29 PM

5,184 posts

QUOTE(arcticmask @ Apr 17 2013, 02:31 PM)
I hate lottery... lol.. i do not trust my luck..
Btw i have read something about new tv has to be calibrated.. does any new tv has to? And what other things i should be careful about when using new LED/Plasma tv?
Calibration is to improve color accuracy and picture quality, done by certified calibrators.

LED is pretty easy to care, but plasma needs abit of careful not to leave static image for too long, like switching channels once a while to avoid image retention on the screen with network logo.

If ur going yo use the tv in a bright living room, edge lit led from low to mid is still a good buy. The clouding would not be visible until u turn off lights.

plasma has a "ritual" called breakin process, its to get pixels aged evenly across the panel so that they r more stable n more resistant against screen burnin.

This post has been edited by Mea Culpa: Apr 17 2013, 03:32 PM
Mea Culpa
post Apr 17 2013, 07:32 PM

5,184 posts

QUOTE(arcticmask @ Apr 17 2013, 05:18 PM)
I'm going to put it on my coming sound-proof (going to renovate) room for karaoke, movie and gaming. So it is probably a slightly dimmer light room.

So i must not calibrate anything unless done by a certified calibrator?
You can try download the calibration disc iso, AVS HD 709.
Mea Culpa
post Apr 18 2013, 07:33 PM

5,184 posts

QUOTE(BOTBOTCHAI. @ Apr 18 2013, 07:09 PM)
[attachmentid=3398652]

[attachmentid=3398622] [attachmentid=3398620]
[attachmentid=3398624] [attachmentid=3398643]
[attachmentid=3398644][attachmentid=3398646]
Clouding is less visible with dimming. but they r pricey like some in this forum said u have to b "rich" to get them.

From ur pics ur camera exposer wont b able to capture clouding, overall picture have to b dark, set ur cam to night mode or iso800 or higher.
Mea Culpa
post Apr 18 2013, 09:49 PM

5,184 posts

QUOTE(BOTBOTCHAI. @ Apr 18 2013, 09:09 PM)
Sorry bro [attachmentid=3398789] , my Samsung note 2 don't have night mode only low light. Here the photo in low light mode.
[attachmentid=3398793]
IIRC your set is a 55HX855 right? This set is 85% of HX955, with lower pirce tag. I had personally view this, when dynamic dimming is engaged clouding and bleeding is hardly visible to humans eyes. Yes, camera may still can capture them iso400++, but the most important is it can hardly be seen with our human eyes. So to simply put, good dimming solve the clouding and bleeding issues.

I believe the HX855 is using side or left/right Edge LED, this is evident with its Frame Dimming. The HX955 has edge LED at 4 side with zones dimming.

Again, not all dimming sets are equal, LG led+ is using vertical dimming, as their sets has the led at bottom of the screen, side ways dimming is not possible, thus slightly lighter black on the 21:9 black bars.

The biggest problem however is those with very good dimming TV falls into the "HIGH END" zones. smile.gif

The average non dimming Edge led still suffers.
Mea Culpa
post Apr 18 2013, 10:00 PM

5,184 posts

QUOTE(redrum77 @ Apr 18 2013, 09:42 PM)
Between  KLV-40EX43B and ua40eh5000 which is better in terms PQ and sounds ?
Brightness = EX43. I think the samsung set has fewer LEDs

Native Contrast = Draw both panels are VA lcd.

Sound = EX43 (5Wx2, 7-band equalizer)

TV Tuner = EH5000 has Digital tuner

Slimness = EX43

There are complaints in AVS forums about the EH5000 having bad motion blur and ghostingr. Not good for gaming.

Backlight bleeding = DRAW, both sets are Direct-Lit LED and above average uniformity, no clouding issue, only mild bleeding like old LCD TV.

Strange that these low end sets BEATS their higher spec edge lit models , for screen uniformity.

This post has been edited by Mea Culpa: Apr 18 2013, 10:06 PM
Mea Culpa
post Apr 30 2013, 02:45 PM

5,184 posts

QUOTE(gilvader @ Apr 29 2013, 07:46 AM)
Hi, new here. Would appreciate some advice in choosing between these 2 models.

1. Sharp Aquos LED LCD 39" LC39LE400M

2. SONY Bravia 40" KLV-40BX450

Anyone using any of the 2? As the refresh rate is only 60Hz, will it have any lag while watching sports matches? Only have normal Astro (not Astro Beyond). Tried to search for some reviews, but hardly found any. But did find some articles mentioning 60Hz isn't good for watching sports and movies?

Know next to nothing about LCDs, thanks in advance for any advice.  smile.gif
60hz is not big problem with 24p movies as its solved using custom refresh of 48hz. This method is missing in older lcd tv. So upgrading to new set solve the telecine judder problem.

As for sports, 60hz 40" shouldnt b a problem. The motion blur is more noticable on bigger sets like 55" and up.

Mea Culpa
post Apr 30 2013, 11:03 PM

5,184 posts

QUOTE(gilvader @ Apr 30 2013, 09:02 PM)
Thanks for the response. Was quite worried till I read your reply. Would you recommend the Sharp Aquos LED LCD 39" LC39LE400M or the SONY Bravia 40" KLV-40BX450? While I read that LED LCD is generally better than "normal" LCD, is Sharp's quality comparable to SONY's?

From what I can gather, Sharp's has 1 year warranty while Sony has 2 years, is that correct?

Thanks again.  smile.gif
not sure bout sharp. Yes sony provides 2 yr warranty.

The sharp is a led tv the sony bx450 is an older lcd with ccfl backlight. U might want ti consider sony 40ex43b which is an led version.

This post has been edited by Mea Culpa: Apr 30 2013, 11:05 PM
Mea Culpa
post May 12 2013, 01:41 AM

5,184 posts

To those who are new to HDTV.

LCD LED VS PLASMA - ReCap.

LCD/LED TV

Limited viewing angle. Color shift.

Brightness is 3 to 5 times higher than comparably sized plasma displays; LCD can achieve brightness exceeding 400 nits at full white.

Contrast ratio is approximately 1/4 to 1/2 that of plasma displays.

Average ANSI contrast ratios measure between 147:1 and 170:1.

Typical black level is undesirably high at 1.7 nits (eight times higher than conventional CRTs!) Dimmable backlights help to provide lower black levels and better contrast numbers.

Liquid-crystal response or switching time (LC twist times) is slow for video - between 8 ms and 16 ms; this can cause ghosting or smearing in video images containing fast motion.

LCDs have trouble with low-level shadow detail resulting in "crushed" grayscales.

Color saturation is inferior to emissive displays though LED backlighting can help.

PLASMA

Wide viewing angle. Constant PQ at off angle.

PDP TVs produce roughly 72 to 299 nits (21 to 87.4 foot-Lamberts) of luminance.

Average ANSI contrast ratios measure approximately between 596:1 and 772:1.

Typical black level is 0.21 nits (roughly the same as a typical CRT.)

No problems with video containing fast motion; PDPs possess faster pixel switching times (full motion at 60 Hz) - progressive video sources are the best.

PDPs possess greater color saturation and are capable of achieving lower levels of gray.

Image burn-in is a serious concern; therefore PDPs are not an ideal choice for console gaming or computer use. (Note: some models utilize 'picture orbiting' and low power modes to combat image burn-in.)

http://answers.yahoo.com/question/index?qi...21173627AAlDdaK

http://www.xbitlabs.com/articles/other/pri...mpensation.html

http://www.xbitlabs.com/articles/other/print/lcd-guide.html

http://www.hdtvmagazine.com/

This post has been edited by Mea Culpa: May 12 2013, 01:43 AM
Mea Culpa
post May 18 2013, 04:39 PM

5,184 posts

QUOTE(fipoch @ May 18 2013, 03:22 AM)
Hi sifus, I plan on getting the Panasonic VIERA TH-L42E6K. Main purpose : Gaming and movies, probably some Astro too. Any pros and cons on this specified tv? If you guys were in my shoes, what TV would you go for? Budget is around RM2.1k. Thanks in advance!
Pana LCD TV price is a bit bloated. Similar spec from other brands are much cheaper. Look for LG, Sharp or Samsung.

L24E6K is a direct lit LED TV with IPS panel , with thick profile. Similar offerings from other brands like LG with their LS3110 Direct lit and IPS panel, also can the brought with much lower price.
Mea Culpa
post May 19 2013, 10:55 AM

5,184 posts

QUOTE(fipoch @ May 19 2013, 12:24 AM)
Are you sure the L42E6K is IPS? I think the older L42E5K is IPS.

http://www.panasonic.com.my/wps/portal/hom.../ledtv/THL42E6K

I can't seem to find the informations on this model. So is it really not worth the extra cash to buy the Pana?
Yes 100% positive. Current fabrication there are no 42" that is not an IPS. Just as there are no 40" that is IPS. All 40" are VA variants.

Also there are no 39" IPS.

Pana E series is Edge led. Pana B series is Direct led.

Led lcd is simply not pana's strength.

This post has been edited by Mea Culpa: May 19 2013, 03:46 PM
Mea Culpa
post Jun 7 2013, 08:57 PM

5,184 posts

QUOTE(Bobdog86 @ Jun 7 2013, 07:57 PM)
Hi sifus,
Would like to ask in terms of colour n clarity, which is better? Samsung smart tv or sharp aquous 4 colour?
Depending on ur taste. Samsung has more natural looking color.
Mea Culpa
post Jun 20 2013, 06:30 PM

5,184 posts

QUOTE(SSJBen @ Jun 18 2013, 11:02 PM)
The W6 uses AUO panel IINM.

Now that you mention backlight bleeding, the Sony does have a little bit more clouding than the Samsung. This is due to the edge lit LEDs.
Its AUO version of "IPS" an AHVA panel. Do u hav the subpixel closeup view?

The samsung is also an edgelit. Infact all F series led tv. The Directlit EH series is pretty thick n is not selling well here.

Clouding is a hit n miss thingy.

This post has been edited by Mea Culpa: Jun 20 2013, 06:33 PM
Mea Culpa
post Jun 20 2013, 06:44 PM

5,184 posts

QUOTE(rayzlan @ Jun 17 2013, 03:53 PM)
Hi

Anyone using Sony HX955 , i'm having problem with HDMI input . Look like all HDMI input faulty .. try to resest back to factory setting still did't work ... is it mainboard prblem huhuhu..
Yes board problem. Could b caused by surge.
Mea Culpa
post Jun 20 2013, 08:35 PM

5,184 posts

QUOTE(SSJBen @ Jun 20 2013, 07:57 PM)
Not mine, but here -

Looks more like a modified AMVA than a typical LG SIPS

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top