4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Bottom

CLOSED

Mea Culpa
post May 29 2012, 12:10 PM

5,184 posts

QUOTE(shadowcaster @ May 28 2012, 12:23 PM)
Plasma always cheaper than LED. But LED is much thinner, lighter and uses less power.
LED durability is yet uncertain.

LED seems to die faster than CCFL, you may see significant brightness drop after 2 years of use compared to CCFL backlighting.

Mea Culpa
post Jul 23 2012, 01:25 AM

5,184 posts

QUOTE(xhamster @ Jul 23 2012, 01:09 AM)
Plan to buy a new 50' Plasma TV
LG 50PA6500 & Samsung PS51E530 which one is better to buy? Any suggestion? Thanks
I think the LG ones has 3D. PQ not much difference, but LG plasma seems to be brighter than Pana, samsung seems to be the dimmest. You have to view it yourself to see the diff..
Mea Culpa
post Oct 23 2012, 12:37 PM

5,184 posts

QUOTE(Gaia34 @ Oct 18 2012, 07:16 PM)
Samsung UA40EH6030

features :

40 inch
Full HD
Clear Motion Rate 200Hz
Allshare

RM1999
You forgot its a 3D Active!

This post has been edited by Mea Culpa: Oct 23 2012, 12:38 PM
Mea Culpa
post Nov 21 2012, 03:25 PM

5,184 posts

QUOTE(diaBoliQu3 @ Nov 16 2012, 11:54 AM)
Hey, between Bravia, Vierra and Aquos, which one is the best? I noted that Vierra color are "original".
If you're talking about LCD with LED backlight, IMO best picture quality and color saturation, it would be a Sony, those equipped with X-reality engine.

Panasonic's LED IMO is not as good as Samsung's and sharp's. BUT they certainly have the best Plasma.

This post has been edited by Mea Culpa: Nov 21 2012, 03:26 PM
Mea Culpa
post Nov 21 2012, 03:51 PM

5,184 posts

QUOTE(diaBoliQu3 @ Nov 21 2012, 03:40 PM)
I mean LED. This TV will be use with HTPC, PS3... Too bad the shop at Miri didn't display those super brand at one time. It's hard for me to compare all the TV side by side. sad.gif I will try to check X-reality engine.
Sony and Samsung uses the same panel, except the image processing engines.

For gaming try to get those with the lowest input lag. IMO, still a sony. LG is laggy.

You don't need 120hz 3D HDTV for gaming, since you're not into 24hz. The cheap 60hz will do just fine.
Mea Culpa
post Dec 26 2012, 05:59 PM

5,184 posts

QUOTE(r0cky_balboa @ Dec 26 2012, 05:55 PM)
tq
beware of philips inflated "hz" rate, their 200hz TV is actually 50hz.

Q: I am eyeing on the Philips 32pfl4007h/12 with 200Hz Perfect Motion Rate (PMR). Is it just the same as 200Hz CMR with the Samsung TV where both also 100Hz refresh rate?

A: Philips is inflating their number even more than Samsung. A 200 PMR (Perfect Motion Rate) correspond to a 50Hz panel refresh rate. You get a 100 Hz panel starting with a PMR of 400. Their top of the line 1200 PMR is actually just a 200 Hz panel.

http://www.rtings.com/info/what-is-the-refresh-rate

This post has been edited by Mea Culpa: Dec 26 2012, 06:02 PM
Mea Culpa
post Dec 26 2012, 06:35 PM

5,184 posts

QUOTE(r0cky_balboa @ Dec 26 2012, 06:27 PM)
thanx again

bro

what is ur comment about

http://www.philips.com.my/c/televisions/10...fl5605s_98/prd/

tq
Philips is a good buy with european made panel (not the electronics), they also come with reasonable price.

You have to personally try the demo sets, check PQ and user interface. My previous experience with philips is "bad pixels".

This post has been edited by Mea Culpa: Dec 26 2012, 06:35 PM
Mea Culpa
post Jan 29 2013, 07:40 AM

5,184 posts

QUOTE(tryifelsecatch @ Jan 27 2013, 01:53 PM)
yeah, but old dvd, vcd and astro... takkan buy new LED TV then change all that as they are still working smile.gif
Yalor... i think the manufacturer is pushing us to buy their premium goods like HDMI DVD and Blu-ray.

Most HD TV nowadays only allow 1 analog input, either composite AV or component choose one. But you can use the AV splitter.
Mea Culpa
post Feb 25 2013, 04:10 PM

5,184 posts

QUOTE(Boy96 @ Feb 14 2013, 08:52 PM)
My friend asking me what is the best TV he can buy for RM3000 +-.. Any ideas?
If he doesnt game alot, get panasonic plasma full hd 50" ST50k for around rm 3400.
Mea Culpa
post Mar 8 2013, 07:50 PM

5,184 posts

QUOTE(warversa @ Mar 8 2013, 03:04 PM)
just asking nybody what is the average lifespan of lcd tv? my philips 32" just "pop" and dead straight after almost 5 years, average viewing time only 5hr daily... what larr
Actually you're lucky with its 5 years of service.

Its the same with current high end led/lcd and plasma.

I have relatives working closely with samsung products shipping, a hell lot of NEW sets destroyed.

This post has been edited by Mea Culpa: Mar 8 2013, 07:55 PM
Mea Culpa
post Mar 11 2013, 02:46 PM

5,184 posts

QUOTE(eggplants @ Mar 11 2013, 01:37 AM)
Can't help deciding between Samsung ES6220 or LG LM6700, both around RM4000. I like that samsung smart tv has more app choices, but i would prefer LG passive 3d and its motion remote.
Which one is more worth it?
If you want CHEAP 3D, and best user interface go for LG.

For 24p (natural motion) performance, the samsung does better with 120hz, VS the LG with 48hz refresh. Cinema/film mode.

For design wise, LG wins.
Mea Culpa
post Mar 12 2013, 03:22 PM

5,184 posts

Panasonic 50" , ST50 series. Price around RM3400. Amazing picture quality and value.

Best HDTVs: Picture quality

http://reviews.cnet.com/best-hdtvs/

This post has been edited by Mea Culpa: Mar 12 2013, 03:24 PM
Mea Culpa
post Mar 16 2013, 12:35 PM

5,184 posts

QUOTE(Dickong @ Mar 14 2013, 10:47 AM)
Guys, when watching astro HD i got 1920x1080 50i, but when watching iptv i got 1920x1080 60i. Question is which is better 50i or 60i. tq
Its source dependent. PAL (50hz/25fps) or NTSC (60hz/30fps). Your TV supports both type of inputs.

This post has been edited by Mea Culpa: Mar 16 2013, 12:35 PM
Mea Culpa
post Mar 20 2013, 11:17 AM

5,184 posts

QUOTE(Dickong @ Mar 18 2013, 04:29 PM)
Now i realize why i am getting 60i for iptv, becos i set to ntsc n 1080i only. Now i change back to pal 1080i-50hz n got back 50i same as my astro hd. Need to ask sifu here again 50i is better or 60i is better. tq
Why not set it to AUTO for auto detect signals.

Playing 25fps on 60i which is techincally 30p meant for 30fps content , you'll get stuttering and uneven motion, like fast forwarded.

This post has been edited by Mea Culpa: Mar 20 2013, 11:19 AM
Mea Culpa
post Mar 20 2013, 01:15 PM

5,184 posts

QUOTE(ktek @ Mar 9 2013, 12:45 PM)
if u care for very deep black, get PVA panel made by samsung.
take note that samsung brand tv NOT necessary using samsung panel. sometimes they out source from other oem like AUO and Chimei panels.

so do a bit research for the model u desired and use finger to test at shop
VA Panels - Samsung, Sony , Sharp

Pros - good contrast, black level, brighter
Cons - color wash, color shift, viewing angle, not as tough as ISP. slow response time, motiion blur

IPS Panels - Panasonic, LG

Pros - 178 degree viewing angle, no color wash, no color shift, black level, tougher than VA. faster response time, lesser motion blur. bigger like 42" , 47" instead of 40" , 46" .
Cons - expensive, less brighter

TN Panels - very old LCD TV , PC Monitors
Pros - cheap, fast response time 5ms or lower.
cons - 6 bit color, poor PQ, bad viewing angle, color wash, color shift, poor black level

This post has been edited by Mea Culpa: Mar 20 2013, 01:18 PM
Mea Culpa
post Apr 2 2013, 02:47 PM

5,184 posts

QUOTE(melvintcs @ Apr 2 2013, 11:42 AM)
i did the survey on available model in garage sales,  found out that the 32" LED only come with 1366*768 resolution? no have 1920*1080?
They cost just as much as entry level FHD 40" LED.

Just get the 40" for FHD or else the significantly cheaper 32".

Mea Culpa
post Apr 2 2013, 03:09 PM

5,184 posts

QUOTE(melvintcs @ Apr 2 2013, 03:07 PM)
i just wanted to put in my room, limited space.
guess i'll get the 32" with 1366*768 then, thanks for the reply  smile.gif
anyone know the spec for panasonic plasma 50x50p? i cant find this spec at google at all..
X series is NOT Full HD. It has XGA native resolution, or 1024x768.

Mea Culpa
post Apr 2 2013, 03:13 PM

5,184 posts

For PC monitor/ gaming you'd better get the harder IPS panel , VA panels are soft and flexible and can easily be damage physically.
Mea Culpa
post Apr 2 2013, 04:17 PM

5,184 posts

QUOTE(melvintcs @ Apr 2 2013, 03:41 PM)
i plan to get 32", any model to recommend?
this tv going to be side by side with my monitor that mean it's very near from where i sit, should i worried about the heat coming out from the tv? sweat.gif  but if i start gaming/movie, i will move back to my sofa.
LED TV generates very little to no heat unlike the old CCFL LCD TV, power consumption of a 32" is around 30W when power saver is engaged.

Your GPU card genarates more heat than the TV.

This post has been edited by Mea Culpa: Apr 2 2013, 04:18 PM
Mea Culpa
post Apr 15 2013, 09:43 PM

5,184 posts

For pitch black dark room viewing go for panasonic plasma ST50, accordong to cnet none of the best high end led tv that can even match this fantastic low price st50 in terms of BLACK LEVEL. Perfect screen uniformity no clouding, bkeeding whatsoever.

Newer models st60 is coming, but limited to 65" only. Better grap the 50" st50 .

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0277sec    1.24    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 05:04 PM