Motorola Milestone [NOW OFFICIAL!], 1st Android 2.1 phone in Malaysia

Leo the Lion
post Mar 31 2010, 12:15 PM

6,358 posts

QUOTE(koaybl @ Mar 31 2010, 01:04 PM)
Hi guys,

I installed net counter on my milestone and i am currently using maxis 500MB data plan. I checked the net counter log and found out there is data received and send although i already stop the gmail auto sync, loggrd off my facebook, stop gtalk processes. Is this normal ?
Go to android market and search Toggle Data. Download it, place the widget to your homescreen and switch it off

This post has been edited by Leo the Lion: Mar 31 2010, 12:16 PM
koaybl
post Mar 31 2010, 01:16 PM

119 posts

Does any one tried

VoiceSearch for the Milestone by RinTinTigger, they claims this apps will install google voice search in our milestone.

Currently Voice Search is enabled by default on US or UK phones (thus, native English-speaking countries). However, it is disabled by default on non-native-English phones.

the .apk is here just in case anyone needed it..

http://uploaded.to/file/gpm68m

This post has been edited by koaybl: Mar 31 2010, 01:51 PM
norrafi
post Mar 31 2010, 03:34 PM

106 posts

QUOTE(deadfish @ Mar 31 2010, 11:46 AM)
hi milestoners xD,

am very close to buying one now...
only thing i need to decide is whether to get the original or AP set...

What are the main differences besides warranty?

Any sifus care to advise me?
For me, no different except just now Brightstar giving free gift.

raoul
post Mar 31 2010, 03:36 PM

576 posts

QUOTE(norrafi @ Mar 31 2010, 03:34 PM)
For me, no different except just now Brightstar giving free gift.
What free gift given out by Brightstar ?
jeisern
post Mar 31 2010, 03:43 PM

589 posts

QUOTE(Leo the Lion @ Mar 31 2010, 12:15 PM)
Go to android market and search Toggle Data. Download it, place the widget to your homescreen and switch it off
Man this is some good advice, i have registered for DiGi and waiting for activation hence did not know if the data is still being used on my phone.
Thanks ! for this information man !

Just ordered an EpikCase for my machine, noted another dude mzaidi also ordered for Milestone.

So far so good ! rclxm9.gif
KimisonAKAfatkimi
post Mar 31 2010, 04:03 PM

38 posts

wah, now so many milestone owner... welcome and wait for Firefox

and flash 10 for android

hehehehe....

anybody can help me root my 2.1rom??
gtrowa2003
post Mar 31 2010, 04:29 PM

420 posts

QUOTE(raoul @ Mar 31 2010, 04:36 PM)
What free gift given out by Brightstar ?
In-Car Chager & mount
Desktop Charger & Extra Battery

http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=1359676&hl=
holypredator
post Mar 31 2010, 04:43 PM

Ketard Gang
1,649 posts

QUOTE(haroldz123 @ Mar 30 2010, 10:56 PM)
they said it is ori
dat y im asking how to differentiate ori or ap set
i got it RM19++

usually there will be superbid every wednesday starting RM1

the trick is ONLY start bidding 1 hour before it end.
if all bidder do like this, the price sure veli low one..
pennyauction.com.my ??

Btw... just see if they sent u the warranty card anot lo haha.. if ori sure got brightstar warranty card ...

Added on March 31, 2010, 4:57 pmBtw...

Have anyone tried the Milestone GPS??

THe milestone GPS for the Original is free or what??? i heard its a trial in AP sets...

If buy original and root... realy heart pain..

This post has been edited by holypredator: Mar 31 2010, 04:57 PM
norrafi
post Mar 31 2010, 05:30 PM

106 posts

QUOTE(gtrowa2003 @ Mar 31 2010, 04:29 PM)
In-Car Chager & mount
Desktop Charger & Extra Battery

http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=1359676&hl=
which one is expensive(better to choose)? any idea
mzaidi
post Mar 31 2010, 05:37 PM

Jerk
1,484 posts

QUOTE(jeisern @ Mar 31 2010, 03:43 PM)
Just ordered an EpikCase for my machine, noted another dude mzaidi also ordered for Milestone.
Yup, I ordered EpikCase too. Just got my ori Milestone from Terry last night, registered for the free gift from BrightStar too.

So far so good, still exploring the phone functions. rclxms.gif

QUOTE(norrafi @ Mar 31 2010, 05:30 PM)
I think the spare battery + desktop charger combo is more expensive. I picked that one.

This post has been edited by mzaidi: Mar 31 2010, 05:38 PM
koaybl
post Mar 31 2010, 06:13 PM

119 posts

Hi guys......

i just installed the voicesearch.apk...

it is working .. now i have google voice search on my milestone 2.1 =)
jeisern
post Mar 31 2010, 06:30 PM

589 posts

QUOTE(mzaidi @ Mar 31 2010, 05:37 PM)
Yup, I ordered EpikCase too. Just got my ori Milestone from Terry last night, registered for the free gift from BrightStar too.

So far so good, still exploring the phone functions.  rclxms.gif
I think the spare battery + desktop charger combo is more expensive. I picked that one.
QUOTE(koaybl @ Mar 31 2010, 06:13 PM)
Hi guys......

Hey mzaidi....la did we play COD together before?

Hey koaybl,

Yeah? cool !! i am waiting for my DiGi line to activate tonite then i go full force on the download and map testing...heheh
sinbad
post Mar 31 2010, 06:51 PM

149 posts

The Droid is set to be the third Android set to get the elusive 2.1 update. Those on Verizon should get the update soon, as it is a gradual rollout and should hit by the week’s end. Droid users can look forward to: 

- Pinch-to-zoom is now available when using the browser, Gallery, and Google Maps.

- New Weather and News application plus widget. The Weather and News app pulls the information you want from the Web and brings it to your fingertips. You get weekly and hourly weather forecasts based on your location and news headlines.

- New support for voice-to-text entry. 

- Whenever a text-entry box appears, simply tap the microphone icon on the virtual keyboard and speak.

- New Gallery application with 3D layout. View and share photos taken with your phone and images from your online Picasa Web albums.

- Live Wallpapers offer richer animated, interactive backgrounds on the home screen. Access them with a long press anywhere on the home screen. Tap Wallpapers, and then Live Wallpapers.

- Free Yahoo! Mail is now supported—simply sign in with your Yahoo! email address and password.

- Google Maps update. 

- Personalised suggestions and synchronized starring with desktop maps.google.com. 

- Starred items are stored and synced automatically between Google Maps on your device and maps.google.com on your computer, making it easy to search for places you’ve searched for before.

- New night mode in Google Maps Navigation automatically changes the screen at night for easier viewing.

- Improved pattern-lock functionality.

- Improved handset audio when disconnecting a wired headset.

Source: Engadget

Look like the 2.1 update is the full version of 2.1
There are few function didn't include in our 2.1update-1.

This post has been edited by sinbad: Mar 31 2010, 06:53 PM
Charcoal
post Mar 31 2010, 09:27 PM

137 posts

QUOTE(norrafi @ Mar 31 2010, 05:30 PM)
Desktop charger + battery is probably more expensive, although I think that the car charger + mount is probably more useful. When you start using the gps and driving around a lot, having a free charger + mount is a great plus. When you're at home, using the normal charger is just as good as mount unless you like staring at your mount a lot. Spare battery might be nice to have for traveling though.

QUOTE(holypredator @ Mar 31 2010, 04:43 PM)
Have anyone tried the Milestone GPS??
THe milestone GPS for the Original is free or what??? i heard its a trial in AP sets...
If buy original and root... realy heart pain..
If I am not mistaken, Motonav comes with a 60 day trial for all sets regardless Ori or AP (AP is just Ori from another country imported in). You will need to purchase the license for a price after that. Motonav is basically the Igo GPS software rebranded. The only free GPS available is Google Maps and AndNav but these two are rather data intensive since they download map data on the go so it can be quite costly for you (eats your 3g for breakfast).

These are the more full featured GPS software in the market with Malaysia maps and won't require constant map data download but of course they cost $$$. We have the:
Motonav/Igo
Ndrive
Sygic Mobile Maps 10 <--- i corrected this (Copilot 8 doesn't support Malaysia)

Papago (supposedly has the best Mal maps) is not in the list because apparently it does not currently support Android 2.1 yet. Anyone got any other GPS to add?

Regarding the Moto Milestone's performance at GPS, based on my limited (last few days) testing, I actually found it to be pretty good so far. I can find and get a GPS fix in several seconds normally. In cloudy/sightly rainy weather, around 10 seconds. Keeps the fix even when driving about so far. Weather will definitely have an effect on GPS performance (like your Astro la) so don't expect the same performance in a thunderstorm tongue.gif. Even if you don't have a gps software, you can test the performance by downloading the GPS Status app (free) from Google Market. Its good for scouting out the sats as it will give you a radar of all the sats around and how many of them can get a fix on you.

This post has been edited by Charcoal: Apr 1 2010, 12:44 AM
beatlesalbum
post Mar 31 2010, 10:23 PM

1,711 posts

QUOTE(Charcoal @ Mar 31 2010, 09:27 PM)

Regarding the Moto Milestone's performance at GPS, based on my limited (last few days) testing, I actually found it to be pretty good so far. I can find and get a GPS fix in several seconds normally. In cloudy/sightly rainy weather, around 10 seconds. Keeps the fix even when driving about so far. Weather will definitely have an effect on GPS performance (like your Astro la) so don't expect the same performance in a thunderstorm tongue.gif. Even if you don't have a gps software, you can test the performance by downloading the GPS Status app (free) from Google Market. Its good for scouting out the sats as it will give you a radar of all the sats around and how many of them can get a fix on you.
If motonav is worth the money, then i dunt mind purchasing it tongue.gif. Feel free to feedback more after you have used it intensively... but sounds like the initial review from you is good thumbup.gif
aruja_69
post Mar 31 2010, 11:32 PM

3,786 posts

So u meaning if we buy now and still get the free gifts? Do it comes with a card if we want to get it.
jeisern
post Mar 31 2010, 11:56 PM

589 posts

QUOTE(koaybl @ Mar 31 2010, 06:13 PM)
Hi guys......

Hey koaybl mind pm me the site u download the voicesearch.apk from ?
oneeleven
post Apr 1 2010, 12:08 AM

1,515 posts

Can AP set owners (Terry's sets?) also apply for Brightstar gifts?
koaybl
post Apr 1 2010, 12:15 AM

119 posts

QUOTE(jeisern @ Mar 31 2010, 11:56 PM)
Hey koaybl mind pm me the site u download the voicesearch.apk from ?
i found it here :

http://www.droidforums.net/forum/motorola-...-milestone.html
jeisern
post Apr 1 2010, 12:35 AM

589 posts

Thanks alot mate !!! lemme try it out...

Tested and working....Woot!! Thanks bro !!!

With regards to the data connection, i mean although i have the DiGi unlimited RM 58 package, how do we monitor the apps that are pulling data ?
I have netcounter installed, the taskbar does not really tell which software is pushing or pulling data, i look at Running Services oso i dun wanna kill the wrong service.

Anyone has an advice on this ?

This post has been edited by jeisern: Apr 1 2010, 12:44 AM

126 Pages « < 61 62 63 64 65 > » Top

0.0206sec    0.51    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 06:01 PM