DELL Studio XPS™ 13 & 16 Notebooks [V2], Welcome to the new thread.

amunriel
post Nov 27 2009, 03:02 PM

512 posts

What is the best way to get a cheapest price for SXPS16 with freebies as well? Is it by phone call or from retail shops? And if calling is the cheapest option, what should I mention during the phone call?
amunriel
post Nov 28 2009, 08:45 AM

512 posts

QUOTE(how_5589 @ Nov 27 2009, 03:49 PM)
depend on what you upgrading also, the more you want to upgrade, the more discount you get...
i'll suggest you direct phone call Dell... i managed to discount rm700 for my own system, and help my friend discount rm300...
upgrade for 3 years complete cover, they gave me rm50 to upgrade it... nice~
lets say I want to upgrade processor (2.8 GHZ) + screen (RPG LED) + warranty ( 3 years Complete Cover )

how much discount should I be looking for?
amunriel
post Dec 4 2009, 11:10 PM

512 posts

Hi guys, any latest price update from PC fair? Wht is the cheapest price I can get through Dell using phone call with the following spec? Or is there any other retailer with the following spec at a cheaper price?

This system is priced at 5991 at dell site.

Processor Intel® Core™2 Duo Processor T9600 (2.80GHz/ 1066 FSB/ 6MB Cache)
Operating System Genuine Windows® 7 Home Premium 64bit (English)
Memory 4GB (2 X 2GB) Dual Channel 1066MHz DDR3 SDRAM
Keyboard Dell™ Backlit Keyboard with Touchpad (English)
Video Card 1GB ATI Mobility Radeon HD 4670
Hard Drive 500GB 7200RPM SATA Hard Drive
Internal Optical Drive Slot Load 8X DVD + /-RW Drive with double layer write capability
Sound Integrated CREATIVE Sound Blaster® X-Fi MB Audio Software Solution
Dell Services: Hardware Maintenance 3-year XPS Premier Service with 3-year CompleteCover
WinRE Dell™ PC-Restore
Wireless Network Card Intel® WiFi Link 5100 (802.11a/g/n) Half Mini-card (MY)
Bluetooth Dell™ Wireless 370 Bluetooth Module (MY)
Dell Services: Remarks Laptop Batteries Carry One Year Warranty Only From Invoice Date
Dell Services: Remarks Dell's Terms and Conditions apply
Dell Services: Remarks Great Technical Tips & Information available 24x7 at http://support.ap.dell.com
Primary Battery 6-Cell (56WHr) Li-Ion Primary Battery
Carrying Cases No Case
Item included in the System System Driver Mod
Item included in the System Discount is only valid if the corresponding upgraded item is selected above.
Item included in the System Limited time offer valid until this Friday with payment. No further discounts.
Item included in the System Dell connect
Item included in the System Dell Dock Software
Item included in the System ExpressCard Slot, (DOES NOT SUPPORT PC CARDS)
Item included in the System APCC Ship Mod
Item included in the System Mod Specs Info (Malaysia)
Item included in the System Directship Info Mod
Item included in the System System Regulatory Label
Item included in the System Internal 10/100/1000 Gigabit Ethernet
Security Software McAfee™ Security Center (Multi-Language) - 15 Months Version
Microsoft OS Labels Windows® 7 Label
TV Tuner No Integrated TV Tuner
Label Options Intel Centrino 2 Label
HD display Obsidian Black 16 " 1080p WUXGA (1920x1080) RGBLED Full HD Display w/ 2MP cam
Freights NB-OS-CTO Handling&Insurance charges(Malaysia)
Delivery Charges Inspiron™ Delivery Charges (West Malaysia)
Software Microsoft® Works 9.0 (Does Not Include Microsoft® Office 2003/2007 Software)
Power Options 90W AC Adapter
Dell Services: Dell Remote Access Dell Remote Access, free basic service
Dell Services: Datasafe Backup Service Dell Online Backup 2GB

This post has been edited by amunriel: Dec 4 2009, 11:29 PM
amunriel
post Dec 5 2009, 08:00 PM

512 posts

QUOTE(LokiD.d.G @ Dec 5 2009, 03:27 AM)
At that price, you are better off getting the Sager NP8662 if you want better raw performance. Of course, you'll have to downgrade the screen, but overall, it is still cheaper.  wink.gif
I decided to get m15x instead today at the PC fair with the given deal. 6599 with 6GB DDR3 and 260M GTX with core i7 as well.

QUOTE(Dellxps16 @ Dec 5 2009, 07:45 PM)
Dear cain,

Nice Laptop you got and i am also interested. But one issue to me!

I7 processor is very hot right?

Mind sharing the I7 Processor and GPU HD 4670 temperuture?

Also, mind sharing the Pro & cons based on your own opinion.

If very good, i decide to get one too :-)

Added on December 5, 2009, 7:48 pm

T9600 as compared to I7 Dell xps

Probably less heat issue........... ???

For long term wise, which one might be a better choice btw T9600 and I7 720M?
Core i7 mate, 4 cores will win 2 cores in the future, confirmed especially when more programs utilize HT.
amunriel
post Dec 5 2009, 08:19 PM

512 posts

QUOTE(cain @ Dec 5 2009, 08:04 PM)
nod.gif That's why i'm looking for i7s oso. Seems like many ppl around here think it's an overkill. But to future-proof it (cuz optimization for 4 cores will become more common rite? Pls correct me if i'm wrong. I'm no expert here tongue.gif), i7 is better biggrin.gif
http://forum.notebookreview.com/showthread.php?t=433033

http://www.notebookcheck.net/Review-Intel-...ld.21684.0.html

yes the 920QM is overkill with the price but not the 720QM

"Surmising this, the i7 720QM CPU is likely to be the winner of the value for money competition" quoted from notebook check review.

0.0385sec    0.56    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 04:50 PM