Stop Blaming the Eggs, Read before u judge .

iamyuanwu
post Oct 14 2009, 01:15 PM

2,425 posts

QUOTE(mumeichan @ Oct 14 2009, 10:59 AM)
Next I can see someone writing an article saying that eating sui yuk won't contribute to heart diseases.
You know, sui yuk can be a great food source.
Saturated fat (such as those from sui yuk, palm oil, butter) IS part of a well balanced diet. And it plays very important roles in cell membrane, hormone production, and other bodily functions.

And quite recent research has found that saturated fat and blood cholesterol level is not the cause of heart disease. They are simply an indicator of the illness. (lazy to dig out this reference)
Just like fever is not an illness, it is an indicator & immune response towards infections.

As with all food, it's how much a person eat them compared to other nutrients and that person's activity level that makes him/her a healthy person. Problem being Malaysian don't eat enough of unsaturated fats.

P.S. the egg yolk myth has been busted so freaking many times already, it's getting lame. Good job to Jamis anyway for bringing it up again.

This post has been edited by iamyuanwu: Oct 14 2009, 01:17 PM
iamyuanwu
post Oct 17 2009, 01:50 AM

2,425 posts

QUOTE(C-Note @ Oct 16 2009, 11:00 PM)
so that means egg has no cholesterol? totally not related to coronary diseases?
Eggs have cholesterol. But it should be noted that ingested cholesterol and those created by the body are different. And their effect of the body and health are different too. I'll let some other intelligent soul explain more on this.
iamyuanwu
post Oct 17 2009, 10:35 AM

2,425 posts

QUOTE(ee7han @ Oct 17 2009, 01:56 AM)
Don't really like yolk anyway. =/
Don't waste good food!
iamyuanwu
post Oct 18 2009, 06:23 PM

2,425 posts

QUOTE(C-Note @ Oct 18 2009, 12:43 AM)
doesnt cholesterol thicken our blood and increases its viscosity? hence burdening the arteries ?
Drink more water!
iamyuanwu
post Oct 19 2009, 09:43 AM

2,425 posts

From amongst the clouds and sun ray, a voice is heard saying...

"It's in the blood. Educating people is your destiny, no matter about green computing or fitness. YOU are meant to do it!"

Ahahahahahah!
iamyuanwu
post Oct 20 2009, 10:50 AM

2,425 posts

QUOTE(pizzaboy @ Oct 19 2009, 09:56 AM)
HAhA!
I think in December, I'll be going to Penang to some geeky paper presentation thing. I've been to one in Kelantan, and it was boring as hell (most of the papers) I'm just goin because a particular university is paying for accommodation and my supervisor is bored of going to fancy hotels already. It's actually interesting, to find out the answer to such things....but the problem is in the idiotic literature review. Bleargh....cite cite cite cite
Oi, if you've got some good stuff about training/nutrition/sports articles, post them up lah. nod.gif

Now... where's that geek thread of ours?

0.0168sec    0.94    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 03:01 PM