۩۞۩۩۞۩Samsung Omnia i900 V4۩۞۩۩۞۩, NEWBIES PLZ READ THE FIRST PAGE!!!!

mmmbop
post Dec 4 2009, 04:18 PM

753 posts

QUOTE(newbieockids @ Nov 26 2009, 12:11 AM)
manage to get garmin working.. just got back from jalan2 go to all petrol pump in putrajaya with garmin guidance lol..
i've tried the s2u2 but after unlock my wifi not working.. need to reboot phone.. anyone got similar prob?..
and is there anyway to get windows update using wifi?..
Chances are, there will be no update from Microsoft..so you don't have to waste your time for it.. I have check that update couple of times and usually will give u nil result of new update.

Added on December 4, 2009, 4:19 pm
QUOTE(fense @ Nov 26 2009, 05:40 PM)
Samsung Malaysia customer service said maybe..
tecnical team is testing on it for omnia i900 this month. if really work possibly will realease on January.
If only that comes true..

Added on December 4, 2009, 4:22 pm
QUOTE(thy1986 @ Nov 27 2009, 08:23 PM)
hei guys, i wonder where you all download games for this phone.
can introduce me some website where i can buy some games (beside maxis)??
too bad gameloft is not operating in malaysia  cry.gif (correct me if i am wrong)
Dude..gameloft games are available in Malaysia la..If you prefer the paid one, the easiest way browse through those tiny teenie advert on phone magazine, paper etc..but that one will be Java based

Added on December 4, 2009, 4:25 pm
QUOTE(newbieockids @ Nov 29 2009, 10:18 PM)
anyone know where can i buy car charger for omnia?..
what is the price?...

thank you..
err..your regular phone shop? or if prefer ori straight to Samsung centre

Added on December 4, 2009, 4:27 pm
QUOTE(wkyoong @ Nov 30 2009, 12:29 AM)
Should be 12 months. I think 18 month old FMG warranty sets have been extinct for a long time  sweat.gif
Mine is the 18 month set..should have some more months left

Added on December 4, 2009, 4:32 pm
QUOTE(jane_mj @ Dec 1 2009, 06:35 PM)
anyone kno how much to change the full housing cover faceplates?
I have called the Samsung spare-part centre..

Allegedly he estimates RM300++ for the parts only including the middle section (the main block)..That doesn't include the service charge..If you just want to change the chrome part only, if I'm not mistaken it's going to be RM90+, the battery cover around RM30+ and the LCD digitizer around RM200++..

You can get cheaper but ori set from ebay from example..but the installation pat, do it on your own risk..I'm thinking of changing the housing as well but so far can't find any DIY guide available on the net

Added on December 4, 2009, 4:37 pm
QUOTE(heckuvaword @ Dec 4 2009, 12:34 AM)
I m an old Omnian user , I wanted to ask those guys to help me upgrade my firmware at summit and they say they hav to charge me rm50 just for the update because my warranty is expire. after that i decided not to upgrade since i can upgrade it using my own computer. but the latest firmware i heard from the technician is IF1 but i cant find where to download it. any idea? thanks... by the way i m using DZIA5 now and plan to upgrade it.
2nd concern is the storage is always full when i serve the internet and install program. the main memory always state 97% full. i was wondering since i have install all the program to my storage , how come the storage and program memory at the setting tab will reduce after each time i install program to my storage.isn't it suppose to reduce from my storage memory ?thanks...i m still very new with all this even i have used the phone for more then a year....thanks...
You have to manually clear the cache in your opera or IE depends on which one that you use..everytime you browse the net, some main memory will be use for the cache and file saving later on..Make it a routine to manually clear all history and cache every after use..Use memory cleaner as well like those from Sktools

This post has been edited by mmmbop: Dec 4 2009, 04:37 PM
mmmbop
post Dec 7 2009, 04:41 PM

753 posts

QUOTE(kennexionz @ Dec 5 2009, 02:07 AM)
Interesting... can I obtain this info/service from any samsung service center? thinking of changing the color  hmm.gif
Well, give them a call and you'll know right away
mmmbop
post Dec 15 2009, 12:02 PM

753 posts

QUOTE(abak @ Dec 12 2009, 04:13 PM)
thank you Fense for ur explanation bout the ROM. Now I can understand a bit. So i think i just maintain this ROM until there is a new release from samsung.

Oh ya... one more thing, I noticed sometimes when I make a call the other party cant hear me clearly. Need to speak louder. Is there any way to adjust the microphone volume / sensitivity or this is normal for omnia? Any tips & tricks bout this microphone thing? Sometimes a bit fed-up to repeat same words twice. ArrgHhhh...
Read through the first page.

Added on December 15, 2009, 12:04 pm
QUOTE(fense @ Dec 13 2009, 12:13 PM)
ya. actually if u go samsung center u will realise they are using DZIF1/DXIF1 but available online is still DZIA5.
Are you saying the IF1 is already available at the centre? if go to the centre, will they update with the IF1 or stick to IA5?

This post has been edited by mmmbop: Dec 15 2009, 12:04 PM
mmmbop
post Jan 19 2010, 11:43 AM

753 posts

[quote=ahhon83,Jan 12 2010, 10:35 PM]Hi,

Just one question, may i know how many of you or who is now actually touch the screen/ tap it using finger nail???

And if your tap ur screen using finger just like iphone, when u bought your phone? Because i bought since Aug 08, so the i need to tap it using finger nail and i just found out that it actually work with finger touch, but need to change the touch screen panel.

Anyone of you change the touch screen panel before? How much is that cost in lowyat? I asked from samsung sc, it cost about 250RM.

[/quote]

What exactly you are talking about? Are you saying you doesn't know that we can use our fingers instead of fingernail? This is resistive screen, pressure based. you can use generally anything to register a touch on the screen. And I don't think samsung offers capacitive screen for replacement of omnia's one if that what you meant.

Added on January 19, 2010, 11:50 am[quote=Zack Styler,Jan 7 2010, 02:43 PM]Is there any higher capacity battery for OMNIA? Planning to get a car changer too..

By the way how long does you guys Omnia GPS took to lock to satelites? Mine took about 5 minutes under the clear sky..

[/quote]

There is some on the net for higher mAh battery. check around. except that they are not standard one though.so use on your own risk.

GPS lock depend on varying factors. for example, the longer you didn't activate your GPS, the longer it will take to lock due to the satelittes up there move much further from the last time you activated the GPS. If you move further from the last location known by the GPS will give you the same effect as well.

Frequent update on XTRA will give you faster lock.

Added on January 19, 2010, 11:54 am[quote=Terrasmark,Jan 7 2010, 02:49 PM]
of course.my also same,initially full bar battery,after few hour on gps.battery drop to 30%..@.@
[/quote] U could activate Flight Mode (turn GSM off) for the extra juice. After all, if U happen to use GPS on the road, U're not suppose to talk / msg. on the phone while driving <Tsk, tsk, tsk.... rolleyes.gif >

[/quote]

Except in the plane, I'm pretty clueless why would anyone use the FM even in the light of saving the juices.

As the primary function is a phone, why would you turn it off?

When I use GPS it's clear that I'm looking for some unknown place. Hence the need to make a call now and then IN CASE the map failed me. As such I have never turn off the line.

p/s: use bluetooth earphone while driving la bro

Added on January 19, 2010, 12:02 pm[quote=Superkian,Jan 15 2010, 05:27 PM]
omg...samsung phone no value on the market one...i hear my said that.i guess is true...im regret to buy samsung liao...nx time wont buy this brand><

currently use sector last rom that,one word..lame.

[/quote]

I bought omnia because of the features that this phone has. Not too exaggerating to say the most complete package of phone during the launch time. Where can you get a phone with internal memory up to 8GB/16GB, with Divx supported, true GPS, video call, 5MP camera (in fact if not mistaken the first ever PDA with 5MP + ALL of the camera function), 624 MHz processor, which is only Asus processor surpassed during that time. And ah all of the long list of specs that you should have already know. In fact, the specs that omnia holds right now still one of top of the line.

Even I have an iPhone, I will never let go of this baby.

This post has been edited by mmmbop: Jan 19 2010, 12:02 PM
mmmbop
post Feb 23 2010, 09:52 AM

753 posts

QUOTE(cutiesbaby312 @ Feb 22 2010, 02:11 PM)
ermm... is this thread dead? No reply one sad.gif
IMHO, you should provide more details on the problem.

For example, what FW you're using, and since you said, it no longer works anymore, I presume you have use it succesfully before. Have you installed any application prior to the problem. Which navigation apps you're using? Gmaps? GMXT? Papago? etc..

Tells us your more and there might be someone kind enough to help.

Added on February 23, 2010, 9:53 am
QUOTE(megahertz @ Feb 21 2010, 10:41 AM)
guys, how much for new battery for this omnia?
standard battery or local set
Err..how about a call to samsung service centre?

Added on February 23, 2010, 9:55 am
QUOTE(headhunter7 @ Feb 18 2010, 07:53 PM)
Has anyone used video call for this phone? I wanna try it out. Or maybe this rom isn't compatible with video call?

Using ock's rom.
In the first place, have you tried it?

It works brilliantly with no glitch at all since I use it.

This post has been edited by mmmbop: Feb 23 2010, 09:55 AM
mmmbop
post Jun 14 2010, 10:14 AM

753 posts

Damn. I don't when I have mistakenly remove Asphalt 4. Anyone knows how to get a copy of this other than the normal FW installation?
mmmbop
post Oct 27 2010, 10:28 AM

753 posts

QUOTE(OneBuck @ Oct 25 2010, 11:07 AM)
Yesterday morning change the LCD. Reason changing because left part of the old screen does not response to touch.

Run perfect and better response, equivalent to my Omnia 2. It took me 1 hour to replace together with guide from youtube and manual. All function works perfect, sms, call, camera, internet surfing.

Bought from Ebay, USD0.01 plus shipping USD5.29. 2 weeks to arrive.

If your screen is broken and you have the passion (and second phone back-up), I highly encourage to change it by your self. By the way, I am only a finance clerk and not an engineer.

But there are a lot of cases in the net that their phone is not working after replacing. Do it carefully.
Multiple times I'm planning to change the LCD but looking at the manual, I know there's a lot of work to do. Don't hold your breath, I've got lots of question following up:

1. By any chance, do you use static cloth etc during the installation? Really afraid will damage all of the sensitive electronics.

2. Your own tools or buy specific tools from ebay?

3. OEM LCD screen or not?

4. Any chance we can change to capacitive instead? (I highly doubt it so)

5. Can pm me the ebay seller's name?
mmmbop
post Oct 29 2010, 02:41 PM

753 posts

Thank you. that..has been very informative. but a quick check on the ebay link you have provided stated that they doesn't ship to Malaysia. You managed to coax them to ship?
mmmbop
post Nov 1 2010, 11:46 AM

753 posts

Thanks. I'm thinking of changing the middle part as well, it has been badly bruised.
mmmbop
post Nov 8 2010, 04:44 PM

753 posts

QUOTE(kennexionz @ Nov 2 2010, 11:35 AM)
The middle part u better get from samsung direct as the ones that are sold in Ebay does not contain the antennas and some shielding.. the digitizer the bezel and the back cover I suppose u can get from ebay.

I changed mine ... full set around RM80 from ebay.. hehe the middle part cannot be used tho. ;-)

Hope it helps.. if u are planning to change to another color be wary of the power n menu buttons tho
Thanks. that is a very nice insightful advice. the full set from china is tempting price-wise, but I know there might be a catch. Which you have just confirmed.

Anyway, has anyone get a full on board 16GB microSD without any serious performance speed decrease?

My free 4GB just can't hold it anymore..too many movies to be stored.

Added on November 8, 2010, 4:46 pm
QUOTE(fahrur_07 @ Nov 5 2010, 07:24 AM)
hi
im using opera mobile to surf internet
but why it cant download file from the net?any settings that need to change?
btw im subscribe the celcom bb entry level rm38/month 500mb
I can't say for sure, but I have mixed results of downloads on 3G. Sometimes it works and other times doesn't. Just to be on the safe side, try downloading on wifi, it could be because of the speed

This post has been edited by mmmbop: Nov 8 2010, 04:46 PM

0.0307sec    0.45    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th November 2025 - 11:51 PM