QUOTE(~lynn~ @ Oct 16 2009, 12:31 PM)
1) But why are you saying that nuclear is not a long term solution? Perhaps due to the waste issue, that one day it'll accumulate too much?
2) Ah, the clean-coal technology. If I'm not mistaken, the proposed and approved coal-fired power plant in Lahad Datu utilises this technology.
3) Your idea about wind farm in the South China Sea is interesting enough. But some of the concerns I felt includes need of building an underground transmission line, which will increase the cost.
The Manjung coal-fired power plant in Perak also uses the clean coal technology.2) Ah, the clean-coal technology. If I'm not mistaken, the proposed and approved coal-fired power plant in Lahad Datu utilises this technology.
3) Your idea about wind farm in the South China Sea is interesting enough. But some of the concerns I felt includes need of building an underground transmission line, which will increase the cost.
It started its operation in 2003, using equipment from Alstom.
The Flue Gas Desulphurisation (FGD) alone cost RM 100 million.
Manjung is 2,100 MW.....the one in Lahad Datu, about 300 MW.
Another requirement for this Manjung plant is that the released water, should not exceed 40 degrees Celsius in temperature.
It is already used as environmental benchmark for coal-fired power plants.
This post has been edited by Kampung2005: Oct 16 2009, 06:04 PM
Oct 16 2009, 05:55 PM
0.0125sec