8 hour battery life, 14inches laptops, CULV laptops

TScloudstrife07
post Oct 12 2009, 03:18 AM, updated 17y ago

I'm back, beaches!
4,688 posts

hi there, i thought of opening a new thread rather than posting in recommendation thread.

lately i noticed there are demand in buying a 14" laptop that gives 8hours or more battery life (kudos to Acer for starting this trend).

and so i thought of buying one of those with a budget of RM2900~3000.

currently im looking at:

1. Acer Timeline 4810TG (C2D SU9400, 320GB harddisk, 2GB DDR3 RAM, ATI Mobility 4330, Vista Home Premium)

2. Asus UL80V (C2D SU7300, 320GB Harddisk, 2GB DDR3 RAM, Nvidia Geforce 210M, Vista Home Premium)

3. Dell Inspiron 14z (C2D SU7300, 320GB hard disk, 3GB DDR3 RAM, ATI Mobility 4330, Vista Home Premium)

which is better among all 3? i can't seem to choose.

1. Dell has the best aftersales service, but only 1 year warranty until i can stretch the budget.
2. Asus has Turbo33 Technology which overclocks the processor to 1.73Ghz from 1.3Ghz, and faster graphic card (Geforce 210m).
3. Acer is more business oriented. looks bland, but it does fine to me w/o all that glossy fingerprint stuffs (Asus and Dell is glossy iianm)
4. Windows 7, yeah i can wait for the windows 7 version of these laptops, just that i need early preparation on which to choose.
5. performance between these laptops.

i need feedbacks. afterall, CULV laptops with 14" are still new in the market.

This post has been edited by cloudstrife07: Oct 12 2009, 03:20 AM
astria
post Oct 12 2009, 06:34 AM

an apple a day keeps the doctor away
22,158 posts

do u really need so much battery life???
naq_bp
post Oct 12 2009, 07:18 AM

320 posts

5hours battery life should be enough unless u want use ur lappy in jungle or any place that dont have any electricity like south african...
miahahaha
post Oct 12 2009, 07:54 AM

Beru
7,558 posts

Between all of the laptops that you listed...i would go for Asus UL80V...the second one would be Timeline 4810TG (as i tested the unit before and can handle multiple task pretty well, dun really know about Dell & Asus)...
booby
post Oct 12 2009, 10:46 AM

oh god why
658 posts

QUOTE(naq_bp @ Oct 12 2009, 07:18 AM)
5hours battery life should be enough unless u want use ur lappy in jungle or any place that dont have any electricity like south african...

They say 8 hours battery only, but after u run a lot of applications, only last 4-5 hours. 8 hours means ur laptop is not running anything, it has to be sleeping.
miahahaha
post Oct 12 2009, 10:55 AM

Beru
7,558 posts

QUOTE(booby @ Oct 12 2009, 10:46 AM)
They say 8 hours battery only, but after u run a lot of applications, only last 4-5 hours. 8 hours means ur laptop is not running anything, it has to be sleeping.
No la..i've tested Aspire Timeline 3810T (which is an older version of Timeline series), really can last almost 7 hours (which is unbelievable) doing work, listening to mp3s and also some internet surfing nod.gif...

Added on October 12, 2009, 10:55 amIf sleeping, then even my S42 can last almost 15 hours laugh.gif..

This post has been edited by miahahaha: Oct 12 2009, 10:55 AM
TScloudstrife07
post Oct 12 2009, 12:43 PM

I'm back, beaches!
4,688 posts

QUOTE(astria @ Oct 12 2009, 06:34 AM)
do u really need so much battery life???
yes i do need it nowadays as i'm helping my mom doing her business. having to search power socket now and then for presentation or for showing her customer her business stuffs in the laptop is quite irritating sometimes to me and her. and no, i dont want to squint my eyes so no 10" netbooks.

and who knows, maybe that loooooonnnggg battery life has its other use wink.gif

QUOTE(miahahaha @ Oct 12 2009, 07:54 AM)
Between all of the laptops that you listed...i would go for Asus UL80V...the second one would be Timeline 4810TG (as i tested the unit before and can handle multiple task pretty well, dun really know about Dell & Asus)...
im leaning towards the Asus, but then yeah, people owning that Dell and Asus is nowhere to be found here, except 1, jeremy0 who is owning the Asus UL80V.

QUOTE(booby @ Oct 12 2009, 10:46 AM)
i do agree it last 4~5 hours if you're constantly viewing HD movies or playing games. most of the reviews i saw on the net said that 8 hours is achievable. they even test it like a normal user; on the wifi, constantly surfing on flash webpages, some movies, download etc and they got it up to 7 hours++ which is pretty interesting.
astria
post Oct 12 2009, 12:49 PM

22,158 posts

well, basically i dun see the pt in overclocking for a CULV, since the most important thing abt them is low power consumption and not performance...

moreover conventionally, ATi GPU produces better colour compared to Nvidia, and easier when dealing with HD videos... that may help since u're dealing with presentations...
miahahaha
post Oct 12 2009, 12:54 PM

Beru
7,558 posts

Maybe you can choose Timeline 4810TG lor...others i cannot tell you how's the performance but for 4810TG, i can assure you that 6 hours ++ is achievable nod.gif..and like you need, less hassle to look for power socket next time you helping your mother with her business..icon_rolleyes.gif
TScloudstrife07
post Oct 12 2009, 10:10 PM

I'm back, beaches!
4,688 posts

QUOTE(astria @ Oct 12 2009, 12:49 PM)
well, basically i dun see the pt in overclocking for a CULV, since the most important thing abt them is low power consumption and not performance...

moreover conventionally, ATi GPU produces better colour compared to Nvidia, and easier when dealing with HD videos... that may help since u're dealing with presentations...
well, atleast when u need more performance than usual, u can just OC it. i heard even after OC, that UL80V still has considerably long battery life for an overclocked laptop.

QUOTE(miahahaha @ Oct 12 2009, 12:54 PM)
Maybe you can choose Timeline 4810TG lor...others i cannot tell you how's the performance but for 4810TG, i can assure you that 6 hours ++ is achievable nod.gif..and like you need, less hassle to look for power socket next time you helping your mother with her business..icon_rolleyes.gif
yup, that's the main point, less hassle to look for power socket everytime. smile.gif

any other inputs, preferably from users themselves?
Teochew_kia
post Oct 13 2009, 11:28 AM

70 posts

i heard from my fren that 22nd of october 2009, ASUS UL80Vt come together with Windows 7 home premium (64bit)....u better wait
astria
post Oct 13 2009, 11:35 AM

22,158 posts

QUOTE(Teochew_kia @ Oct 13 2009, 02:28 PM)
i heard from my fren that 22nd of october 2009, ASUS UL80Vt come together with Windows 7 home premium (64bit)....u better wait
all laptops will come with Win7 starting from 22 Oct...

that's the official launch date of Win7.. .sweat.gif
Teochew_kia
post Oct 13 2009, 12:06 PM

70 posts

QUOTE(astria @ Oct 13 2009, 11:35 AM)
all laptops will come with Win7 starting from 22 Oct...

that's the official launch date of Win7.. .sweat.gif
that y i ask him wait 22nd october 1st...
astria
post Oct 13 2009, 12:08 PM

22,158 posts

u buy now also got free upgrade from Asus wat... sweat.gif
Teochew_kia
post Oct 13 2009, 02:45 PM

70 posts

QUOTE(astria @ Oct 13 2009, 12:08 PM)
u buy now also got free upgrade from Asus wat... sweat.gif
i ask already..need pay shipping cost ler...
miahahaha
post Oct 13 2009, 03:19 PM

Beru
7,558 posts

Yup..certain brands need to pay for shipping cost (as far as i know HP & Acer)...well,like you said, better wait for it to pre-install with 7 laugh.gif
chicaman
post Oct 13 2009, 10:39 PM

( ;゚Д゚) t(-.-t)
9,706 posts

buy 1 more extra battery smile.gif
klkuee
post Oct 14 2009, 01:10 PM

20 posts

i recently purchase 3810T. i must said the performance has nothing to shout about. but i define mobile as in light weight and long lasting battery, which i really appreciate wat acer 3810T providing.

it's like your handphone. u charge at nite while u r sleeping. then next day bring ur laptop together with u without the charger and use all day long. then recharging the battery again at nite and so forth..

Teochew_kia
post Oct 14 2009, 02:21 PM

70 posts

QUOTE(klkuee @ Oct 14 2009, 01:10 PM)
i recently purchase 3810T. i must said the performance has nothing to shout about. but i define mobile as in light weight and long lasting battery, which i really appreciate wat acer 3810T providing.

it's like your handphone. u charge at nite while u r sleeping. then next day bring ur laptop together with u without the charger and use all day long. then recharging the battery again at nite and so forth..
but charge for many hours also not good for battery.... hmm.gif
itanium89
post Oct 14 2009, 07:07 PM

170 posts

Acer is more business oriented. looks bland

how about wait for benq s43? design better a bit though.. hmm.gif
klkuee
post Oct 15 2009, 12:25 AM

20 posts

QUOTE(Teochew_kia @ Oct 14 2009, 02:21 PM)
but charge for many hours also not good for battery.... hmm.gif
bro, maybe you don't realise that the power adapter come with acer timeline does automatically stop the charging process once the battery is 100% full. it doesn't affect the battery life. in fact, battery life is shortern when someone power the laptop with adapter and charging battery at the same time. it's due to the heat generated during charging while laptop is being used. google u will find the answer

This post has been edited by klkuee: Oct 15 2009, 12:26 AM
sianlang
post Nov 8 2009, 06:05 AM

me too still deciding between acer 4810tg n asus ul80vt..heres some pros n cons i am concern:

Acer Pros
1. SU9400 (any big difference in performance compared to SU7300 at default clock speed?)
2. 1.3mp webcam
3. Touchpad

Acer Cons
1. Small arrow keys
2. Lower cell battery
3. Paint on the palm rest area looks like will discolor after sometime

Asus Pros
1. Sony vaio lookalike keyboard with normal size arrow keys
2. Higher cell battery and its claim 12 hrs usage (should at least beable to last 1-2 hrs more than acer?)
3. Design and build looks better than acer

Asus Cons
1. 0.3mp webcam
2. Asus using atheros single band 2.4ghz wireless card compare to acer using intel 5100 dual band 2.4ghz/5ghz (read from another forum some u.s users are experiencing connection drop with their ul30 altho different model but ul80 also using the same wireless card)

This post has been edited by sianlang: Nov 8 2009, 06:08 AM
astria
post Nov 8 2009, 09:00 AM

22,158 posts

i can tell u, Atheros adapters are better than Intel 5100...

heard too many connection problem with that... 5300 is better though...
sianlang
post Nov 8 2009, 04:12 PM

i guess the drop connection could be the 1 antenna in the ul30 hopefully its not the same in ul80 (owners of the ul80 can confirm this?)..still the atheros they used r single band which makes it unable to utilize the 5ghz on my dlink 855
A p e k
post Nov 8 2009, 10:36 PM

820 posts

guys

acer timeline baterry liked 8 hours

really can tahan 8 hours meh?? hmm.gif
M1X
post Nov 9 2009, 04:36 AM

2,334 posts

I just bought an Asus UL80VT few days ago. Of course I tested the battery life and charging time. So here is it:

The battery lasted for 7.5 hours. Here's what I did full time, the laptop didn't sleep:
- softwares installation (was setting up things to use later), this include reading from CD/DVD
- transfering tons of files from my old desktop using LAN
- played few minutes of DotA, just to test the IGP 4500HD (Quiet Office mode)
- convert/compress several short videos to send to my handphone via bluetooth
- my Winamp was running all the time
- fixing some photo, or making some wallpapers with Photoshop
- also restarted several times, since after some software installations need to restart.

Then for charging (laptop tuenrd off), it just took 1 hours 50 minutes.

This post has been edited by M1X: Nov 9 2009, 04:39 AM
killz23
post Nov 9 2009, 06:16 AM

I'm Coming!
1,164 posts

That's why I'm contemplating on either UL80VT, or just wait for the next big thing to arrive..hahah..Which I have no idea when or what model..

Added on November 9, 2009, 6:17 amOr should I just get a computer with almost same specs(of course better processor) and add another battery?

This post has been edited by killz23: Nov 9 2009, 06:17 AM
M1X
post Nov 9 2009, 06:37 AM

2,334 posts

The UL80VT CPU speed can reach 2.1GHz when you use Max Performance mode (the heat... of course). I thought it only reach 1.7GHz, but just now I read with CPU-Z software, it tells me 2.1GHz instead...

Anyway, it can beat a standard laptop's T4300 2.1GHz easilly (on a cheap laptop) that my sister bought a week earlier.
lee_what2004
post Nov 9 2009, 07:57 AM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

QUOTE(M1X @ Nov 9 2009, 04:36 AM)
I just bought an Asus UL80VT few days ago. Of course I tested the battery life and charging time. So here is it:

The battery lasted for 7.5 hours. Here's what I did full time, the laptop didn't sleep:
- softwares installation (was setting up things to use later), this include reading from CD/DVD
- transfering tons of files from my old desktop using LAN
- played few minutes of DotA, just to test the IGP 4500HD (Quiet Office mode)
- convert/compress several short videos to send to my handphone via bluetooth
- my Winamp was running all the time
- fixing some photo, or making some wallpapers with Photoshop
- also restarted several times, since after some software installations need to restart.

Then for charging (laptop tuenrd off), it just took 1 hours 50 minutes.
what's the level of brightness lcd?
killz23
post Nov 9 2009, 08:09 AM

I'm Coming!
1,164 posts

I guess processor speed doesn't really matter to me, because no matter how fast, I only use it for internet surfing, assignments, and maybe some autocad in the future because I'm in engineering degree..

So should I get cheaper lappie with good performance + additional battery or UL80VT? For student..
astria
post Nov 9 2009, 08:34 AM

22,158 posts

u wouldn't want to take an extra battery along... it's heavier than u expect...

if u want both performance and battery life, perhaps Asus U80V... C2D T6500 with HD4570, 14" @ 2.1kg (light for a regular 14" laptop), and users report abt 5hrs of batt life...
lee_what2004
post Nov 9 2009, 08:37 AM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

@astria, according john_jay2, now u80v comes with g105m.

This post has been edited by lee_what2004: Nov 9 2009, 08:38 AM
astria
post Nov 9 2009, 08:43 AM

22,158 posts

QUOTE(lee_what2004 @ Nov 9 2009, 11:37 AM)
@astria, according john_jay2, now u80v comes with g105m.
WAT... THE... CRAP!!!

that's is so utterly lame... doh.gif

the legend of U80V is no more... sweat.gif
lee_what2004
post Nov 9 2009, 08:47 AM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

seems like its u50vg that change from g105m to hd4570 hmm.gif
killz23
post Nov 9 2009, 09:06 AM

I'm Coming!
1,164 posts

Erm...So is that considered downgrade? hhaa..

I just need a good-looking laptop with good performance...5hrs + doesn't seem that long to me..Can last whole day in school ar?
astria
post Nov 9 2009, 09:07 AM

22,158 posts

well, in that case UL80Vt seems to be ur only choice if u dun want netbooks...
killz23
post Nov 9 2009, 09:11 AM

I'm Coming!
1,164 posts

No other cheaper brands with similar specs?
lee_what2004
post Nov 9 2009, 09:13 AM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

unless you want forget the nvidia g210m and use su4100 instead su7300.
acer aspire 4810TZ, rm 1999.

This post has been edited by lee_what2004: Nov 9 2009, 09:14 AM
astria
post Nov 9 2009, 09:16 AM

22,158 posts

well, SU4100 is fine... main difference with SU7300 is that lack of Virtualization Technology...

other than that, they both have same spec (1.3GHz, 3MB L2 cache, 800MHz FSB)
killz23
post Nov 9 2009, 09:17 AM

I'm Coming!
1,164 posts

It doesn't really matter for the graphics card..I don't use it for gaming anyway..How's acer's quality now?

People always complaint that acer has the worst quality control ever.
lee_what2004
post Nov 9 2009, 09:18 AM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

well, there also no turbo33 for the acer.

quality wise, acer has really improved.

even the acer they say bad, mine still alive after 3 years laugh.gif

This post has been edited by lee_what2004: Nov 9 2009, 09:19 AM
astria
post Nov 9 2009, 09:20 AM

22,158 posts

i think it's fine with out the overclock... afterall CULV sells battery life, not performance...
killz23
post Nov 9 2009, 09:21 AM

I'm Coming!
1,164 posts

Yeah..I don't need SUPER powerful laptop..I don't play games..

I need decent processor, decent ram, small thin and light and goodlooking tongue.gif, decent graphics enough to do autocad and won't lag too badly, light and has long battery life. And webcam too, because I very lazy wana install external webcam..
lee_what2004
post Nov 9 2009, 09:22 AM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

one more, according to Fritz chess benchmark, 1.4GHz su9400 is little bit faster than mine 1.73GHz t2250 doh.gif sad.gif

well, its the autocad part, I don't think culv would do well tongue.gif

This post has been edited by lee_what2004: Nov 9 2009, 09:23 AM
nameeh
post Nov 9 2009, 09:25 AM

84 posts

why Asus UL* series notebook dun hv kensington lock? sad.gif i wanted to buy but i need to the lock when i bring to office.
killz23
post Nov 9 2009, 09:25 AM

I'm Coming!
1,164 posts

Hahah..processor so fast, for someone who doesn't game, does it make any significant difference?
lee_what2004
post Nov 9 2009, 09:27 AM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

not really, only when cpu intensive, the difference will show.
killz23
post Nov 9 2009, 09:31 AM

I'm Coming!
1,164 posts

What stuffs are considered CPU intensive?

What about Asus EEE1005 HA? Seems like really good also, albeit it's a netbook and no DVD writer..Hmmm...I don't use my DVD writer very often, but sometimes I do need it (watch drama:p)...

AH! some many choices..If only can get UL80V at a better price..You guys think after christmas will have discounts?
M1X
post Nov 9 2009, 09:32 AM

2,334 posts

I choose UL80VT over U50VG because the stock shipped last week, U50VG equipped with G105M... Crappy, isn't it. But it cost RM3400+!! WHile UL80VT just RM2999 (I heard KL there RM2899? Whatever..)

About the LCD brightness, I just use about 20%. Because it give me the best image/colour display possible. I working on graphics, so too right or too dark will posses in-accurate artworks...

UL80VT all the way, it's the best gift... LOL... If I got money I would buy both the UL80VT, one for my friend! (They only shipped 2 units into Kuching!!!)

This post has been edited by M1X: Nov 9 2009, 09:34 AM
lee_what2004
post Nov 9 2009, 09:34 AM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

QUOTE(killz23 @ Nov 9 2009, 09:31 AM)
What stuffs are considered CPU intensive?

What about Asus EEE1005 HA? Seems like really good also, albeit it's a netbook and no DVD writer..Hmmm...I don't use my DVD writer very often, but sometimes I do need it (watch drama:p)...

AH! some many choices..If only can get UL80V at a better price..You guys think after christmas will have discounts?
sure you want to stare at 10'' the whole time? watching movies is better on larger screen laugh.gif
killz23
post Nov 9 2009, 09:36 AM

I'm Coming!
1,164 posts

QUOTE(M1X @ Nov 9 2009, 09:32 AM)
I choose UL80VT over U50VG because the stock shipped last week, U50VG equipped with G105M... Crappy, isn't it. But it cost RM3400+!! WHile UL80VT just RM2999 (I heard KL there RM2899? Whatever..)

About the LCD brightness, I just use about 20%. Because it give me the best image/colour display possible. I working on graphics, so too right or too dark will posses in-accurate artworks...

UL80VT all the way, it's the best gift... LOL... If I got money I would buy both the UL80VT, one for my friend! (They only shipped 2 units into Kuching!!!)
Ohhh...Wait..U50VG used to ship with a different graphics card? hahaha..don't confuse me with graphic cards here..hahaa..I don't really know which is which..
lee_what2004
post Nov 9 2009, 09:38 AM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

QUOTE(M1X @ Nov 9 2009, 09:32 AM)

now got confusion on u80v and u50vg rclxub.gif
u80v used to hd4570, now using g105m
u50gv used to g105m, now using hd4570.
need to see confirmation rclxub.gif
astria
post Nov 9 2009, 09:39 AM

22,158 posts

U50Vg - G 105M
UL80Vt - G 210M

UL80Vt wins... nod.gif

well, for autocad, a decent CPU is needed... UL80Vt is still ur best choice as u can overclock if u need the extra power for ur work, and back to normal when u dun need it... the dedicated GPU is also helpful for autocad as well...

i think M1X said it's 7.5hrs on UL80Vt even with ocerclock rit???
killz23
post Nov 9 2009, 09:47 AM

I'm Coming!
1,164 posts

Really?

Netbook can use for Autocad ar? hahaha..Must be weird lo liddat tongue.gif

I just read reviews for the Acer...Many people complaing the performance is only sub-par..I guess you cannot judge performance from specs alone huh?

So UL8Vt is best choice by far right? No HP or dell to compete?
lee_what2004
post Nov 9 2009, 09:51 AM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

his talking about the ul80vt, not the asus netbook.

well, how much are your expecting from non-performance notebook under 2k sweat.gif

if considering the turbo33 factor, no other brand still can compete.

This post has been edited by lee_what2004: Nov 9 2009, 09:52 AM
M1X
post Nov 9 2009, 09:59 AM

2,334 posts

About the overclock thing, I really unsure! Other software like Everest and PassMark reads only 1GHz while I running Quite Office mode, but CPU-Z reads 2.1GHz all the way (I think CPU-Z more thrust worthly, cuz 1GHz is logically really slow. Plus, it not logic that I can play GRiD over 1GHz on Entertainment mode...)

And... I ran 2.1GHz during my battery test session?! Posted 7.5 hours?! That's INSANE!

Also, note that G210M supports Nvidia CUDA, while G105M not. Do AutoCAD software banefits from CUDA? If yes, then it a real nice choice to choose laptop with CUDA supports. It can speed up process tremendously.

This post has been edited by M1X: Nov 9 2009, 10:02 AM
killz23
post Nov 9 2009, 10:02 AM

I'm Coming!
1,164 posts

QUOTE(lee_what2004 @ Nov 9 2009, 09:51 AM)
his talking about the ul80vt, not the asus netbook.

well, how much are your expecting from non-performance notebook under 2k sweat.gif

if considering the turbo33 factor, no other brand still can compete.
I know..I mean if use netbook, can use autocad on it? haha..that'll be funny..

Average student notebook enough lar..but looks good the best..haha..

But I thought would at least NOT die every now and then on the user ma..If liddat, i'd rather cough out some extra dough to get better lo..haha..

What's turbo33? THe overclock thingy?
lee_what2004
post Nov 9 2009, 10:03 AM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

yeah, the overclock.
killz23
post Nov 9 2009, 10:04 AM

I'm Coming!
1,164 posts

QUOTE(lee_what2004 @ Nov 9 2009, 10:03 AM)
yeah, the overclock.
Since I can switch the overclock on and off, then it'll be great whenever I wana do my assignment or just surf the net...

Is this a proprietory technology?
lee_what2004
post Nov 9 2009, 10:05 AM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

not sure, but so far, no other brand using it hmm.gif
astria
post Nov 9 2009, 10:06 AM

22,158 posts

not really...

Asus juz make it easier to overclock using softwares...

there are tonnes of software to overclock in the Internet, juz that it requires some settings, and may be intimidating to those who ve no idea wat is FSB, HT, multiplier, etc...

Added on November 9, 2009, 10:07 am
QUOTE(killz23 @ Nov 9 2009, 01:02 PM)
I know..I mean if use netbook, can use autocad on it? haha..that'll be funny..

Average student notebook enough lar..but looks good the best..haha..

But I thought would at least NOT die every now and then on the user ma..If liddat, i'd rather cough out some extra dough to get better lo..haha..

What's turbo33? THe overclock thingy?
seriously, u wouldn't want netbook for serious work... as the name suggests, it's ok for Net surfing and basic office works...

more over 10" screen for autocad?? ?that's juz too small...

This post has been edited by astria: Nov 9 2009, 10:07 AM
lee_what2004
post Nov 9 2009, 10:08 AM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

perhaps the same with the turbo on msi gaming notebook hmm.gif
astria
post Nov 9 2009, 10:09 AM

22,158 posts

QUOTE(M1X @ Nov 9 2009, 12:59 PM)
About the overclock thing, I really unsure! Other software like Everest and PassMark reads only 1GHz while I running Quite Office mode, but CPU-Z reads 2.1GHz all the way (I think CPU-Z more thrust worthly, cuz 1GHz is logically really slow. Plus, it not logic that I can play GRiD over 1GHz on Entertainment mode...)

And... I ran 2.1GHz during my battery test session?! Posted 7.5 hours?! That's INSANE!

Also, note that G210M supports Nvidia CUDA, while G105M not. Do AutoCAD software banefits from CUDA? If yes, then it a real nice choice to choose laptop with CUDA supports. It can speed up process tremendously.
officially speaking, G 210M do not support CUDA becuz of Nvidia's new policy of CUDA for mobile cards...

in the latest Forcware for mobile from Nvidia, u'll see that it writes CUDA is only for those GPU with 32SP and 256MB RAM... so the minimal for each generation of cards would be GeForce 8600M GT, GeForce 9500M GS, GeForce GT 120M and GeForce GT 220M...

of course, u can always bypass that with modded driver.. .laugh.gif

Added on November 9, 2009, 10:10 am
QUOTE(lee_what2004 @ Nov 9 2009, 01:08 PM)
perhaps the same with the turbo on msi gaming notebook hmm.gif
should be, but MSI is more convenient... there's a button on the laptop itself to do the work...

This post has been edited by astria: Nov 9 2009, 10:10 AM
M1X
post Nov 9 2009, 10:14 AM

2,334 posts

Hmm, I don't get it. The Power4Gear actually simply just changes some other things (not CPU and FSB speed). FOr example switching between IGP and discrete graphic, and switching between passive or active cooling... etc.

THere IS a turbo button but I didn't tried it yet. Hmm, perhaps I try it now, it require restart though.
lee_what2004
post Nov 9 2009, 10:15 AM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

it changes the fsb to gain 1.73GHz
the turbo button perhaps is express gate button.

This post has been edited by lee_what2004: Nov 9 2009, 10:16 AM
killz23
post Nov 9 2009, 10:17 AM

I'm Coming!
1,164 posts

Ugh...some technical terms flying around..Confused dy....Why can't you guys just conclude and say like, "Asus UL80V is better because the software beats MSI"...Instead of GPU D200203M is faster by 30% with Dual-threading technology edging past MSI which has Gforce N3094823AP with 1.39939KGHz processor running Triple-Multiple-Threading technology...
lee_what2004
post Nov 9 2009, 10:19 AM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

conclusion: Asus UL80VT laugh.gif
M1X
post Nov 9 2009, 10:20 AM

2,334 posts

HAHAHAHAHA, NOW I FINALLY UNDERSTAND !!!! rclxm9.gif

SInce the first day I bought this laptop, it ALREADY running on TURBO mode! THe red "ON" button actually is the STATUS, not the button to turn ON turbo mode... LOL!!!

Now I turned OFF the turbo, and the CPU roll back to 1.7GHz. So UL80VT REALLY topped 7.5 hours on OVERCLOCKED stat!!! So, reaching 0ver 10 hours on normal stat IS REALLY POSSIBLE!! rclxm9.gif

This post has been edited by M1X: Nov 9 2009, 10:22 AM
lee_what2004
post Nov 9 2009, 10:23 AM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

Update: ASUS has informed us that the Best Buy model of the UL80Vt will have a rubberized palm rest. That's one complaint down....

source
@M1X, did yours come with rubberized palm rest?
astria
post Nov 9 2009, 10:23 AM

22,158 posts

QUOTE(killz23 @ Nov 9 2009, 01:17 PM)
Ugh...some technical terms flying around..Confused dy....Why can't you guys just conclude and say like, "Asus UL80V is better because the software beats MSI"...Instead of GPU D200203M is faster by 30% with Dual-threading technology edging past MSI which has Gforce N3094823AP with 1.39939KGHz processor running Triple-Multiple-Threading technology...
well, u probably will need to understand some of these terms in order to maximise the performance of the laptop... laugh.gif

anyway, my pick is still Asus UL80Vt, mainly becuz:
1) less than rm3k
2) super long battery life
3) CPU can be overclocked by 33% to provide more performance for ur work
4) the dedicated G 210M can provide some degree of hardware acceleration for ur work, and still allow u to play games, mostly at mid settings...

Added on November 9, 2009, 10:24 am
QUOTE(M1X @ Nov 9 2009, 01:20 PM)
HAHAHAHAHA, NOW I FINALLY UNDERSTAND !!!!  rclxm9.gif

SInce the first day I bought this laptop, it ALREADY running on TURBO mode! THe red "ON" button actually is the STATUS, not the button to turn ON turbo mode... LOL!!!

Now I turned OFF the turbo, and the CPU roll back to 1.7GHz. So UL80VT REALLY topped 7.5 hours on OVERCLOCKED stat!!! So, reaching 0ver 10 hours on normal stat IS REALLY POSSIBLE!!  rclxm9.gif
try battery saving mode and see how far u ca go... laugh.gif

This post has been edited by astria: Nov 9 2009, 10:24 AM
M1X
post Nov 9 2009, 10:25 AM

2,334 posts

Yes, all palm rest are plastic. Only the LCD lid is alluminium.

So... On turbo mode, the CPU top 2.1GHz with 1066FSB
On normal mode, the CPU hit around 1.7GHz with FSB around 820MHz...

I gonna checkout the temperature later... Yeah I gonna test the battery later!!! rclxm9.gif

This post has been edited by M1X: Nov 9 2009, 10:26 AM
lee_what2004
post Nov 9 2009, 10:27 AM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

QUOTE(M1X @ Nov 9 2009, 10:25 AM)
Yes, all palm rest are plastic. Only the LCD lid is alluminium.

So... On turbo mode, the CPU top 2.1GHz with 1066FSB
On normal mode, the CPU hit around 1.7GHz with FSB around 820MHz...

I gonna checkout the temperature later... Yeah I gonna test the battery later!!!  rclxm9.gif
plastic, that means glossy body?
rubberized palm rest should mean no glossy fingerprint-friendly hmm.gif
M1X
post Nov 9 2009, 10:34 AM

2,334 posts

I didn't see any finger or palm print on my laptop though, the quality is good with unique "techy" style pattern, it not just bland surface. Maybe it vary on different models?

But of course, I wipe it some times cuz dust getting in my way... lol

Added on November 9, 2009, 10:36 amI gonna turn off my laptop a while to charge the battery little bit (don't mistaken, I ran this laptop since yesterday without plug in the battery. Cuz I don't like playing games with battery plugged in.)

This post has been edited by M1X: Nov 9 2009, 10:36 AM
lee_what2004
post Nov 9 2009, 10:36 AM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

perhaps,
glossy notebook is hard to maintain laugh.gif
killz23
post Nov 9 2009, 11:31 AM

I'm Coming!
1,164 posts

So UL80V can last over 10 hours?? hahaha..

I'm so tempted to push the Buy button now...
M1X
post Nov 9 2009, 11:40 AM

2,334 posts

Hahaha I still on the testing. But the reading now shows 9 hours (it not really accurate anyway). Now trying to get the stupid LAN going online to start transfer file from my old PC to laptop... argh why not running?! yawn.gif

This post has been edited by M1X: Nov 9 2009, 11:42 AM
killz23
post Nov 9 2009, 11:53 AM

I'm Coming!
1,164 posts

Yeah..I don't trust those battery bars too..

My BenQ R43 supposedly can run 4 hours on a full charge, but once i surf the net and watch some videos, the laptop will be dead in 45 mins or less..
M1X
post Nov 9 2009, 12:03 PM

2,334 posts

LOL, watching movie actually cost more battery power. I'm running BLUETOOTH now, and I think it gonna eat lots of battery. No choice, my sister took my phone USB cable, the only way I can get online now is via Bluetooth... DUH~
killz23
post Nov 9 2009, 12:05 PM

I'm Coming!
1,164 posts

Use Bluetooth to get online??

How you do that??

Eh, UL80V doesn't have bluetooth right? Or should I say, need to pay more to add that into the package..
lee_what2004
post Nov 9 2009, 12:07 PM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

UL series don't have bluetooth
but ULxxVT got bluetooth
z3171600
post Nov 9 2009, 12:08 PM

534 posts

I believe he tethering internet connection from his phone using Bluetooth. It will eat battery life faster but since UL series has almost 10 hours battery life, it's not so much as a problem. Probably the phone battery will run out first.
M1X
post Nov 9 2009, 12:08 PM

2,334 posts

Alamak, with wireless device (bluetooth) turned on, the battery falling quite fast... THis is gonna be a bad test...

Of course the phone battery runs out quick... I charge it continuesly... vmad.gif I gonna get my USB cable back from my sister... THe laptop battery drop quick too, since it also running bluetooth... DUH

Let see... I started the battery test on 11:20 (the battery only charged to 98%), now is 12:12, battery now left 87%... Don't think it gonna make it over 10 hours if continuesly using bluetooth... CRAP~ I gonna phone my sister to get my USB back tomorrow.

This post has been edited by M1X: Nov 9 2009, 12:18 PM
killz23
post Nov 9 2009, 12:24 PM

I'm Coming!
1,164 posts

Phuuu...how many hours past?Batt stats?
M1X
post Nov 9 2009, 12:24 PM

2,334 posts

Despite the core clock now is much lower, the voltage still stays on 0.88v... SO the temperature still the same... Hmm... SO maybe in logic, we could just leave the laptop overclocked...
killz23
post Nov 9 2009, 12:26 PM

I'm Coming!
1,164 posts

Then the batt life is only 7.5+ hours at max?
M1X
post Nov 9 2009, 12:38 PM

2,334 posts

Not sure, wireless stuff usually eat more battery. If you just doing office work (not play the Facebook of course), it might last longer. Still testing, and DC (disconnect) frequently -_______-

Guess I just continue my Photoshop work yawn.gif

This post has been edited by M1X: Nov 9 2009, 12:45 PM
killz23
post Nov 9 2009, 12:58 PM

I'm Coming!
1,164 posts

Ahhh...

How ler...Hard to decide now...Sigh...
lee_what2004
post Nov 9 2009, 01:00 PM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

decide between?
ul80vt with 2 battery? tongue.gif

This post has been edited by lee_what2004: Nov 9 2009, 01:03 PM
M1X
post Nov 9 2009, 01:06 PM

2,334 posts

Hahahaha UL80VT uses 8 cell battery, I heard it also tweaked by Asus so the total power stored is higher than usual. Yes, 8 cell. And the battery span from the left to the right side if the laptop, very long.

If you try to hold a smaller Ul like UL30 and UL20, the battery probably even heavier than the laptop alone!

This post has been edited by M1X: Nov 9 2009, 01:13 PM
lee_what2004
post Nov 9 2009, 01:07 PM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

should be 84mW
M1X
post Nov 9 2009, 01:44 PM

2,334 posts

... battery report : 2 hours 23 minutes usage : 28% ...

I am so sleepy now, already over 24 hours didn't sleep... Maybe I continue this test after I get a nap later... Heehee
sianlang
post Nov 9 2009, 01:55 PM

ul80vt owners can post a detailed spec of their set? want to confirm what we are getting n compare with the acer 4810tg(assuming sg will be getting the same specs as my)

Acer:

Intel Core 2 Duo SU9400 1.4GHz
4GB DDR3-800 (2 DIMMs)
Chipset Intel GS45 Express
Integrated Intel GMA 4500MHD with 64MB dedicated memory & ATI Mobility Radeon HD 4330 512MB DDR3 VRAM
14" TFT with WXGA (1366x768) resolution and LED backlight
500GB 2.5" 5,400-RPM hard drive
Ports 3x USB 2.0 1x VGA 1x HDMI 1x RJ45 1x headphone 1x mic
Cardreader 1x SD/SDHC/MMC/MS/MSPRO/xD
Intel Wireless WiFi Link 5100 & Gigabit Ethernet
Bluetooth 2.0 + EDR
Camera 1.3 megapixel webcam
Dimensions 338.4 (W) x 240 (D) x 24-28.9 (H) mm
Weight 1.9 kg
Battery 6-cell Li-Ion 56Wh

SG$1598 (during the sep IT expo)

This post has been edited by sianlang: Nov 9 2009, 01:55 PM
killz23
post Nov 9 2009, 02:07 PM

I'm Coming!
1,164 posts

The acer's only available in Asia?
M1X
post Nov 9 2009, 02:12 PM

2,334 posts

UL80VT

Intel SU730 1.3GHz (uh, running 1.7GHz minimum though, capable overclock to 2.1GHz)
2Gb DDR3 1066 (1 DIMM only, another slot is empty)
Chipset Intel GS45
IGP GMA4500HD / Nvidia G210M 512Mb GDDR3 790MHz
l4" 16:9 wide LED 1366x768 backlit
DVD-RW
Seagate 300GB 5400rpm HDD
USB 3x, VGA 1x, HDMI 1x, RJ45 1x, Headphone 1x, Mic 1x
Card Reader (as usual all those types are supported)
Intel WiFi Link 1000 BGN
Atheros AR8131 PCIe gagabyte ethernet
Bluetooth
0.3Mp cam (crap? lol)
DImension 13.5 x 9.6 x 1.1 inch
Weight 4.8 lbs / 2.17 Kg
Battery 8-cell 84Wh

Accessories : Asus mouse, Wire-tie, carry-bag

RM 2999 (some people says RM2899) - With Windows 7 Home Premium

RM 2799 - Without Windows 7 Home Premium

This post has been edited by M1X: Nov 9 2009, 02:21 PM
sianlang
post Nov 9 2009, 02:35 PM

thx alot m1x for the info seems like we getting the taiwan version...i wont say crap on the webcam but why asus had to cheapskate on this is really...
M1X
post Nov 9 2009, 02:39 PM

2,334 posts

Because the LCD really toooooooo damn thin, less than 0.2 inch... Maybe?

... battery report ... 3 hours 18 minutes usage : 38% ...
astria
post Nov 9 2009, 02:39 PM

22,158 posts

ah well, but it helps to save on bandwidth when doing video conference...

using a 1.3MP webcam now, but it's still laggy over here in Australia whenever i connect to Singapore or Hong Kong...
M1X
post Nov 9 2009, 02:48 PM

2,334 posts

Hmm, maybe Asus think that not everyone got fast network, so it a waist to put in a big MP cam anyway... Local network still ... wordless ... T_T
killz23
post Nov 9 2009, 03:41 PM

I'm Coming!
1,164 posts

QUOTE(M1X @ Nov 9 2009, 02:12 PM)
UL80VT

Intel SU730 1.3GHz (uh, running 1.7GHz minimum though, capable overclock to 2.1GHz)
2Gb DDR3 1066 (1 DIMM only, another slot is empty)
Chipset Intel GS45
IGP GMA4500HD / Nvidia G210M 512Mb GDDR3 790MHz
l4" 16:9 wide LED 1366x768 backlit
DVD-RW
Seagate 300GB 5400rpm HDD
USB 3x, VGA 1x, HDMI 1x, RJ45 1x, Headphone 1x, Mic 1x
Card Reader (as usual all those types are supported)
Intel WiFi Link 1000 BGN
Atheros AR8131 PCIe gagabyte ethernet
Bluetooth
0.3Mp cam (crap? lol)
DImension 13.5 x 9.6 x 1.1 inch
Weight 4.8 lbs / 2.17 Kg
Battery 8-cell 84Wh

Accessories : Asus mouse, Wire-tie, carry-bag

RM 2999 (some people says RM2899) - With Windows 7 Home Premium

RM 2799 - Without Windows 7 Home Premium
2gb only? I thought ships with 4gb?

Eh, now I can get UL50vt same price as UL80vt..should I get UL50v instead??
It has 500gb hdd..That's the only thing I see..
M1X
post Nov 9 2009, 03:44 PM

2,334 posts

Yes they only ship 2GB here, on the website says 4Gb -__-

I heard astria says ULxxV do not have bluetooth? WHile ULxxVT have...?
killz23
post Nov 9 2009, 03:54 PM

I'm Coming!
1,164 posts

Yeah..Wah..the end T also make a big difference..
lee_what2004
post Nov 9 2009, 04:07 PM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

well, v is for video card and t is for turbo33
M1X
post Nov 9 2009, 04:14 PM

2,334 posts

SO, V + T = VT = PERFECT ~! LOL that's simple math for everyone...

Still on the battery testing... I am so sleepy... 5 hours battery consumption : 58%
So possibility to hit over 8 hours is easy. But over 10 hours is troublesome, cuz I running bluetooth full time =_=

This post has been edited by M1X: Nov 9 2009, 04:16 PM
killz23
post Nov 9 2009, 04:39 PM

I'm Coming!
1,164 posts

SO UL50vt?e
astria
post Nov 9 2009, 04:41 PM

22,158 posts

i would prefer UL80Vt...

smaller, thus easier to carry around...
M1X
post Nov 9 2009, 04:43 PM

2,334 posts

Yeah, xx50xx are 15 inch models, while xx80xx are 14 inch. I think Asus made a weird naming over here... LOL~
astria
post Nov 9 2009, 04:46 PM

22,158 posts

my Asus N81Vp is 14".... laugh.gif

ironically, there's the K40 series which is 14"... hmm.gif

This post has been edited by astria: Nov 9 2009, 04:47 PM
M1X
post Nov 9 2009, 04:52 PM

2,334 posts

That's why those name are confusing... the number not really represent the size... I first thought 50 was smaller than 80, where 80 is the big brother... but it like the "Brothers" in FF8, big brother is smaller... LOL~
kucingfight
post Nov 9 2009, 05:01 PM

5,784 posts

QUOTE(M1X @ Nov 9 2009, 04:52 PM)
That's why those name are confusing... the number not really represent the size... I first thought 50 was smaller than 80, where 80 is the big brother... but it like the "Brothers" in FF8, big brother is smaller... LOL~
probably UL40 = sounds 'sei' ma..dead CULV..

Yeah..confusing naming scheme, but definitely Compaq has the honor on that laugh.gif
M1X
post Nov 9 2009, 05:04 PM

2,334 posts

Yeah compaq naming is even making me faint, why my friend's laptop got 2 name? On the top is Vx000, then at the bottom is something else! WTH... LOL anyway that's out topic...

80 / 2 = 40 anyway ~
astria
post Nov 9 2009, 05:16 PM

22,158 posts

aha, but there's 70 = 17" and 90 = 19" as well... laugh.gif
M1X
post Nov 9 2009, 05:21 PM

2,334 posts

Hu... why 80 not 18" nieh? Hmm maybe 18" LCD just pretty rare... lol.

... still got 27% battery that can last about 2 hours... No already lasted 6 hours @_@... Just surfing net looking for girl's pic~
lee_what2004
post Nov 9 2009, 05:23 PM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

now talking about screen size sweat.gif
M1X
post Nov 9 2009, 05:30 PM

2,334 posts

I know lah~ tongue.gif

Want big? Why don't you take a look my signature below... I cut that from Asus original wallpaper, that Ul is DAMN BIG, even got NUMPAD~ I wonder what model is that... sweat.gif

This post has been edited by M1X: Nov 9 2009, 05:33 PM
killz23
post Nov 9 2009, 05:31 PM

I'm Coming!
1,164 posts

Haha..Ok I decided I'll go for UL80Vt..It costs me about 730 usd..hehe..

Added on November 9, 2009, 5:31 pmPlus will get 1 USD 100 AMazon Giftcard..Not too bad an offer..

This post has been edited by killz23: Nov 9 2009, 05:31 PM
M1X
post Nov 9 2009, 06:00 PM

2,334 posts

Just careful not to press the wrong button... The top left is use to switch between GMA and G210M, while the top right is power button... I usually TER-press the switching button, that I suppose to press the ESC button ... Wahaha ... Then my game HANG~

Basiclly I can conclude that the battery lasted about 8 hours too, maybe because I using bluetooth all the time... Now actually still got 13% of power left, already used for 7 hours 10 minutes over "normal-daily-use" style ... just listen to music all the day, browse web, msn, fix some pics with photoshops... yawn.gif

After I have my dinner I gonna go to sleep liao... 30 hours didn't sleep lor~

This post has been edited by M1X: Nov 9 2009, 06:31 PM
sianlang
post Nov 9 2009, 06:28 PM

i am also leaning more towards the asus ul80vt 0.3 webcam wont be much of an issue since i wont use it alot and hopefully the intel 1000 wireless card dont have the weak signal n drop connection problem
astria
post Nov 9 2009, 06:30 PM

22,158 posts

i ve a feeling the Centrino 1000 adapter is a rename of the current WiFi Link 5100... hmm.gif
M1X
post Nov 9 2009, 06:33 PM

2,334 posts

On the box it says :

"WLAN 802.11bgn WW+BT, WOMD"

Hmm, any idea what the second part means?
sianlang
post Nov 9 2009, 07:06 PM

the intel wifi link 1000 is a newer version than the 5100/5300 which some say it uses less power but no dual band...

ehh weapon of mass destruction? tongue.gif
astria
post Nov 9 2009, 07:47 PM

22,158 posts

yes it's newer definitely...

but b=not forgetting there's also the Centrino 6200 and Centrino 6300 adapters as well...
sianlang
post Nov 9 2009, 09:12 PM

thx for the info didnt know abt these adapters
killz23
post Nov 9 2009, 11:53 PM

I'm Coming!
1,164 posts

Wah..What do these adapters do?
lee_what2004
post Nov 9 2009, 11:54 PM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

to connect wireless, just different model offered by intel.
killz23
post Nov 9 2009, 11:58 PM

I'm Coming!
1,164 posts

Whew..Ok..

Tot it's a big setback for UL80VT..hahah..
lee_what2004
post Nov 9 2009, 11:59 PM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

not really, each of it support bgn wireless
killz23
post Nov 10 2009, 12:03 AM

I'm Coming!
1,164 posts

How good is the processor on UL80VT? G210M..Is it better than x4500HD?
lee_what2004
post Nov 10 2009, 12:07 AM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

well, the processor on ul80vt is underclocked and undervolted c2d, so if compare to regular c2d, it surely lose.
g210m is multilple times better than gma 4500mhd in terms of performance, but also sucks more electricity than intel laugh.gif
killz23
post Nov 10 2009, 12:09 AM

I'm Coming!
1,164 posts

Graphics card I mean..Sorry..

Added on November 10, 2009, 12:11 amDo you think can switch the graphics card off at times to save energy?
I've seen some laptops with 2 graphics cards?

This post has been edited by killz23: Nov 10 2009, 12:11 AM
lee_what2004
post Nov 10 2009, 12:14 AM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

ul80vt comes with two gpu, 210m and 4500mhd, can switch with power4gear smile.gif

This post has been edited by lee_what2004: Nov 10 2009, 12:15 AM
killz23
post Nov 10 2009, 12:26 AM

I'm Coming!
1,164 posts

Yes!! That's the best biggrin.gif heehe...I love my new lappie b4 it's even here!

Too bad it's only black..No red huh>
TScloudstrife07
post Nov 10 2009, 12:27 AM

I'm back, beaches!
4,688 posts

M1X, u really made me tempted to buy the UL80VT tongue.gif
lee_what2004
post Nov 10 2009, 12:28 AM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

send it to the pro to paint it to red laugh.gif
killz23
post Nov 10 2009, 12:29 AM

I'm Coming!
1,164 posts

Hahaha.. Is it possible??
Bling it tongue.gif But it'll be too heavy then....zzz..
lee_what2004
post Nov 10 2009, 12:30 AM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

most probably warranty voided in the process of painting.....
killz23
post Nov 10 2009, 12:41 AM

I'm Coming!
1,164 posts

Ugh..what's wrong with these people..Can't they let me paint whatever I want on my computer??
lee_what2004
post Nov 10 2009, 12:43 AM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

its because for a proper painting, we need to disassemble the laptop and paint it part by part.
this is what void the warranty.
killz23
post Nov 10 2009, 12:45 AM

I'm Coming!
1,164 posts

OHhhhh...Some people actually paint their laptops? I thought that was a joke tongue.gif
lee_what2004
post Nov 10 2009, 12:50 AM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

they do.
here some example~
http://forum.notebookreview.com/showthread.php?t=107849
bibbyGirl
post Nov 10 2009, 01:43 AM

177 posts

what do u guys think about the new dell 13z at rm2399 (SU4100)?

i was quote rm2690 for the asus UL30A (SU7300)

which is a better deal?

i like the casing and of UL30A but the keyboard is ugly...
killz23
post Nov 10 2009, 03:00 AM

I'm Coming!
1,164 posts

Dell 13z? Interested too..tongue.gif

What are the specs?
bibbyGirl
post Nov 10 2009, 03:49 AM

177 posts

QUOTE(killz23 @ Nov 10 2009, 03:00 AM)
Dell 13z? Interested too..tongue.gif

What are the specs?
Processors
Intel®  PentiumTM  Dual Core SU4100
Intel®  CoreTM  2 Duo SU7300
Intel®  CoreTM  2 Duo SU9400

Operating System
Genuine Windows®  7 Home Premium 64-Bit

Memory
2GB 2 DIMM DDR3 1067 MHz (1 x 2GB)
3GB 2 DIMM DDR3 1067 MHz (1GB + 2GB)
4GB 2 DIMM DDR3 1067 MHz (2 x 2GB)
  Chipset
Intel®  GS45

Graphics
Intel®  Graphics Media Accelerator X4500MHD
NVIDIA®  GeForce®  G105M - 512MB

LCD Display
13.3” HD WLED True-Life (1366x768)
  Audio and Speakers
Main Speakers (quantity): 2 x 1.0W with SRS Premium Sound
Microphone – Integrated single analog
  Hard Drives
160GB3 5,400RPM
250GB3 5,400RPM
320GB3 7,200RPM
500GB3 7,200RPM (coming soon)

Optical Drives
Integrated DVD+/-RW standard or available airbay
  Power
4-Cell LI with Express Charge (up to 5 hours, 9 minutes of battery life2)
8-Cell LI (up to 11 hours, 23 minutes of battery life2)
  Camera
Integrated 1.3M Pixel Webcam
  Wireless
Wi-Fi
DellTM  Wireless 1397 802.11g Half mini-card
Intel®  WiFi Link 5100 (802.11 a/g/draft-N) Half Mini card
Bluetooth
Optional Dell Wireless 365 Bluetooth Internal (2.1) mini-card
  Ports, Slots, Chassis
Externally Accessible
Kensington lock
AC Power-in
7-in-1 Card Reader (SD, MMC, XD, MS, MS Pro, MMC+, Hi Density SD, Hi capacity SD)
Integrated network connector 10/100 LAN (RJ45)
VGA connector
(3) USB 2.0
Audio jacks (1 line-out, 1 Mic-in)

Dimensions & Weight
Width: 13.39" (340mm)
Height: 0.82" (20.8mm) to 1.27" (32.3mm)
Depth: 9.55" (242.5mm)

Starting weight of 1.8 kg6 (13.3" WXGA glossy display, 6 cell battery, RW, integrated graphics)
look heavy and bulky thou compared to UL30A (1.6kg, 12.9 x 9.3 x 1 inches, 8 cell).. doh.gif
killz23
post Nov 10 2009, 06:13 AM

I'm Coming!
1,164 posts

Haha..Anything looks heavy compared to UL30A i would say tongue.gif

2.4k for UL80vt worth ar? Student on a budget...Sigh..
lee_what2004
post Nov 10 2009, 07:46 AM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

if you need the battery life, then its worth it, if not, its not.
dragonkiat
post Nov 10 2009, 10:21 AM

240 posts

Dell Inspiron 13z comes with built-in optical drive , while UL30A doesn't .
One thing cons to the 13z is , the 13Z sold in Malaysia and Singapore doesn't come with HDMI port , but HDMI port in only available for 13Z in Hong Kong , China and Taiwan .
killz23
post Nov 10 2009, 12:13 PM

I'm Coming!
1,164 posts

Hmmm..Then for the same specs, what other laptops should I look at?

Even though placed order already, there's still some time if I want to cancel it..haha..
lee_what2004
post Nov 10 2009, 12:18 PM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

Dell Inspiron 14z, Acer Aspire 4810TG
M1X
post Nov 10 2009, 12:51 PM

2,334 posts

Most brand now talks about ULV, you're going headach, for sure~
bibbyGirl
post Nov 10 2009, 01:38 PM

177 posts

QUOTE(killz23 @ Nov 10 2009, 06:13 AM)
Haha..Anything looks heavy compared to UL30A i would say tongue.gif

2.4k for UL80vt worth ar? Student on a budget...Sigh..
Ul80vt for rm2.4k? That a good price i would say..i was quote rm2699 by local shop.

for that price i would just get a k40in or k40ab becos weight saving from 14" is not significant anymore..rather settle for more power..hehe

Added on November 10, 2009, 1:43 pm
QUOTE(dragonkiat @ Nov 10 2009, 10:21 AM)
Dell Inspiron 13z comes with built-in optical drive , while UL30A doesn't .
One thing cons to the 13z is , the 13Z sold in Malaysia and Singapore doesn't come with HDMI port , but HDMI port in only available for 13Z in Hong Kong , China and Taiwan .
if u notice..13z is of exactly the same dimension as inspiron 14. hdmi port is for wat? Sorry noob here..

This post has been edited by bibbyGirl: Nov 10 2009, 01:43 PM
M1X
post Nov 10 2009, 01:49 PM

2,334 posts

Woah, who sell RM2.4k ?? I bought RM2999 hoi~ But you can get one without OS with RM2.7k...
popiah04
post Nov 10 2009, 01:50 PM

245 posts

[quote=bibbyGirl,Nov 10 2009, 01:38 PM]
Ul80vt for rm2.4k? That a good price i would say..i was quote rm2699 by local shop.

for that price i would just get a k40in or k40ab becos weight saving from 14" is not significant anymore..rather settle for more power..hehe

Where can you find UL80VT at 2699? AFAIK it retails at 2999 now.
M1X
post Nov 10 2009, 02:16 PM

2,334 posts

THe dealer told me something about an UL model without OS they sell for RM2699, he even show me, the sticker there says "RM2799" lol ...
But I want that one with WIndows, so I paid RM2999.
Maybe I mistaken that, that RM2699 is other model? They looks pretty the same anyway~ lol
COrrected : RM2799, not RM2699

Hmm, that RM2699 you mentioned is with OS or without OS? Cuz I heard UL80VT in KL also sell RM2899~

This post has been edited by M1X: Nov 10 2009, 02:19 PM
killz23
post Nov 10 2009, 03:51 PM

I'm Coming!
1,164 posts

2.4k in US mar..haha..Actually it's about 2.8k but amazon give 1 free 100$ gift card when I purchase the laptop..So about 2.4k lor..haha..
M1X
post Nov 10 2009, 04:07 PM

2,334 posts

Huh? Hmm, why don't buy locally? More safe mah~
killz23
post Nov 11 2009, 03:48 AM

I'm Coming!
1,164 posts

Ermmm...US bah..Better kan? haha..
lee_what2004
post Nov 11 2009, 03:51 AM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

shouldn't be any problem, it got 2 year international warranty to back it up
bibbyGirl
post Nov 11 2009, 04:54 AM

177 posts

[quote=popiah04,Nov 10 2009, 01:50 PM]
[quote=bibbyGirl,Nov 10 2009, 01:38 PM]

Where can you find UL80VT at 2699? AFAIK it retails at 2999 now.

[/quote]

pm a seller called "subsider". He is selling at that price without shipping.
killz23
post Nov 11 2009, 05:44 AM

I'm Coming!
1,164 posts

Hmm.seems like the K40in/ k40ab are much worse than UL80Vt..
astria
post Nov 11 2009, 06:50 AM

22,158 posts

if want power might as well get K40Ab...

iirc K40In uses G105M or G 102M only, which is only slightly better than integrated graphic... K40Ab has a weaker CPU, but AMD wins hands down in terms of memory latency and memory bandwidth, thus giving u better responsiveness, plus HD4570 which is miles better than G 105M...

Added on November 11, 2009, 6:50 amM1X: i bought my Asus N81Vp from Amazon as well... then got it shipped back to Singapore... nod.gif

This post has been edited by astria: Nov 11 2009, 06:50 AM
M1X
post Nov 11 2009, 08:33 AM

2,334 posts

The GPU scores is like this (according to NotebookCheck)

HD4500M - 5% (WTH it classed in CLASS-3!)
G105M - 20% (also class 3)
G210M - approximately 30% (located at the TOP of class 3)

G210M have twice the amount of Unified Shader compared to G105M, that's make a HUGE different.

Hmm, buy online from US? Means those stock are assembled in US? Hmm, but my opinion is : USA is not always the best... LOL don't hit me, it's MY opinion.
astria
post Nov 11 2009, 08:37 AM

22,158 posts

QUOTE(M1X @ Nov 11 2009, 11:33 AM)
The GPU scores is like this (according to NotebookCheck)

HD4500M - 5% (WTH it classed in CLASS-3!)
G105M - 20% (also class 3)
G210M - approximately 30% (located at the TOP of class 3)

G210M have twice the amount of Unified Shader compared to G105M, that's make a HUGE different.

Hmm, buy online from US? Means those stock are assembled in US? Hmm, but my opinion is : USA is not always the best... LOL don't hit me, it's MY opinion.
nah, still assembled in China...

but N81Vp is not avaliable in Southeast Asia (N81Vg with GT 120M is though), so need to import...

besides, even if i import this higher spec variant, it's still 10% cheaper than if i buy N81Vg in Singapore...

and i still get to own the powerful 14" laptop... nod.gif laugh.gif
bibbyGirl
post Nov 11 2009, 10:07 PM

177 posts

can those hd4500 graphic and su4100 cpu run maple story corretly?
Fantasia
post Nov 11 2009, 10:10 PM

5,485 posts

y not? my p4 + radeon 9600 run perfectly ^^
astria
post Nov 11 2009, 10:50 PM

22,158 posts

so is my Pentium M with GMA900... laugh.gif
bibbyGirl
post Nov 12 2009, 04:17 AM

177 posts

QUOTE(Fantasia @ Nov 11 2009, 10:10 PM)
y not? my p4 + radeon 9600 run perfectly ^^
QUOTE(astria @ Nov 11 2009, 10:50 PM)
so is my Pentium M with GMA900... laugh.gif
Haha..nice to know that..thanks!
killz23
post Nov 12 2009, 08:37 AM

I'm Coming!
1,164 posts

Haha..Astria's being sarcastic?
ezralimm
post Nov 13 2009, 02:02 PM

LGBTQQIP2SAA+
2,715 posts

QUOTE(lee_what2004 @ Nov 11 2009, 03:51 AM)
shouldn't be any problem, it got 2 year international warranty to back it up
Be very careful. International warranties cover business travel, but do not cover damage if your COUNTRY OF RESIDENCE is different from that of purchase.

There is a difference between the plain jane "international warranty" offered and the more expensive ones that are offered by major companies (Hp, IBM) business oriented products. Check the intl warranty statement carefully.

I know the T-series Lenovos and HP Probooks come with true international warranties...but are also relatively expensive.
...and are so reliable you dont really need to worry about warranty anyway.

...Unless you are me, who's T60 HDD died pretty quickly after being lugged around (while turned on) all day. tongue.gif ... Still, getting it fixed takes time. So perhaps a cheaper computer, and fix-it-yourself is a better idea.

Added on November 13, 2009, 2:08 pmThis thread got me interested in CULVs...

Will definitely have a feel of the UL30A.... If it's rugged enough, I may end up fitting it with a SSD for work related walk-around-all-day use.

Still, from what I am seeing, it's going to cost about RM4000 to get it up to my requirements.

A NB205 or Mini 5101 + SSD + Office will still be cheaper by about $1500. And lighter and suits my purposes better. But the lack of a full size keyboard (cramped r shift on the 205) and smaller screen are making me lean towards the UL30A. And Xmind will lag like crazy on the netbook as it is quite processor dependant.

Any users of the UL30 wanna comment on it's build quality?

This post has been edited by ezralimm: Nov 13 2009, 02:08 PM
lee_what2004
post Nov 13 2009, 02:14 PM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

I guess you are talking about acer's international traveller warranty?

this is for asus global warranty, so no problem if the country of residence is different from purchase, unless I'm interpreting it wrongly.
No matter where you go, ASUS Notebook / Eee PC is always your best travel companion!

When you are on a business trip, leisure, or studying abroad, you can always receive the best support for your ASUS Notebook / Eee PC.

We not only offer you a complete nationwide service, but have also established numerous service sites around the globe. So, when you are looking for service, you can always refer to the GSM table to receive our immediate support.

source
lee_what2004
post Nov 13 2009, 02:18 PM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

QUOTE(ezralimm @ November 13, 2009, 2:08 pm)
This thread got me interested in CULVs...

Will definitely have a feel of the UL30A.... If it's rugged enough, I may end up fitting it with a SSD for work related walk-around-all-day use.

Still, from what I am seeing, it's going to cost about RM4000 to get it up to my requirements.

A NB205 or Mini 5101 + SSD + Office will still be cheaper by about $1500. And lighter and suits my purposes better. But the lack of a full size keyboard (cramped r shift on the 205) and smaller screen are making me lean towards the UL30A. And Xmind will lag like crazy on the netbook as it is quite processor dependant.
Any users of the UL30 wanna comment on it's build quality?
there used to have acer aspire 3810T with 80GB intel ssd x-25m 1st gen for $800 on newegg.
ezralimm
post Nov 13 2009, 02:29 PM

LGBTQQIP2SAA+
2,715 posts

QUOTE(lee_what2004 @ Nov 13 2009, 02:14 PM)
I guess you are talking about acer's international traveller warranty?

this is for asus global warranty, so no problem if the country of residence is different from purchase, unless I'm interpreting it wrongly.

source
I have no idea. Each manufacturer has different policies. Check for each individual notebook prior to purchase.
astria
post Nov 13 2009, 04:25 PM

22,158 posts

Asus IS international warranty... doesn't matter where u bought the notebook, provided u registered the warranty...
yanzhi0714
post Nov 27 2009, 01:43 AM

18 posts

hello guys...hope i wont break any rules here...

how does the ul81vt differ from ul80vt?
and how do you guys get the ul81vt in malaysia? around how much is it now?

im currently in australia, so i would like to know more bout where u guys bought this nice baby (heard some of you said buying it from US) smile.gif

and in terms of gaming (which i do some light ones).. what's the most resource draining game u guys tried on this baby without having any lags or stuff..

*bow* thank you very much in advance~

This post has been edited by yanzhi0714: Nov 27 2009, 01:49 AM
lee_what2004
post Nov 27 2009, 01:48 AM

*stare* ji--------
14,813 posts

so far never heard of UL81VT, and about the US is talking about UL80VT
malaysia do offer UL80VT, its just that at amazon can get $100 gift card if buying UL80VT.

as for some gaming benchmark, can refer here~
http://www.expertlaptopreview.com/?p=96

This post has been edited by lee_what2004: Nov 27 2009, 01:50 AM

0.0568sec    0.32    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 08:24 AM