Health Depression, how to recover from it

TSairline
post Oct 11 2009, 10:51 PM, updated 17y ago

7 stars
7,923 posts

I have this friend here in Malaysia, suffering from depression for 9 years and counting
i think the world record for depression is 20 years if u try searching online.
Been to a few doctors already and under medication.

Anyone here suffer as long as this?

How do one knows if recover from depression? And ready to start again.

Nope. he didnt suffer from break up. Haha.
euphoria88
post Oct 12 2009, 12:17 AM

The Cunning Little Vixen
597 posts

QUOTE(airline @ Oct 11 2009, 02:51 PM)
I have this friend here in Malaysia, suffering from depression for 9 years and counting
i think the world record for depression is 20 years if u try searching online.
Been to a few doctors already and under medication.

Anyone here suffer as long as this?

How do one knows if recover from depression? And ready to start again.

Nope. he didnt suffer from break up. Haha.
lol. find the roots of depression then you know the answer to his depression smile.gif
jovyn
post Oct 12 2009, 12:32 AM

309 posts

what is your friend main diagnosis?

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Depression_(mood)

basically, family support is very important. He got see other psychiatrist? As euphoria said...need to find the route cause of it. Hope ur friend get well soon.
Ravenz
post Oct 12 2009, 07:44 AM

112 posts

tumpang thread :

the worst is when that person is ignorant and does not believe he is the cause of the problem. is there anything that can be done in this case? he is stubborn too doesnt listen to family member and stay away from them.

kyzson69
post Oct 12 2009, 09:11 AM

Psychiatric Patient
939 posts

Try visit this site to get some guide http://www.depression-helper.com/depressioncure.htm
Joey Christensen
post Oct 12 2009, 12:36 PM

Purgamentum init, exit purgamentum
3,651 posts

Get a pet dog.

Regards, Joey
TSairline
post Oct 12 2009, 01:34 PM

7 stars
7,923 posts

Joey, he has many dogs in his house. many kinds. All expensive ones as well. rich family.

somehow, he didnt say why he depressed. until now everyone still guessing.

Started when studying overseas- start from loneliness i guess.

got see other psychiatrist- think he went 2 or 3 different ones already

This post has been edited by airline: Oct 12 2009, 01:35 PM
genuinehuman
post Oct 12 2009, 06:38 PM

318 posts

QUOTE(Ravenz @ Oct 12 2009, 07:44 AM)
tumpang thread :

the worst is when that person is ignorant and does not believe he is the cause of the problem. is there anything that can be done in this case? he is stubborn too doesnt listen to family member and stay away from them.
Then , prove to he that he is the cause . Show him some video or perhaps picture . If he still stubborn , let it be. That is he choice to be stubborn . =)
myremi
post Oct 13 2009, 08:52 AM

1,846 posts

To the TS, you can't force your friend to be better. He has to want to get better.

Just be there for him. Don't coddle him but let him know you're there for help and support.
Salience
post Oct 13 2009, 09:50 AM

top of your mind.
1,361 posts

hang out more with friends
do silly things together.
ah liew
post Oct 13 2009, 01:57 PM

エンジンオイル
829 posts

Exercise to boost your happy hormones.
It increases endorphins like natural pain killers.
C-Note
post Oct 13 2009, 06:22 PM

starry starry night
3,037 posts

talk to me. all will be well smile.gif
Lakky
post Oct 13 2009, 07:32 PM

Yeah get a pet.smile.gif
GLim
post Oct 14 2009, 12:25 AM

68 posts

it is no ones fault that he is getting depressed. and whether is there a cause for him to have depression, it will only be the trigger factor and not the main cause. depression is a mood disorder and till now no specific study can tell where is the main pathology.

normally, they will feel loneliness, helpless, hopeless, loss of appetite, cant focus, cant concentrate. lost of interest. anti-social, insomnia, weight loss, dead wish, suicidial attempt, suicidial ideation, poor memory, being very negative thinking.

to help him, u got to know wat is depression. then, encourage him. do not force him. everything have to start slowly, be patience... talk to him, let him feel comfortable with u, encourage him to talk wat he feels, then slowly bring him out to the society. he might have public fear initially, but make sure u'll be there... let him know it is not his fault that he having depression and he shd be tough to look at his prob n face it. friends and familys member got to help him to face his prob... let him face the truth that he needs help. medication can booster his mood... so make sure he sees psychiatric... go for group therapy. do not let him suffer alone o...

there are groups around malaysia who willing to help him eg befrienders.org.my

all the best to your friend
keeseng12
post Oct 14 2009, 10:31 AM

346 posts

QUOTE(airline @ Oct 12 2009, 01:34 PM)
Joey, he has many dogs in his house. many kinds. All expensive ones as well. rich family.

somehow, he didnt say why he depressed. until now everyone still guessing.

Started when studying overseas- start from loneliness i guess.

got see other psychiatrist- think he went 2 or 3 different ones already
that could be the main reason - studying overseas. perhaps he was hoping that he is staying at his own place, mixing with his usual group of friends, or maybe he was hoping for more care and love from his parents at that particular time. you see, some parent thought that by sending their children to the "best school" in whichever country is good for their children's future. but what their childrens want is some care and love from their parents, want their parent to stay by their side all the time.

just guessing though.

depression is a mental disorder that require the root cause to start "medication". without root cause, it's very hard.

probably can talk to his parents more. join more friends, go sports, take up some hobbies.
Jason
post Oct 14 2009, 11:48 AM

6,354 posts

QUOTE(GLim @ Oct 14 2009, 12:25 AM)
it is no ones fault that he is getting depressed.
i disagree. it is his fault that he is depressed. its a state of mind. clearly he is depressed about something. whatever "something" is, if you can change it, great, then you won't be depressed anymore since its changed. if you can't change it, then you have to change the way you feel/think about "something". otherwise, you'll be depressed, unhappy, <insert other description as you like>

i think he's doing it on purpose, or he has a weak mind. pick one.
post Oct 14 2009, 01:59 PM

14 posts

airline, your friend is far more lucky than others coz he is rich.
my friend who is also suffering from depression, can't even work coz depression affect his concentration and health. no stable income, worse.

I just hope that those who dont really know about depression, do try to give more
understanding to them, coz they wan to be happy, active and work like others too,
but it's not that easy. It's a physical illness too, not psychological only.
If one just have to be optimistic, change the way of thinking so easily, there won't
be so many depression patients out there.
It's not a 1 + 1 =2 easy case.
Do giv more support and patience to them coz they really suffer, feel useless and
guilty behind, alone.
GLim
post Oct 14 2009, 08:47 PM

68 posts

QUOTE(Jason @ Oct 14 2009, 11:48 AM)
i disagree. it is his fault that he is depressed. its a state of mind. clearly he is depressed about something. whatever "something" is, if you can change it, great, then you won't be depressed anymore since its changed. if you can't change it, then you have to change the way you feel/think about "something". otherwise, you'll be depressed, unhappy, <insert other description as you like>

well, if u r talking abt depress as a feeling.. yes it is his fault. but if u talking abt a mental disorder as in depressive disorder, it is not his fault. to be called depression, u got to fit in a certain criteria and a period of continuous 2 weeks feeling persistent low mood, sad and etc. i dun think it is easy to malinger it

yes, i agreed that there must be a 'something' that trigger them to become depress.. but then, it is a trigger factor n not the cause. cuz the cause is in them, n not the issue. some ppl are just more easily get depression compared to others. and depression can runs in family

and to help them, is to change their thinking and feeling like wat u said... that's why they need help, n concern.

i seen people in major depressive disorder. i have seen people with the whole hands of suicidal cut wound... i seen people died because they refuse to tell anyone their problem.
junxian898
post Oct 23 2009, 12:09 AM

210 posts

hang out more wth him. more activities together.
kobe24bryant
post Oct 24 2009, 02:17 AM

67 posts

QUOTE(Jason @ Oct 14 2009, 11:48 AM)

I really find this post rather insensitive. If a person is already mentally ill, trying to cope with the illness on his own is hard enough without being given cold shoulders and ignored by friends and family deeming this as a sign of weakness or an attention-seeking stunt.

I've gone through the Befrienders route and I'm not sure how they can help. Most of the times when you mention something, they will reply "that must have been tough on you" and ask you to "tell me more about it" which doesn't really make anyone feel better.

0.0270sec    0.17    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 02:00 AM