American Express® Cards v2, Membership Rewards™

vin_ann
post Oct 13 2009, 01:58 PM

10,912 posts

received my second paper statement.

no sign of any RM5 being charge for the statement.

i thinks if i did not go click request for the paper statement or e-statement, MBB cant charge me RM5.

haha... anyways, its my 2 cents.

vin_ann
post Oct 14 2009, 06:10 PM

10,912 posts

QUOTE(Centurion Lee @ Oct 14 2009, 02:21 PM)
Hi, lauyamonk. If you wouldn't mind, I have a question to ask you on the Amex Credit Card account number. My last 5 digit on my Amex Gold Credit Card is quite inauspicious. So many numeric " 4 " on it. Anyway that I could request the last 5 digit to be change? It's not the same as the Gold Charge Card, each time I request for a replacement card on my Gold Charge Card due to damages, the last 5 digit will change automatically. But for this Gold Credit Card, even though I requested for a replacement card because it was damaged, the last 5 digit still remain the same. Any special numbers given to VIP's especially for those who are very particular about the digit " 4 " ? As for me, can you advise me how can change the last 5 digit other than reporting it lost ? Thanks.
just accept the fact u got many '4' on ur gold card.

else tak suka just cancel it lol...

vin_ann
post Oct 16 2009, 05:42 PM

10,912 posts

QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Oct 16 2009, 10:56 AM)
Hi people....

I disappear for awhile only to come back to 5 brand new pages on a brand new thread - super fast lah U all.  Anyhow,

@clsia1001,
If it's your first card then just give them whatever they ask you to give them; it's not so hard after all.  The thing I hate about Amex is that it's a combined CL.  I applied for the Gold CC and well they didn't give me any increment in my CL.  It's shared with my Platinum CC but it's okielah, i don't need so much CL anyways and I only use that card for petrol + groceries smile.gif
welcome back.

vin_ann
post Oct 19 2009, 01:49 PM

10,912 posts

during weekend, saw Amex have counter at the One U, 1st floor, opposite the Parkson entrance.

Amex is going aggresive on promotion...

vin_ann
post Oct 19 2009, 03:21 PM

10,912 posts

QUOTE(winner @ Oct 19 2009, 03:09 PM)
If you did Express Autopay with Amex, I think you don't need to resubmit an Express Autopay form and MBB/Amex will update the data for you automatically. However, if you applied for autopay service with the respective agencies directly and not through Amex, you need to inform the respective agencies manually about your new card details.
There shouldn't be any problem using Amex for online shopping at the above-mentioned e-shops.
for Msia, hardly got online portal is accepting Amex. i.e. GSC n TVG
vin_ann
post Oct 19 2009, 04:07 PM

10,912 posts

QUOTE(winner @ Oct 19 2009, 03:47 PM)
Do you know that you can make a donation online using Amex? biggrin.gif You do charity and enjoy 2x points plus tax exemption simultaneously. It is such an honour and everybody should do that!
my tax bracket is the lowest... or no tax...

as for me, i no need to donate to get tax exemption...
vin_ann
post Oct 23 2009, 09:12 AM

10,912 posts

QUOTE(SeanChang @ Oct 22 2009, 01:21 PM)
Found on yesterday Star Ad:
The Manhattan Fish Market - main course buy 3 free 1

then went on this site
http://www.americanexpress.com.my/selects

the only item catch my attention is Cathay Cineplex RM 8/TIX
thank you for your link.

QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Oct 23 2009, 01:43 AM)
@skyz,
Eh the RM50 voucher is over and above the 50% discount?! *grins*  U wanna sell it off or give it free?! *smiles*

@hanif444,
I don't know which petrol station you go to but I've had no problems using my Amex CC to make petrol payments.
BHP Petrol Station did not accept AMEX. hehe
vin_ann
post Oct 23 2009, 05:26 PM

10,912 posts

QUOTE(SeanChang @ Oct 22 2009, 01:21 PM)
Found on yesterday Star Ad:
The Manhattan Fish Market - main course buy 3 free 1

then went on this site
http://www.americanexpress.com.my/selects

the only item catch my attention is Cathay Cineplex RM 8/TIX
is it applicable to Amex Gold Credit Card???

@Tinkerbel
just plan ur petrol in advance lo...
pump at the end of the day at your prefered / identified Shell Petrol station. icon_rolleyes.gif
vin_ann
post Oct 23 2009, 07:33 PM

10,912 posts

QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Oct 23 2009, 06:29 PM)
@vin_ann,
Yeah but still... *iSh* and i'm still trying to get over the bad Budget 2010.  Nothing seems to haf come up well yet; RM9000 personal subsidy is not considered great and dropping income tax brackets from 27% to 26% will only affect the super rich, not the average income earners like us *siGh*
For Amex Gold Credit Card, its state Free for life, no annual fee. but i know bank have the right to change the rules to follow government rules...

hmmm weekend, if i go to 1U, going to Amex counter and ask, giving them a hard time... haha...

QUOTE(SeanChang @ Oct 23 2009, 06:36 PM)
The t&c stated valid for all amex smile.gif
***From 1/1/2010 RM50 would be charge to each credit card. 5 cards = RM250 to the government  cry.gif
okok. thanks.

vin_ann
post Oct 24 2009, 10:42 AM

10,912 posts

QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Oct 23 2009, 10:59 PM)
@ellimist,
The problem then is do I keep the Amex Plat or the Amex Gold?! LOL.... G.. decisions decisions decisions!
yeah... when there's a decision to make to choice 1 of them, its hard.

vin_ann
post Oct 28 2009, 09:11 AM

10,912 posts

QUOTE(winner @ Oct 27 2009, 04:54 PM)
What's the point? The MR points collected are still our hard-earned points and money, and it has no different paying using cash!
agreed. what we consumer want is waiver / to be absord by bank. tht's all story end.

QUOTE(sherrina @ Oct 28 2009, 02:16 AM)
Ah, no wonder I didn't get any email on latest updates in Amex topic. Coz already move to new house biggrin.gif

Btw, I've tried to use Amex in BHP petrol station but failed. BHP does not accept Amex, is it? I started to like their petrol coz it gives me more miles. But too bad if cannot use Amex.
yes, BHP petrol did not accept Amex.
i have mentioned previously.
vin_ann
post Oct 28 2009, 01:18 PM

10,912 posts

QUOTE(MilesAndMore @ Oct 28 2009, 11:31 AM)
They have been accepting AMEX for a few months now.
hmmm, will take note on the payment method next time.

vin_ann
post Oct 29 2009, 07:04 PM

10,912 posts

Received SMS from 66300:

Exclusive items for Membership Rewards pts redemption awaits you at Amex Lounge, 1st Flr, 1Utama fr 30-1 Nov. Free gift for min 50k MR pts redemption.

vin_ann
post Nov 2 2009, 08:51 AM

10,912 posts

Just FYI

The awarded cash back amount will be credited to the American Express card account of the highest product category
(if Cardmember has more than 1 American Express card product), 4 – 6 weeks after the end of each Tracking Month.
The American Express Card products hierarchy is as listed below:
1. The Platinum Card
2. American Express Platinum Credit Card
3. Maybank Islamic Ikhwan American Express Platinum Card
4. American Express Gold Charge Card
5. Singapore Airlines KrisFlyer American Express Gold Charge Card
6. Singapore Airlines KrisFlyer American Express Gold Credit Card
7. American Express Gold Credit Card
8. Maybank Islamic Ikhwan American Express Gold
9. Maybankard American Express Gold
10. American Express Personal Card
11. Maybankard American Express Classic Card

Example 1:
If Eligible Cardmember has the following cards for the Gold category:
i. Maybank Islamic Ikhwan American Express Gold
ii. American Express® Gold Credit Card
iii. Singapore Airlines KrisFlyer American Express® Gold Credit Card
The cash back will be credited to Eligible Cardmember’s Singapore Airlines KrisFlyer American Express Gold Credit Card,
4 – 6 weeks after end of each Tracking Month.

Example 2:
If Eligible Cardmember has the following cards for the Platinum category:
i. American Express Platinum Credit Card
ii. Maybank Islamic Ikhwan American Express Platinum
The cash back will be credited to Eligible Cardmember’s American Express Platinum Credit Card, 4 – 6 weeks after
end of each Tracking Month.

Example 3:
If Eligible Cardmember has a combination of cards:
i. Maybank Islamic Ikhwan American Express Platinum
ii. Singapore Airlines KrisFlyer American Express® Gold Credit Card
iii. American Express® Gold Credit Card
The cash back will be credited to Eligible Cardmember’s Maybank Islamic Ikhwan American Express Platinum, 4 – 6
weeks after end of each Tracking Month.

Additional info:

Transaction must be made at the Participating Merchants that accept American Express Card. No minimum or maximum
amount is required (“Qualifying Transaction”).
The Qualifying Transaction does not include transactions from:-
3.1 Supermarkets/Hypermarkets which are located in the Selected Malls including but not limited to Cold Storage,
Jusco Supermarket, Carrefour, Giant, Mercato De Market Place, Village Grocer and Isetan supermarket.

3.2 Hotels and their F&B and Retails outlets located in the Selected Malls including but not limited to Boulevard Hotel,
Cititel Hotel, One World Hotel, JW Marriott Hotel Kuala Lumpur and The Royale Bintang Damansara

is it meaning if i spend at Jusco Midvalley, i wont get Cash back right?

btw, Yesterday at Watson Pavilion, saw the 15% cash back, im really cant believed it, as have not get any news on this, now im believe! haha

This post has been edited by vin_ann: Nov 2 2009, 08:57 AM
vin_ann
post Nov 2 2009, 07:42 PM

10,912 posts

Q 16 refering to Supermarket - Jasco, Isetan and etc ( selling dairy use products like milk, food and etc etc) - not entitled 15%.

Q 18 refering to departmental store - Jasco, Isetan and etc. ( selling branded products, like hp, cloths etc etc) - entitled 15%.

correct me if im wrong!
vin_ann
post Nov 2 2009, 10:42 PM

10,912 posts

QUOTE(princess_autumn87 @ Nov 2 2009, 08:13 PM)
tx vin_ann... im so excited headin to departmental store soon. cosmetics at 15% off is really big discount
but maximum is capped at RM1,000 = RM150 of cash back per card holder.

vin_ann
post Nov 3 2009, 05:36 PM

10,912 posts

QUOTE(jack2 @ Nov 3 2009, 04:26 PM)
Wonder if it is worth to subscribe Amex Autopay to earn 5X or 2X point on utility bills or to pay using SBC One cc to earn 5% on payment made on every Friday?
you have to do your own calculation.

vin_ann
post Nov 9 2009, 06:09 PM

10,912 posts

QUOTE(terenceg @ Nov 9 2009, 09:31 AM)
Choiheng,  Do you know they are not supposed to surcharge customer. You can surely report this matter to American Express for violation of Merchant Agreement.

anyway, just fyi rclxm9.gif

Added on November 9, 2009, 9:33 am
Actually, please look for the 15% rebate Sticker. Not all is Amex merchant with 15% rebate. However, is automatic rebate if you shop at the 12 malls even they did not display the  POP. Cheers
can complain???

our enforcement so WEAK... as u can see, got ppl is charging!!!

vin_ann
post Nov 11 2009, 12:58 PM

10,912 posts

QUOTE(tgeoklin @ Nov 11 2009, 09:03 AM)
Do also be aware, there is only RM4 mil to be distributed, so if 300K Amex members utilised their cards that way, a whopping RM45 mil will be required. Thus Amex is only targetting around 30K members to utilise their entitlement, so its better do it asap ;-)
fork out abit to get a lots transaction...

small money not out, big money wont come...

vin_ann
post Nov 17 2009, 02:06 PM

10,912 posts

QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Nov 16 2009, 11:26 PM)
@Shinichi,
Because it's better to get their customers to spend; Y give out waiver to people who're just keeping the card in their CC collection - it's always better to reward those who're spending - that's how the bank earns smile.gif
yeah... im waiting sales to come... doh.gif

QUOTE(jack2 @ Nov 17 2009, 09:53 AM)
For Amex Gold credit card, there is 0% finance charge until year end. If we pay minimum payment, there will no finance charge for the remaining balance until year end, correct bo?
shd be no finance charge as long u pay the minimum amount.

QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Nov 17 2009, 12:50 PM)
@winner,
First, the cash back promo is not applicable on the entire bill.  Secondly, I'm not that "big" a spender since I no longer make office purchases but I did use up my entire CL for last month and this month - so RM150 is really no big deal, IMO.
to some like u, rm150 no big deal
to some like me, rm150 big deal.

haha

0.0394sec    0.77    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 05:23 PM