Realtek New 3DRTD1186 & older 1055, 1073 & 1283, Share knowlege or Solved common problems

summer4128
post Jan 5 2010, 07:08 PM

109 posts

Hi, saw Mede8er in Viewnet and C-zone liao. Price almost same as POHD. Got some statement from friend stated that Med8er is better then POHD:
1) Mede8er special fan and mount assembly and the mount parts developed in South Africa. - The net result is a much less fan noise and this is very important in a home theatre environment.

2) Mede8er only use 3 amp Power supply VS 2 Amp (very borderline for large size internal HDD with simultaneous hosting power requirements on USB host ports)

3) Free Mede8er Carry Case

4) Included USB Cable and Dongle Docking assembly for much better WiFi dongle placement - Result much better WiFi performance.

5) Mede8er has control buttons on front facia -- ACRyan non

6) Mede8er has integrated NAS in main setup menu with "auto turn on" when unit is re powered.

7) Mede8er has special In Folder jpeg preview

8) Mede8er has HD GUI

9) Mede8er has Time Bar Jump feature

10) Mede8er has Jump by file number in Media Library - input number on remote

11) New improved SD card reader – ACRyan cannot remove card with fingers - require some object to asssit is removing

12) Mede8er has Save and Restore Configuration feature. – ACRyan ??.

13) Mede8ar has Remote Navigation button dual use for FF/FW/PLAY/PAUSE/VOL UP/VOL DOWN

14) Mede8er has new and better implementation of Subtitle Screen

15) Mede8er has more stable firmware as they put enormous effort into testing before releasing versions.

16) Mede8er has much better Media Library section and you can see many differences such as -- 9 lines of Folders or files – ACRyan 5

17 Mede8er has updated and improved GOTO application

Some more Mede8er can up scale DVD to 1080p. Wa low eh.......
summer4128
post Jan 5 2010, 11:15 PM

109 posts

QUOTE(adamw @ Jan 5 2010, 08:03 PM)
Well, you cannot simply say RM400 & below is a reasonable price just because your are selling it cheap with only 6 months warranty. No offence bro! As per what you stated in your [BULK] thread "Why price cheap ? -Self import~ part time business here. I'm a violin teacher. ~sometimes busy teaching class in afternoon, Process order might slower a bit. (1-2days)."
Those Low Yat retailers have to keep stock & the distributor have to give them Credit Terms & also for distributor there's a holding cost, 1 year warranty etc! etc!
+1, agree with your statement. Low Yat retailers need margin to rent shop and pay salary, technical support, and bra..bra...bra...All this will make the market keep going and everybody can survive. This is from the view of social. For end-users, support is very important and manufacturer need the margin to continues this service. For those china cheap products, it is proving that their support very poor, and the quality also. Don't you see those NMT already died? Once upon a time,...Kaiboer, Elektron, Egreat, etc...all from China. whistling.gif

Added on January 5, 2010, 11:21 pm
QUOTE(soulquarianz @ Jan 5 2010, 10:10 PM)

wow similiar with POHD but the GUI is awesome ! also i like the main unit that has touch button incase u miss place or have broken remote, btw how much is the price, if u dont mind?
It is really awesome. I saw Alex demo, Viewnet, BDMV and BD.iso can play and support to change the subtitles and audio also. Price around RM599.00 also. Hmm, product from South Africa, really not bad at all.

This post has been edited by summer4128: Jan 5 2010, 11:21 PM
summer4128
post Jan 5 2010, 11:56 PM

109 posts

Bro, u don't know what you pay what you get meh? If those china brand really cheap and quality, how come died so fast? Brand come with time and quality. Well, you will know later.....
summer4128
post Jan 6 2010, 12:13 AM

109 posts

QUOTE(hdwarexpert @ Jan 6 2010, 12:06 AM)
So your friends wanna discontinue AC Ryan distributorship and focus on new brand?
I don't think so. Some how AC Ryan mini is coming soon. icon_idea.gif
summer4128
post Jan 6 2010, 12:17 AM

109 posts

QUOTE(ar188 @ Jan 6 2010, 12:15 AM)
ah POHD supporter.. I see.. then what's the whoo haa about brand.. POHD also no brand wat.. they used to make PC mod parts that's all..
u dunno A C Ryan brand already there for 8 years? Dvico TViX also same ma, more then that.
summer4128
post Jan 6 2010, 12:21 AM

109 posts

Bro, if brand not important, then see around your house, which items is no brand, tell me.

Added on January 6, 2010, 12:22 amXtreamer own by MViX, and this company run also as long as AC Ryan.

This post has been edited by summer4128: Jan 6 2010, 12:22 AM
summer4128
post Jan 6 2010, 12:28 AM

109 posts

Dvico is taikor in develop of media player for more then 6 years. POHD about 2 years in this field. But branded mean by the company. And this company produce products sure in good quality.

Added on January 6, 2010, 12:33 am
QUOTE(ar188 @ Jan 6 2010, 12:27 AM)
yup, besides POHD is not branded to me anyway... so no argument about brands here..  biggrin.gif
ya lor, then u don't pijak those branded (anti-branded, may be? rolleyes.gif ) lor.

This post has been edited by summer4128: Jan 6 2010, 12:33 AM
summer4128
post Jan 6 2010, 08:58 AM

109 posts

QUOTE(ar188 @ Jan 6 2010, 12:34 AM)
anyway really I dun see how POHD is branded??
oic, the product branded is judged by Bro. doh.gif Sorry, bro, didn't know you are the authority.... sweat.gif
summer4128
post Jan 6 2010, 10:20 AM

109 posts

QUOTE(ar188 @ Jan 6 2010, 09:53 AM)
for me, I don't think it's branded. and you are the authority to say POHD  branded? when it's not even designed themselves?
Branded not decide by me but from market itself. From your authority view those branded must have their own design and manufacture, then SENQ is out, because selling none of their own products, Yamazen also out (the biggest machine seller in Japan), because selling none of their own name machine. Don't buy NAZA and INOKOM, because they don't produce their own car, etc....so des ne....
summer4128
post Jan 6 2010, 11:07 AM

109 posts

QUOTE(geforce1999 @ Jan 6 2010, 10:24 AM)
Does it really matter whether it is branded or not?  As long as it works and ppl think the device suits the need with right price tag, ppl will go for it.

Media player is an fast moving technology, from my very first rmvb player till now BD iso format, I have owned 5-6 devices.  Different ppl has different need.  There is nothing wrong for YangXi to sell it cheap with less warranty; if ppl think the price is right they will go for it.  Of course, there are ppl would like to pay more for longer warranty then they will go to Lowyat plaza for that.  Each business has its own niche to survive.

My point is everyone has its own way to do business, especially during this E era.  My 2 cents.
+1 nod.gif

Added on January 6, 2010, 11:08 am
QUOTE(ar188 @ Jan 6 2010, 10:35 AM)
ok, based on your definition, then POHD is branded , but same as Egreat or BlueAngel.. so what's the big deal.. POHD is in the same boat as them... got brand..  why you think POHD is branded and others are not?

besides I didn;'t not say Branded means must have own design and manufacture.. but without that advantage of design/manufacture, what's the big deal about this particular brand that elevate it above other china branded media players?
doh.gif doh.gif doh.gif

This post has been edited by summer4128: Jan 6 2010, 11:08 AM
summer4128
post Jan 6 2010, 01:19 PM

109 posts

Actually it is chipset problem. My insider is seeking the solution.
summer4128
post Jan 7 2010, 11:35 PM

109 posts

TViX M6600 uses 1283. If HD audio can thru, TViX will be the first because they already got it in M6500. My insider told me that TViX is pushing RTD very hard to find a solution or they got no face. So, it is not ready for HD audio pass thru. Taiwan lang any how said. Now, Dvico min cher cher. They are even more desperate then us because they already promised the HD audio pass thru. Chia lat liao....

Added on January 7, 2010, 11:37 pm
QUOTE(ar188 @ Jan 6 2010, 01:39 PM)
summer, peace regarding the previous posts... icon_rolleyes.gif

hope your insider can find a solution.. if can settle both HD audio can consider POHD also..  thumbup.gif
No problem bro. Actually now I prefer Mede8er than POHD..... brows.gif

This post has been edited by summer4128: Jan 7 2010, 11:37 PM
summer4128
post Jan 8 2010, 10:08 AM

109 posts

Tested ok for image quality. It can autoplay and upscale. GUI quite like Xtreamer. Has copy function, no need thru PC.
summer4128
post Jan 8 2010, 01:37 PM

109 posts

Hi Guy, new firmware of Mede8er out liao. It shows that can play DVD thru DVD ROM.

Goto http://www.mede8erforum.com/index.php
And register to get the latest update from the download section.

Mede8er Change Log V2.0.2 -- 6 January 2010
128M-HMC-M03I-20100106-v7.0.7.r2956_SANJIA_QA20091208_USB
1. Fixed audio folder navigation problem on NFS.
2. Fixed samba login without user name
3. Fixed crash issue as result from USB unplugging
4. Fixed DVD ROM issue - problem with not ejecting.
5. Fixed DVD setup menu CMD_ANGLE button would show teletext menu.
6. Fixed UPnP problems
7. Added video "Digital Noise Reduction" option to setup menu **
8. Fixed subtitle font issues with certain language's special characters, etc
9. Fixed file extension .wav .divx

** It would be suggested that you change your DNR (Digital Noise Reduction) setting to OFF (AUTO is the install default) if you experience a 'soft' picture while watching SD movies on a large screen TV - this will sharpen the image considerably.

summer4128
post Jan 8 2010, 01:40 PM

109 posts

QUOTE(stimix @ Jan 8 2010, 12:42 PM)
Hmnnn like dat regretted liao bcos those seller told me dun buy WDTV bcos kenot play RMvb punya..me still got lotsa rmvb eggs ..hehe
Don't be regret because WDTV rely a bit frustration when you play movies. Trust me, a lot of my friend experience it.
summer4128
post Jan 8 2010, 01:50 PM

109 posts

QUOTE(ar188 @ Jan 8 2010, 12:39 PM)
that's because you are used to the realtek by now..

plug in the WDTV live or other sigma based chip immediately you can see the difference... few fellas here have both units, difference is noticeably clear..
I have both 6500 and 6600, can't see the different on picture quality. But will notice zigzag on the sharp for projection more than 60". This is to say, below 60", really can't see the different. Those fellas see the different may be they are not compare apple to apple and the setup setting also will cause the different. Have they mentioned the setup and brand to use?
summer4128
post Jan 8 2010, 02:24 PM

109 posts

QUOTE(ar188 @ Jan 8 2010, 02:03 PM)
tested 300A, 34H at Mpyw's place with KURO and also his dune (sigma). realtek is noticably softer.. and same feeling as the realtek H10 and H16 units..
Never heard of this realtek brand. Pls ask to test by Mede8er or M6600 or POHD, see what is the different. Remember, same F-16, but pilots different will make the plane fight as dump or marvellous.
summer4128
post Jan 10 2010, 04:52 PM

109 posts

QUOTE(welwitchia @ Jan 8 2010, 11:06 PM)
I have the Dvico 6500a, POHD, & WD TV Live. Tested 3 of them on a 42" Panny PY800. Same results as ar188. I find the POHD a bit too soft for my liking. It's not like I'm imagining it. The results are really noticeable. I've sold the POHD since. It's still a very good player for it's price but I prefer the Sigmas for now. Oh BTW, WD TV LIVE is far from perfect but we're not gonna discuss it here.  biggrin.gif
Hi Bro, try to test M6600 at The Hub. They use Panny Plasma 42" as demo set. You will see almost same result as M6500.

0.0197sec    0.34    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 04:06 PM