Show Pics Of Your Workstation [Thread V4], Not Just Casing, Whole Computer Area

Dreamworks
post Oct 11 2009, 03:11 PM

Shining with 3x2+1 stars!
2,141 posts

Mine. Made a few minor changes/upgrades.

Primary workstation on the right, secondary on the left. The big table and red chair there is more than 20 years old, I was just a lil baby back then! Moved them all the way from KL, then to Penang Island, and now to Bukit Mertajam.

My place. Recently upgraded the monitor to AOC Angelo, bought a new wireless router, sound card, portable headphone and hard drive. Also changed to an antique sound system with antique cables. My laptop, portable drives, 3 earphones and other misc. junk are all in my room, too messy to show laugh.gif

Kinda crowded huh? No choice lah since the table so small... Even used to place a camcorder dock and 2 digicams on the table, now stashed somewhere else liao sweat.gif Daddy dragon and daddy dinosaur on top of casing, baby dinosaur on table, glow-in-the-dark dinosaur on sidepanel. The plastic looking thingy is actually an octopus car sticker from CIMB Clicks, prevents my gadgets from scratches as the table has a rough matte texture.

RAWR!

Underneath. 14-year "antique" old amp, speaker and cables I mentioned earlier, 10-year old table. Forgot to return the Zoids box on the bottom left back to my cupboard. Oh yea, now I'm just using an el-cheapo mouse and keyboard as they work well enough tongue.gif

So many guys here said the "insides" of their casing are full of cacing la, or jungle la, or whatever lah. let me show you the REAL meaning of cacing/jungle/whatever.

QUOTE(Zheng87 @ Oct 9 2009, 12:10 PM)
Haha, hot seat huh? Heat from my arse.  rclxms.gif Oh okay, thank you.
I think I know you... Let's see:
1) Bachelor of Engineering (Hons) in Electrical & Electronic student
2) Currently IICP student
3) Used to be a TAR student
4) Undergoing internship this semester
5) Drives a black Camry

Correct? tongue.gif

This post has been edited by Dreamworks: Oct 11 2009, 03:20 PM
Dreamworks
post Oct 11 2009, 09:42 PM

2,141 posts

QUOTE(AlexLee277 @ Oct 11 2009, 03:37 PM)
^big gigabyte cooler u got there...
The fan is 92mm and the heatsink itself is smaller a bit than the fan, but I don't this cooler is considered big by today's standard sweat.gif Or maybe because my casing is too small... Lol...

Added on October 11, 2009, 9:44 pm
QUOTE(apple96 @ Oct 11 2009, 05:45 PM)
@Dreamworks

nice casing you got there..
Thanks! It's actually a few years old ady.

This post has been edited by Dreamworks: Oct 11 2009, 09:44 PM
Dreamworks
post Oct 11 2009, 09:46 PM

2,141 posts

QUOTE(AlexLee277 @ Oct 11 2009, 09:40 PM)
dual monitor setup...

LOL... that 2 vizo fan is for RAM?
Erm... Is the bolded part directed at me? hmm.gif
Dreamworks
post Oct 11 2009, 10:23 PM

2,141 posts

QUOTE(AlexLee277 @ Oct 11 2009, 10:06 PM)
ya u...
They are for my RAMs since I used to OC a lot back then, but not Vizo... It's AC Ryan actually. Bought about 6 - 8 of them at a clearance price of only RM5 each brows.gif Vizo is under Vantec right? I have those as well, but the LEDs very fast blown liao dry.gif

And just in case you are wondering, those 2 80mm fans are supported by the Gigabyte cooler.

Added on October 11, 2009, 10:24 pmOops, seems like you found out about the brand tongue.gif Looking forward to your pics too, wanna see what you mean by "wait till i post mine" hehe...

This post has been edited by Dreamworks: Oct 11 2009, 10:28 PM
Dreamworks
post Oct 12 2009, 07:54 PM

2,141 posts

QUOTE(zhengyang89 @ Oct 11 2009, 11:10 PM)
bro i using the same computer table with you, how much you bought ?
Do you have any problem with it ? Mine, 2 of the roll down there broken already  doh.gif
10 years ago? RM200. The wood is really solid if you compare with computer tables nowadays laugh.gif The rollers and the table itself senget a bit liao as you can see from the pic, but it was caused by the "house-movers" who stacked a heap load of heavy stuff on top of the table doh.gif Rollers broken ar? Change lo, can DIY ma as they are easily available. Just go to some hardware store and ask.

QUOTE(Zheng87 @ Oct 12 2009, 08:45 AM)
Haha yea correct. Do i know u? smile.gif
We are classmates, just that we don't chat much. Here's a tip, I'm the only guy in class with a Nintendo DS tongue.gif You guys are all on PSPs hehe...

QUOTE(Warwick @ Oct 12 2009, 12:58 PM)

14 year old "antique" amp is still a very good amp!! I've been bugging my friend to sell me that for quite a while now
Well, NAD sure makes good reliable amps. After 14 years and it still works like a charm, and yes... I was surprised how much better it sounded compared to standard PC sound systems. I think you should be able to get one off eBay International for a cheap price, it's the shipping price that kills sweat.gif

QUOTE(Kal-el @ Oct 12 2009, 03:18 PM)
best casing-less setup with toilet-paper on the table

Ahem, if I put toilet paper beside my comp, my dad will sure give me a long lecture on the causes of fire sleep.gif

This post has been edited by Dreamworks: Oct 12 2009, 07:55 PM
Dreamworks
post Oct 14 2009, 08:19 PM

2,141 posts

QUOTE(Zheng87 @ Oct 13 2009, 09:05 AM)
Haha, I know who are you. I asked Thunder Leong and he told me.  icon_idea.gif
Seriously, I still I don't get it why you guys call him thunder sweat.gif Sounds kinda awkward and funny lol...

QUOTE(V12Kompressor @ Oct 13 2009, 11:35 AM)
Siap ada silica gel. laugh.gif
You scared got moisture masuk ur rig ah? laugh.gif
Hmm, good observant pair of eyes you got there brows.gif And to answer your question, in a way yes. Sometimes I on the air-cond, so no harm having a silica gel pack in there "in case" condensation occurs if the day is hot and humid, but whether it really helps or not I don't care lah since I have plenty of the gel packs anyway tongue.gif

QUOTE(AlexLee277 @ Oct 13 2009, 03:45 PM)
LOL.. i just realize there are silica gel inside...
I think I left it in there for more than a year liao laugh.gif Actually this type of thing need to change or not?
Dreamworks
post Oct 19 2009, 12:21 AM

2,141 posts

@wKkaY
Your workstation always look so professionally set up, nice! And how on earth did you keep those Cambridge speakers so clean?!? All my white things ended up yellow sleep.gif

@Vista-X
Looks like you have a CM Musketeer too hehe...

Anyway, I added something big and shiny recently... This one is even older than my old NAD laugh.gif I got the NEC Authentic Series amp for free though, courtesy of kind forumer choontoy rclxms.gif

My computer table become even more senget on its midsection due to the heavy amp. The locking mechanism under the middle portion of the table already came apart doh.gif

Cleaned up my workstation area since I'm free this Deepavali weekend, more space to breath now.

This is more of a entertainment-station rather than workstation, I just love watching anime on Plasma TVs, the colours look so brilliant. Just connected using a standard D-SUB interface because my laptops do not have HDMI, but I don't really care that much lah.

This post has been edited by Dreamworks: Oct 19 2009, 12:38 AM
Dreamworks
post Apr 28 2010, 09:29 AM

2,141 posts

A lil update to my workstation... Added Creative GigaWorks T20 and XBOX 360 Controller for Windows, rerouted audio connection from NEC amp back to NAD amp, dinosaurs replaced with dragons in honor of DreamWorks Animation's How to Train Your Dragon ("Toothless" is so cute wub.gif ).

Anyway, the T20 kinda exceeded my expectations for its size. Highs are detailed and mid-tones are rich/full, bass is accurate and just perfect for music, very good/solid build quality too (It's a GigaWorks afterall). However, I find gaming and watching movies a bit lacking, I guess a subwoofer-equipped system would better suit these needs... The bright blue glowing power LED is kinda annoying dry.gif

In case you are wondering why I switched back to NAD from NEC, it's because Japanese amps just can't seem to compete with Canadian amps or maybe because I just prefer how NAD amps sound.

Obtaining the XBOX 360 Controller here in Penang is a real pain. PC Depot seems to be the cheapest among all the PC shops (Not many shops sell this gamepad) I surveyed in the Bayan Lepas region, priced at RM148. I thought of going for the console version due to the cheaper price but there are way too many options and risks. There's imitation, grade A and ori... Imitation is RM70, grade A is RM100 and ori is RM130. I actually found a shop selling ori for RM110 but since the package was opened, I can't be certain whether they've swapped the controller with a used one or grade A. The seller claimed they opened the package to stick their warranty sticker, but can't they just do it in front of their customer? And warranty for console versions is only 1 week, even for ori. I got so frustrated and went to buy from PC Depot in the end sweat.gif

T20, gamepad and Toothless.

Dragon!

This post has been edited by Dreamworks: Apr 28 2010, 09:31 AM
Dreamworks
post Apr 28 2010, 06:18 PM

2,141 posts

QUOTE(V3nz @ Apr 28 2010, 10:03 AM)
Owh,toothless,very cute  wub.gif

and you got that right,xbox controller a very very hard to find in Penang...

plus i no money and want to buy the xbox version wired controller which is only rm100+- one

but....but.....seems like there is no one selling it... doh.gif
RM100 seems to be a reasonable price for the console version nod.gif Mind if I ask where you bought it?

QUOTE(bardshah92 @ Apr 28 2010, 11:33 AM)
hehe..xbox controller in penang..
go to pcdepot near megamall prai(pacific)..
That's where I bought mine laugh.gif But it's old stock, since the packaging still says designed for Vista... The ones Gadgetzone are selling have a Windows 7 sticker.

QUOTE(toottut89 @ Apr 28 2010, 05:59 PM)
you guys can try, 1stop(midlands) gadgetzone in pulau tikus, i bought my wireless from there and i saw USB one there too.
But Gadgetzone is RM7 more expensive at RM155 haha...
Dreamworks
post Apr 28 2010, 07:54 PM

2,141 posts

If you guys wanna buy the wireless version, Gadgetzone is cheaper at RM195 (PC Depot RM199 iianm). There's a shop in BJ selling the console version for RM110.

Paying extra RM50 not just for the driver la, PC version carry 1 year warranty, but console version only 7 days.

By the way, we are getting off topic sweat.gif
Dreamworks
post Jun 23 2010, 01:53 PM

2,141 posts

QUOTE(AlexLee277 @ Jun 22 2010, 09:57 PM)
WOW! our thread have a winner.. LOL

btw, the contest got 1st runner up... etc etc etc?

I though the contest's closing date is 29th June, no? Unless they decided to close early ^^
http://techcentral.my/news/story.aspx?file...602&sec=IT_News

Everyone quickly submit your pics! I also want, but lazy write slogan tongue.gif
Dreamworks
post Jun 28 2010, 06:23 PM

2,141 posts

Mine... After some long overdue cleaning laugh.gif

Dreamworks
post Jun 28 2010, 06:41 PM

2,141 posts

QUOTE(V3nz @ Jun 28 2010, 06:35 PM)
lol,why the 1st pic the table red color one then the 2nd pic brown color liao hmm.gif  tongue.gif

and there is one too many dragon mang ohmy.gif

and the speaker,Creative?nice? brows.gif  hmm.gif
Somewhere wrong with my settings I think, accidentally applied a colour filter or something while resizing laugh.gif What's wrong with dragons? I like my dragons tongue.gif And they are called ZOIDS by the way hehe...

Yea, GigaWorks T20 by Creative.

This post has been edited by Dreamworks: Jun 28 2010, 06:42 PM

0.0491sec    0.25    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 04:04 AM