Singapore Stocks

sulifeisgreat
post Jan 22 2010, 04:04 PM

1,121 posts

QUOTE(wlcling @ Jan 22 2010, 12:51 PM)
you bought zobee huh?

anyway HSI continues to be in deep red, and tonight i'm not positive about DJ.
anyway i am cutting at least 60-80% of my positions by today. if got profit, just take. if losses, just cut... sell into strength.  sad.gif

many who think they are buying on dips could be catching falling knives because correction may continue. but some selective counters will still perform.

good luck to you all too.
cheer up, its the mega sale, as u say, stick to ur own selective counter which wil perform cool2.gif
int rate stil low for usa, dunno abt s'pore & china int rate rclxub.gif
pasar can't drop all the way down, sure got dead cat bounce & they wun let the shorts earn monies so easily nod.gif
any quick doom & gloom players may get killed soon brows.gif
barring any further shocking news, buy the dip teori stil in play, but be cautious rolleyes.gif

sulifeisgreat
post Jan 26 2010, 11:18 AM

1,121 posts

kenot be la! lyn forum majority is so optimistic, analyst r optimistic, obama oso not talking much
usa fomc meeting should be in line with expectations, so not much surprise from there either
but usa does not affect world, only china affects! since china policy is overeaction by market, no problemo
oso bought berkshire hathaway liao, warren buffet says be greedy when all is fear & holding period is forever
wat else can go wrong brows.gif
sulifeisgreat
post Jan 26 2010, 12:01 PM

1,121 posts

QUOTE(wlcling @ Jan 26 2010, 11:48 AM)
See HSI now... lau sai already... SSE also.... confirm STI jialat... few days ago still alot people buying on dips but by now alot of panic catching on already... support levels breaking.

analyst optimistic because they want to dump on us ma...  sweat.gif let us hold their babies first.

Tonight i believe our angmo friends sure jialat also... maybe tonight itself dow back below 10k...  blush.gif

Panic in the streets! (unless your name is warren and can hold for 100 years no problemo) icon_question.gif

luckily casino here havent open yet, or not double whammy to gamblers...  biggrin.gif
who bought on dips? rclxub.gif those etf I bought r pessimistic type & consider safe haven... for now...haha laugh.gif
sigh, the lyn forum was so optimistic, talk abt fundamental analysis, valuation, TA useless & those disagree r trolls
did I follow them to holland when bought brk.b which is their sifu? note to self : never follow tips again nod.gif
well, no idea & time will tell. but buffet did not become billionaire by using TA unsure.gif
who knows? maybe it will be bright & sunny after this mega sales, provided u hav reserves wink.gif

http://biz.thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?f...52&sec=business

Small investors can buy into billionaire Buffett's empire at lower cost

OMAHA, Nebraska: Peter Eischeid has long had his nose pressed to the glass of billionaire Warren Buffett's investment empire, yearning to be among those with the means to buy their way in.

No more.

Thanks to a stock split approved last Wednesday, Eischeid and other small investors plan to snatch up lower-tier Berkshire Hathaway Inc. shares that will sell for just $69 and change.

That's down from about $3,500 that each Class B share commanded before.

"I avoided that conglomerate mainly because of the entry prices of the shares," said Eischeid, 34, of Salt Lake City.

"I know there are a lot of people that will definitely be intrigued by that lower share price."

There will indeed, said Andy Kilpatrick, a stockbroker and author of a two-volume tome on Buffett's life and business.

"It now makes it available to a child who cuts grass for spending money," Kilpatrick said.

"There's nobody who can't find $66. The last time Berkshire stock was at $66 was in 1971."

Buffett has built his reputation as a savvy investor who spots quality businesses selling cheaply and either buys the stock or the whole company.

Omaha-based Berkshire has investments in such companies as Coca-Cola Co. and Wells Fargo & Co., and owns more than 60 subsidiaries, including clothing, furniture and jewelry companies.

Its insurance and utility businesses typically account for more than half of its revenue.

The company's prized Class A shares, which carry more voting rights and are not being split, are America's most expensive stock at around $100,000 each.

The Class B shares, dubbed "Baby Berkshires," are splitting 50-for-1 as a way to facilitate the company's plan to buy Burlington Northern Santa Fe Corp.

Among investors drawn by the lower price is Adam Bray-Ali, a self-described small investor from Los Angeles, who bought two shares of the Class B stock for just under $3,300 each two days before the split, and planned to buy another 50 or so afterward.

But there's more at play than the stock's new affordability.

"I can go to the shareholder meeting this year," the 35-year-old Bray-Ali said.

Berkshire's annual meeting is the mecca of shareholder events, routinely drawing more than 30,000 to Omaha for the three-day affair that has an almost carnival-like atmosphere.

The event includes a shareholder reception on the eve of the meeting, various parties and a six-hour question-and-answer session with Buffett, who tosses out financial observances in terms even the most uninitiated investor can follow.

"I would say that for some young investor ... if you want to learn about investments, then the annual meeting is the place to go," Kilpatrick said.

That's a draw for University of Tennessee senior Nick Vantrease. The 21-year-old, who is president of the school's Financial Management Association, said he will consider buying Berkshire stock once he graduates in May and starts working.

He expects the split to be a key topic at Buffett's scheduled meeting with college business students next month.

"It'll be interesting to hear what he has to say about it," said Vantrease.

"It definitely makes the stock more affordable."

Terry Porter of Kansas City, Missouri, who has held Class B shares for years, believes it's not just young investors who can take advantage of the lower entry price.

"I have a lot of older people ask me what they should invest in. They don't want to be ripped off," said the 60-year-old retiree.

"I'd be the first to recommend Buffett."

Opinion is split on the effect the move will have on the stock's direction.

Plenty believe it will help the Class B price rise, especially if Berkshire's increased liquidity lands the stock in the S&P 500.

Buffett, long opposed to stock splits, said he enjoys using stock for the railroad deal "about as much as preparing for a colonoscopy."

While the man known as the Oracle of Omaha has nonetheless supported the move, some professionals don't see it as a buying opportunity.

"I'm a follower and fan of Warren Buffett, but no, I am not going to buy into Berkshire Hathaway for myself or my clients," said Mark Pearson, president and CEO of Anchor Capital Management in Minneapolis.

"I firmly believe there is greater value in other companies in the market." - AP

On the Net:

Berkshire Hathaway Inc.:

http://www.berkshirehathaway.com

This post has been edited by sulifeisgreat: Jan 26 2010, 02:08 PM
sulifeisgreat
post Jan 26 2010, 06:00 PM

1,121 posts

QUOTE(wlcling @ Jan 26 2010, 05:42 PM)
i already cleared most of my positions last Friday. Whether Green cut, whether Black cut, whether Red cut.

i don't short, so this kind of market cannot do anything, just sideline & watch. sad.gif  sad.gif
I'm watching how tis week ends, if signal ok, gonna short & buy 'put' drool.gif nyum nyum...

sulifeisgreat
post Jan 26 2010, 06:10 PM

1,121 posts

QUOTE(wlcling @ Jan 26 2010, 06:01 PM)
Tonight i predict dow jones will lau sai badly.
Tomorrow STI will....

Pls visit Kopitiam corner to stay positive throughout this depressing times. Thank you!
ur trading style is not same as those forumers in klse lyn, y depress?
s'pore kenot short meh?or buy put options? rclxub.gif
tis is not depress time, tis is sales (ie. opportunity) but dunno mega or not?

keep track those leaders, update ur watch list & look for key support level... if u know how to read charts nod.gif
once hit ur level, can buy, but suggest give some time for correction to correct itself rolleyes.gif
maybe, when those hopeful / dip buyers, decide to throw in towel or become involuntary long term investor brows.gif
or their threads become quiet with lotsa coulda, woulda & shoulda whistling.gif

sulifeisgreat
post Jan 27 2010, 04:16 PM

1,121 posts

QUOTE(wlcling @ Jan 27 2010, 03:37 PM)
HSI fall under 20k support!

many people... no eyes to see already...  blush.gif
heard b4 teori bear jump out window? if its really correction, we ain't see nothing yet laugh.gif
heard b4 teori catch a falling knife, klse lyn is a good place to catch real life teori in action, positive humans nod.gif
when dust settle & if unfortunately anyone run out of funds & forum quiet, then can use epf invest for unit trust brows.gif

sulifeisgreat
post Jan 28 2010, 11:47 AM

1,121 posts

finally a rebound tat kills the round 1 bear team, should i short soon? hmm.gif no pain no gain, lemme check up

The dollar strengthened and two-year Treasury notes fell the most this year as investors bet the Fed’s decision to end purchases of mortgage-backed securities, along with a more optimistic assessment of the economy, increases the odds of an interest-rate increase by October. drool.gif

http://www.bloomberg.com/apps/news?pid=206...id=aB5iddsGWik8
sulifeisgreat
post Jan 29 2010, 12:18 AM

1,121 posts

QUOTE(wlcling @ Jan 28 2010, 11:23 PM)
my dad sms me today again.... pls tell me once genting is at $1.00

blush.gif
remember ask him buy, the market needs all the support they can get blink.gif
momo of s'pore need to transfer their holdings to sheeps, the more sheeps the merrier thumbup.gif

time for me to gamble & suicide mega_shok.gif no pain, no gain gua... drool.gif
short ewm 10.56, ews 10.87, dia 101.3, spy 108.98
buy puts ewm strike $10 for 0.75
buy puts ews strike $10 for 0.60
buy puts dia strike $100 for 5.25
buy puts spy strike $108 for 6.25

This post has been edited by sulifeisgreat: Jan 29 2010, 12:20 AM
sulifeisgreat
post Jan 29 2010, 02:30 PM

1,121 posts

QUOTE(wlcling @ Jan 29 2010, 02:17 PM)
market... is so weak....
dunno le, heard tat there wil be a rebound after lunch time
suspek there should be rebound to kill off bear team 1, but dunno when rclxub.gif
y dun u play futures in s'pore hmm.gif
sulifeisgreat
post Jan 29 2010, 03:10 PM

1,121 posts

QUOTE(Joshua_0718 @ Jan 29 2010, 02:45 PM)
I thought playing futures are much more expensive? No?

Added on January 29, 2010, 2:57 pmNeed to wait till Feb 3rd. One warrant expiring Feb 2nd.
heard someone said the correction comes in sep09 & then jan10, not sure whether make $ or not
if yes, then the profit is worth more than the expense
but after being burnt to a crisp, I rather stick to options, safer no margin call laugh.gif
& I can't never make sense of economic data to play forex either, so stick to slow-mo shares instead wink.gif
sulifeisgreat
post Jan 30 2010, 10:09 AM

1,121 posts

QUOTE(wlcling @ Jan 30 2010, 02:11 AM)
this kind of news, and yet dow ding donging around?

Jan. 29 (Bloomberg) -- The economy in the U.S. expanded in the fourth quarter at the fastest pace in six years as factories cranked up assembly lines to prevent inventories from plunging.

waiting for a trigger... meltdown trigger... actually market has rebounded quite fast already. Funds will once again start selling off at the slightest hints of negative news.
dow ding dong around coz market luv sheeps to participate, the more the merrier, imo, never try to fight momo & trend doh.gif
but humans by nature r distrustful & sifu market is alwiz ultimately the best teacher thumbup.gif
who knows? buffet says pasar irrational & monday all can be bright & sunny, so be positive, pray hard, dun cut loss, hang on & buy more

had paid my tuition fees many times liao to sifu market in the past & guess its time for bulls to go into washing mesin
no worries, base on my personal experience, sifu market really can do a good job to clean anyone's clock, it clean mine really well last time wink.gif
but sifu market quite nice oso, like to give clue via charts. giving tis thread a bump rolleyes.gif & hope u all enjoy the tiger show

gee, guess I must have irritated 95% of the forumers in lyn share thread via TA laugh.gif signing off for now & time I go hibernating too icon_rolleyes.gif

Q4 S&P 500 Profits On Path To Triple

With nearly half of the S&P 500 reporting, Q4 earnings are on track to surge 206% vs. a year earlier.

Sounds impressive. But that's largely due to a big recovery from the economic and credit market meltdown at the end of 2008.

Banks swung to profits after suffering massive losses at the peak of the crisis. Excluding financials, the S&P 500 should report more-modest but still solid 15% growth, according to Thomson Reuters.

Results are in from 220 of the S&P 500 firms. A very high 78% have topped Q4 EPS views. Two-thirds have beaten sales targets.

S&P 500 revenue likely rose just 7% in Q4, or 2% excluding financials. But after several quarters of layoffs and other cost cuts, even a modest demand pickup can fuel big bottom-line gains.

Earnings likely more than doubled for the consumer discretionary sector, including battered auto-related firms. Materials companies' profits will nearly triple.

Meantime, health care and industrials are on track for single-digit profit drops. Medical firms saw relatively steady profits in the recession compared to other sectors.

Techs are on track for 53% profit growth. Most of the big caps have reported, including Apple (AAPL), Google (GOOG), IBM (IBM), Intel (INTC) and Microsoft (MSFT). All but one S&P 500 tech firm have topped Wall Street views — by 25% on average.

Analysts have been been raising their growth forecasts for 2010. They now see a 38.6% overall earnings jump in Q1, 48% for techs.

That hasn't satisfied investors. Since Jan. 11, when Alcoa (AA) kicked off earnings, the Nasdaq has fallen 7.1% and the S&P 500 6.4%.

Stocks rose early Friday on the strong GDP data. But they sold off on SanDisk's (SNDK) 2010 warning and Microsoft's comment that it's not seeing much corporate IT spending. On Thursday, Qualcomm (QCOM) dived 14% on a sales warning.

sulifeisgreat
post Jan 31 2010, 03:04 AM

1,121 posts

QUOTE(wlcling @ Jan 30 2010, 01:18 PM)
buffet has deep pockets. not applicable to follow his style all the time  smile.gif

I'm not sure for those still holding... there are strong signs we are going to collapse further... there are still dips i still want to buy into, but exit points will be nearby too.

Why hold long term positions for now? preserve your capital & get a good nights sleep during this time.

Market is always there.
My past time is to tickle the emotional side of their fear & greed laugh.gif so as to set confusion in their minds but the brave shal remain steadfast nod.gif
habits die hard & everyone is entitle to do wat they like, its their $...my current suicide gambling position drool.gif

fxp 9.3 (UltraShort FTSE/Xinhua China25 Proshares) it is an etf for shorting
uup 23.2 (PowerShares DB US Dollar Index Bullish) it is an etf for us dollars, in teori, market fear, they seek haven in usd
tyo 60.69 (may cut loss on monday) tis int rate thingy so difficult to play for me laugh.gif

short qqqq 43.55
buy puts qqqq, strike $43 for 2.35 expiring 30jun

short ewm 10.56
buy puts ewm strike $10 for 0.75 expiring 17july

ews 10.87
buy puts ews strike $10 for 0.60 expiring 21aug

dia 101.3
buy puts dia strike $100 for 5.25 expiring 30jun

spy 108.98
buy puts spy strike $108 for 6.25 expiring 30jun

sulifeisgreat
post Dec 24 2010, 09:28 AM

1,121 posts

ya lo! pay peanuts, get monkeys doh.gif
is there any way u can find out which co is making good profit yoy or having good fa from sing website
also can cross check to graph & see got volume or where the support & resistance biggrin.gif
any long term period warrants in sing island for gamblers thumbup.gif

QUOTE(ronn77 @ Dec 22 2010, 11:56 AM)
u should change ur sifu..he only can help u make peanuts. should find someone that can make us abalons and bird nest..lol.
sulifeisgreat
post Jan 7 2011, 01:28 AM

1,121 posts

3 hours ago ur sifu say bullish, now correction? or izit in 2 weeks time? means sell all lion land shares by then izit? or dun buy now & wait later rclxub.gif
sulifeisgreat
post Jan 7 2011, 01:45 AM

1,121 posts

oic, ok agree with the holding on part & strong correction, cheers too! may the bear roar soon on a daily basis for dip buying wink.gif
reserves r ready, all usa co needs to do is miss earnings & ur wish is granted, means u can replace ur own sifu cool.gif

QUOTE(wlcling @ Jan 7 2011, 01:33 AM)
he said this week bullish, next week more bullish... didnt talk about the corrections on a daily basis... i guess its a message to just hold or buy on dips for this week perhaps?

its just my 2 cents worth that after such bullishness after these 2 weeks, there should be a strong correction before STI continues breaking new highs... blush.gif
Cost Pressures May Hit Margins Even As U.S. Economy Improves

Just as the U.S. economic recovery finally seems to be picking up, profit margins may have peaked.

Stronger GDP growth should help domestic revenue pick up. But belt-tightening may have run its course while commodity and labor cost pressures start to build.

Operating profit margins for the S&P 500 companies have risen for seven straight quarters, as corporations used sharp cost cuts to leverage modest sales gains. But they likely dipped to 8.81% in Q4 from Q3's 8.95%, predicts Howard Silverblatt, senior index analyst for Standard & Poor's.

GAAP profit margins, which include various charges, peaked in Q2 at 8.31%, fell to 8.11% in Q3 and likely sank to 7.23% in Q4, according to Silverblatt.

Stock prices often move ahead of profits and can diverge from fundamentals for a time, but earnings and profit margins are key to equities' long-term performance.

Sales gains and companies' ability to pass on their own rising costs should keep margins on a positive course, said KeyBank Private Bank chief investment strategist Bruce McCain. "It looks like margins should continue to expand."

But others see signs of trouble. Barry Knapp, head of U.S. equity strategy at Barclays Capital, wrote in a Dec. 3 note that margins face "gathering head winds" from "peaking productivity" and bottoming labor costs.

" Our lead indicators are pointing to some major pressures," said Tobias Levkovich, Citigroup's chief U.S. equity strategist.

One indicator is based on the National Federation of Independent Business' survey. Citi tracks the percent of small businesses that plan to hike prices less the percent that plan to raise pay. This gauge generally gives a two-year lead time in predicting margin moves. It now suggests "major problems" in the second half of 2011, with the tech and consumer sectors especially vulnerable, said Levkovich.

Cost Pressures Build

Silverblatt notes that margin pressures are growing at manufacturers who are large energy consumers or use hydrocarbon-based plastics. With oil prices in a quiet but sustained rebound above $90 a barrel, up from about $32 in late 2008 — cost pressures are significant. But many chemicals makers and other manufacturers are locked in to long-term contracts with their own customers. "They can't pass along the higher commodity costs," said Silverblatt.

Spiraling commodity costs must also work their way through the food and apparel industries.

World food prices hit a new record high last month, the United Nations said Wednesday.

It remains to be seen how much of the huge advances in grains and cotton can be passed on to consumers. Specialty discounter Family Dollar (FDO) missed profit views on Wednesday, as higher food costs hit margins. Its shares dived 9%.

But McCain believes that many companies will be able to pass on higher costs. "There will be price hikes. And they'll stick," he said.

But if they stick, that would push consumer inflation higher.

Deutsche Bank chief strategist Binky Chadha also is a margins optimist. In a Dec. 2 note, he predicted a 30-basis-point margin rise in S&P 500 firms' domestic business, citing revenue gains and tame labor costs. He sees slippage in foreign operations. But overall, "when will margins peak?" he asked. "In our view, not for a while."

With unemployment at 9.8% — not even including those who are underemployed or have given up looking for work — it should be easy for companies to control labor costs, many analysts have argued.

But for college graduates, the rate is just 5.1%. As such, Levkovich argues that there could be "skilled-labor cost pressures."

Even if wage gains remain tame, firms looking to boost output will actually have to boost staff or hours.

This post has been edited by sulifeisgreat: Jan 7 2011, 01:58 AM
sulifeisgreat
post Jan 17 2011, 04:51 PM

1,121 posts

y like tat? u follow ur sifu, ur followers follow u
if u lose $ meaning ur sifu oso lose $
but ur sifu got deep poket, means need strong holding power if got minor gostan rclxub.gif
wanna join usa thread? laugh.gif
if shares going down, we can short brows.gif no need hang there & ride it during downturn

QUOTE(wlcling @ Jan 17 2011, 03:37 PM)
cut all my sunmart at a loss today... bought some wee hur instead.

only holdings are genting & wee hur for a bit of long term play... holding about 2 months possibly. won't be that active here anymore... it will save ppl from following me and losing money doh.gif
sulifeisgreat
post Jan 17 2011, 05:36 PM

1,121 posts

remember the quote 'teach man fish' by Confucius Circa 551 - 479 nod.gif
can guide la... but u gotta do all the nitty gritty hard work urself wink.gif
take ur share picks, then we can proceed from there, & alwzi do ur own due dilligence
no need stay awake late, just check positions in weekend & let it autotrade
now, how each of us handle the 'fish story' depends on our own cool.gif

1) Give a man a fish and he will eat for a day. Teach a man to fish and he will go out and buy expensive fishing equipment, stupid-looking clothes, a sports utility vehicle, travel 1,000 miles to the "hottest" fishing hole, and stand waist deep in cold water just so he can outsmart a fish. Average cost per fish: $395.68. Give a man a fish then!

2) Give Bill Gates a fish, and he’ll buy some tartar sauce to go with it. Teach Bill Gates to fish, and he’ll build a tartar sauce factory and eventually corner the market. The tartar sauce won’t be as good as some other tartar sauce, but people won’t mind, they’ll just think that that faint hint of mercury is how tartar sauce is supposed to taste

3) Give a man a fish? What fish? Trout? Scrod? Herring? Fresh-water? Salt-water? Pickled? Could you be more specific? Can one fish feed a man for an entire day? Depends on the fish I guess. We need clarification. And come to think of it -- what man? Who is this guy?

Now about this 'teaching a man to fish' nonsense. I don't have time to teach a man to fish. I have enough crap going on in my life. I have bills to pay. I don't need the increased responsibility of running a fishing class for grown-ass men who don't have fish.

There are a lot of tricks to fishing too. Selecting the right pole, the right reel, fishing line, hooks, bait. It's complicated! And he's going to have to put down a deposit in case he breaks something. Does he have a credit card? I'm not getting stuck with repairs. What am I, UNICEF? I should run a background check to make sure he isn't likely to cut my throat with a paring knife.

And I have to be honest; I don't know squat about fishing. I was raised in the city. My dad used to take me to museums, not lakes. We went fishing once. We didn't catch anything so we went to Vons. Grilled up some T-bone steaks instead.

But let's pretend I know how to fish. I'm a regular fishing expert. Where's this guy gonna go fishing? He's going to have to arrange for transportation. "...Teach a man to drive, get him to his destination his entire life." That's a little better. I can teach a man to drive. But what, I gotta rent him a car now too? Screw 'im!

About the best thing I can do for this guy is to teach him how to pick out a fish. You want a fresh fish - that's rule #1. It shouldn't smell. If it smells, the fish isn't fresh. Fresh fish should be kept on ice -- they go bad quickly. You also want a fish that's been cleaned, unless you already know how to clean it. Does this man know how to clean a fish? Oh, he knows how to clean a fish, but he doesn't know how to catch one? That's the trouble with today's educational system. They teach you half of what you need to know. That's not my problem.

This guy should become a vegetarian. In sixty-seconds I can teach him how to catch a celery.

QUOTE(wlcling @ Jan 17 2011, 04:59 PM)
actually always wanted to try US stocks... su.. can u be my sifu for US stocks? but does that mean every night no sleep? biggrin.gif  biggrin.gif
sulifeisgreat
post Jan 25 2011, 11:58 AM

1,121 posts

might as well u follow ur sifu recommendation list instead & see how is ur performance hmm.gif

making many bad calls/trades this year, wil seriously impair ur judgement for future trading rolleyes.gif
did u happen to hav a plan on ur trade b4 u even trade?
ie. wat was the expected profit / loss & if market gostan, wat would u hav done & etc?

sulifeisgreat
post Feb 22 2011, 02:49 PM

1,121 posts

since he is a sifu, better u follow him instead of doing it differently
then u can oso be sifu, otherwise, how he become ur sifu in 1st place hmm.gif

QUOTE(wlcling @ Feb 21 2011, 10:47 PM)
howdy everyone.. sifu said sell into technical strength... as correction is set to continue...

my current holdings are wee hur and gensp... i will be going against his advise and hold on as a longer term investor as really no time to play markets at all.

good luck!

0.0441sec    0.52    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 07:09 AM