Astro Channel PQ Survey, Acceptable and Bad Astro Channel

TSAspen
post Oct 7 2009, 06:14 PM, updated 17y ago

20 posts

Just would like to do a survey on PQ of Astro's channel.

I'm well aware that overall PQ of Astro channel are bad, that is if you compare it with HD source like DVD or Blueray.

But I'm quite sure that, at time, you do experience an 'acceptable' PQ from certain Astro channel. That also sometimes it depends on the program itself.

For this survey, I would appreciate if all of you could maintain your 'expectation and judgement level' within the channels offered by Astro, and give your experience on general basis.

Here is my result on my Panny Plasma:

ACCEPTABLE CHANNEL

TV1, TV2, Prima, OAS, NTV7, ZEE, AEC, IVIEW, KBSW, JYU, WLT, PHNX, TVB8, XHE, WATV, HBO, MAX, SMV, AWANI, BRTV, CTV9, BBC, AJE, CNBC, BTV, TVIQ, HISTORY, CER, NICKLODEON, CARTOON NETWORK, AXN, AFC, HITZ, 8TV, ANIM and GOLF CHANNEL

BAD CHANNEL
TV3, RIA, TV9, CNN, AUSN, DISCOVERY, NATIONAL GEOGRAPHY, DISCOVERY, ANIMAL PLANNET, PHDC, DISNEY, HALLMARK, TRAVEL, SWR, E!, MTV, V, ASSP, ESPN, STAR SPORT AND ES.

I will appreciate if you could share your experience here.

Thank you.
DarkNite
post Oct 7 2009, 06:32 PM

ФĻĐ ИΞШB!Ξ
11,058 posts

I don't understand how can the PQ be good when it is transmitted at a low resolution?
Here got sifu says 'GIGO' - garbage in, garbage out.
gnsumas
post Oct 7 2009, 06:36 PM

/k/+ps=WIN!
736 posts

But some Astro channel are worse than others icon_rolleyes.gif
robertngo
post Oct 7 2009, 08:41 PM

4,027 posts

you have so much time to watch every channel on astro and rate the PQ?
gnsumas
post Oct 7 2009, 08:44 PM

/k/+ps=WIN!
736 posts

Don't do that...

After mata rabun sad.gif
accs_centre
post Oct 7 2009, 10:23 PM

4,840 posts

CH333 has best picture Q for me smile.gif
gnsumas
post Oct 7 2009, 10:23 PM

/k/+ps=WIN!
736 posts

All look bad to me sad.gif

Because I got no Astro (or TV channel for that matter >.< )
carte82
post Oct 8 2009, 11:53 AM

85 posts

for terrestrial tv, i switch back to analog, at least no compression and no 3-sec delay, i wan live tv, not delayed live tv.
daryl.k
post Oct 8 2009, 07:06 PM

467 posts

what exactly is the point of this survey? u planning to go to Astro or its provider with the results?

when u buy HD movies, u expect HD quality or acceptable quality will do?

when buy HD TV, you expect to watch HD quality picture or acceptable quality?

i think it does not matter if one channel PQ is better than the other, the basic problem is, they are all SD...out dated...

this is n extract from Asia-Pacific Broadcasting newsletter (sept09)

China starts SD-HD simulcasting

China's State Administration of Radio, Film and Television (SARFT) has revealed that from this Sept 28, CCTV-1, Beijing Satellite TV, Shanghai's Dragon TV, Jiangsu Satellite TV and Hunan Satellite TV will begin simulcasting of SD and HD programming, with a target of achieving full HD broadcasting within three years.

According to a statement issued by SARFT, the percentage of TV Programmes broadcast in HD by these channels must be higher than 50% of the overall total programming in the first year, by Jan 2010, this figure is to increase to at least 70%.  The prime-time programming for the first and second year must also be broadcast in HD.  The aim is to achieve 100% full HD broadcasting by the third year.

SARFT also prescribes that these stations are to offer additional HD channels by the endof this month for no additional charges and terrestial-TV network providers may neither encrypt nor charge additional fees for the HD channels.

that is China! with all due respect, the rest of the world including M'sia used to laugh at everything China...now if chinese visits malaysia & watches our TV, they will laugh their nuts off at us! vmad.gif

and China, huge freaking country...can set up such aim..FULL HD Broadcast in 3 years! as i recall, the last Astro's rep comment on when-HD broadcast is 'SOON' wtf? when is soon? rclxub.gif

No additional charges for subscribers for HD channels!!! Astro charges additional for still SD broadcasts doh.gif ...and come Aug next year sweat.gif , football lovers will yet need to pay higher fees to watch their fav team in action once a week!! W T F!!!

robertngo
post Oct 8 2009, 09:07 PM

4,027 posts

QUOTE(daryl.k @ Oct 8 2009, 07:06 PM)

this is n extract from Asia-Pacific Broadcasting newsletter (sept09)
that is China! with all due respect, the rest of the world including M'sia used to laugh at everything China...now if chinese visits malaysia & watches our TV, they will laugh their nuts off at us!  vmad.gif

and China, huge freaking country...can set up such aim..FULL HD Broadcast in 3 years! as i recall, the last Astro's rep comment on when-HD broadcast is 'SOON' wtf? when is soon?  rclxub.gif

No additional charges for subscribers for HD channels!!! Astro charges additional for still SD broadcasts  doh.gif ...and come Aug next year  sweat.gif , football lovers will yet need to pay higher fees to watch their fav team in action once a week!! W T F!!!
this mean people in sarawak and sabah should be upgrading their currently illegal satelite receiver to HD. china have a huge number of tv channel, almost every state will have one satelive tv channel, and most of them are free to air so can be pickup by satelite receiver here, if it is not illegal to install those non astro receiver.

DarkNite
post Oct 9 2009, 06:49 AM

ФĻĐ ИΞШB!Ξ
11,058 posts

QUOTE(robertngo @ Oct 8 2009, 09:07 PM)
this mean people in sarawak and sabah should be upgrading their currently illegal satelite receiver to HD.  china have a huge number of tv channel, almost every state will have one satelive tv channel, and most of them are free to air so can be pickup by satelite receiver here, if it is not illegal to install those non astro receiver.

Sarawak and Sabah gets a choice of satellite provider! 1Malaysia? In peninsular Bolehland, it is illegal to have choice doh.gif

gyver
post Oct 9 2009, 07:24 AM

1,067 posts

Can't wait for government to break Astro monopoly. Yes sometimes the PQ so bad, it's like watching vcds in the old days.
TSAspen
post Oct 9 2009, 09:15 AM

20 posts

What piss me off the most with Astro is the charges they impose compare to what they offers.

Look at country like India. They are charging only around RM30 per month for more than 130 TV channels (international and local content)!!! In addition, they have about 5 cable TV providers for customr to choose.

In my case, I'm paying around Rm119 per month and that also not all the channels!!! Furthermore, the content are sometime so old and repeat like no body business. With the recent news on Astro winning right for BPL, not surprising that Astro will increase the price for sport channel very soon.

The other thing that also piss me off is the way Astro package the channel. It really does not allow us to really choose and pay for what we want.

I'm surprise how come not many people complaining about the charges and the packages. Guess Astro is doing a great job of supressing all the complaint from the media.

Really can't wait for Astro to end the monopoly in this business.

As for the survey, I would like to apologize to anyone of you wo feel that it is not relevant. It is purely for my own interest.
DarkNite
post Oct 9 2009, 10:25 AM

ФĻĐ ИΞШB!Ξ
11,058 posts

QUOTE(Aspen @ Oct 9 2009, 09:15 AM)

I'm surprise how come not many people complaining about the charges and the packages. Guess Astro is doing a great job of supressing all the complaint from the media.
Really can't wait for Astro to end the monopoly in this business.
As for the survey, I would like to apologize to anyone of you wo feel that it is not relevant. It is purely for my own interest.

Waah...India only RM30 per month!? mad.gif

Not say not many people complaint. Have la. But they complain till the cows come home already...err opps can't not say cows. Bolehland gomen nanti ban me.
People are finding alternatives. Some of which are:-
- get bigger satellite disk and camouflage it.
- reduce asstro bill by getting rid of unnecessary packages and source from internet for series and movie - HD ones too.
- or buy pasar malam. wink.gif

robertngo
post Oct 9 2009, 11:17 AM

4,027 posts

QUOTE(DarkNite @ Oct 9 2009, 06:49 AM)
Sarawak and Sabah gets a choice of satellite provider! 1Malaysia? In peninsular Bolehland, it is illegal to have choice doh.gif
it is also illegal there, just no one go to check. so almost everyone install the receiver at their home.
DarkNite
post Oct 9 2009, 01:50 PM

ФĻĐ ИΞШB!Ξ
11,058 posts

QUOTE(robertngo @ Oct 9 2009, 11:17 AM)
it is also illegal there, just no one go to check. so almost everyone install the receiver at their home.

like that ah? In peninsular Bolehland, got people check or not?
Worth it to get bigger satellite disk? HD programs?

robertngo
post Oct 9 2009, 03:35 PM

4,027 posts

QUOTE(DarkNite @ Oct 9 2009, 01:50 PM)
like that ah? In peninsular Bolehland, got people check or not?
Worth it to get bigger satellite disk? HD programs?
read this book page 89 for history of satelite tv in malaysia. basically satelite tv is illegal in malaysia until 1992 they change the law to allow only astro to use ku-band receiver. most of this region satelite are in c-band, the government intention is to only allow malaysian to view tv channel it can control.

http://books.google.com/books?id=MKWTe6DBy...illegal&f=false

this is a list of all satellite channel in asia, there is information on which is encrypted and which is free to air

http://www.lyngsat.com/asia.html

some of the satellite have unencrypted HD channel, this will surely increase in the future

http://www.lyngsat.com/hd/index.html

This post has been edited by robertngo: Oct 9 2009, 04:06 PM
accitzone
post Oct 9 2009, 03:39 PM

399 posts

phailed.... how can u compare low res analog astro channel with HD???

EPIC PHAILED
low98944
post Oct 9 2009, 04:30 PM

...oooOOOooo...
5,533 posts

QUOTE(robertngo @ Oct 9 2009, 11:17 AM)
It is not no one go to check la. sweat.gif To be "precise", it is no one dare to check or remove those illegal satelite. Few years back, I saw in newspaper said local government want to take action against those illegal satelite. In the end, no action taken. Why? Because if you visit Sarawak, almost 40% to 60% houses got those illegal satelite. So, you can count how many of them. Local government also know the consequence it their "touch" those illegal satelite. laugh.gif

There are two types of illegal satelites (As far as I know la), one is cheap cheap one with only few hundred Ringgit (one time charge), you can installed a fixed position satelite with about 100+ channels. Another type is satelite that can adjust position, (one time charge about RM1,000+-[No sure the current market price]), since this type of satelite can adjust position,it can received more than 400 to 500 channels (Some channels have been locked and can't view).

Last time, all Astro channels can be view by this type of satelite that can adjust position for few months (need to purchase a card to insert into receiver) and later on Astro discovered and change their card so now can't view lo. laugh.gif

Added on October 9, 2009, 4:31 pmWho want to pay more to Astro if their can paid once only and watch forever. Which one is more cost saving?

This post has been edited by low98944: Oct 9 2009, 04:31 PM
gnsumas
post Oct 9 2009, 05:14 PM

/k/+ps=WIN!
736 posts

QUOTE(accitzone @ Oct 9 2009, 03:39 PM)
phailed.... how can u compare low res analog astro channel with HD???

EPIC PHAILED
The only reason we cannot compare Astro with HD is because Astro malas nak buat HD sweat.gif

IINM, overseas got a few free channels in HD some more sad.gif

0.0203sec    0.41    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 05:01 AM