Discussion Price of Astro sports package will increase, Astro paid RM800mill to telecast EPL

TSberzerk
post Oct 7 2009, 12:22 PM, updated 17y ago

706 posts

Astro, ESPN win EPL broadcast rights for Malaysia
KUALA LUMPUR, Oct 7 — Malaysia’s pay-TV operator Astro All Asia Networks said today it had won the rights to broadcast the English Premier League (EPL) for the next three years in the Southeast Asian country.

Astro, which won the bid jointly with sports content provider ESPN, did not specify how much it bid for the rights but The Star newspaper cited sources as saying the firm had forked out RM800 million.

How much more are you willing to pay for the ASTRO sports package?
franklampard8
post Oct 7 2009, 12:35 PM

the recent hike in sports package price has already reduced an amount of sports package subscriber...if they increase the price again in a very short time...i'm very sure this is gonna piss off a lot of customers regarding they are paying more for the broadcasting or not...
MyDevil
post Oct 7 2009, 12:37 PM

7,480 posts

I just hope they can have a football package. I do not need other sports biggrin.gif
kewellrulez
post Oct 7 2009, 12:44 PM

To be honest, whether they increase the price or not, im sure subscribers would still be paying for it as they dont have a choice if they love sports. Unhappy or pissed off would definitely be there but they would pay for the sports channel and mayb cut down for other packages. Sports = part of life for most ppl.
sakaito
post Oct 7 2009, 12:57 PM

1,366 posts

i agree with the Football package thingy. Make it a pay-per-view thingy. So, people will have their choice on which game to view. I think this is the most viable options rather than increasing their sports package as it is already expensive to have.

ic3rock
post Oct 7 2009, 12:58 PM

AkuNooB
3,586 posts

Sorry, 1 question here. How much is the sport package right now?
tenno
post Oct 7 2009, 01:30 PM

Livestrong
3,550 posts

QUOTE(MyDevil @ Oct 7 2009, 12:37 PM)
I just hope they can have a football package. I do not need other sports biggrin.gif
I agree. If they wanna increase the price then might as well just have one channel for EPL. I mean, they've only won the rights to broadcast the EPL. Maybe they can even have it on pay-per-view. Pay by team.
whoopa
post Oct 7 2009, 01:39 PM

b~o~b~o
7,126 posts

if they increase one more time within 12mths .. imma going to cancel it liaw
december88
post Oct 7 2009, 02:23 PM

479 posts

QUOTE(MyDevil @ Oct 7 2009, 12:37 PM)
I agree with this, i think EPL cost a lot for Astro for their sport package, better "a la-carte" EPL.
I do watch other sports e.g F1,NBA,Baseball and tennis and would hate to cancel/pay more for that in lieu of sport package increase due to Astro paying top dollar for the right to broadcast the EPL games.
Or you guys could cancel sport package during EPL summer break and re-subscribed back when season abt to start?

Source: The Star Online
franklampard8
post Oct 7 2009, 02:31 PM

QUOTE(ic3rock @ Oct 7 2009, 12:58 PM)
Sorry, 1 question here. How much is the sport package right now?
How much is the price increase for the Sports Package?
There will be an addition of RM12 across any packages that includes sports. This means that if you are currently on the Basic package + 1 Mini Package + Sports at RM54.95 per month, your new price will be RM66.95 per month.

The increase of RM12, which is equal to one cinema ticket, works out to be an additional 40 sen daily for which you and your family get to enjoy non stop premium and live sports programmes on 5 channels.

you cant just get sports package, need to get at least 1 mini + sports(includes basic - rm 37.95)..the price is rm29(+1 mini).

This post has been edited by franklampard8: Oct 7 2009, 02:36 PM
longamwai
post Oct 7 2009, 02:45 PM

140 posts

does it mean we get to watch all the EPL games at 1 same time at different channels such as in Hong kong?
sakaito
post Oct 7 2009, 03:00 PM

1,366 posts

QUOTE(franklampard8 @ Oct 7 2009, 02:31 PM)
There will be an addition of RM12 across any packages that includes sports. This means that if you are currently on the Basic package + 1 Mini Package + Sports at RM54.95 per month, your new price will be RM66.95 per month.

The increase of RM12, which is equal to one cinema ticket, works out to be an additional 40 sen daily for which you and your family get to enjoy non stop premium and live sports programmes on 5 channels.

you cant just get sports package, need to get at least 1 mini + sports(includes basic - rm 37.95)..the price is rm29(+1 mini).
errr.. then why is it my bill is RM74.95? usually 49.95... that's 24.95 increase... huh?? cancelled the sports package already.. and back to 49.95. can't seem to understands the bil leh... rclxub.gif
franklampard8
post Oct 7 2009, 03:02 PM

QUOTE(longamwai @ Oct 7 2009, 02:45 PM)
does it mean we get to watch all the EPL games at 1 same time at different channels such as in Hong kong?
I dont think we will get all. like now, we only have 3 channels which are espn,supersports and star sports. unless we get extra channels and selected matches only will be televised.
ohnowhyme
post Oct 7 2009, 03:13 PM

158 posts

wow. price increase...i am going to cancel the sport package if price increased.

by the way, a little bit off topic here. I accidentally locked one of the channel and unable to retrieve the password.
What should i do next? Do i need to call astro service for helps? Thanks guys
tenno
post Oct 7 2009, 03:29 PM

Livestrong
3,550 posts

Oh.. I forgot about the EPL break. Then it's really not fair to charge us for the whole year for something that we only watch for 8 months (or less). Put EPL on pay-per-view.
franklampard8
post Oct 7 2009, 03:31 PM

QUOTE(ohnowhyme @ Oct 7 2009, 03:13 PM)
wow. price increase...i am going to cancel the sport package if price increased.

by the way, a little bit off topic here. I accidentally locked one of the channel and unable to retrieve the password.
What should i do next? Do i need to call astro service for helps? Thanks guys
you should call and seek for assistance smile.gif

QUOTE(tenno @ Oct 7 2009, 03:29 PM)
Oh.. I forgot about the EPL break. Then it's really not fair to charge us for the whole year for something that we only watch for 8 months (or less). Put EPL on pay-per-view.
well yeah..if the entire sports package is hiking just because of epl, maybe should make it PPP just like on astro box office(indian cricket etc). But maybe the mamaks prefer monthly fees which sounds easier tongue.gif

This post has been edited by franklampard8: Oct 7 2009, 03:32 PM
soul_project
post Oct 7 2009, 03:41 PM

Stars for sell. Pls PM !
4,358 posts

i've already unsubsribe from them and stream online instead

free streaming yo~

providing streamyx doesn't fuk up la
boxsystem
post Oct 7 2009, 03:45 PM

Legend
1,573 posts

We are f***ed!
ic3rock
post Oct 7 2009, 03:51 PM

AkuNooB
3,586 posts

QUOTE(franklampard8 @ Oct 7 2009, 02:31 PM)

Thanks for your reply, so exp ar sweat.gif

If so, i rather use my laptop watch thru streaming....
REDShaun
post Oct 7 2009, 03:53 PM

115 posts

lol, already cancelled it on the first increase, so far doing really well...

the missus is loving me more, my baby girl is also loving me more (more astro time for them on weekends) smile.gif

and i thank Astro for the price increase in giving me the excuse to sit down and enjoy the game with a bunch of supporters in this little pub i go to whilst not disturbing the tranquillity of my home with my cheers and rants tongue.gif

0.0215sec    0.86    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 12:11 AM