Lets talk salary!, What is the industry rate, we must unite

g00glesYYl
post May 15 2006, 04:34 PM

Prince Onboard
1,056 posts

QUOTE(bobtiang @ May 15 2006, 12:44 PM)
with the CGPA you got, I think you should look for a bigger firm and get at least 2K.
unless this small shop give you excellent exposure, else 6 months is good enough to stay there.
the small shop now is actually giving me exposure but i cant say it is excellent exposure... blush.gif ...

It trains me my technical skill (programming)
and also having the opportunity to touch on other area as boss bring us for feasibility study. So, it help to to improve my communication and PR skill...
instead of sit there code only, i still can learn to understand other and communication.

But, it is a small shop as i mention, the senior is great but not as great as some other core expert..i understand we must follow a great mentor to learn. The senior may be not the one... tongue.gif

i actually believe that i will continue to stay here for 1 to 2 years and then look for other bigger firm...i dun no bobtiang say "6 months" is enough or not...but i just "see one step, then walk one step". laugh.gif what else can i say... laugh.gif

BUT, i believe that i hav no experience on this b4. So, what i thinking now may be wrong!!

i also believe that there is many ppl have the experience and different thought compare with me...Hope you all can share with me... notworthy.gif
zaphod42
post May 16 2006, 09:19 AM

107 posts

QUOTE(cody99 @ May 15 2006, 11:40 AM)
Any CCNP holder with degree and no experience....
How much can expect from the employer?
Wow , how did you get a CCNP without any experience? Damn smart. I've work for a year in networks and the only ones i have passed is BCMSN and BSCI , no confidence to take the rest yet.

Anyway , my opinion is , in this field, experiences count. I won't expect anything more than rm2.5k from the employer. But if you are good at marketing yourself , maybe more.

Jackygwh
post May 16 2006, 09:57 AM

1,131 posts

i oni hav RM 600 lah cry.gif work at cyber cafe... i maintain all the pc myself + networking and sales and also work 10 + hrs per day sad.gif

This post has been edited by Jackygwh: May 16 2006, 09:57 AM
zaphod42
post May 16 2006, 10:27 AM

107 posts

QUOTE(Jackygwh @ May 16 2006, 09:57 AM)
i oni hav RM 600 lah  cry.gif work at cyber cafe... i maintain all the pc myself + networking and sales and also work 10 + hrs per day sad.gif
Don't be sad , i have a friend from secondary school who did the same thing and doesn't have a degree but after working in a CC straight after school for 3 years , he is now a System Engineer in HP earning waayyy more than me sad.gif.

The experience is what people look for
bobtiang
post May 16 2006, 11:47 AM

I live in a 6 STARS Hotel
1,788 posts

QUOTE(zaphod42 @ May 16 2006, 10:27 AM)
Don't be sad , i have a friend from secondary school who did the same thing and doesn't have a degree but after working in a CC straight after school for 3 years , he is now a System Engineer in HP earning waayyy more than me sad.gif.

The experience is what people look for
wow.. thats really cool!
but please pardon my noob question, what are the things we can really pick up and apply to industry working in a CC?
please advice.
zaphod42
post May 16 2006, 02:32 PM

107 posts

Depends on how much freedom you are given to learn and how much effort you are gonna put into learning.

The CC my friend was working in was rather new so they allowed my friend a choice btw Windows NT or setting up a Unix/System. He suggested the latter even though he didn't know a lot , learnt from scratch hehe.

Do note that even though my friend doesn't have a degree he does have a diploma in comp science( or was it comp engineering ).
Jackygwh
post May 16 2006, 11:48 PM

1,131 posts

i also study diploma and advance dip in CS ... and this is my family cc actually... i m here for 5 years oledy also learning from scratch.... i open another branch myself... jus my father pay the thing and i do all the other work by myself.... but oni giv me 600 sad.gif nth to learn liau ... i m using my skill now
Jackygwh
post May 17 2006, 08:35 AM

1,131 posts

QUOTE(menghong @ May 17 2006, 01:59 AM)
i guess if you are operating the CC efficiently, and bringing high revenue, u may want to demand higher pay tongue.gif
nah rclxub.gif more comp also same salary... i told him i canot tahan liau... too many work
woe.com
post May 17 2006, 05:17 PM

438 posts

QUOTE(woe.com @ Apr 13 2006, 04:11 PM)
Guys, you all are so well in your salary oledi, after u see mine, you all should feel happy with your current salary.

Job Title : Systems Support
Job Description : Supporting everything that can be installed under MS-platform, network, servers, PC repair, fix, full support on hardware and software (over 400-500 PC), printers, answer calls, onsite support, 1 word saying is everything!
Company : Well known company (from Japan)
Industry : Electronics
Work for: 11months (1 year)
Employment Level : Lowest for Office staff
Experience before joining : none
salary : RM 1.2 (NO OT, NO allowance, NO benefits), Annual Bonus oni get few hundred ringgit
Working hours: 8 to 5.40pm (Mon-Fri), sometimes SAT (also 8-5.40pm)

So, you guys see my painfull now..
The reason i can't go is because i'm under 2 yrs contract,

Even a clerk, call center ppl salary is much much more higher than me. If i left the company before contract ends, the company will dispose all my 2 yrs salary. Tat means i work for nothing.

Everyday now i'm like working in a jail environment. seriously, no 1 here appreciate your work!
QUOTE(eophelia @ Apr 13 2006, 04:11 PM)
What's the contract for? is it a standard employment contract? or bonded because they sent you for training etc. If it is a normal employment contract, and you break the contract, they do not have the right to take all your 2 years salary. Logically, maybe penalty of a few months pay is reasonable.

I feel that alot of companies use this type of tactic to try and make their employees stay. However, this type of conditions might not be legally right.

Any lawyers here? maybe someone who is familiar with the employment act or labour law can advise us. Or perhaps enquiries to the employment tribunal will be useful.  Think ppl who are being bind by such contract need to find out their rights as an employee.
yea.. i wanna cabut away at first, but since i'm a fresh grad, wat can i do and i doesnt hav a degree also..

I tell you, this is a seriuos contract employment and NOT THOSE training with allowance, but honestly, they didnt not let you know many things, is like we are not part of them, we are (contract) outsider.

Now i'm now in the 2nd year, almost finish my contract, will end in September, therefore looking any other better company hire me this poor people with 2yrs experience. On the 2nd year now, salary been raise to RM100, now RM1300 monthly, add or not add doesnt make any difference, you wont feel it. sad.gif

Really envy u guys there can get with RM2k above, and i think now 2k above is normal to fresh grad too, can anyone tell me how much salary can i expect for my second job? coz i see some ppl get 2.8k, 3k+... drool.gif
ScionBalance
post May 17 2006, 06:29 PM

job title : engineer
responsibilities : manage & supervise operations & maintenance work of fiber optic networks & equipments in pantai timur m'sia
company : private
industry : telco
tenur : permanent
employment level : exec
exp b4 joining : trainee with same company (6 month)
duration with current company : 15 month
salary : rm2.8k+fix allowance+phone allowance+transport allowance+standby allowance(rm10/day)+other claims

This post has been edited by ScionBalance: May 18 2006, 09:13 AM
Suet
post May 17 2006, 06:31 PM

Spank Whore :D
1,188 posts

LOL here are some suggestions:

a) Learn how to play games like DotA, cash in on tournaments and earn some big bucks + fame & fortune! wub.gif
b) You might want to consider opening a cc after learning the ropes from your employer
c) Learn how game sponsors do their business, you might be able to gain contacts and hopefully secure a job from the bigger firms.

happy.gif

QUOTE(bobtiang @ May 16 2006, 11:47 AM)
wow.. thats really cool!
but please pardon my noob question, what are the things we can really pick up and apply to industry working in a CC?
please advice.
Ido
post May 19 2006, 04:38 PM

325 posts

QUOTE(woe.com @ May 17 2006, 05:17 PM)
yea.. i wanna cabut away at first, but since i'm a fresh grad, wat can i do and i doesnt hav a degree also..

I tell you, this is a seriuos contract employment and NOT THOSE training with allowance, but honestly, they didnt not let you know many things, is like we are not part of them, we are (contract) outsider.

Now i'm now in the 2nd year, almost finish my contract, will end in September, therefore looking any other better company hire me this poor people with 2yrs experience. On the 2nd year now, salary been raise to RM100, now RM1300 monthly, add or not add doesnt make any difference, you wont feel it.  sad.gif

Really envy u guys there can get with RM2k above, and i think now 2k above is normal to fresh grad too, can anyone tell me how much salary can i expect for my second job? coz i see some ppl get 2.8k, 3k+...  drool.gif
You have been wasting your time a lot. From 1.2K jump to 2.8K. I don't think any company would hire you. But you may try your luck. Probably you can expect RM 1.8 to 2.2K.
havenzhiv
post May 20 2006, 12:22 AM

556 posts

i jumped from 1.5k to almost 5, so its not possible
wlcling
post May 20 2006, 02:21 AM

Hippidy Hoppidy
2,711 posts

QUOTE(havenzhiv @ May 20 2006, 12:22 AM)
hmm... same here... but my jump was mainly on the difference between earning currencies...hah
Ido
post May 20 2006, 10:01 AM

325 posts

Wah..so lucky you guy. But izzit the basic salary or what.. mind to post some detail.
Lestat
post May 20 2006, 11:35 AM

392 posts

im going to finish study next month and oredi sign a job. this is the job im going to do..

Job Title : aircraft technician
Job Description : base maintenance, periodic maintenance, repair, overhaul, refurbish
Company : europe based aircraft manufacturer, will work in regional base, subang
Industry : aviation
Work for: will start this august
Employment Level : technician
Experience before joining : none
salary : RM 1.2k, max OT= 3xbasic salary,
Working hours: 8.30 to 5.30pm (Mon-Fri)

kinda low but i took the job future-wise.this figures only during probation period. hope it get better after that. anymore post from aviation industry are welcome so much. want to know how much an aircraft engineer really make rolleyes.gif

edit:typo

This post has been edited by Lestat: May 20 2006, 11:37 AM
saimatkong
post May 20 2006, 02:55 PM

1,938 posts

QUOTE(havenzhiv @ May 20 2006, 12:22 AM)
-off topic-
mind to share wat u work as ?
still got any vacancy ? i'm looking for one now.
lipkhin
post May 20 2006, 03:35 PM

1,390 posts

QUOTE(saimatkong @ May 20 2006, 02:55 PM)
-off topic-
mind to share wat u work as ?
still got any vacancy ? i'm looking for one now.
i think he is working in SHELL..
db07mufan
post May 20 2006, 03:53 PM

3,705 posts

letstat, where did you get your degree from?
havenzhiv
post May 20 2006, 10:20 PM

556 posts

i am working in shell

123 Pages « < 51 52 53 54 55 > » Top

0.0176sec    0.40    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 07:31 PM