30 Sep - Magnitude 5.0 - NEAR THE EAST COAST OF KAMCHATKA, RUSSIA
1 Oct - Magnitude 6.6 - SOUTHERN SUMATRA, INDONESIA
2 Oct - Magnitude 5.1 - GANSU, CHINA
3 Oct - Magnitude 5.2 - CENTRAL CALIFORNIA
4 Oct - Magnitude 6.6 - MORO GULF, MINDANAO, PHILIPPINES
7 Oct - Magnitude 6.7 - CELEBES SEA
7 Oct - Magnitude 7.8 - VANUATU

What triggers Earthquake?
Would volcano erupted? Would tsunami happen? Would other natural disaster happens?

Is it possible to predict earthquake?

This post has been edited by arthurlwf: Oct 8 2009, 08:48 AM

CloudKee
post Oct 3 2009, 04:16 PM

204 posts

4 numbers.....

2-----0-----1-----2
SUS4Atulan
post Oct 3 2009, 05:12 PM

213 posts

Without earthquakes, there would be no life on earth

It's the platonic movements that have helped shape the lifeforms that we see today
cherroy
post Oct 3 2009, 05:23 PM

25,802 posts

Simple answer : platonic movement, and earthquake is norm phenomena.

That's why we had mountain and valley. If not there won't be Himalaya.

Everyday almost got earthquake depended on scale of it only. Some so tiny until people not noticing.

Added on October 3, 2009, 5:27 pmTsunami is the result of seabed/floor movement, suddenly collapse or upwards or downwards movement of it.

When 2 plate movement meet each other, there is interlocked and stress built up, until one day the stress is unbareable by one side, then one side give way in an instant which resulted earthquake, generally result one going up, one down.

This post has been edited by cherroy: Oct 3 2009, 05:27 PM
SnoWFisH
post Oct 3 2009, 06:19 PM

2,250 posts

Earthquake is normal, due to the platonic plates movements. When 2 plates meet and geser with each other, there's a lot of energy being emitted out. This energy causes stress to the plates and the plates will be on top of one another (overlap). So, there you have it, earthquake. Thats why the ring of fire is more prone to earthquake cuz thats where the plates bergeser with each other.

volcano is caused by platonic plates movement, and platonic plates movement is caused by the movement in the magma (hot lava goes up, cooler lava goes down, so it kinda "rotates") below the plate. This rotation move the plates, thus forming volcanoes, earthquake and thus form tsunamis and of course, life.

Correct if im wrong, thats what i understand when i asked the same Q last time to my parents tongue.gif.

This post has been edited by SnoWFisH: Oct 3 2009, 06:20 PM
SUSbabyrabies
post Oct 3 2009, 06:21 PM

281 posts

get ready for mass extinction humans
ah_suknat
post Oct 4 2009, 08:48 PM

whoooooooooooooop
5,170 posts

earth quake is just the way how the earth and nature work and sync with each other, sure other natural disaster will follow one another, with earth quakes, it might trigger tsunamis, with tsunamis, it might trigger land slides and floods, then comes the pendemics and diseases and so on.
SUSkuroman84
post Oct 4 2009, 09:27 PM

805 posts

i bet this something to do with kratos defeating the atlas
~lynn~
post Oct 5 2009, 01:21 AM

417 posts

QUOTE(kuroman84 @ Oct 4 2009, 09:27 PM)
i bet this something to do with kratos defeating the atlas
Oh wow :/

I thought this sub-forum caters to mature discussion?

Oh well, then again his post is somewhat, discussable XD
segamatboy
post Oct 5 2009, 01:48 AM

637 posts

No earthquake, no life??? Is that what you learnt from Malaysian schools??

It's the platonic movement... Excuse me. What is platonic movement???

QUOTE(4Atulan @ Oct 3 2009, 05:12 PM)
Without earthquakes, there would be no life on earth

It's the platonic movements that have helped shape the lifeforms that we see today
masamura
post Oct 5 2009, 01:53 AM

384 posts

QUOTE(segamatboy @ Oct 5 2009, 01:48 AM)
No earthquake, no life??? Is that what you learnt from Malaysian schools??

It's the platonic movement... Excuse me. What is platonic movement???
Nothing wrong with his statement you know...? While summarizing it to "no earthquake, no life" is not accurate, it's also not wrong. Hence, nothing wrong with Malaysian school.

Earthquakes is of course the platonic movement of the earth, which sometimes causes volcanic eruption, that if you study micro biology, you'll see that, volcanic eruption, underwater and above water has contributed to many new micro lifeforms. Throw evolution in, you get a new species.

segamatboy
post Oct 5 2009, 02:00 AM

637 posts

...platonic movement.....Again. what is platonic movement.???????Plate movement is NOT platonic movement. It is plate tectonics.

QUOTE(cherroy @ Oct 3 2009, 05:23 PM)
Simple answer : platonic movement, and earthquake is norm phenomena.

That's why we had mountain and valley. If not there won't be Himalaya.

Everyday almost got earthquake depended on scale of it only. Some so tiny until people not noticing.

Added on October 3, 2009, 5:27 pmTsunami is the result of seabed/floor movement, suddenly collapse or upwards or downwards movement of it.

When 2 plate movement meet each other, there is interlocked and stress built up, until one day the stress is unbareable by one side, then one side give way in an instant which resulted earthquake, generally result one going up, one down.
~lynn~
post Oct 5 2009, 02:06 AM

417 posts

QUOTE(segamatboy @ Oct 5 2009, 02:00 AM)
...platonic movement.....Again. what is platonic movement.???????Plate movement is NOT platonic movement. It is plate tectonics.
XD isn't the term platonic used in platonic friends?
Haha what a case of wrong usage of terminology here XD
SUSkuroman84
post Oct 5 2009, 02:07 AM

805 posts

QUOTE(~lynn~ @ Oct 5 2009, 01:21 AM)
Oh wow :/

I thought this sub-forum caters to mature discussion?

Oh well, then again his post is somewhat, discussable XD
oppsss sorry. i thought it was under kopitiam
segamatboy
post Oct 5 2009, 03:08 AM

637 posts

When 2 plates meet and geser with each other... Excuse me??? What is geser?
...plate bergeser with each other. What is bergeser??? Is it Manglish???
What you learnt from your parents are wrong.There are 2 type of crusts. Continental and Oceanic . Continental crusts are lighter but thicker and of Sialic origin(silica aluminium rich) while oceanic crust are heavier but thinner and of Simac origin(silica manganese rich)
When continental crust collided with one another, it resulted in obduction eg Himalaya range.
When continental crust collided with oceanic crust, it resulted in subduction...aka oceanic crust going underneath the continental crust. Volcanic mountain ranges are born
Vocano. There are 2 types..pyroclastic and non pyroclastic . Non pyroclastic volcano is known as 'hot spot' eg Hawaii's volcanoes. Lava are from the mantle and is rich in olivine(Mg, Fe)2SiO4 Pyroclastic volcano is the result of subduction. As the oceanic crust slide underneath the continental crust, it melts and lava migrates upward.The explosive force is the result of seawater turning into steam. If you have a pressure cooker you know what I am saying.

Please. It is NOT platonic movement. It is tectonism or plate tectonics. Platonic refers to human compassion for the opposite sex
Plate movement is the result of sea floor spreading eg the mid atlantic ridge.(MAR) MAR is located in the middle of the Altantic ocean. It is spreading, pushing North and South America away fro Europe and Africa. As North America moves westward, the Pacific plate is subducting underneath the North American plate

...so it kinda rotates...
What you describe is the convection cells in the mantle. Fyi...the lithosphere is approx 70-80km thick.Continental crust is approx 10-30km thick while the oceanic crust is approx 5-10km thick. Continental and oceanic crusts are part of the lithosphere. And the lithosphere sits on the asthenosphere (the top part of the mantle)

Earthquake is caused by plate movement. When 2 plates boundary rub against each other it is known as strike slip. Generally will not cause tsunami because there is little or no vertical displacement of water. Earthquake from subduction zone . If a fault line is perpendicular to the subduction zone there will be a minor earthquake. If a fault line is parallel to the subduction zone ...watch out. This is where the 'sudden release' of energy comes from . Eg Hold a plastic ruler and press down on one end. Release the press down end. This is where the sudden release of energy comes from. That end will bounces up and then downward. The rebounding effect is the cause of tsunami. This is why seawater retreats as the landmass moves upward. As the landmass moves downward, the seawater surge inwards

QUOTE(SnoWFisH @ Oct 3 2009, 06:19 PM)
Earthquake is normal, due to the platonic plates movements. When 2 plates meet and geser with each other, there's a lot of energy being emitted out. This energy causes stress to the plates and the plates will be on top of one another (overlap). So, there you have it, earthquake. Thats why the ring of fire is more prone to earthquake cuz thats where the plates bergeser with each other.

volcano is caused by platonic plates movement, and platonic plates movement is caused by the movement in the magma (hot lava goes up, cooler lava goes down, so it kinda "rotates") below the plate. This rotation move the plates, thus forming volcanoes, earthquake and thus form tsunamis and of course, life.

Correct if im wrong, thats what i understand when i asked the same Q last time to my parents tongue.gif.
This post has been edited by segamatboy: Oct 5 2009, 03:27 AM
~lynn~
post Oct 5 2009, 03:13 AM

417 posts

Jeez. Sure you seems to know alot of the topic, but that doesn't mean u have to go around belittling everyone else.

Aurora
post Oct 5 2009, 06:14 AM

630 posts

Apart from the obvious reason, tectonic plate move when there is a fluctuation or changes in sub-surface pressure. The pressure is induce by surface condition, like weather and such. Because human have made so much damage to the environment, the earth is simply trying to recover, in other word, behave in a manner so that our earth will be more livable.

The tropical storm, is normally cause by the different pressure and temperature on different part of earth due to our unique rotation and orbit. Anyway, human has done enough to disrupt this and it cause a surge and high differential weather condition across the globe, which eventually create a very large storm.

Every scientists know what cause earthquake, but nobody can really tell how and why it happen.... Some environmentalist believe it all have to do with us, though nobody would admit it, especially the heavy industry sector.

This post has been edited by Aurora: Oct 5 2009, 06:16 AM
segamatboy
post Oct 5 2009, 08:41 AM

637 posts

He said..."correct if im wrong'. I corrected him and you considered that as belittle. If you were to see some of the remarks my profs wrote on my essays and term papers you would considered them as savages . If you have my former profs as instructors, you will be crying and wanting to drop out of classes asap

QUOTE(~lynn~ @ Oct 5 2009, 03:13 AM)
Jeez. Sure you seems to know alot of the topic, but that doesn't mean u have to go around belittling everyone else.
3dassets
post Oct 5 2009, 10:57 AM

Absolutely no nonsense
3,796 posts

I wonder, could the extraction of fossil oil has anything to do with the earthquake frequency. When something came out, what goes in to fill the empty? Sea water or the ground will sink by logic and that may promote plat movement.
cherroy
post Oct 6 2009, 01:31 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(segamatboy @ Oct 5 2009, 02:00 AM)
Ok, thanks for the correction, notworthy.gif I just can remember seomthing like ***tonic so after seeing forumers posted the word platanoic, I taught it is the word.

Added on October 6, 2009, 1:42 pm
QUOTE(Aurora @ Oct 5 2009, 06:14 AM)
The tropical storm, is normally cause by the different pressure and temperature on different part of earth due to our unique rotation and orbit. Anyway, human has done enough to disrupt this and it cause a surge and high differential weather condition across the globe, which eventually create a very large storm.

Every scientists know what cause earthquake, but nobody can really tell how and why it happen.... Some environmentalist believe it all have to do with us, though nobody would admit it, especially the heavy industry sector.
More tropical storm and hurricane is due to higher sea temperature which lead to more vapour can be formed which is the source of tropical storm/hurricane.

There is no real significant evidence the human kind is the one sole responsible higher global temperature, although most sceintist believe is and general consensus answer is yes as command sense tell us with release of CO2 produce green house effect.

But how nature actually work, human still not fully understand about it, as there is some natural correction mechanism that has working since earth is formed which is not fully understand.

There is no 100% proof human activities is the sole culprit for it. It could be a norm cycle for earth.

There is some suggestion by a few sceintise earth could potential entering ice-age (but this is in term of several thousand or ten thousand time frame) based on historical record.

QUOTE(3dassets @ Oct 5 2009, 10:57 AM)
I wonder, could the extraction of fossil oil has anything to do with the earthquake frequency. When something came out, what goes in to fill the empty? Sea water or the ground will sink by logic and that may promote plat movement.
Extraction of oil is little as compared to vast resources and size of the earth or plat tectonic, also drilling of oil is shallow as compared to the thickness of the plat. Ordinary ground sinking we see on the surface daily/occassionally has nothing to do with plat tectonic movement,

Fyi, They do inject water inside the oil field for oil extraction, which the water is left inside the reservoir after finish the oil drilling.

Even without water injection, oil extraction doesn't must cause land to sink. Just like a mountain with cave, do mountain sink because of more cave?

This post has been edited by cherroy: Oct 6 2009, 01:45 PM

0.0183sec    0.60    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th November 2025 - 04:38 AM