Photography The Sony Alpha Thread V32!, The Orange Legion

kysham
post Oct 6 2009, 06:48 PM

Photo Fanatics
3,461 posts

Wow... had not beein in the lowyat orange thread since.... v27? tongue.gif How is everything progressing?

Anyway, share 1 photo taken at KLCC. Yes, the one place in KL where everyone had taken a photo of it before. Hahaha.... But just to share, cause this is one of the last photo set from my A700 & SAL1118. No more A700 & SAL1118 after that....

cheers!
kysham
post Oct 8 2009, 11:57 AM

Photo Fanatics
3,461 posts

QUOTE(Banzai_san @ Oct 7 2009, 11:51 PM)
Technically, does sony alpha camera produce different colors (donno the correct term... maybe hue? saturation? etc? ) compared to canikon, etc cameras?
I dont know about others, I seem to prefer images from alpha cameras over other brands. Or is that just psychological feeling or can be explained quantitatively ?
yes, all camera brands produces images with varying colors, hues, dynamic range, etc.... this has got a lot to go with the sensor used as well as the processing methods in camera. so you are NOT being psychological. our alpha DOES produce very nice colors. having said that, there will always be a certain degree of "tweakability" for the colors, so you may, in theory be able to get the colors you want, from a different setting compared to the next guy, who may be using the same camera as you.... hope that explains a bit.
kysham
post Oct 8 2009, 12:19 PM

Photo Fanatics
3,461 posts

Not enuff photos in this thread mah? Hmm... ok lah, one from me:

Nissan Skyline GTR Roaring at Full Blast at the Sepang F1 track's main straight.

Shot details:

Camera: Sony A850
Lense: Sigma 24-70 F2.8 EX DG Macro
Settings: 1/60s. F14.0, ISO200, 24mm focal length

Virtually impossible to track focus on this matte black monster! tongue.gif
kysham
post Oct 8 2009, 05:17 PM

Photo Fanatics
3,461 posts

QUOTE(noprob @ Oct 8 2009, 01:28 PM)
kysham ,
wht event was that ?
No event. Just a normal sunday open session. free for all (who can pay). biggrin.gif
kysham
post Oct 14 2009, 05:45 PM

Photo Fanatics
3,461 posts

albnok, can also try the new Hoya HD UV Filter I got. 77mm during the TT. Can check the flare control vs. the B+W unit. biggrin.gif
kysham
post Oct 15 2009, 10:13 AM

Photo Fanatics
3,461 posts

A700 no longer in production..... those in the market are left over stock. grab one if you can find it. it is a rare gem indeed. if not, then you will have to resort to the 2nd hand market. there are currently a few a700's 2nd hand for sale. good value for money for such a good performance camera actually.
kysham
post Oct 16 2009, 08:22 PM

Photo Fanatics
3,461 posts

Colorful flip-flops on the famous Jonker Street in Melaka! Shot taken after the Melaka Zoo Challenge. wink.gif

Sony A850, 1/15s, F4.0, ISO400, Focal Length 22mm, Manual White Balance
kysham
post Oct 18 2009, 12:34 AM

Photo Fanatics
3,461 posts

What do you want improved on the alphas? What do you want to be added in future alphas? Head over to alphanatics to list them down for us to submit to Sony Japan!

http://www.alphanatics.com/viewtopic.php?f=5&t=11631
kysham
post Oct 19 2009, 11:03 PM

Photo Fanatics
3,461 posts

clive: i suggest you warn the seller if he is not going to repair / exchange it for you, then you are going to disclose his name in the forums and he is not going to be able to sell to alpha members any more... and risks losing business to other buyers too....

did you do any testing BEFORE you paid for the lens?

anyway, the best other alternative I can think of is to go to futuromic and ask for a quotation on recalibration. expect to pay for it though..... either that, or go to Cheah Camera Repair at Mutiara Complex. wink.gif
kysham
post Oct 19 2009, 11:04 PM

Photo Fanatics
3,461 posts

QUOTE(achew @ Oct 19 2009, 11:01 PM)
30mm 1.4G is calling u... biggrin.gif
achew... i believe u meant the 35mm 1.4G right..... tongue.gif
kysham
post Oct 20 2009, 01:55 PM

Photo Fanatics
3,461 posts

QUOTE(hafeez71 @ Oct 20 2009, 01:47 PM)