Photography The Sony Alpha Thread V32!, The Orange Legion

e-jump
post Oct 3 2009, 10:21 AM

┐( ¯3¯)┌
4,784 posts

---reposte--
sup sifus wave.gif

i think its time for me to get larger storage as my 4Gb MSPD only alow sub 200 pics if i shot RAW+JPG.
Im using A300.
Between CFIII and MSPD HiSpeed/HD, which has the faster/better write speed?
*im leaning to MSPD as my lappy do not have CF reader and i may need to use the usb cable =__=
Or any other suggestion that good enough for me to get that my Alpha can fully utilize, and not bottlenecking it. I'll look into something a stepdown if CFIII and MSPD HiSpeed/HG it too much for a300.
I'm looking for 8/16Gb as I do cosplay random stalking shoots tongue.gif
Budget would be rm500+ and i believe this will be a 1 time buy that will last 2yrs
-------
e-jump
post Oct 26 2009, 07:37 AM

┐( ¯3¯)┌
4,784 posts

sup gais wave.gif

need some tips to take pics in hallway/under shade where background is bright
yesterday follow my fren to snap pics
but most of my pics under shade/hallway turn out overexpose when i attach the flash. shutterspeed locked at 1/160(i actually just found out about this LOL doh.gif )
user posted image user posted image
how do i overcome this(aside from post processing)? A300 user here
your advice is greatly appreciated
*im still learning my camera
e-jump
post Oct 26 2009, 12:51 PM

┐( ¯3¯)┌
4,784 posts

QUOTE(Sp00kY @ Oct 26 2009, 10:10 AM)
what flash are u using? Sony? Turn on HSS mode on your flash so that ur speed can go pass 1/160....(ur flash head has to be at 90 degree)
Im using F58. HSS mode noted

QUOTE(albnok @ Oct 26 2009, 10:13 AM)
e-jump: Your shutter speed is limited to the flash sync speed of your camera i.e. 1/160s. However, you can enable faster shutter speeds by using High Speed Sync (HSS). To enable this your flash must be pointing directly forward and not bounced.

Alternatively, use a lower ISO and darker aperture.
But if i point the flash to her face, wouldnt it be too bright on subject face?
I used iso200, but i left my aperture to narrow DOF coz i thought bokeh background would be better.
I messed so much trying the M-mode ;__;

QUOTE(Ahmike @ Oct 26 2009, 10:19 AM)
try metering the background 1st before putting the subject.
Im using multisegment metering n Local AF. Could it be because i dont use AEL?

seems my alpha-fu still too weak

This post has been edited by e-jump: Oct 26 2009, 12:52 PM
e-jump
post Oct 26 2009, 09:44 PM

┐( ¯3¯)┌
4,784 posts

QUOTE(achew @ Oct 26 2009, 07:52 PM)
i had the same feeling too...but probably thats after he reprocesd it..?
anyway from the photo i feel like its over exposing the bg..so maybe initially it was correctly exposed n model was under exposed..?
QUOTE(lwliam @ Oct 26 2009, 08:11 PM)
doesnt look like it, if to reprocess the subject to become that bright, sure a lot of noise. this one looks pretty clean.
Yep, no exposure/colour curve PP on the pics, just some sharpening/resize (original JPEG from camera).
*I shoot RAW+JPEG, but will only process RAW if JPEG failed miserably.

QUOTE(ieR @ Oct 26 2009, 05:45 PM)
nice pic achew, i see that even my eye also have to get use to shallow DoF of FF @.@ even my eye have trouble trying to get focus @.@

e-jump: erm, well i dunno how many people will agreed or disagreed with me. my experince, when u already have bright light surround the subject, it will soften any shadow cause by flash normally. and summore, Trust ur F58 TTL! (u can even google the F56 VS F58 that they wrote how well the F58 was improved on the TTL AI)
Not too sure bout TTL, but i did set my flash control to pre-flash TTL
e-jump
post Oct 27 2009, 07:00 AM

┐( ¯3¯)┌
4,784 posts

QUOTE(albnok @ Oct 27 2009, 12:29 AM)
e-jump: You can pull back the highlights a lot from RAW. ZIP it up and post on Rapidshare and we can show you how much can be recovered!

Though, I have to say I like the picture as it is, as the background could be distracting...
Here it is bro
http://www.mediafire.com/?dtyzovtkyzn
Im never good with UFRaw and Lightroom as i only know 'auto' doh.gif
This would be a great learning experience if i can use your PP as reference to edit my pic nod.gif

This post has been edited by e-jump: Oct 27 2009, 07:01 AM

0.0487sec    0.54    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 08:21 PM