Photography The Sony Alpha Thread V32!, The Orange Legion

TSamadeo
post Oct 23 2009, 11:18 PM

Mafia
3,503 posts

QUOTE(porkchop @ Oct 23 2009, 10:34 PM)
thanks amadeo for the weight and price..looks like i know wat to get for my gf  notworthy.gif  thanks bro...btw where u get the lens weight?? is there a site that compile all Sony len's details??
The lens database.. http://www.dyxum.com/lenses/index.asp icon_rolleyes.gif
achew
post Oct 23 2009, 11:33 PM

Photolithography Engineer
3,807 posts

QUOTE(jimlim007 @ Oct 23 2009, 10:46 PM)
I am been poison with STD seriously....the reason is....wait talk later

btw, i notice one thing, not sure is true or not, alpha kit lens 22500 produce bokeh is also like paint bokeh (true?)

that time before STD out, i saw other ppl using carl zeiss or minolta good lenses can produce round dot round dot bokeh in backgroud, i think wah so beautiful bokeh unlike kitlens bokeh.

but come to STD, look like paiting bokeh also wor... but all ppl like this bokeh, then what different of STD with 55200  hmm.gif
but seriously back to the reason, the STD background 100% look picture are seperb sharp  shocking.gif  shocking.gif after seen few sample from web site
hmm??u mean STF??
freddy manson
post Oct 23 2009, 11:37 PM

ðñê hêll ð£ å gµ¥
4,858 posts

QUOTE(jimlim007 @ Oct 23 2009, 10:46 PM)
I am been poison with STD seriously....the reason is....wait talk later

btw, i notice one thing, not sure is true or not, alpha kit lens 22500 produce bokeh is also like paint bokeh (true?)

that time before STD out, i saw other ppl using carl zeiss or minolta good lenses can produce round dot round dot bokeh in backgroud, i think wah so beautiful bokeh unlike kitlens bokeh.

but come to STD, look like paiting bokeh also wor... but all ppl like this bokeh, then what different of STD with 55200  hmm.gif
but seriously back to the reason, the STD background 100% look picture are seperb sharp  shocking.gif  shocking.gif after seen few sample from web site
STD = Sexually Transmitted Disease
or is it
STF = Smooth Transition Focus?

This post has been edited by freddy manson: Oct 23 2009, 11:39 PM
jimlim007
post Oct 23 2009, 11:40 PM

Enoch
4,073 posts

QUOTE(achew @ Oct 23 2009, 11:33 PM)
hmm??u mean STF??
haha working till siaw d, yaya STF
lightning69
post Oct 24 2009, 12:04 AM

2,298 posts

I just got my SAL18250 yesterday and these are my first shots from this wonderful lens.

Btw, is this the right place to post photos? Anyway, feel free to leave any comments.

This post has been edited by lightning69: Oct 24 2009, 12:04 AM
braindead_fr3ak
post Oct 24 2009, 12:18 AM

Ba$$ist On d ROCks
1,552 posts

nice photos....pss..the boat also urs ar?
ahahhaha
if so..sponsor all of us here one 55-200 smile.gif

i will post up sum pics of my 70 - 300 tammy.....
it has sum PF issues though...but good lens nonetheless
ieR
post Oct 24 2009, 12:37 AM

~Cursed Member~
3,928 posts

QUOTE(albnok @ Oct 23 2009, 07:29 PM)
ieR: Of course, the background is much further away from the subject than the tree is.

No, the bokeh from the Tamron 70-200mm F2.8 is quite... plain and un-Minolta-like. It also lacks longitudinal chromatic aberration, and some people might like the Tamron because of this. The Sony 70-200mm F2.8G SSM however is very much like the Minolta 70-210mm F4 beercan but minus the purple fringing (I use this lens as reference since more people have had this.) It's too bad you don't have the Minolta 70-210mm F4 beercan, or you'd know what I'm talking about - the look is very different from the 'modern-looking' Sony 55-200mm F4-5.6 DT.

Sony 55-200mm F4-5.6 DT

Minolta 70-210mm F4 beercan

=.= wow, when side to side compare, the 55200 seem like bad lens >.< oh no, poisoned with beercan.... btw, i assume the sal70200GF28 would even have softer bokeh?
shootkk
post Oct 24 2009, 12:37 AM

Loyal Sony A100 User
2,540 posts

Yup! The 18-250 is one fine lens. Just don't expect miracles from it and you will be fine. It's a superzoom after all and a pretty good one at that!

I will be away for a week. Going to Taiwan for travel. Hopefully can come back with lotsa nice pics! See you guys in a week's time!!
ieR
post Oct 24 2009, 12:40 AM

~Cursed Member~
3,928 posts

shootkk, safe journey and have fun~ shoot more taiwan mei mei back worrr... tongue.gif (food shooting there is the best, as they offer many many type of good food~ )
lightning69
post Oct 24 2009, 12:44 AM

2,298 posts

QUOTE(braindead_fr3ak @ Oct 24 2009, 12:18 AM)
nice photos....pss..the boat also urs ar?
ahahhaha
if so..sponsor all of us here one 55-200 smile.gif

i will post up sum pics of my 70 - 300 tammy.....
it has sum PF issues though...but good lens nonetheless
I also wish the boat is mine.

Why 55-200? Is it better than SAL18250?

Added on October 24, 2009, 12:46 am
QUOTE(shootkk @ Oct 24 2009, 12:37 AM)
Yup! The 18-250 is one fine lens. Just don't expect miracles from it and you will be fine. It's a superzoom after all and a pretty good one at that!

I will be away for a week. Going to Taiwan for travel. Hopefully can come back with lotsa nice pics! See you guys in a week's time!!
The 18250 is more than enough for noob like me! biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by lightning69: Oct 24 2009, 12:46 AM
shootkk
post Oct 24 2009, 12:47 AM

Loyal Sony A100 User
2,540 posts

QUOTE(ieR @ Oct 24 2009, 12:40 AM)
shootkk, safe journey and have fun~ shoot more taiwan mei mei back worrr... tongue.gif (food shooting there is the best, as they offer many many type of good food~ )
Thanks! Taiwan mei mei ar? Oklah... will try to skodeng some for you lar... sweat.gif
Poadster
post Oct 24 2009, 01:12 AM

inspiRED: Fast and Furious
647 posts

QUOTE(shootkk @ Oct 24 2009, 12:47 AM)
Thanks! Taiwan mei mei ar? Oklah... will try to skodeng some for you lar...  sweat.gif
Skodeng and snipe those "pinang" girls.... all in bikinis and see thrus....!!
braindead_fr3ak
post Oct 24 2009, 01:37 AM

Ba$$ist On d ROCks
1,552 posts

ahhahaha... yesh!... my 70 -300 will serve that purpose also
ehhehehehehhehehehehhehehe

albnok
post Oct 24 2009, 01:42 AM

Alpha Male
4,956 posts

lightning69: I am liking the pastel-ish color tones and bokeh-priority of your shots.

ieR: Well, the 55-200mm has its pros like weight, size, focusing speed and minimum focus distance.

hinika:

Flare spreads out from the lightsource and leaks onto the rest of the picture.

Ghosting is a 180 degree rotated image of the bright light.

Poor filters cause flare, good filters stop flare.

Poor filters have a lot of ghosting, good filters have little ghosting (but I haven't tried any filter that has no ghosting.) So if you get ghosting, you will have to remove the filter!

jimlim007: STD dangerous wei! We're talking about the STF LOL.

No, the 55-200mm has a different look from the 70-210mm F4. I would not call the 55-200mm painterly; it's more harsh.

What do you mean the background of the STF is superb sharp? You mean, it is not hazy like soft focus lenses are? A Soft Focus lens does this:

This is from the Minolta 100mm F2.8 Soft Focus lens.

Here's one from the Minolta 135mm F2.8/T4.5 Smooth Transition Focus lens. Notice what happened to the Sony 300mm F2.8G SSM in the background - normally, you would see the OOF shape more blockishly with any other lens.
longpants
post Oct 24 2009, 01:42 AM

260 posts

Compare the beercan and the 55200, I like the beercan more. It's more sharper and faster than the 55200.

I feel that when the 55200 reaches 200mm, it's performance starts to drop. I'm using my beercan now most of the time for portrait at f4. With that, i get the nice amount of DOF to isolate my subject from the background. NICE!

The 55200 is now inside the box untouched.

Apart from that, I'm just having WB problem with my A300.

Albert@ Looking at your pictures, is the 55200 that contrasty compare to the beercan?

albnok
post Oct 24 2009, 01:51 AM

Alpha Male
4,956 posts

longpants: The framing was different for all shots but I shot in Aperture Priority, multi-segment metering. It may be different subjects that give the Minolta a brighter exposure - the Sony gets KLCC as a background, while the Minolta barely does and has a human (which meters darker than the surroundings.)

Since you have both lenses, you could do a quick one out in the sun. Both the 55-200mm and beercan are indeed contrasty lenses wide open. I don't have the 55-200mm.
longpants
post Oct 24 2009, 02:03 AM

260 posts

Oh I see. Because i notice the skin tone created by the beercan made them look like Alienish Green. It's nothing to do with the WB right?

Yup. Both Sony and Minolta are contrasty. Anyway, it's been a long time since i used my 55200. Since I gotten the beercan, its like no return for the 55200!
clivengu
post Oct 24 2009, 03:14 AM

1,850 posts

Woa.. over 48 hours oredi.. still STF poison discussion ah?
Kul | Mo0
post Oct 24 2009, 03:18 AM

Cow's Zeiss
3,844 posts

STF poison will never fade la. Imagine there's a CZ STF. HOLY COW. Super steam right?
TSamadeo
post Oct 24 2009, 03:19 AM

Mafia
3,503 posts

the STF makes my prime bokeh looks like shit.. laugh.gif

126 Pages « < 108 109 110 111 112 > » Top

0.0297sec    0.63    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 10:03 AM