18 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Bottom

LYN Official Toyota Vios Owners Thread!, Thread for all LYN's Toyota Vios owners!

michael9413
post Oct 22 2009, 12:06 PM

***@_@***
6,986 posts

QUOTE(vreis @ Oct 22 2009, 12:01 PM)
The C Drive quite for me, the noise level of 55 & 50 seems negligible. 

oh, mine 05 E spec.
Still stock except for rims & head unit.
mileage 63k
Full city drive consistently 450km/tank. dunno why so little compare to others unsure.gif 

Oh ya, i got screwed by Toyota SC regarding brakes. So now i'm so pissed that i won't go any Toyota SC regarding anything at all.
BTW their a/c service is crap, u can get same service for half the price from a/c specialist. They also call up outsiders to service your a/c so it doesn't make any difference. I know cos I follow their service manual till 40k even though warranty is 30k or 3 yrs. So the advice is get your ride service done outside after the warranty period, no point paying more for something that can be done for much less.
warranty is 100k or 3 yrs la...
A/C service did not give it to them at all... but y u screw them on the brakes? what have they done?
i found out 1 thing when my fren enlighten me... check ur tires b4 and after... all the stones stuck in between the thread had been removed... wow... i checked and yes my Vios tires are pretty clean of stones... but make sure make a complaint on SC when they are not doing a good job la... smile.gif
michael9413
post Oct 22 2009, 01:25 PM

***@_@***
6,986 posts

I'll see how coz after warranty mine is 80k so go back... till now net yet reach 90k... but i have to change the engine oil also coz year end 6 months already... seldom go outstation already cos no more budget...
so by end of the end i'll see how... might go back or might not...

QUOTE(vreis @ Oct 22 2009, 12:22 PM)
My mistake , its 100k or 3 yrs blush.gif
I meant to say i serviced there at 40k when its over 3 yrs which means no more warranty.
The a/c i just followed the manual to serviced it last time, now no more, all service outside. I've been to 2 SC ie Segambut (notorious for its incompetence) & Kepong (considered new since its less than 3 yrs i think), both also manned by idiots. They don't even know their products well & wanna bluff customers shakehead.gif Complaint till Toyota Japan also no use, cos SC is under UMW. I've read in TVCM forum that most complaint directly to SC manager or UMW/Toyota, most of the complaints went straight to dustbin. (That's few years ago since i've never logged since)
Anyway, my story is too long, its regarding skimming of brakes, suffice to say that they screwed up the works & want me to re-pay & re-skimmed. I was like WTF.  mad.gif
air-cond is service outside... ur complaint is useless, unless the branch that u are going is own by UWM Toyota not franchise... that is wat my father fren told us (x-toyota duno wat wat manager in base in Shah Alam HQ)... retired last year... b4 that he make sure we get our car as promised 2 months waiting period... then any service problem we sound our voice to him... so not much problem when he gave them a ring... haha... sorry to hear that but make sure u take back to UWM Toyota SC... they are much more efficient...
for franchise they will only talk to them and warned them... but UWM Toyota staff they have KPI so in order to get better appraisal they have to work hard... my V Belt sound solved by S.Jaya SC... the belt worn off for small clicking sound when i accelerate slowly... but no sound is visible during hard acceleration...

QUOTE(travis_ckf @ Oct 22 2009, 12:32 PM)
Completed my service by 11.30 at UMWT Subang. Overall my experience is positive. The staff i met were competent and friendly. He is also able to answer my questions on the warranty which i will share it out on the q&a section.

Btw welcome vreis & squarefight! notworthy.gif Added u inside the owners list already.
that is one of the best i can say... not much problem as i been told by my x-customer and frens also... that is owned by UWM Toyota...

This post has been edited by michael9413: Oct 22 2009, 01:27 PM
michael9413
post Oct 22 2009, 02:49 PM

***@_@***
6,986 posts

fren 06/07 totally different price coz different yr already... 30k milage is ok for since it is about 3~4 yrs old... i think it is reasonable 64k... but try to lower it down to 60k lo...
michael9413
post Oct 23 2009, 09:45 AM

***@_@***
6,986 posts

QUOTE(Shane711 @ Oct 22 2009, 03:52 PM)
It is 06 manufacture car and register 07...
I oso hope it can sell 60K but I think it is hard to get it...
Cos he wan 70K when I asking the price...

Then sifu means 64K worth to buy lo...
thx for your reply...michael9413!! notworthy.gif  smile.gif
fren it means it is still 06 car... car is by manufacturing date... my old toy 1997 manufactured but reg 1999... so same lo...

QUOTE(JAYworm @ Oct 22 2009, 08:46 PM)
i believe most owner here didnt mod much onto thieir ride since VIOS is not a sport car  rolleyes.gif
i lagi not dare to join for gathering coz my car got alot of scratch  sweat.gif going for a paint work later (when i got budget  sweat.gif )
if still under better send to service center, after warranty still can send to service center just for peace of mind since they more trustable. if u know the bengkel owner very well then u can send to them too. but if got any serious problem better send it back to toyota service center  sweat.gif
64k is quite a great deal  thumbup.gif
aiyo... mind back bumper also cracked... my gf hit her colleague's car last 2 months... still waiting for time to paint it... smile.gif
no worries... we are coming out to TT not show off mah... smile.gif
michael9413
post Oct 23 2009, 10:17 AM

***@_@***
6,986 posts

QUOTE(beloved @ Oct 23 2009, 10:09 AM)
Any of you mod your Vios with bodykit which similar to TRD Sportivo. I figure hard to find beautiful bodykit for Vios here. Unlike thailand, their bodykit is very nice and got a lots variety. Anybody mind to share the photos of stylish bodykit? Besides, do your guys notice that Vios 07 with chrome package will make your side and back looks nicer? I ask toyota service centre before Chrome package cost around RM 1K including installation. Damn expensive!! mad.gif
the best is if you have a fren there... ask them to send over... declare it lower in price... or find some lorry company to ship over... brows.gif that what we do on when my x-company need to ship things from M'sia back to SG....
michael9413
post Oct 26 2009, 10:10 AM

***@_@***
6,986 posts

y cannot leh... u can ask ppl to help u... rims u can find at tire shops... mostly have it... coz a lot of ppl change to 16" to get more stability...
michael9413
post Oct 26 2009, 05:27 PM

***@_@***
6,986 posts

which area are you staying at??

for the center console get a accesories guy to dismantle for you... then u take to spray... but most of the spraying shop know how to do it la...
michael9413
post Oct 27 2009, 05:04 PM

***@_@***
6,986 posts

QUOTE(ChinHong86 @ Oct 27 2009, 10:49 AM)
bros,

anyone know whether we have toyota service centre to inspect our car after repairing at workshop outside??
i met with an accident 2 months ago, just get my car, and afraid they might change my parts as my car is still new...
FYI u should never give a untrusted work shop to repair ur car if you care with still new...
sorry to say if you meet anything the workshop will not responsible also... as u have taken ur car also...
michael9413
post Oct 28 2009, 11:58 PM

***@_@***
6,986 posts

they will know.... no matter wat we can see with our eyes...
michael9413
post Oct 30 2009, 12:29 AM

***@_@***
6,986 posts

sure u have OD in all the cars... if not they will give you the 3rd gear control after the 2nd b4 D... all is the same la... 1,2,3 then 4... u can lock it any where u like when u a going up the hill...
my old toy Conti no OD just L,2,3 then D
michael9413
post Nov 4 2009, 09:35 AM

***@_@***
6,986 posts

QUOTE(jmunchar @ Nov 2 2009, 09:26 AM)
HI guys.
It's been some time since i logged in due to work & moving house. Great to know that there is now an official club in LYN for our car.
I'm driving the new model S spec. Got it in March '08. Hope that i can have my name updated in the list too.  blush.gif
welcome... smile.gif

QUOTE(SK_C @ Nov 3 2009, 02:10 PM)
Reporting in...'96 Vios Black G spec.
Did your guy have issue when "load" & "unload" passengers? My rear "suspension / spring" got lots of sound...
SC said is the hand brake, they clean it...but only last for 1 week...
Any advice?
i think urs is '06 not 96 la... 96 did not have Vios here yet...
the problem is face by a lot of ppl also... so don pull ur handbrake b4 them go off... i seldom take a lot of ppl at the back so no problem and also i'll only pull my handbrake after they get off... smile.gif

michael9413
post Nov 11 2009, 09:18 AM

***@_@***
6,986 posts

i tinted my SEG and Avanza Aircool 2nd grade with 80+% over heat filter... but windscreen use the best they have... around RM900 only... SEG about 3~4 years still working well... my Vios tinted by my mum Solar something cheap but windscreen film sucks i think only 50% heat filter only...
michael9413
post Nov 11 2009, 09:27 AM

***@_@***
6,986 posts

er.. i don think u can pay 5k only at least 20% down payment mah isn't it???
am not sure what is the package now... my '05 downpayment 15k installment 9 yrs around RM800/month... 9 yrs because never intend to sell the car away...
michael9413
post Nov 18 2009, 09:58 AM

***@_@***
6,986 posts

QUOTE(triad @ Nov 17 2009, 01:01 PM)
vios 04 reporting in.
just done 40k service last month.
car still superb.

btw thinking to change tyre.

is 195 55 R15 do any good than 185 55 R15?
yes you can upgrade to 195/55 R15... what is the tire u has used b4... give me ur comment... which wan u want??? Comfort or Handling???

QUOTE(Tonyy @ Nov 17 2009, 11:36 PM)
anyone know where can get better quality car key for vios? Toyota's one very bad, my key (with remote inside) almost break to few pieces liao after 3-4 yrs of use....
wah how u use it??? my 2 keys are still pretty nice woh... don press too hard la...

QUOTE(clement8115 @ Nov 18 2009, 08:12 AM)
hi friends here,

I just got a tyt vios year 2005 G spec for 56K yeasterday. so looking forward to join discussion here.

btw, can you all teach me how to set the odometer for my fuel consumptions? thanks.
ok... u got a trip button there... go to Trip A/B press the trip button for long time... that will reset the reading... smile.gif
michael9413
post Nov 19 2009, 09:52 AM

***@_@***
6,986 posts

QUOTE(triad @ Nov 18 2009, 05:17 PM)
Now use nct5, 185 55 R15.

How much aa price for 195 55 15 one??issit too much differ from 185 one?

i prefer comfort tho,not taking any sharp corner at high speed.i drive slow slow
well u can try out Falken 912 with 195/55 R15... comfort tire... or Yokohama A drive...
Throw NCT5 away... i will not buy that again i swear... very easy to break the tire's traction... skid a lot...
michael9413
post Nov 19 2009, 10:19 AM

***@_@***
6,986 posts

C drive also good... try 195/55 R15... give you a lil more comfort than 50series...
yea... Sime, GY NCT series, Dunlop D-01, Continental CC-1, BG MY-01 also... all this is good for budget but traction of course will lose out...
Dunlop D-01, Continental CC-1, BG MY-01 still ok for normal driving in dry and slow driving in wet...

michael9413
post Nov 19 2009, 02:28 PM

***@_@***
6,986 posts

QUOTE(travis_ckf @ Nov 19 2009, 11:29 AM)
Sorry for my useless advise but i dont think even spending 10k to sound proofing a vios is worth it.
I use that on my previous ride. Bang for buck semi performance tyres. Grippy at dry but once its on wet, i got a few times my car went split away, so traction while on wet is so so compared to vios stock tyres which is grippy in both wet n dry. I may consider potenza adrendelin when changing my tyres.

u mean the BG tat Dugong having now??? well compare to the NCT5 it really better lo... NCT5 really will activate the ABS a lot of time when u are driving on wet... heavy braking a lil then ABS activated... haha... now Dugong is having BS Turanza am i correct???

QUOTE(enson1985 @ Nov 19 2009, 12:31 PM)
Yes bro... Changed to Michelin PP2 but still noisy. So i think to prepare a budget of rm1-2k to sound proof. If really cant solve the only solution is like wat u said. Sell it. Haha!
if you want really silent tire then Primacy LC is your choice... but please bear in ur mind that ur car's noise insulation is not that good so no matter what also u will hear tire noise... sorry for you... but PP2 really grips well but careful on the corners during wet thats all... the aquaplaning is very good... smile.gif if you put directional tires then ur tire sound in the cabin will be worst... smile.gif

This post has been edited by michael9413: Nov 19 2009, 02:32 PM
michael9413
post Nov 20 2009, 11:11 AM

***@_@***
6,986 posts

QUOTE(travis_ckf @ Nov 19 2009, 06:20 PM)
The new vios is now using BB potenza RE030 which is really good for a stock production car. thumbup.gif
tat is for you (TRD) only la... haha others still Turanza or GY excellence... am i correct???
i can tell u those tires sucks... i mean GY excellence

QUOTE(igor_is300 @ Nov 19 2009, 08:48 PM)
Actually, it's better to go to Cobra to replace the key. Just bring your service manual and ask them. The boss seems like a friendly chap when I spoke to him that day.
I can assure that the Thai made Michelin PP2 isn't that silent because I'm currently using one. Come to think about it, I have upgraded from 175/65/R14 to 195/55/R15, Thus the road contact is wider and lower profile making it stiffer and noisier.

I have the same intuition like you but looking back from the record, michelin threads aren't designed to last long, so enjoy the grippy ride and get more comfortable tyres when the replacement is due.  tongue.gif
bro you are wrong... tongue.gif it depends... try to use same size Hankook V12 on ur car... it will be comfort...
all tires have different properties or so call characteristic... PP2 sidewall is hard, it give you more handling... V12 is soft, it give you more comfort... for V12 it will give you good amount of grip that u need but PP2 give more traction in the wet than any other tire does... how??? it still depends on you preference... i had use 3 sets of PP2 and now on V12... V12 is so call cheap and it is having what PP2 has except the aquaplaning...
if you wan to last long... use Duraplus from GY and try to set 195/60 R15... i guarantee that u will complain of its traction in wet... so there is nothing 100%... choose what you want...

again if u feel the ride is harsh on ur Vios... try to put PP2 on CT... u know what is harsh then... and also if you want good handling u must compensate it with comfort.. so if you still need comfort and handling use V12 but u have to compensate a lil on it's noise...

Cheers

QUOTE(JAYworm @ Nov 19 2009, 10:03 PM)
actually old vios isnt any better than newer one. i fixed mine with sound proof mat which include door, floor plan, and boot area and the result is good.  smile.gif
yea old vios is not that good also but it is still better than dugong... smile.gif
if you expect to buy a lower end car with sound proof like conti... JP car lower end car will not have good sound proof...
michael9413
post Nov 21 2009, 09:49 AM

***@_@***
6,986 posts

yea send it back to wack them...
michael9413
post Dec 9 2009, 10:07 AM

***@_@***
6,986 posts

QUOTE(jtan3633 @ Nov 30 2009, 01:45 PM)
My tyres are due for a change.

Stuck between Falken ZE912, Yokohama C-drive and Michelin Primacy LC. 195/50/15. Price around RM170 for all three brands. Made in Thailand.

Looking for durable and comfort tyres. Any opinions?
Well for comfort and quiet u can try Primacy LC... smile.gif C Drive and Falken 912 not bad also...
but ify ou really wan comfort you should not take 195/50 R15, it is 195/55 R15 the one u need... at that size you can get Hankook V12 directional thread with comfort also but it is noisier than Primacy LC...

195/55 R15 approx tire price & performance...
UHP Tires (mostly for spirited drive and some tires will give you a lil better handling if you are using Dugong... )
Bridgestone RE001 (Adrenalin) RM290
it has ample of grip in dry but loose out a lil in wet it is good in handling coz it harder side wall...
Michelin PP2 RM230
Best Hydroplaning tire in this category, it has harder side wall which make ur ride is a bit firmer and improves ur handling, it is for ppl who wants better Dugong handling (Used 3 set b4)
Yokohama S Drive RM260 (Directional)
all rounder but traction loose out to PP2 by a lil bit...
Toyo T1R RM280 (Directional)
Softer sidewall make it is comfort compare to PP2, but the thread wear is faster...
Hankook V12 RM190 (Directional)
Softer sidewall, Comfort with ample of traction in Dry and Wet but it loose out in Hydroplaning if comparet o PP2... (I'm using this now)
Goodyear Eagle F1 GSD3 RM215 (Directional)
it has good grip in dry and wet... but some feedbacks said the side wall easy to deform when you hit a lot of kerbs or potholes, but i don think ppl will purposely do it hard to say...

Comfort Tires (Not good for spirited drives)
Michelin Primacy LC RM200 Good Quiet tires and comfort...
Yokohama C Drive RM180- Just like Primacy LC premium comfort tires...
Toyo DRB RM2XX - Comfort Performance tire still new i the market about 8 months...
Falken 912 RM180 - Cheap and good tires for normal drive
Continental CC1 RM180 - Good normal tires for normal drive but feedbacks shows tat its sidewall easy to deform if you it the kerbs or potholes...

Y no Dunlop D-01, Bridgestone My-01??? haha this 2 tires sucks... ya a lot of ppl still using it cos they thought it is good already...

it might be late but just for others to see... smile.gif
Cheers...

This post has been edited by michael9413: Dec 9 2009, 10:16 AM

18 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0712sec    0.39    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 06:07 AM