Homestay business, Thinking of going in..

TSmr rocko
post Oct 1 2009, 06:59 PM, updated 17y ago

114 posts

Hello.

Any sifu here in the business? Can give pointers and info (do we need any sort of license?)?

Furthermore...

I have 2 location in mind. Tropicana Indah and one in Taman Sutera, Kajang. Any comments on which location will more ideal?

Thanks for helping a n00b out.

dream.angels
post Oct 9 2009, 04:08 PM

730 posts

where is tropicana indah?
moody5
post Oct 9 2009, 04:16 PM

296 posts

QUOTE(mr rocko @ Oct 1 2009, 06:59 PM)
Hello.

Any sifu here in the business? Can give pointers and info (do we need any sort of license?)?

Furthermore...

I have 2 location in mind. Tropicana Indah and one in Taman Sutera, Kajang. Any comments on which location will more ideal?

Thanks for helping a n00b out.
my two cents,

Japan, Taiwan has a lot of homestay.. you can type 民宿 to search

Italy has farmstay

they are mostly theme-ed homestay and good located..

have you ever consider hostel? the concept of Take a nap in Bangkok is great!
Damonzero
post Oct 9 2009, 10:51 PM

✪✪✪✪✪✪✪✪✪✪✪
1,467 posts

i have a fren invested in this business here in malaysia, and failed.

various reasons involved.
moody5
post Oct 10 2009, 10:15 AM

296 posts

QUOTE(Damonzero @ Oct 9 2009, 10:51 PM)

Maybe you can share the reasons..

Ts, I am not trying to turn you down.. as i also think of the homestay business too but i can't figure out the following question:

It is not easy to survive in Malaysia for home stay. You can stay at decent hotel for RM150 - RM300 per night in KL.. ie novotel, equatorial, concorde or even renaissance sometimes.. and those hotel are well located.. how do you want to price you homestay rate?

as we noted, our public transport system are not that complete, tourist always want a well located places.. how do you solve this challenge?

Good located house means expensive, how long can your homtestay business sustain before you can breakeven?

Or start your homestay at outskirts of the city, how do you think that you can attract the crowd to it?

This post has been edited by moody5: Oct 10 2009, 10:16 AM
TSmr rocko
post Oct 11 2009, 05:48 PM

114 posts

QUOTE(dream.angels @ Oct 9 2009, 04:08 PM)
where is tropicana indah?
damansara indah

Added on October 11, 2009, 5:49 pm
QUOTE(Damonzero @ Oct 9 2009, 10:51 PM)

yeah share so we can learn from each other.

Added on October 11, 2009, 5:55 pm
QUOTE(moody5 @ Oct 9 2009, 04:16 PM)
my two cents,

Japan, Taiwan has a lot of homestay.. you can type 民宿 to search

Italy has farmstay

they are mostly theme-ed homestay and good located..

have you ever consider hostel? the concept of Take a nap in Bangkok is great!
Hm.. the idea I am entertaining is akin to service apartment.

This post has been edited by mr rocko: Oct 11 2009, 05:55 PM
moody5
post Oct 11 2009, 05:58 PM

296 posts

QUOTE(mr rocko @ Oct 11 2009, 05:48 PM)
damansara indah

Added on October 11, 2009, 5:49 pm
yeah share so we can learn from each other.

Added on October 11, 2009, 5:55 pm

Hm.. the idea I am entertaining is akin to service apartment.
friend, i cant understand what you said..
TSmr rocko
post Oct 11 2009, 06:15 PM

114 posts

QUOTE(moody5 @ Oct 11 2009, 05:58 PM)
friend, i cant understand what you said..
Renting out a furnished house on a temporary basis. That's what I mean. Clearer?

moody5
post Oct 12 2009, 03:29 PM

296 posts

QUOTE(mr rocko @ Oct 11 2009, 06:15 PM)
Renting out a furnished house on a temporary basis. That's what I mean. Clearer?
yes.. then thats what i meant that we can find those homestay in Taiwan... rclxms.gif

Urban House - Bangkok .. the nearest example.. 10 mins walk to Bangkok BTS.. look at their pricing.. very attractive pricing, good location and the environment is good

Tropicana Indah and one in Taman Sutera, Kajang.. Can these two locations fit the basic requirement to become success?

some homestay in Taiwan they are themed homestay so people willing to travel far to go there.. biggrin.gif

Xai-V-iaX
post Oct 12 2009, 03:46 PM

1,516 posts

Homestay business is a very good concept tho from my experience its still tarher new here in Malaysia. Maybe you should do more research on it...

0.0148sec    0.68    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 02:16 AM