SVS Product Launch Event, 3rd October 2009, 12.00pm

TShtkaki
post Sep 28 2009, 05:28 PM, updated 17y ago

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

(Mod, if this ain't suitable to be here, you may remove it)

Venue : Crystal Crown Hotel, Petaling Jaya (Utara 1 room)

Products on demo :

Subwoofers :

1. PB13-Ultra
2. PC13-Ultra
3. PB12-Plus
4. PC12-Plus

Loudspeakers

1. MTS-01
2. MCS-01
3. MBS-01

Sub EQ
1. AS-EQ1

More products info : www.svsound.com

Door gifts for 1st 50 guests who register their names.

To register, pls e-mail to svs-msia@htkaki.com

This post has been edited by htkaki: Sep 29 2009, 11:33 AM
lightning69
post Sep 28 2009, 05:36 PM

2,298 posts

I would love to attend but am afraid I can't make it.

Can give a price list for those speakers mentioned above please?

Why no PB or PC 12NSD? At least those with tight budget can ride home an SVS too.
TShtkaki
post Sep 28 2009, 06:01 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

Those NSD and S series will be on display there.
lightning69
post Sep 28 2009, 07:09 PM

2,298 posts

Care to share the price of the speakers please...i won't be attending the event but I would like to know the price of the speakers.
TShtkaki
post Sep 28 2009, 07:50 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

Bro, can't post here as it'll get the thread locked.

Maybe I'll start a thread at Music & Audio section for this. Hope you understand.

This post has been edited by htkaki: Sep 28 2009, 07:51 PM
TrynRex
post Sep 28 2009, 08:23 PM

73 posts

Maybe you can PM the subwoofer price list to me. Thanks.
ycs
post Sep 28 2009, 10:09 PM

4,238 posts

cash and carry like this...save transport money brows.gif

ckyongs
post Sep 28 2009, 10:10 PM

188 posts

QUOTE(TrynRex @ Sep 28 2009, 08:23 PM)
Maybe you can PM the subwoofer price list to me. Thanks.
ya. pls pm me prices as well. hope to make it there. thx.
TShtkaki
post Sep 29 2009, 12:05 AM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

Bro,

Try this : www.htkaki.com (RRP B4 discount)

maja_5365
post Sep 29 2009, 08:52 AM

129 posts

Any of u guys coming for the event?Im in.
TShtkaki
post Sep 29 2009, 09:26 AM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

Bro, many of them will be there.
aiman04
post Sep 29 2009, 09:39 AM

THX-Certified Geek
2,316 posts

Exciting event! Htkaki, I'll get my friend to confirm soon!

Guys, go to htkaki.com and register an account.

This post has been edited by aiman04: Sep 29 2009, 11:25 AM
maja_5365
post Sep 29 2009, 10:43 AM

129 posts

QUOTE(htkaki @ Sep 29 2009, 09:26 AM)
Bro, many of them will be there.
Just afraid im the only pheasant there surrounded by all the elites tongue.gif
rx330
post Sep 29 2009, 10:45 AM

11,811 posts

htkaki, all the best on ur launch thumbup.gif
TShtkaki
post Sep 29 2009, 10:49 AM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

QUOTE(maja_5365 @ Sep 29 2009, 10:43 AM)
Only a few elites. No worry, you have me there; another peasant smile.gif

htkaki, all the best on ur launch  thumbup.gif

YB, kamchia lu for all the support and help cry.gif smile.gif
Lone*Wolf
post Sep 29 2009, 11:14 AM

1,442 posts

QUOTE(maja_5365 @ Sep 29 2009, 10:43 AM)

Well, I guess birds of a (SVS) feather, flocks together this Saturday ... tongue.gif

htkaki, can gatecrash or need an official invite for this do?
TShtkaki
post Sep 29 2009, 11:25 AM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

Bro, as per topic. Jz send an e-mail to register. That's all.
maja_5365
post Sep 29 2009, 11:29 AM

129 posts

Sorry bro spelling mistake( kampung mali). Can consider that bird as peasant wan? biggrin.gif biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by maja_5365: Sep 29 2009, 11:29 AM
Lone*Wolf
post Sep 29 2009, 11:36 AM

1,442 posts

QUOTE(maja_5365 @ Sep 29 2009, 11:29 AM)
Sorry bro spelling mistake( kampung mali). Can consider that bird as peasant wan? biggrin.gif  biggrin.gif
No need soli, soli, I kacau je ... sweat.gif

htkaki - reason for not registering is coz I not confirm attendence so dowan waste yr head count for your buffet. but if i suddenly can make it, can just drop by (without registering) ?
braveheart
post Sep 29 2009, 11:36 AM

208 posts

Congratulations bro on your new launch. Wish you the best for the future and how I wish I could be there nonetheless I am sure the opportunities will be there for the future.

If you can I would appreciate it if you could email me the prices on the subbies. You have really poisoned us and my hands are terribly itchy again. Hope to join you all with an SVS.

Congrats again and is your 012 number still the same as previously?
rx330
post Sep 29 2009, 11:52 AM

11,811 posts

nabeh, got buffet someomore..
htkaki, kasi tapao n courier it to me, kamxia
TShtkaki
post Sep 29 2009, 12:28 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

QUOTE(Lone*Wolf @ Sep 29 2009, 11:36 AM)
No need soli, soli, I kacau je ...  sweat.gif

htkaki - reason for not registering is coz I not confirm attendence so dowan waste yr head count for your buffet.  but if i suddenly can make it, can just drop by (without registering) ?
Buffet? Erm, there isn't actually due to tight budget blush.gif Sky juice, yes. Can since only one.

Congratulations bro on your new launch. Wish you the best for the future and how I wish I could be there nonetheless I am sure the opportunities will be there for the future.

If you can I would appreciate it if you could email me the prices on the subbies. You have really poisoned us and my hands are terribly itchy again. Hope to join you all with an SVS.

Congrats again and is your 012 number still the same as previously?

Thank you smile.gif

UGPM and my no is 017.

daryl.k
post Sep 29 2009, 03:26 PM

467 posts

bro HTKAKI, the SCS01 range will also be on display? u mentioned S series will be there...

TShtkaki
post Sep 29 2009, 04:00 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

Yes, it will be there too except the tower.
fourzee
post Sep 29 2009, 04:42 PM

388 posts

Any plan to do a launching in the north ? In Penang perhaps sure good response one..
Reix
post Sep 29 2009, 04:49 PM

468 posts

Bro,
What is the Min. deposit need to pay to confirm the order?
Will you bring credit card machine there?
eddycmc
post Sep 29 2009, 05:24 PM

73 posts

Bro...

I already register earlier...

Am I the first 50 guest to get the door gift??

smile.gif hhehehe

Good Show

This post has been edited by eddycmc: Sep 29 2009, 08:47 PM
TShtkaki
post Sep 29 2009, 06:02 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

QUOTE(fourzee @ Sep 29 2009, 04:42 PM)
Any plan to do a launching in the north ? In Penang perhaps sure good response one..
Not at this moment but we deliver all over Malaysia for a small fee.

Bro,
What is the Min. deposit need to pay to confirm the order?
Will you bring credit card machine there?

Min 50% deposit. Yes, credit card machines on standby

Bro...

I already register earlier...

Am I the first 50 guest to get the door gift??

You are in smile.gif
mikapoh
post Sep 29 2009, 06:25 PM

1,263 posts

QUOTE(htkaki @ Sep 29 2009, 06:02 PM)
Not at this moment but we deliver all over Malaysia for a small fee.

Does your delivery include S'wak for "small fee" as what you have mentioned?!

Docan
post Sep 29 2009, 06:35 PM

132 posts

Congrats htkaki. Sure you will do well. Cannot attend.will be overseas.
TShtkaki
post Sep 29 2009, 07:47 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

QUOTE(mikapoh @ Sep 29 2009, 06:25 PM)
Does your delivery include S'wak for "small fee" as what you have mentioned?!
Yes. To KK and Sarawak. PM the model that you intend to buy and I'll calculate the fee smile.gif
Lone*Wolf
post Sep 29 2009, 07:56 PM

1,442 posts

Walou! Orders coming in even before the official launch - keng! I want to buy your book on how to run business oso ... tongue.gif
eddycmc
post Sep 29 2009, 08:39 PM

73 posts

This post has been edited by eddycmc: Sep 29 2009, 08:45 PM
TShtkaki
post Sep 29 2009, 10:31 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

QUOTE(Lone*Wolf @ Sep 29 2009, 07:56 PM)
Walou!  Orders coming in even before the official launch - keng!  I want to buy your book on how to run business oso ...  tongue.gif
Bro, ain't my magic. Probably due to the high quality and performance of SVS.
fourzee
post Sep 30 2009, 11:51 AM

388 posts

How much is the PB12-Plus Rosewood? Got stock or not and how much for delivery to Kulim Kedah?
TShtkaki
post Sep 30 2009, 12:01 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

QUOTE(fourzee @ Sep 30 2009, 11:51 AM)
How much is the PB12-Plus Rosewood? Got stock or not and how much for delivery to Kulim Kedah?
laugh.gif There is one unit, which is still in box but meant for the event. UGPM
fourzee
post Sep 30 2009, 12:03 PM

388 posts

Quick... how much? My hand already ichy..pm me..

This post has been edited by fourzee: Sep 30 2009, 12:04 PM
maja_5365
post Sep 30 2009, 12:05 PM

129 posts

QUOTE(fourzee @ Sep 30 2009, 11:51 AM)
Better grab it fast bro. Or else nanti u kempunan. biggrin.gif
TShtkaki
post Sep 30 2009, 01:25 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

AS-EQ1 also kena sapu liao
redfly
post Sep 30 2009, 05:58 PM

113 posts

Hi Htkaki,

Just email registration for the Sat event, please check.

Looking forward to see the new SVS in action, compared to my old 20-30 PC+ tongue.gif

Thanks in advance...

maja_5365
post Sep 30 2009, 06:25 PM

129 posts

QUOTE(htkaki @ Sep 30 2009, 01:25 PM)
Wah bro. Selling SVS like selling goreng pisang arr. rclxms.gif rclxms.gif

BTW do u cover warranty fr any SVS owner r those who just buy fr u?
ar188
post Sep 30 2009, 08:38 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(htkaki @ Sep 30 2009, 01:25 PM)
dem... so fast.?? hot cakes..
TShtkaki
post Sep 30 2009, 09:34 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

PC12-Ultra & PB12-NSD also sold.

Left PC12-Plus, PB12-Plus, PC12-NSD (on its way here) and the SVS loudspeakers.

arj
post Oct 2 2009, 07:17 AM

RED DEVIL
4,896 posts

Can't wait for tomorrow drool.gif
megatron007
post Oct 2 2009, 07:57 AM

4,000 posts

will try to come..see u guys there smile.gif

i oledi bring mobiko along to ease the itchiness biggrin.gif
TShtkaki
post Oct 2 2009, 08:23 AM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

QUOTE(arj @ Oct 2 2009, 07:17 AM)
Can't wait for tomorrow drool.gif
Your 'babe' is waiting for you tongue.gif

will try to come..see u guys there  smile.gif

i oledi bring mobiko along to ease the itchiness  biggrin.gif

We shall see how effective is your mobiko brows.gif
fourzee
post Oct 2 2009, 08:57 AM

388 posts

Pls post pics of the event .. for us who cannot attend..very sad..
megatron007
post Oct 2 2009, 11:49 AM

4,000 posts

will TUN ARI be there too?

need to put SKI mask ON biggrin.gif
TShtkaki
post Oct 2 2009, 11:52 AM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

He might not be able to attend the event.
aquest
post Oct 2 2009, 11:54 AM

662 posts

later can have foc refreshment or even lunch on the poisonous 5th fl rclxub.gif

s6xs9x
post Oct 2 2009, 12:23 PM

My Stars Not Growing?
904 posts

Lunch Provided?
maja_5365
post Oct 2 2009, 12:25 PM

129 posts

QUOTE(s6xs9x @ Oct 2 2009, 12:23 PM)
Lunch Provided?
Me also want to know. biggrin.gif
TShtkaki
post Oct 2 2009, 12:30 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

QUOTE(s6xs9x @ Oct 2 2009, 12:23 PM)
Lunch Provided?
blush.gif It was mentioned in few pages back. Answer is an embarassing 'No' due to limited budget. But, there are 2 restaurants next to it. Free on the house = sky juice.

6xs9x, pls come early for the discussion. I might not have the time to log-in anymore til tmw events. My lorry has just left. Time for me to hit the road.

See you guys tmw! smile.gif
s6xs9x
post Oct 2 2009, 12:36 PM

My Stars Not Growing?
904 posts

I'll be the first you hear when you open up your ears! Hahahaha!
arj
post Oct 3 2009, 03:21 PM

RED DEVIL
4,896 posts

MPYW won the RM1000 discount! lust.gif

I'm damn jellus of him right now! rclxs0.gif

Oh well, at least I get to bring home a big and long black object today brows.gif
ar188
post Oct 3 2009, 04:25 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(arj @ Oct 3 2009, 03:21 PM)
MPYW won the RM1000 discount! lust.gif

I'm damn jellus of him right now! rclxs0.gif

Oh well, at least I get to bring home a big and long black object today brows.gif
yeah, he sapued one long black batang.. brows.gif PC-12 plus..
jchong
post Oct 3 2009, 06:16 PM

5,989 posts

Congrats mpyw!

So where are all the pictures and event reports?
ronnt88
post Oct 3 2009, 06:22 PM

2,353 posts

ya.. pics pls... for poor us who couldn't attend sad.gif
ar188
post Oct 3 2009, 07:15 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(ronnt88 @ Oct 3 2009, 06:22 PM)
ya.. pics pls... for poor us who couldn't attend sad.gif
you are not poor.. biggrin.gif cabuts..
TShtkaki
post Oct 3 2009, 11:14 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

It's with the pro photographer. Anyone else took photos?

Darn tired.
gnsumas
post Oct 3 2009, 11:21 PM

/k/+ps=WIN!
736 posts

Bro htkaki is elite notworthy.gif
mpyw
post Oct 3 2009, 11:25 PM

3,603 posts

Lucky lucky me....

EVERYBODY.....I GOT MY PC12+ at ONLY RM3.7K!!!!! tongue.gif

Can I repeat that again & again???? Even after 3 months later tongue.gif
gnsumas
post Oct 3 2009, 11:27 PM

/k/+ps=WIN!
736 posts

dry.gif

What's your address?

Btw, if your house kena rompak and you find your PC12+ missing, I didn't do it icon_rolleyes.gif
TShtkaki
post Oct 3 2009, 11:35 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

Thank you very much for those who turned up for the event.

I have to apologise that I can't attend to some of you. Nvm, once the 'brick n mortar' is ready, please drop by. Erm, of course for more poison tongue.gif .

This post has been edited by htkaki: Oct 3 2009, 11:47 PM
gnsumas
post Oct 3 2009, 11:36 PM

/k/+ps=WIN!
736 posts

htkaki is elite and humble notworthy.gif
robinlim
post Oct 3 2009, 11:52 PM

vui vẻ và điên
974 posts

QUOTE(mpyw @ Oct 3 2009, 11:25 PM)
Lucky lucky me....

I thought u r getting the PB12+?
heard u were asking whether can place the PB sideway

anyway, congrats to u for getting the PC12+ such cheap thumbup.gif
TShtkaki
post Oct 3 2009, 11:54 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

He can't get his very own 'Ketam' to approve it. So, he eneded with a bolster.
robinlim
post Oct 3 2009, 11:54 PM

vui vẻ và điên
974 posts

QUOTE(htkaki @ Oct 3 2009, 11:35 PM)
Thank you very much for those who turned up for the event.

I have to apologise that I can't attend to some of you. Nvm, once the 'brick n mortar' is ready, please drop by. Erm,  of course for more poison tongue.gif .
it's ok
at least I got the chance to chat with the co-founder Ron
It's a fruitful event to me smile.gif
ronaldjoe
post Oct 3 2009, 11:56 PM

3,569 posts

QUOTE(htkaki @ Oct 3 2009, 11:54 PM)
He can't get his very own 'Ketam' to approve it. So, he eneded with a bolster.
'Ketam' = wxxx laugh.gif
SUSHornyAngMoh
post Oct 4 2009, 12:01 AM

801 posts

QUOTE(mpyw @ Oct 3 2009, 11:25 PM)
Lucky lucky me....

Congratulation! rclxms.gif Getting one humongous 'Batang' home! biggrin.gif For some HM approval u can 'decorate' it like so:-

Maybe u can do better then that......... tongue.gif Oh yes! U can also stick some seasonal greeting on to it carpet body.........That is why it is better to buy two! biggrin.gif
s6xs9x
post Oct 4 2009, 12:42 AM

My Stars Not Growing?
904 posts

later all the flower wither off.
and when you put on that full face you'll still feel the vibration trap in it.
yonggoh
post Oct 4 2009, 02:50 AM

1,314 posts

won 2nd prize!!! yeaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa.....

me wants to buy all of you guys a coke smile.gif
TShtkaki
post Oct 4 2009, 08:07 AM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

kiam got the 3rd prize.

A note of thank you to kiam for helping out after the event. Appreciate that.

kiam
post Oct 4 2009, 08:51 AM

183 posts

haha...dun mention it boss. sorry not being able to make it to help before the event.

it was really an awesome demo yesterday.

mpyw
post Oct 4 2009, 09:09 AM

3,603 posts

the center speaker were very good even at off axis.
but the problem is too huge at 9" height.....
however I don't like the sound of the floorstander, a bit harsh to me, maybe it still not run in yet causing the harshness....

Fixed up the bolster at 11:30pm last night...played Bourne Ultimatum at very very low vol at -35db tongue.gif but still can feel the LFE....have not run the audessey yet.....
ronnt88
post Oct 4 2009, 09:14 AM

2,353 posts

QUOTE(mpyw @ Oct 4 2009, 09:09 AM)
however I don't like the sound of the floorstander, a bit harsh to me, maybe it still not run in yet causing the harshness....

Fixed up the bolster at 11:30pm last night...played Bourne Ultimatum at very very low vol at -35db tongue.gif but still can feel the LFE....have not run the audessey yet.....
wah... u got ur legally imported bolster at 3.7k only ?? drool.gif

now the 'other' guy would not keep bragging about his smuggled goods liao rclxms.gif
TShtkaki
post Oct 4 2009, 09:18 AM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

QUOTE(mpyw @ Oct 4 2009, 09:09 AM)

Hope that you like it and it would change your world towards LFE. If you need the SPL meter, do let me know.

Yes, it is not run-in yet. Only clocked less than 4 hours along with the MBS-01. The center speaker clocked less than 7hours.

OT : Any affordable shop in KL / PJ that you know of? Say below RM3K range blush.gif
megatron007
post Oct 4 2009, 09:19 AM

4,000 posts

congrats taukeh MPYW smile.gif luck star is with him this year rclxms.gif
mpyw
post Oct 4 2009, 09:21 AM

3,603 posts

QUOTE(ronnt88 @ Oct 4 2009, 09:14 AM)
wah... u got ur legally imported bolster at 3.7k only ?? drool.gif 

now the 'other' guy would not keep bragging about his smuggled goods liao rclxms.gif
Yup...Shipping duties & tax PAID!!!
D2D shipment at RM3.7k Nett!!!

tongue.gif brows.gif
TShtkaki
post Oct 4 2009, 09:23 AM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

QUOTE(megatron007 @ Oct 4 2009, 09:19 AM)
congrats taukeh MPYW smile.gif luck star is with him this year rclxms.gif
Tun, why so fast cabut? When you want to get yours? brows.gif
megatron007
post Oct 4 2009, 09:24 AM

4,000 posts

QUOTE(htkaki @ Oct 4 2009, 09:23 AM)
oledi over run the "timing" promised to my "ketam"

no approval sad.gif until move to new kandang first sad.gif
ar188
post Oct 4 2009, 10:01 AM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(htkaki @ Oct 4 2009, 09:23 AM)
maybe tun cabuts cos he scared kena poison deeply.. biggrin.gif
TShtkaki
post Oct 4 2009, 10:07 AM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

QUOTE(ar188 @ Oct 4 2009, 10:01 AM)
maybe tun cabuts cos he scared kena poison deeply..  biggrin.gif
laugh.gif He is as fast as lightning when cabut. Now you see. now you don't tongue.gif

P.S : Not referring to lightning69.
TrynRex
post Oct 4 2009, 10:08 AM

73 posts

Pictures of the event please. And i guessed everyone would like to see too.....
TShtkaki
post Oct 4 2009, 11:54 AM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

Here courtesy of Mr Lam Seng Fatt :

http://www.hi-fi-avenue.blogspot.com/

I'll post mine later. gtg
ar188
post Oct 4 2009, 12:07 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(htkaki @ Oct 4 2009, 11:54 AM)
Here courtesy of Mr Lam Seng Fatt :

http://www.hi-fi-avenue.blogspot.com/

I'll post mine later. gtg
where's leaky? biggrin.gif
gnsumas
post Oct 4 2009, 12:44 PM

/k/+ps=WIN!
736 posts

I can seee htkaki ph34r.gif
ycs
post Oct 4 2009, 12:46 PM

4,238 posts

i can see too biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by ycs: Oct 4 2009, 01:51 PM
gnsumas
post Oct 4 2009, 12:48 PM

/k/+ps=WIN!
736 posts

Which one? unsure.gif
synn
post Oct 4 2009, 11:57 PM

420 posts

QUOTE(gnsumas @ Oct 4 2009, 12:48 PM)
Which one? unsure.gif
tot u know blink.gif
that leng zai beside the svs taukeh laugh.gif
Boon3
post Oct 5 2009, 10:26 AM

15,942 posts

Some comments from someone who does 'not' have a home cinema set yet.

I sat near the back and I was very impressed with what I hear during the demo and the sound in fact was just as impressive (if not better) as in any cinema. The sounds effects in some of the scenes sounded so real and at time I could almost feel as if I was in the scene itself. Really nice.

However as impressive, I am not too sure if such an impressive setup would suit my needs and my environment.

Having said that, many congratulations to Maxx. SVS should be a success in Malaysia. rclxms.gif
jchong
post Oct 5 2009, 10:30 AM

5,989 posts

QUOTE(Boon3 @ Oct 5 2009, 10:26 AM)
However as impressive, I am not too sure if such an impressive setup would suit my needs and my environment.
I'm curious about this statement. How come you feel it might not suit your needs or environment?
hsiengloong
post Oct 5 2009, 10:35 AM

~Bass Maniac~
899 posts

I sat at the back in the event but soemhow i feel the lack of punch and dynamics which i felt during HTkaki's hse lol..

Ronaldjoe also shared the same comment but he managed to get another chance to demo it in front and he said that it was superb... my guess is that either Audyssey wasnt calibrated for the back row or the 2 sub setup wasnt enough as the room was quite huge...
Boon3
post Oct 5 2009, 10:37 AM

15,942 posts

QUOTE(jchong @ Oct 5 2009, 10:30 AM)
I'm curious about this statement. How come you feel it might not suit your needs or environment?
Well for instance, space constraint. I only have a small room available (roughly 11x11) and my other family members are not too comfortable with 'loud' sounds in the house. sad.gif
Reix
post Oct 5 2009, 02:05 PM

468 posts

11" x 11" is your living room or dedicated room size?

Boon3
post Oct 5 2009, 02:21 PM

15,942 posts

QUOTE(Reix @ Oct 5 2009, 02:05 PM)
11" x 11" is your living room or dedicated room size?
That would be the size of the dedicated room.
HT Freak
post Oct 5 2009, 03:07 PM

17 posts

Last week Saturday,I just attended the SVS subwoofer launching event at Crystal Crown hotel with my wife.My wife was complaining why we could not feel the bass and the vibration even they were demoing 2 subwoofer at the same time which is a super huge sub!Since this Svs sub is been much highly praised in the western country,I was very dissapointed about the sound quality and the lack of bass during the demo!Was it due to lack of calibration or the sub is under power?even my room size 20 x 35 feet length and im using 2 JBL 12ich Sub and my room could feel the bass and vibration when they were demoing the Transformers movie starting scene when the helicopter create alot of vibration and also we can feel the bass when the helicopter landed and the shock wave scene during the helicopter transformation and explotion from the helicopter,I can feel the bass from my sub.But none of this feeling happen during the show at SVS showroom.Is it the SVS sub underpower?And also the speaker is too bright and irritating to me n my wife ears!Is it because of the speaker characteristic or the amplifier characteristic?Even some forum members stated that even from next door they could feel the vibration is all BULLSHIT!as i was in the room i could not even feel it.What actually happen during the demo is up to everybody's opinion.So can i have some comment from other forum members?
ycs
post Oct 5 2009, 03:25 PM

4,238 posts

QUOTE(HT Freak @ Oct 5 2009, 03:07 PM)
Last week Saturday,I just attended the SVS subwoofer launching event at Crystal Crown hotel with my wife.My wife was complaining why we could not feel the bass and the vibration even they were demoing 2 subwoofer at the same time which is a super huge sub!Since this Svs sub is been much highly praised in the western country,I was very dissapointed about the sound quality and the lack of bass during the demo!Was it due to lack of calibration or the sub is under power?even my room size 20 x 35 feet length and im using 2 JBL 12ich Sub and my room could feel the bass and vibration when they were demoing the Transformers movie starting scene when the helicopter create alot of vibration and also we can feel the bass when the helicopter landed and the shock wave scene during the helicopter transformation and explotion from the helicopter,I can feel the bass from my sub.But none of this feeling happen during the show at SVS showroom.Is it the SVS sub underpower?And also the speaker is too bright and irritating to me n my wife ears!Is it because of the speaker characteristic or the amplifier characteristic?Even some forum members stated that even from next door they could feel the vibration is all BULLSHIT!as i was in the room i could not even feel it.What actually happen during the demo is up to everybody's opinion.So can i have some comment from other forum members?
I was at the event as well and sat in the 2nd row. Your comments about lack of "shaking' bass is correct and puzzled me as well. The Ron fella did say that the sub's are not running hot so perhaps thats why the bass was dissapointing. I, too, expected much more bass especially with so many subs in the room.

I'm using a PB12NSD at home and the bass I get is much better than at the demo, unfortunately. whistling.gif
HT Freak
post Oct 5 2009, 03:39 PM

17 posts

QUOTE(ycs @ Oct 5 2009, 03:25 PM)
I was at the event as well and sat in the 2nd row. Your comments about lack of "shaking' bass is correct and puzzled me as well. The Ron fella did say that the sub's are not running hot so perhaps thats why the bass was dissapointing. I, too, expected much more bass especially with so many subs in the room.

I'm using a PB12NSD at home and the bass I get is much better than at the demo, unfortunately.  whistling.gif
Thanks ycs. I was even more puzzled by your comment or do you mean to tell me evertime you need to run the sub an hour earlier before i should start watching movies.no way my friend. Or maybe SVS should use 4 sub. during the event. By purchasing 4 sub. would be very costly.Or maybe this sub is more suitable for small room?In my opinion such a important event like this,they should calibrate it perfectly even from front to back and every angle of the place before the event start.Now i was wondering whether the review from the oversea is true or BULLSHIT!I think the best way is to listen by yourself AND NOT BY LOOKING AT THE SPECIFICATION AND REVIEW!What i want to say is why SVS doesn't have the huge bass as it was claimed in every website or is the Sub amplifier is under power?
ronaldjoe
post Oct 5 2009, 03:48 PM

3,569 posts

QUOTE(HT Freak @ Oct 5 2009, 03:07 PM)
The set up was not perfect. I was at last row initially. The surround speakers were over powering and bright for my liking. It was bad.
I got better feel when I sat at front lines during second demo.
It was 7.4 set up. If the subs got crank up, they would just overshadow the main MTS speakers.
I had set my initial expectation that demo in ballroom would be bad.
Same applies to SVS event held in SG earlier. It was rather bad as well due to room limitation.
Perhaps you can pay htkaki's showroom a visit.

Added on October 5, 2009, 3:55 pm
QUOTE(HT Freak @ Oct 5 2009, 03:39 PM)
In my opinion such a important event like this,they should calibrate it perfectly even from front to back and every angle of the place before the event start.Now i was wondering whether the review from the oversea is true or BULLSHIT!I think the best way is to listen by yourself AND NOT BY LOOKING AT THE SPECIFICATION AND REVIEW!What i want to say is why SVS doesn't have the huge bass as it was claimed in every website or is the Sub amplifier is under power?
Shouldn't jump into conclusion to say B*LLSHIT until a good set up is 'properly' auditioned.
So far comments from pre-order owners have been favourable.
If possible, bring an JBL sub for shoot up at showroom. I believe htkaki would welcome this.
I couldn't comment much until I have my PB on hand next month.

This post has been edited by ronaldjoe: Oct 5 2009, 03:55 PM
mpyw
post Oct 5 2009, 04:04 PM

3,603 posts

The setting were not very good...
U need to be at the front 2-4 rows to get better feeling even though it's 4 subs setup.
Running hot does not mean the sub to be running for 1-2 hours b4 playing, it means the gain setup very high as as htkaki points out, the calibration done were 75db and are not playing at reference vol.
To get proper demo with correct setup, would be better can pay htkaki a visit at his Seremban home.
And I do agreed that the speakers are too bright to my liking...maybe after full run in, it would perform better (Those demo speakers are mere run for around 4 hours only doh.gif)
car_o_scope
post Oct 5 2009, 04:07 PM

Cars & HiFi fever!!
1,829 posts

This reminded me of the KLIAV show.
Many people complained about the sound of some of the most expensive systems at the show.
But in actual, they are being finetuned and set by the system designer and sound engineer of the manufacturers themselves.

And also the seating position is kind of contributing to the kind of sound you hear.
Anyway, what's your perception on huge bass?
Please share among us...

This post has been edited by car_o_scope: Oct 5 2009, 04:10 PM
hsiengloong
post Oct 5 2009, 04:07 PM

~Bass Maniac~
899 posts

Hmm, on another thought, does speakers normally feel not so bright after they are have run in?

I thought certain speakers have certain characteristics and SVS is more on the 'bright' side as compared to PSB (i'm having this)... Reason being, both the center and the floorstanders sounded sharper and brighter than my PSBs....

Not to say bright is no good, in fact certain people have different preference.. But my point is, will a speaker become less bright after run in?

Cheers
car_o_scope
post Oct 5 2009, 04:09 PM

Cars & HiFi fever!!
1,829 posts

If the amplifier is underpower, there is a possibility that the speakers will sound bright.
hsiengloong
post Oct 5 2009, 04:12 PM

~Bass Maniac~
899 posts

Shouldnt be the case.. I remembered seeing a Denon 4310 (raw power) paired tgt with a Rotel power amp there...

Nevertheless, i still think SVS makes damn great subs though.. Just commenting on the floorstander and centers only..
HT Freak
post Oct 5 2009, 04:15 PM

17 posts

QUOTE(ronaldjoe @ Oct 5 2009, 03:48 PM)
The set up was not perfect. I was at last row initially. The surround speakers were over powering and bright for my liking. It was bad.
I got better feel when I sat at front lines during second demo.
It was 7.4 set up. If the subs got crank up, they would just overshadow the main MTS speakers.
I had set my initial expectation that demo in ballroom would be bad.
Same applies to SVS event held in SG earlier. It was rather bad as well due to room limitation.
Perhaps you can pay htkaki's showroom a visit.
Thank you, Ronald. You think i should place the sub directly in front of me? They ia a rule of thump that state the sub should not be place at the mid way and since during the event it was place at the specific right placement for the subwoofer , i begin to wonder where the fault lies. Even my wife is not a movies freak also complaint 2 words, no bass and sound very bright. How big is Maxx Loh room? I hope i don't offend other forumers as we as consumers need to know what actully was happening during the event. Friends were telling me, this SVS is very good must buy but Sg dealers mentioned the other way round instead.
car_o_scope
post Oct 5 2009, 04:20 PM

Cars & HiFi fever!!
1,829 posts

QUOTE(hsiengloong @ Oct 5 2009, 04:12 PM)
Shouldnt be the case.. I remembered seeing a Denon 4310 (raw power) paired tgt with a Rotel power amp there...

Nevertheless, i still think SVS makes damn great subs though.. Just commenting on the floorstander and centers only..
Which is why I said it is a possibility... biggrin.gif

Anyhow, let's not forget that the MTS-01 is a pair of very power demanding and power sapping speakers. sweat.gif
I do feel that the speakers can do really good with a power amp that has more power and more importantly...... control.
Anyway, the Rotel is a 2-channel power amp.
If only the 4310 alone, the sound ain't going to be good.

HT Freak
post Oct 5 2009, 04:29 PM

17 posts

QUOTE(car_o_scope @ Oct 5 2009, 04:07 PM)
Anyway, what's your perception on huge bass?
Please share among us...
Huge bass?
In my opinion huge bass should be tight,punchy,solid and bass wave is wide.
But all this characteristic of a good subwoofer doesn;t show up during the Transformers movies and Die Hard 4.
I only can hear all those sharp and bright noise and no bass!!!
Not to mention that at certain explotion scene,instead of bass,I can only hear the sound of slight wind instead of the oomph sound that you normally enjoy even in the cinema
Correct me if i am wrong.
Is it SVS characteristic when you need more sub to bring up to that kind of level?
If it really happens,I think it would be very costly by buying so many sub at a time to feel the punchy and oomph feeling.

Added on October 5, 2009, 4:35 pm
QUOTE(mpyw @ Oct 5 2009, 04:04 PM)
U need to be at the front 2-4 rows to get better feeling even though it's 4 subs setup.
Running hot does not mean the sub to be running for 1-2 hours b4 playing, it means the gain setup very high as as htkaki points out, the calibration done were 75db and are not playing at reference vol.
To get proper demo with correct setup, would be better can pay htkaki a visit at his Seremban home.
And I do agreed that the speakers are too bright to my liking...maybe after full run in, it would perform better (Those demo speakers are mere run for around 4 hours only doh.gif)
Wah MPYW u need 4 sub to reach that kind of level EVEN YOU ARE SITTING INFRONT??
I thought they were using 2 SUB only.
If like this,based on my room size,then i think i should need 8 sub to get this kind of soundstage?
That would be very costly.

This post has been edited by HT Freak: Oct 5 2009, 04:39 PM
car_o_scope
post Oct 5 2009, 04:40 PM

Cars & HiFi fever!!
1,829 posts

Hahahahaha.... No need 8 subs lar....
Well, I think 1 sub will be enough.
Why not consider to have another audition at htkaki's place?
ronaldjoe
post Oct 5 2009, 04:41 PM

3,569 posts

QUOTE(HT Freak @ Oct 5 2009, 04:15 PM)
Thank you, Ronald. You think i should place the sub directly in front of me? They ia a rule of thump that state the sub should not be place at the mid way and since during the event it was place at the specific right placement for the subwoofer , i begin to wonder where the fault lies. Even my wife is not a movies  freak also complaint 2 words, no bass and sound very bright. How big is Maxx Loh room? I hope i don't offend other forumers as we as consumers need to know what actully was happening during the event. Friends were telling me, this SVS is very good must buy but Sg dealers mentioned the other way round instead.
HT Taukeh. You are right. It's undeniable that the set up and the sound were bad. Strongly believe my wife would have same comment if she was there. I would leave the comments part on the set up to htkaki.
SVS is selling well in SG as there were back orders and no ready stock was available when I was in SG. If not I would have grabbed one unit. I am not too sure about this now.

QUOTE(car_o_scope @ Oct 5 2009, 04:20 PM)
Which is why I said it is a possibility...   biggrin.gif

Anyhow, let's not forget that the MTS-01 is a pair of very power demanding and power sapping speakers.   sweat.gif
I do feel that the speakers can do really good with a power amp that has more power and more importantly...... control.
Anyway, the Rotel is a 2-channel power amp. 
If only the 4310 alone, the sound ain't going to be good.
Large room would need much better cabling as well. This would play a role as well.

Added on October 5, 2009, 4:44 pm
QUOTE(HT Freak @ Oct 5 2009, 04:29 PM)
Huge bass?
In my opinion huge bass should be tight,punchy,solid and bass wave is wide.
But all this characteristic of a good subwoofer doesn;t show up during the Transformers movies and Die Hard 4.
I only can hear all those sharp and bright noise and no bass!!!
Not to mention that at certain explotion scene,instead of bass,I can only hear the sound of slight wind instead of  the oomph sound that you normally enjoy even in the cinema
Correct me if i am wrong.
Is it SVS characteristic when you need more sub to bring up to that kind of level?
If it really happens,I think it would be very costly by buying so many sub at a time to feel the punchy and oomph feeling.

Added on October 5, 2009, 4:35 pm
Wah MPYW u need 4 sub to reach that kind of level EVEN YOU ARE SITTING INFRONT??
I thought they were using 2 SUB only.
If like this,based on my room size,then i think i should need 8 sub to get this kind of soundstage?
That would be very costly.
Should you need 8 subs to cover your room, I believe SVS would have closed shop now.

This post has been edited by ronaldjoe: Oct 5 2009, 04:44 PM
car_o_scope
post Oct 5 2009, 04:47 PM

Cars & HiFi fever!!
1,829 posts

Yes. Agree with you. Cables do bring some effects.
HT Freak
post Oct 5 2009, 04:56 PM

17 posts

[quote=car_o_scope,Oct 5 2009, 04:40 PM]Hahahahaha.... No need 8 subs lar....
Well, I think 1 sub will be enough.
Why not consider to have another audition at htkaki's place?

[/quote]

Taukeh car scope,
MPYW already stated ONLY BY USING 4 SUB HE ONLY CAN FEEL THE VIBRATION AND NOT TO FORGET THE BASS CAN BE FELT ONLY BY SITTING ON THE FRONT ROW!
and yet you mentioned that 1 sub is already enough?
how could it be for a big room need one sub only just like during the event?
As you know during the show first round demo,they are using 2 sub only and you mentioned that one sub is enough for my room size?
Kind of funny.

Added on October 5, 2009, 5:04 pm
Added on October 5, 2009, 4:44 pm
Should you need 8 subs to cover your room, I believe SVS would have closed shop now.

[/quote]

Thanks for helping also.
but brother MPYW were listening to 4 subs setup during the 2nd demo and don;t forget he already stated the sub feeling only can be felt at the front row.
And im not wrong,on the 2nd row the distance from the sub should be in the distance of 10 till 12 feet only.
My position from my sitting place to the front sub is around 25 feet in distance so i think the minimum requirement should be 6 sub.
Correct me if i am wrong but don't forget MPYW he is listening to 4 sub demo setup.

This post has been edited by HT Freak: Oct 5 2009, 05:04 PM
ronaldjoe
post Oct 5 2009, 05:09 PM

3,569 posts

QUOTE(HT Freak @ Oct 5 2009, 04:56 PM)
Taukeh car scope,
MPYW already stated ONLY BY USING 4 SUB HE ONLY CAN FEEL THE VIBRATION AND NOT TO FORGET THE BASS CAN BE FELT ONLY BY SITTING ON THE FRONT ROW!
As you know during the show first round demo,they are using 2 sub only and you mentioned that one sub is enough for my room size?
Kind of funny.
As far as I know they were running four subs through out the first and second demo. Bass was indeed lacking.
Taukeh HT, you are one of the disappointed and disgruntled 'potential' buyers with high expectation on SVS subs.
I would believe some other people would share the same thought with you as well.
For the sake of our interest and the benefits of 'potential' buyers, can we have a shoot out on JBL and SVS? biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by ronaldjoe: Oct 5 2009, 05:13 PM
HT Freak
post Oct 5 2009, 05:17 PM

17 posts

QUOTE(ronaldjoe @ Oct 5 2009, 05:09 PM)
As far as I know they were running four subs through out the first and second demo. Bass was indeed lacking.
Taukeh HT, you are one of the disappointed and disgruntled 'potential' buyers with high expectation on SVS subs.
I would believe some other people would share the same thought with you as well.
For the sake of our interest and the benefits of 'potential' buyers, can we have an shoot out on JBL and SVS?  biggrin.gif
Thanks alot again Ronald joe.
Why a shoot out?
Because i am using a old JBL Es series sub and its nothing great about this sub.
The purpose I went to the show because I wanted to change to a good sub after i read alot of good review about SVS sub at oversea website and forums.
But everything already changed my mind now.
And btw I thought you were saying that during the 1st demo they were using 2 subs only?
And then you have the opportunity to go for the 2nd demo which is running 4 sub setup?
Which is correct?
1st demo 2 sub or 4 sub?
So that means to say just like brother MPYW mentioned that we need to sit at the front row only we can feel the bass?
ronaldjoe
post Oct 5 2009, 05:21 PM

3,569 posts

Thanks for helping also.
but brother MPYW were listening to 4 subs setup during the 2nd demo and don;t forget he already stated the sub feeling only can be felt at the front row.
And im not wrong,on the 2nd row the distance from the sub should be in the distance of 10 till 12 feet only.
My position from my sitting place to the front sub is around 25 feet in distance so i think the minimum requirement should be 6 sub.
Correct me if i am wrong but don't forget MPYW he is listening to 4 sub demo setup.
I would say the subs had been 'intentionally' tuned down for the benefits of soft launching MTS speakers. (which is not my liking).
Recommended set up by svs is one PB13Ultra with MTS speakers series.
http://www.svsound.com/products-sys-mts01.cfm
We have gotten 4 subs that day.

Added on October 5, 2009, 5:21 pm
QUOTE(HT Freak @ Oct 5 2009, 05:17 PM)
1st demo 2 sub or 4 sub?
So that means to say just like brother MPYW mentioned that we need to sit at the front row only we can feel the bass?
My understanding: it's four subs.
Believe you are very much disappointed. Taking one step back, I'm just hoping that you would give it a second audition then.

P/s: I would have to stop for now. If not, it's going to end nowhere. Thanks

This post has been edited by ronaldjoe: Oct 5 2009, 05:26 PM
ycs
post Oct 5 2009, 05:27 PM

4,238 posts

i thought it was also 7.4 during 1st demo according to htkaki.

could it be that the AS-EQ1 is doing its job to flatten the bass response curve resulting in perceived 'less' bass whilst our home systems suffer from boominess due to room issues? hmm.gif
mpyw
post Oct 5 2009, 05:28 PM

3,603 posts

Could be the work of the EQ1.
And confirmed it was 7.4 setup for both demo...Ron told me that (I sat behind him during 1st demo)
ronaldjoe
post Oct 5 2009, 05:31 PM

3,569 posts

QUOTE(ycs @ Oct 5 2009, 05:27 PM)

could it be that the AS-EQ1 is doing its job to flatten the bass response curve resulting in perceived 'less' bass whilst our home systems suffer from boominess due to room issues?  hmm.gif
If that's the case I don't need an AS-EQ1 then. It's personal taste though. laugh.gif
The helicopter part in transformer should have some sub sonic feel.

HT Freak
post Oct 5 2009, 05:31 PM

17 posts

QUOTE(ronaldjoe @ Oct 5 2009, 05:21 PM)
I would say the subs had been 'intentionally' tuned down for the benefits of soft launching MTS speakers. (which is not my liking).

Added on October 5, 2009, 5:21 pm
My understanding: it's four subs.
Believe you are very much disappointed. Taking one step back, I'm just hoping that you would give it a second audition then.

P/s: I would have to stop for now. If not, it's going to end nowhere. Thanks
Ok thanks brother ronald joe.
There is no end to this puzzle.
Thanks alot for sharing some useful information.
Im going to U.S for some business purpose next fall.
If got time and chances,
Maybe i would drop by at SVS place through their given address to listen and test it.
Thanks alot then.
ronaldjoe
post Oct 5 2009, 05:34 PM

3,569 posts

QUOTE(HT Freak @ Oct 5 2009, 05:31 PM)
Ok thanks brother ronald joe.
There is no end to this puzzle.
Thanks alot for sharing some useful information.
Im going to U.S for some business purpose next fall.
If got time and chances,
Maybe i would drop by at SVS place through their given address to listen and test it.
Thanks alot then.
If you are going to SVS, can help me grab an AS-EQ1? brows.gif joke...
Boon3
post Oct 5 2009, 05:42 PM

15,942 posts

QUOTE(ronaldjoe @ Oct 5 2009, 05:34 PM)
If you are going to SVS, can help me grab an AS-EQ1?  brows.gif joke...
eh? I thought can buy As-EQ1 and SVS locally already. Why buy from US?

ronaldjoe
post Oct 5 2009, 05:46 PM

3,569 posts

QUOTE(Boon3 @ Oct 5 2009, 05:42 PM)
eh? I thought can buy As-EQ1 and SVS locally already. Why buy from US?
Simple it's cheaper there. biggrin.gif Peasant cant afford expensive stuffs.

Added on October 5, 2009, 5:49 pmOrdering from SVS directly is virtually impossible now.
Taking into account of shipping charge and customs duties, it would cost about the same.
If someone brings it back from US directly. Then it's different story. smile.gif

This post has been edited by ronaldjoe: Oct 5 2009, 05:49 PM
jchong
post Oct 5 2009, 07:28 PM

5,989 posts

Taukeh car scope,
Kind of funny.

Your room size is 20'x35' right? That's very large and I think at a minimum you'll need 2 subs.

As to why the bass during the demo was disappointing, there could be various reasons:

1. The room was larger than what the subs were capable of
2. The sub setup was less than optimal
3. You were sitting in a less than optimal position
4. There were many people there (I wonder if people act as bass absorbers? smile.gif)

Anyway, the best place to judge any sub is in a 'normal' room environment. I think if you were able to try it in those conditions the SVS would not disappoint you.
Boon3
post Oct 5 2009, 07:57 PM

15,942 posts

QUOTE(ronaldjoe @ Oct 5 2009, 05:46 PM)
Simple it's cheaper there. biggrin.gif Peasant cant afford expensive stuffs.

Added on October 5, 2009, 5:49 pmOrdering from SVS directly is virtually impossible now.
Taking into account of shipping charge and customs duties, it would cost about the same.
If someone brings it back from US directly. Then it's different story. smile.gif
To personally bring it back from US? These subs weighs a tonne! Surely not worth the hassle. No, not for me. This is something I would not do but if someone is kind enough to volunteer and bring one back to my doorstep, I am all ears!

However, correct me if I am wrong. Comparing prices rather pointless for home theather. TVs are much cheaper in US. Speakers too. AVRs too. Amps too. BD players too. Cars are much cheaper too. Wait a minute. Houses too are much cheaper there! Are we talking about shipping an entire house back?

Oops! Sorry gone too OT!
jchong
post Oct 5 2009, 09:03 PM

5,989 posts

QUOTE(Boon3 @ Oct 5 2009, 07:57 PM)
To personally bring it back from US? These subs weighs a tonne! Surely not worth the hassle. No, not for me. This is something I would not do but if someone is kind enough to volunteer and bring one back to my doorstep, I am all ears!
He was talking about the EQ1 not a sub. EQ1 is not a big and heavy package like a sub.
megatron007
post Oct 5 2009, 09:46 PM

4,000 posts

QUOTE(jchong @ Oct 5 2009, 07:28 PM)
Your room size is 20'x35' right? That's very large and I think at a minimum you'll need 2 subs.

tat's my same concern... the room size will kill the setup sad.gif

Added on October 5, 2009, 9:47 pm
QUOTE(hsiengloong @ Oct 5 2009, 10:35 AM)
I sat at the back in the event but soemhow i feel the lack of punch and dynamics which i felt during HTkaki's hse lol..

Ronaldjoe also shared the same comment but he managed to get another chance to demo it in front and he said that it was superb... my guess is that either Audyssey wasnt calibrated for the back row or the 2 sub setup wasnt enough as the room was quite huge...
I saw u ...hahah drool.gif we at back row...seriously speaking nothing can be felt... except my HM complaining the harshness of the surround speaker..

sakit telinga sad.gif

Added on October 5, 2009, 9:51 pm
QUOTE(mpyw @ Oct 5 2009, 04:04 PM)
ppl like us at the back suffer abit doh.gif btw, i saw the volume -2 or -4 level... tat's for ??

also the "movie" in FILE format " HANG KIE" for a few time.. pardon my HM question " THE SUB TOO POWER n caused HANG KEI ar" ? sweat.gif

This post has been edited by megatron007: Oct 5 2009, 09:51 PM
ronnt88
post Oct 5 2009, 09:58 PM

2,353 posts

wah tun mega... ur wife quite sarcastic also hor.. tongue.gif
Synco
post Oct 5 2009, 10:00 PM

CCB
667 posts

QUOTE(ronnt88 @ Oct 5 2009, 09:58 PM)
learn alot from the husband biggrin.gif

HT Freak
post Oct 5 2009, 10:00 PM

17 posts

QUOTE(megatron007 @ Oct 5 2009, 09:46 PM)

You are right on target!thats was my concern too.
I think maybe this is because most probably due to the EQ calibration.
What i do know is all those Audessey jargon sound like crap.
Maybe this reason taht cause all the loss of impact during the demo.

I saw u ...hahah  drool.gif  we at back row...seriously speaking nothing can be felt... except my HM complaining the harshness of the surround speaker..

sakit telinga sad.gif
Same goes to my wife too.
Some dealer told me Denon have this kind of characteristic which sound very harsh and bright.
And the same goes to Yamaha amp.
To all forum members,I have nothing against SVS product.
Maybe because of the EQ factor that cause all this problem as most Asian prefer all those punchy sound and bass.
I have tested the Audessey before.
But none of them suit me well even though how accurate they are.
Just a simple question.
What is the purpose of subwoofer?
Of course to get all those oomph and by using EQ devices this will defeat the purpose of getting the sub.
Sometimes i also wonder what is all this Audessey crap about.
megatron007
post Oct 5 2009, 10:04 PM

4,000 posts

QUOTE(ronnt88 @ Oct 5 2009, 09:58 PM)
blush.gif bey pai mai hiam la ... but the 1hr opening speech really can die blink.gif rclxub.gif

Added on October 5, 2009, 10:04 pm
QUOTE(Synco @ Oct 5 2009, 10:00 PM)
learn alot from the husband biggrin.gif
dun kacao la..how's ur new B&W + PC12+? tongue.gif

This post has been edited by megatron007: Oct 5 2009, 10:04 PM
ycs
post Oct 5 2009, 10:07 PM

4,238 posts

quite a few came with the HM, wonder why? hmm.gif
megatron007
post Oct 5 2009, 10:07 PM

4,000 posts

taukeh HT Freak....

how high is ur ceiling?? do u use power amp now in ur 20x35 kaki room now? hmmmm

Added on October 5, 2009, 10:09 pm
QUOTE(ycs @ Oct 5 2009, 10:07 PM)
quite a few came with the HM, wonder why? hmm.gif
blink.gif sad.gif sob sob .... draw cartoon no need to draw intestine out on the wall gua

This post has been edited by megatron007: Oct 5 2009, 10:09 PM
anfieldude
post Oct 5 2009, 10:17 PM

3,858 posts

QUOTE(HT Freak @ Oct 5 2009, 10:00 PM)
Same goes to my wife too.
Some dealer told me Denon have this kind of characteristic which sound very harsh and bright.
And the same goes to Yamaha amp.
To all forum members,I have nothing against SVS product.
Maybe because of the EQ factor that cause all this problem as most Asian prefer all those punchy sound and bass.
I have tested the Audessey before.
But none of them suit me well even though how accurate they are.
Just a simple question.
What is the purpose of subwoofer?
Of course to get all those oomph and by using EQ devices this will defeat the purpose of getting the sub.
Sometimes i also wonder what is all this Audessey crap about.
I'll bite the bait.

Audyssey "crap" is a room correction method to ensure that you hear the music/soundtrack as was recorded by the sound engineers. Our rooms are not perfect and they induce unwanted side effects. Audyssey tries to improve on it.

Subwoofer is to deliver the .1 (LFE) that is recorded in the movie soundtrack (accurately if u want, but it is up to u). For music, it is to supplement the L/R speakers that are not designed to handle the lower frequencies that well (most speakers anyway). Most music are not mixed to have too low frequencies (except some orchestral pieces mostly pipe organ and of course the famous disco music)

However, it is your money, your room and your equipment (not to mention ur ears). So whatever works for u is the best idea. Don't worry abt what other say, if u like ur music/soundtracks bassy, so be it.

Based on ur description, I believe u like ur music/soundtrack bass heavy. One way is to run ur sub trims at the max, this way, u get the all the bass u want.

Either way, enjoy ur music/movies the way u want to.
HT Freak
post Oct 5 2009, 10:27 PM

17 posts

[quote=megatron007,Oct 5 2009, 10:07 PM]
taukeh HT Freak....

how high is ur ceiling?? do u use power amp now in ur 20x35 kaki room now? hmmmm

My ceiling height is around 10 feet high.
Im using 2 channel power amp for my floorstanding speaker and 5 channel for my surround.
For floorstander amp im using JBL Stereo power amp S800A
And for the 5 more other speaker were driven by JBL 5 channel power amp S5160A.
Bought this power amp in Singapore and still serve me very well.
How many of use like the Audessey mode?
For me i think it sounds like rubbish!
And i did not know during the SVS demo they were using the EQ for the subwoofer.
And maybe this is the reason that cause all the sound loss.
megatron007
post Oct 5 2009, 10:38 PM

4,000 posts

I m using currently on my sky dragon sad.gif paiseh la ..nochoice peasant entry setup sad.gif
jchong
post Oct 5 2009, 10:44 PM

5,989 posts

QUOTE(HT Freak @ Oct 5 2009, 10:27 PM)
How many of use like the Audessey mode?
For me i think it sounds like rubbish!
I do use Audyssey and find it better than without.

On other forums there are people who like it and those who don't. In the end it's different strokes for different folks.
Synco
post Oct 5 2009, 10:57 PM

CCB
667 posts

QUOTE(megatron007 @ Oct 5 2009, 10:38 PM)
I m using currently on my sky dragon sad.gif paiseh la ..nochoice peasant entry setup sad.gif
peasant setup but near 700 BD !!
next week free bo? time to resume some activity laugh.gif

This post has been edited by Synco: Oct 5 2009, 11:00 PM
megatron007
post Oct 5 2009, 11:01 PM

4,000 posts

synco boss.. dun OT la..this is SVS ...

btw, i also no time next week to teman u buy ur SMX screen .... u eat sendiri ba biggrin.gif
Synco
post Oct 5 2009, 11:02 PM

CCB
667 posts

QUOTE(megatron007 @ Oct 5 2009, 11:01 PM)

btw, i also no time next week to teman u buy ur SMX screen .... u eat sendiri ba biggrin.gif
lets go back to whafy thread together thumbup.gif
ar188
post Oct 5 2009, 11:27 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(megatron007 @ Oct 5 2009, 11:01 PM)

wah taukeh got 700BD liao? thumbup.gif
TShtkaki
post Oct 5 2009, 11:48 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

QUOTE(hsiengloong @ Oct 5 2009, 10:35 AM)

Jz back from sending Ron back to hotel. Yes, it is due to the length of the cable itself. It could only reach a bit more than ha;f of the area. That area is a massive 26' x 33'.

For those whole do not feel the bass, it is because the sub is not set to run hot. It is being set to be the same level as the front. We intend to let you listen to the intended recording w/o any coloration or extra 'spice'.

I have told Ron that 99% Malaysians into HT loves to run hot if not extra hot for their HT. Heavy bass. But, no. For the purpose of AS-EQ1, we need to run it as what the recording studio intends us to hear. Unfortunately, as it seems it didn't go down well with most of us.

That's the very same comments from a lot of users when they use the AS-EQ1; bass is gone. Nope, not actually disappear. It is that we have been listening to 'hot' tuned movies. Yes, it is of personal preference.

could it be that the AS-EQ1 is doing its job to flatten the bass response curve resulting in perceived 'less' bass whilst our home systems suffer from boominess due to room issues?   hmm.gif

Spot on. If you want bass, we could have tuned it up and let hell break loose. Just ask jchong abt the SVS PB13-Ultra does in a single living hall when being run hot.

http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/824330/+1620

The speakers being bright, yes. It is all due to puny 4310. It didn't has the juice to drive that even with the front pair being driven by Rotel. Oh yes, we did not employ the '-3dB' switch on that. With that on, it could have been better.

This post has been edited by htkaki: Oct 5 2009, 11:49 PM
jchong
post Oct 6 2009, 08:35 AM

5,989 posts

QUOTE(htkaki @ Oct 5 2009, 11:48 PM)
Jz back from sending Ron back to hotel. Yes, it is due to the length of the cable itself. It could only reach a bit more than ha;f of the area. That area is a massive 26' x 33'.

Can you check with Ron if people are a factor. I mean that all those people in attendance also acts to reduce the bass? Maybe that's why those in front get a better experience than those at the back?
ronnt88
post Oct 6 2009, 08:42 AM

2,353 posts

I do notice that with more ppl in the room the bass is less.. Our body mass must be real good bass traps.
hsiengloong
post Oct 6 2009, 09:44 AM

~Bass Maniac~
899 posts

QUOTE(megatron007 @ Oct 5 2009, 10:46 PM)

I saw u ...hahah  drool.gif  we at back row...seriously speaking nothing can be felt... except my HM complaining the harshness of the surround speaker..

sakit telinga sad.gif

Added on October 5, 2009, 9:51 pm

ppl like us at the back suffer abit  doh.gif  btw, i saw the volume -2 or -4 level... tat's for ??

also the "movie" in FILE format " HANG KIE" for a few time.. pardon my HM question " THE SUB TOO POWER n caused HANG KEI ar" ?  sweat.gif
Hey bro, were u seated at the far left back corner? Right beside the surr speakers? Lol..Because i saw the couple left half way during the demo (transformers, i think) and i suspected it was because the surr speakers were too bright tongue.gif

BTw, i din recognise anyone in the event la.. Maybe bcos i'm the only 1 that put my stupid looking face as my avatar lol
car_o_scope
post Oct 6 2009, 10:33 AM

Cars & HiFi fever!!
1,829 posts

maja_5365
post Oct 6 2009, 10:35 AM

129 posts

Sorry fo the late posting.

Overall the event was quite ok and many thanks for htkaki for organizing the event and the shirt of course. biggrin.gif

Yes I agreed with u all who was sitting at the back the bass wass less and futhermore the surround speakers tend to be bright abit but I can still feel the vibration

Got to meet bro sx9,arremie,ronaldjoe,arj and few forumers which I didn't get their name.

Didnt get into detail discussion abt my sub setting but It was a nice experienced talking to the man himself(Ron). rclxms.gif

To htkaki good luck on yr sales.

p/s : htkaki,Do u hv the picture at the end of the event where there were quite a few of us posted with Ron and the sub. Can get a copy?

Cheers.

This post has been edited by maja_5365: Oct 6 2009, 10:37 AM
car_o_scope
post Oct 6 2009, 10:45 AM

Cars & HiFi fever!!
1,829 posts

Pic below (From L-->R): PC12-Plus, PB13-Ultra, MTS-01

Pic below (From L-->R): MTS-01, PB12-Plus, PC13-Ultra
TShtkaki
post Oct 6 2009, 11:13 AM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

QUOTE(hsiengloong @ Oct 6 2009, 09:44 AM)
Hey bro, were u seated at the far left back corner? Right beside the surr speakers? Lol..Because i saw the couple left half way during the demo (transformers, i think) and i suspected it was because the surr speakers were too bright tongue.gif

BTw, i din recognise anyone in the event la.. Maybe bcos i'm the only 1 that put my stupid looking face as my avatar lol
Lesson learnt. Next time, I sld burn-in all speakers for good hours and not less than 8 hours. The spkr cables are brand new. Just terminated and lay in my home. It's Belden. The PB13-Ultra is being used for less than 8 hours. PC13 brand new as well as SBS-01. Right out of the box. Almost all are right out of the box. The 4310.... less than 15 hours on the clock.

It's ok. I will set it up again here. And those who are interested may come and experience it while waiting for my new showroom to be ready.
hsiengloong
post Oct 6 2009, 11:16 AM

~Bass Maniac~
899 posts

Lol bro, i can help u burn in if u want tongue.gif

BTW, does that mean u will have a second round of demo? Would be great stuff...
TShtkaki
post Oct 6 2009, 11:30 AM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

QUOTE(hsiengloong @ Oct 6 2009, 11:16 AM)
Lol bro, i can help u burn in if u want tongue.gif

BTW, does that mean u will have a second round of demo? Would be great stuff...
Hotel again, nope. Just too expensive to cover my cost. Too much of a hassle. I will set it up at my pad again. And once the showroom is ready, there will probably be 2 different setups there. The MTS-01 system with 13-Ultra and another S series setup with 12-plus or 12-NSD. You are allow to bring your sub for a comparison. Erm, how about your SPL1200-Ultra? smile.gif
hsiengloong
post Oct 6 2009, 11:42 AM

~Bass Maniac~
899 posts

U mean my peasant SPL1200? I scare after comparing i might just ditch my spl at yuor shop and carry back a svs tongue.gif
TShtkaki
post Oct 6 2009, 11:43 AM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

QUOTE(hsiengloong @ Oct 6 2009, 11:42 AM)
U mean my peasant SPL1200? I scare after comparing i might just ditch my spl at yuor shop and carry back a svs tongue.gif
Don't waste it. Make it a 7.2 setup wink.gif
hsiengloong
post Oct 6 2009, 11:45 AM

~Bass Maniac~
899 posts

sweat.gif sweat.gif sweat.gif

lightning69
post Oct 6 2009, 02:23 PM

2,298 posts

While the SVS was launching their product in KL, I was having a small demo for my friends here.

They are very impress by the PC12+ so looks like there are some convert here in Miri too.

Will be recommending them to Htkaki. One of them is interested but not really like the canvas exterior of the PC12+. Is there a piano finish PC sub?
TShtkaki
post Oct 6 2009, 02:26 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

Unfortunately, no. Only in black fabric. Tks a lot.
lightning69
post Oct 6 2009, 02:29 PM

2,298 posts

PC13Ultra also no piano black?
TShtkaki
post Oct 6 2009, 02:51 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

It applies to all cyclinder.
ar188
post Oct 6 2009, 02:52 PM

9,206 posts

the centre channel is huge! but got nice gloss black top..
gnsumas
post Oct 6 2009, 02:53 PM

/k/+ps=WIN!
736 posts

QUOTE(htkaki @ Oct 6 2009, 02:51 PM)
It applies to all cyclinder.
Abang htkaki,

Your sub is box or cylinder ah?

jchong
post Oct 6 2009, 03:19 PM

5,989 posts

His is a box sub.
gnsumas
post Oct 6 2009, 04:20 PM

/k/+ps=WIN!
736 posts

So htkaki uses a PB-13 Ultra? unsure.gif
jchong
post Oct 6 2009, 04:35 PM

5,989 posts

Yup
gnsumas
post Oct 6 2009, 05:03 PM

/k/+ps=WIN!
736 posts

so elite notworthy.gif
TShtkaki
post Oct 6 2009, 05:14 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

QUOTE(gnsumas @ Oct 6 2009, 05:03 PM)
so elite notworthy.gif
sweat.gif No, aint elite. Simple reason for taking the 13-Ultra. Need not to mention wink.gif
gnsumas
post Oct 6 2009, 05:16 PM

/k/+ps=WIN!
736 posts

13-Ultra very nice. Heard one once. So power.

But $ T_T
mpyw
post Oct 6 2009, 05:55 PM

3,603 posts

wait for USD1 = RM2.50 then only buy
cheap cheap if goes that way sweat.gif
jchong
post Oct 6 2009, 06:14 PM

5,989 posts

Wah, how long to wait until USD reach 2.50?
TShtkaki
post Oct 6 2009, 11:14 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

QUOTE(mpyw @ Oct 6 2009, 05:55 PM)
wait for USD1 = RM2.50 then only buy
cheap cheap if goes that way sweat.gif
time for me to hit the bed and start dreaming whistling.gif
sam240
post Oct 8 2009, 11:40 AM

3,657 posts

Wonder is there any coming road show in Penang? wonder to test for the SBS-01 smile.gif
mpyw
post Oct 8 2009, 12:02 PM

3,603 posts

Did htkaki offers 30 days trial like SVS USA?? brows.gif
ar188
post Oct 8 2009, 12:43 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(mpyw @ Oct 8 2009, 12:02 PM)
Did htkaki offers 30 days trial like SVS USA?? brows.gif
he only offer RM1000 rebate to some lucky fella.. whistling.gif
yonggoh
post Oct 8 2009, 12:53 PM

1,314 posts

and 700rm rebate to another one... wink.gif
sam240
post Oct 8 2009, 01:10 PM

3,657 posts

oh, how to get rebate?
synn
post Oct 8 2009, 01:28 PM

420 posts

QUOTE(sam240 @ Oct 8 2009, 01:10 PM)
oh, how to get rebate?
dude, turn back time and pray hard hard be4 go for the product launch laugh.gif
ar188
post Oct 8 2009, 01:31 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(yonggoh @ Oct 8 2009, 12:53 PM)
and 700rm rebate to another one... wink.gif
and one more fellow leh? biggrin.gif
TShtkaki
post Oct 8 2009, 04:34 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

kiam = RM500
JiauBoy
post Oct 8 2009, 05:16 PM

727 posts

can get rebate meh? how?
ar188
post Oct 8 2009, 05:21 PM

9,206 posts

read post 174.. tongue.gif
TShtkaki
post Oct 8 2009, 05:45 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

U guys are a fantastic lot lah. LOL....

gnsumas
post Oct 8 2009, 05:54 PM

/k/+ps=WIN!
736 posts

so lucky... sad.gif

abang htkaki must have another event with rebate next time brows.gif
TShtkaki
post Oct 8 2009, 05:59 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

Aiyo, you think it's charity? I don't remember anyone doing that. Correct me if I am wrong. LOL....
gnsumas
post Oct 8 2009, 06:04 PM

/k/+ps=WIN!
736 posts

You is elite, boleh buat ape2 pun notworthy.gif
TShtkaki
post Oct 8 2009, 07:24 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

QUOTE(gnsumas @ Oct 8 2009, 06:04 PM)
You is elite, boleh buat ape2 pun notworthy.gif
sweat.gif wait until you see the cars that I drive. Peasant trying to be elite only. Making a peanuts for a living.

kiam, mpyw, maja, ronaldjoe and the rest who took photos wt Ron, pls PM your e-mail address in order to rcv the photo.
ar188
post Oct 8 2009, 07:35 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(htkaki @ Oct 8 2009, 07:24 PM)
sweat.gif  wait until you see the cars that I drive. Peasant trying to be elite only. Making a peanuts for a living.

kiam, mpyw, maja, ronaldjoe and the rest who took photos wt Ron, pls PM your e-mail address in order to rcv the photo.
me leh? biggrin.gif
TShtkaki
post Oct 8 2009, 07:51 PM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

Send you some photos. Btw, Ron might be here again for KLIAV 2010 if the timing is right.

This post has been edited by htkaki: Oct 8 2009, 07:52 PM
JiauBoy
post Oct 9 2009, 07:41 AM

727 posts

QUOTE(ar188 @ Oct 8 2009, 05:21 PM)
read post 174.. tongue.gif
hahhaah referring to the post then i shoud buy '4d' kau kau. tongue.gif
TShtkaki
post Oct 9 2009, 09:36 AM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

QUOTE(JiauBoy @ Oct 9 2009, 07:41 AM)
If hit the jackpot, FREE tongue.gif

ar188
post Oct 9 2009, 01:34 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(JiauBoy @ Oct 9 2009, 07:41 AM)
if can do that, why aim so low, go US or europe and buy 100mil jackpot winning number.. biggrin.gif

0.0817sec    0.58    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 03:46 AM