Headphones HEADPHONES/ EARPHONES Recomendation Corner V4, MOAR Recommendations !!!

yuheng
post Oct 12 2009, 11:04 AM

Audio=Enjoy
2,753 posts

QUOTE(Eiraku @ Oct 12 2009, 01:07 AM)
Correction, just did a quick compre with the SP1 (WITH the E5). The SP1 has a NARROWER soundstage compared to the PL50 (will correct the post above to reflect this). The PL50's really not that bad, but soundstage aside, the SP1 is a killer on the Nokia 5800 amped through the E5 with all flat EQ (to my cheapo bass-heavy ears anyway).

The PL50s, on the other hand, need +4 notches EQ on the lowest end to even compete, even when amped. But this clutters up the sound a bit, and the PL50 really can't match the SP1 in terms of bass (especially for the more thumping tracks).

Though, keeping in mind I got the PL50 for the mids rather than the bass, I tuned down the bass to +2 notches EQ for use w/ the E5; and it works rather well for non-bass-centric songs. Vocals and instruments are clear, and the bass is just enough to make a difference.

The SP1 + E5 sounds like what I've wanted any IEM to sound like through since Day 1 (initial impressions anyway). For now at least. Lets see if the PR2 trumps the SP1 when it comes along.

Plugging in the Quattros, however, made me remember why I need to burn the Quattros EVEN MORE (it just sounds wrong).

I might just sell my Quads for a good price after the Shootout. I'll have farrrr too many bass-oriented IEMs for practical use by then (PR2, Quads AND SP1).

P.S. Tomorrow is PL50 day for me.
crossroad woddy vs pl50 is a must biggrin.gif

yuheng
post Nov 1 2009, 08:52 AM

Audio=Enjoy
2,753 posts

QUOTE(Fantasia @ Oct 30 2009, 01:30 AM)
so in term of clarity, pl50 better or bijou 4 better?
there is some models come with extremely clearity and details.

here's the review biggrin.gif
http://jaben.net/forums/index.php?topic=12649.0
yuheng
post Jan 2 2010, 12:54 AM

Audio=Enjoy
2,753 posts

QUOTE(azrene @ Jan 1 2010, 10:24 PM)
wanna ask...got 2 offers,,,akg k512...or ath m30..quite same price..which one is better?
for the same budget, u can always consider dt231 biggrin.gif
yuheng
post Jan 30 2010, 12:17 PM

Audio=Enjoy
2,753 posts

QUOTE(viruz019 @ Jan 30 2010, 11:22 AM)
Hi, would like to hear some opinion! is the Heartbeats by Lady GaGa a good earphone?
you can get quite some reviews in head-fi then
there is quite some choice within the range of price

Added on January 30, 2010, 12:19 pm
QUOTE(vlad123 @ Jan 30 2010, 11:51 AM)
guys any recommendations headphones for listening classical, jazz and sometimes pop songs? I'm using my laptop to play those music files. my budget is around 100~200.
You can head to dt231, try to search for more reviews biggrin.gif

Added on January 30, 2010, 12:22 pm
QUOTE(Topet @ Jan 30 2010, 11:30 AM)
SONY MDR NC300D and AKG K390NC

which is better?
There are quite some brands as well for the range
with the same budgets, try search on Westone UM2 Q-jays, which deemed to have better reputation in other countries. You might be able to consider on UE Superfi5 as well

This post has been edited by yuheng: Jan 30 2010, 12:22 PM
yuheng
post Jan 31 2010, 10:24 PM

Audio=Enjoy
2,753 posts

QUOTE(vlad123 @ Jan 30 2010, 01:38 PM)
except dt231 any sennheiser headphone to intro?
for the range, i dont think senn was good with the prices.
However, if u dont mind small headphone, es5 is one of the good choices.
Apart of it. if u need some big headphones. u can consider AD300 as well for well comfortableness.

Added on January 31, 2010, 10:25 pm
QUOTE(vlad123 @ Jan 30 2010, 01:38 PM)
except dt231 any sennheiser headphone to intro?
for the range, i dont think senn was good with the prices.
However, if u dont mind small headphone, es5 is one of the good choices.
Apart of it. if u need some big headphones. u can consider AD300 as well for well comfortableness.

This post has been edited by yuheng: Jan 31 2010, 10:25 PM
yuheng
post Feb 23 2010, 01:42 PM

Audio=Enjoy
2,753 posts

QUOTE(spoil_ @ Feb 23 2010, 12:08 PM)
is Audio Technica ON3 really good?  hmm.gif
There is better choices with similar price range biggrin.gif
try to search on hippo safari biggrin.gif
yuheng
post Feb 23 2010, 09:39 PM

Audio=Enjoy
2,753 posts

QUOTE(spoil_ @ Feb 23 2010, 09:30 PM)
used to be in my target. but end up just bought Soundmagic Pl30.
this headphone is for my friend. he want big-big one. tutup telinga punya  laugh.gif
can u give me link. i cant find any useful link.
you can get that from this review
http://www.inearmatters.net/2010/02/small-...pic-safari.html
yuheng
post Mar 5 2010, 11:20 AM

Audio=Enjoy
2,753 posts

QUOTE(terradrive @ Mar 5 2010, 05:43 AM)
Not sure about SE210, but if I'm not mistaken the nice shure canalphones are SE310 and SE530.

You should scout for other alternatives like:
Fischer Audio Eterna, RM250-270 (bass type)
Hifiman RE0 RM300 +/- (clarity,rated as hi-fi)
Sherwood SE777
SoundMagic series (PL50, PL30, PL21, PL20, PL11 etc)
and many more
something added for you
Fischer Audio Eterna, RM250-270 (bass type)
Hifiman RE0 RM300 +/- (clarity,rated as hi-fi)
Sherwood SE777 (vocal type, sound differently on POP music)
SoundMagic series (PL50, PL30, PL21, PL20, PL11 etc)
Hippo VB (Bass adjustable features)
Westone UM1, RM450+ (head-fi high rated)
Atrio M5, RM570+ (head-fi high rated)

and etc...etc...
yuheng
post Mar 6 2010, 02:16 PM

Audio=Enjoy
2,753 posts

just get a hippo pearl and u solve durable issues biggrin.gif
yuheng
post Mar 21 2010, 01:14 PM

Audio=Enjoy
2,753 posts

we so happened to have a unit of w1k when our store start, u can drop by to test it, not sure but we might have es10 as well. tongue.gif tongue.gif tongue.gif..

we might have some bigger woddy bros....more and more woddyddyydyydyyy thing going to landed in Malaysia.

yuheng
post Apr 6 2010, 09:46 AM

Audio=Enjoy
2,753 posts

QUOTE(kockroach @ Apr 5 2010, 10:41 PM)
Hi, all the sifu here, with a budget of RM200 what is the best choice for in-ear headphone? can I get a audio technica with this price range, and how does it compare to other brand with similar price range? Thank you.
hi
i dont think any audio technica IEM come with great bass but certianly there are at least 10 IEM falled within the range. You can drop by our headphone store in ss15 for testing.

In fact with your price range, u can think of

Hippo Boom
Hippo VB
Crossroad Bijou
Crossroad quattro
UE Metrofi 100
Koss Ispark
and the 10+- IEMs as i mentioned from audio technica.

Added on April 6, 2010, 9:47 am
QUOTE(Deus @ Apr 5 2010, 08:17 PM)
Hi, I'm looking for a pair of IEMs to replace my stock fuze earphones, yes I'm poor so I've been using the stock till it gave up on me. My budget for IEMs is around RM100, best is below 100  biggrin.gif . I've pretty much narrowed down to soundmagic PL21 / 30, any new recommendation is welcomed biggrin.gif .

While I'm at it, I read that most people prefer PL21 over PL30, though I would like to be able to test the difference myself if possible, so anyone knows where I can audition both IEMs before deciding which to go with?

I listen mostly to pop, like taylor swift, lady gaga, anime musics, snsd, so I think I prefer clarity over bass.
below RM100 was

Audio Technica Dip
Audio Technica Cube
Hippo Pearl
Hippo Epic
Hippo Epic Sparkle biggrin.gif

bring your sources and visit Jaben Malaysia biggrin.gif

Added on April 6, 2010, 9:47 am
QUOTE(-kytz- @ Apr 5 2010, 08:36 PM)
Same boat with you.Looking at Hippo Pearls though

Review here http://www.head-fi.org/forums/f103/another...y-pearl-459890/
Pearl was more balanced. not very emphasis on bass but balanced sound biggrin.gif
find me at ss15?

This post has been edited by yuheng: Apr 6 2010, 09:47 AM
yuheng
post Apr 8 2010, 10:27 AM

Audio=Enjoy
2,753 posts

QUOTE(Deus @ Apr 6 2010, 03:34 PM)
u all got carry soundmagic also? I don mind going slightly off budget if difference a lot. After my exams maybe i'll go jaben see see, but need to find how to get there by lrt 1st blush.gif
sorry we dont carry soundmagic as china IEM was abit too risky for us.
Please drop by via Metrobus 15 or RapidKL T623 from Kelana LRT biggrin.gif

Added on April 8, 2010, 10:28 am
QUOTE(sprix @ Apr 7 2010, 02:32 PM)
^ the problem is.. ive try some in-earphone with my vison M, for example philips she9600.. the sound is very poor.. altho the price is pretty high..

im scared, when i buy earphone.. the same thing happen again.. btw, thank for ur suggestion.. and im prefer earphone instead of head phone..
thing can be easily solved when u tested all of the headphone before purchases biggrin.gif
no regret anymore biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by yuheng: Apr 8 2010, 10:28 AM
yuheng
post Apr 9 2010, 12:34 AM

Audio=Enjoy
2,753 posts

QUOTE(OrCaGaL @ Apr 8 2010, 11:09 PM)
May i ask...hippo headphones, are they china iem like the soundmagic?? Sorry if my question is too stooopid.  sweat.gif
it was actually from south korea biggrin.gif
yuheng
post Apr 10 2010, 11:43 AM

Audio=Enjoy
2,753 posts

QUOTE(Underhill @ Apr 10 2010, 12:20 AM)
My CX500 and Zune were stolen. So I'm looking for a new IEM below RM500 to match with my future iPod Touch.

I met yuheng few years back at Midvalley to try X3i, unfortunately I can't get good fit no matter what sleeve i tried (even the one used with my CX300. which is perfectly fine). This I'm worry about. I'd like something better than CX500 but yet have good fit and comfort for my (strange?) ears.

On the sound signature, i like a more balanced sound. Though people say CX500 is bassy, I don't really think it is. I listen to basically everything under the sun, with particular interest in bossa nova.

Anyone can give a shot?
hi guy.
wan to meet me again in my store? we have some comply for fittings biggrin.gif
yuheng
post Apr 14 2010, 05:11 PM

Audio=Enjoy
2,753 posts

QUOTE(noobfc @ Apr 12 2010, 07:04 PM)
ok...how bout around rm300 headphone with mic for gaming and voip ? XD
please come over and test beyerdynamic MMX1

Added on April 14, 2010, 5:13 pm
QUOTE(spoil_ @ Apr 13 2010, 09:57 PM)
hi guise.
need recommendation for my friend.

he want big headphone laugh.gif
and his budget rm350++
he also mention he is basshead

currently on eye ad500 hmm.gif

any other suggestion? thanks biggrin.gif
you can think of

shure srh240
grado sr60
grado sr80
Sen. HD202
Sen. HD437
Denon D501
Beyerdynamic DT231 Pro
Audio Technica ATH Pro5ms

This post has been edited by yuheng: Apr 14 2010, 05:13 PM
yuheng
post Apr 25 2010, 11:38 AM

Audio=Enjoy
2,753 posts

QUOTE(castle.valentine @ Apr 24 2010, 11:31 PM)
suggest to me a headphone.
im into bassy and high pitched heavy metal screaming song.
yeah,to listen to mp3 on laptop.
budget,below 300.
do you think i need to get an external soundcard to go with it?
Please go for grado for you listening, Beyerdynamic shall be good as well biggrin.gif
yuheng
post May 1 2010, 09:57 AM

Audio=Enjoy
2,753 posts

QUOTE(chanleonzen @ May 1 2010, 08:00 AM)
Hey guys,
There are also ultimate ears (UE) metrofi and for higher quality sound, superfi's which are audiophile quality.
metrofi launched after superfi
in term of SQ we dont compare this way as the sound tuning was done by different engineer, i supposed. Coz the sound signatures was differently presented. biggrin.gif
yuheng
post May 4 2010, 02:02 PM

Audio=Enjoy
2,753 posts

QUOTE(Yuki Ijuin @ May 3 2010, 10:48 AM)
Requesting advice on AMPs. Needs something that compliments both the SR60s (Classic) and KSC-75.
i seriously canot think of any beside Ordnance .22 amp, it match with grado well biggrin.gif
yuheng
post May 9 2010, 12:00 PM

Audio=Enjoy
2,753 posts

QUOTE(nles @ May 8 2010, 05:40 AM)
Looking for 2 IEM with mic that works with HTC Hero and Nokia N900.

Preferable 1 below RM200 and another below RM500. The one below RM200 is for my gf's HTC hero, she doesn't care much bout sound quality anyway heck I don't think she even listen music on it.
Hippo Shroom Mic and UE Metrofi 220Vi. Please drop by us for testing then biggrin.gif
yuheng
post May 9 2010, 12:51 PM

Audio=Enjoy
2,753 posts

QUOTE(IwanAGP @ May 9 2010, 12:44 PM)
Guys, I eyed on Philips SHP 805 Hifi headphone. Is that gives good sound quality? If compared to the one i'm using now, Sonic Gear HP800. My SG got a bit prob on the cable. And... SG uses 50mm driver while philip 40mm But the philip one dynamic range from 10hz to 28khz. that's very wide.

Another thing i want to ask...

I just came back from one local pc shop. I saw the philips shp 805 priced at rm59 which impressed me. Besides that, senheiser cx400/300/200 all around 30~49 ONLY. I din ask about the warranty but for the price, I'm not sure about the quality... AT Onto also priced at rm25 only... I just got myself a SG earpump 2, can't get another earphone yet but headphone, YES.

Need recommendation. Philips SHP805, Yes or No? For the price of RM59. Will get it clear about the warranty after i set my mind for it.
Btw...... The price is really too low. Tonnes of stock somemore... I saw Senheiser CX300 CX400 II CX200? Something like that... all CXCXCX.

From the packaging, I can't see any difference. Anyone can tell where they come from? I mean... the possible source. Like... Are they imitation or what... Thx
for your informations

philips i m not sure.

but i m sure, for all the sennheiser products and at products,....with priced below RM100 one..ALLS are fake biggrin.gif

0.0232sec    0.64    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 02:10 AM