Headphones HEADPHONES/ EARPHONES Recomendation Corner V4, MOAR Recommendations !!!

soulone
post Jan 18 2010, 11:28 PM

Malaysian Pickers Association
524 posts

QUOTE(seankks @ Jan 18 2010, 05:58 PM)
Need recommendations for a pair of noise cancelling headphones.

Budget: RM200-RM50.
Usage: Portable
means ? RM50 to RM200 or is it Rm2000 to Rm250 ? just wanna clarify.
Hearing good things about AT in that price range.
Goodluck! smile.gif

Added on January 18, 2010, 11:33 pm
QUOTE(Babyfacekat @ Jan 17 2010, 10:12 PM)
i've been reading reviews about hippo vb and hippo boom but some says that the hippo vb has better bass.. so i'm wondering which IEM shld i buy? hippo VB or Boom?
found Hippo Boom to be a bit muddled for my taste but then again maybe not all of my played source is of good quality. Old/rare songs in mp3 format (low Q summore) of CD's i can't find, that kind of stuff. If that's the case maybe the Boom is just a picky IEM.
Might be letting go mine soon to fund for something else. biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by soulone: Jan 18 2010, 11:33 PM
soulone
post Jan 18 2010, 11:58 PM

524 posts

can't really say since never owned or tried AT A500.
better wait for the other sifus to be around. smile.gif

eh, but price difference ? too big of a difference to be considered in the same league i think, and one is IEM and the other is headphone rite ? 0.o

woah, how a? now i pon confuse.
soulone
post Jan 25 2010, 08:03 PM

524 posts

QUOTE(khaliskhalid @ Jan 25 2010, 10:01 AM)
I apologize... =/ Im really no techie. Dont understand the picture but I'll take it as a yes! Thanks happy.gif! Oh, your sure these can be used with the Sansa Clip Plus?
haha khalis .. like i said in the sansa thread .. sabar~~ tongue.gif
if it got 3.5mm jack .. shud be able to used with it. smile.gif

btw i don't have pl21 but i got pl20 ..
quite tough la bro, bring everywhere .. but dunno la about its water resistance capability.

goodluck ya bro. biggrin.gif
soulone
post Jan 25 2010, 10:22 PM

524 posts

u can always get it now

and regret later.

soulone
post Jan 26 2010, 05:04 PM

524 posts

for RM50 i can only find MX160 for that price range.

how about u add-on another RM10 and get SoundMagic PL 20.

damn superb performer for that cost. biggrin.gif
soulone
post Jan 26 2010, 08:37 PM

524 posts

from the OLD UN-UPDATED ATH price list that i have ..

i only i have ATH-ESW9a in it ..

if that's it .. it is priced at RM1179 ...

if that's another variant of ESW9 .. i wouldn't know ..

hope that helps.
soulone
post Jan 26 2010, 11:24 PM

524 posts

QUOTE(fundamental @ Jan 26 2010, 10:41 PM)
Hey, I'm actually using MX160 now. But looking for something better, will check out PL 20. Cheers!
if can increase your budget to <RM100 .. more choice gonna open up ..
more choice = more chance to get better sounding earpiece .. biggrin.gif

anyway, goodluck ya .. biggrin.gif
soulone
post Jan 27 2010, 09:10 AM

524 posts

QUOTE(gto87 @ Jan 27 2010, 06:29 AM)
In malaysia, particularly in Selangor, where can I go for auditioning the High end Headphones such as AKG, Grado's, Alessandro, Grado's Senheiser and Audio Technica. I'm a noob in this arena, please help me list down the shops, thanks~ It'll be handful for others too.

Anyway, I'm a fan of metal songs, metal core to be exact. Planning on buying HD595, is it suitable with my taste of songs? Do advice. Thanks~

Added on January 27, 2010, 6:30 amMy budget is around Rm 700-800
u can audition most of the brands at LYP (Sennheiser confirmed can there)
other brands i would also like to know, cos i don't know too.

for recommendations will left it out for other sifu's.

This post has been edited by soulone: Jan 27 2010, 09:10 AM
soulone
post Jan 27 2010, 06:57 PM

524 posts

QUOTE(akgmalaysia @ Jan 27 2010, 04:23 PM)
jz 2 share tis pic wif fellow hdphones collectors  brows.gif
daymn! that's what you would call a b**tload of headphone .. 0.o
any special reason for sharing that bro akg ? biggrin.gif
eh .. all urs ? or .. ?
soulone
post Jan 27 2010, 11:01 PM

524 posts

i pay a bit la for one .. RM10 .. can ? biggrin.gif
soulone
post Jan 28 2010, 07:42 PM

524 posts

QUOTE(DaEMoNteNTAcLe @ Jan 28 2010, 06:40 PM)
any possibilites taking one or two from the basket.. sure tak pasan punya xD
jahat abang daemon .. hehe

QUOTE(danny_sp15 @ Jan 28 2010, 06:49 PM)
Harvey Norman sometimes have rare cans for auditions... the last time i went to Harvey Norman at Ikano, they have Beats by Dr Dre on audition. and some philips, etc...
anyway, Sri Comp's price for AT cans are slightly more expensive than the ones u can buy from the forummers here... cannot remember exactly the price, but i do remember it's a bit more expensive... sweat.gif
thx for the info bro .. Beats by Dr Dre on audition ? fuhh~ haf to bring our own audio source is it ?
soulone
post Jan 28 2010, 08:55 PM

524 posts

OMG .. for realzz ? shocking.gif
soulone
post Jan 28 2010, 10:37 PM

524 posts

hahahha .. mr edifier got some solid spokesperson there .. tongue.gif
totally deserved the free gift biggrin.gif
soulone
post Jan 28 2010, 11:08 PM

524 posts

hahaha .. nice try danny .. ur quite good spokesperson oso .. tongue.gif

QUOTE(Fred86 @ Jan 28 2010, 11:01 PM)
If you don't use your headphone everyday, i will suggest you to get a case for your headphone instead of a stand. Nowadays the air in malaysia is polluted and quite dusty, hang on the stand without a cover will make the pad attract dust quite easily. Specially for those non leather pad like ad- series.
this statement totally make me rethink my storage method.
soulone
post Jan 29 2010, 01:19 AM

524 posts

QUOTE(danny_sp15 @ Jan 28 2010, 11:32 PM)
Nope, no need to bring ur own source. It's already connected to a source, but not sure what kind of source though. probably songs related to Dr Dre... tongue.gif
not sure if u can plug out the jack from the source and connect to ur own source... since it's selling for RM1K++ if i'm not mistaken... THAT PRICE CAN BUY AN ATH-ESW9 ALREADY.... (super-duper bodek) tongue.gif
hahaha .. getting better every time at being the spokesperson danny eh? tongue.gif
oh, like that aa ..
why didn't i noticed that section all these while aa .. hurms ..

soulone
post Feb 1 2010, 12:13 PM

524 posts

QUOTE(rickysay @ Feb 1 2010, 07:37 AM)
If i were to choose between getting a px100 and a hd 202 or hd 201. Which one should i take? What's the difference between these two in terms of sound quality, bass, comfortability? what's most important is the sound quality.
QUOTE(g3n0c|d3 @ Feb 1 2010, 10:02 AM)
i have audition hd201 and i really like the sound siggy... in terms of fragile or not, i cannot be certain, but hd 201 suit my sound siggy well, a bit layback and dark... but i enjoyed it... and ipod nano still can drive the cans well...
can't say for HD202 but for HD201 .. i have it but only used it for .. like .. a few hours only .. NOTHING BAD ya!
ok, let me explain.

the sound is great for the price ur paying.
comfort = lightweight, for the duration i was using forgot i had it on
cable length = ok lah for headphone type .. could be longer , but always can add on.
build quality = quite plastic-y but should last decent time with proper care
sound quality = it's fun ! give it time to burn in (what i got from a friend that have one too) and it will improve a few folds. biggrin.gif

what makes me put it away ?
1. suddenly i got better cans before it arrived
2. doesn't feel full enough for me (the cup size)

so as u can see, it's very circumstancial for me .. not that hd201 is not good or anything.
more of personal taste i guess.

conlusion?
for the price ur paying, should serve you well enough.
hope that helps ya. smile.gif
soulone
post Feb 2 2010, 03:25 PM

524 posts

QUOTE(Gh-x @ Feb 2 2010, 01:56 PM)
is there is any place i can test the headphone before buying it, i went to lowyat yesterday but i was not able to test most of the headphone.
erms .. definitely not all of the model is on display/can be tested ..
if i remember only got pro5ms/m30 and only few other unit on display/available for testing ..
for other model .. maybe can pm owner of the said model ?
soulone
post Feb 7 2010, 10:33 PM

524 posts

talking about earbuds is it ?

best if you could check the link below (review by clieos) :-

http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=1139730&hl=
soulone
post Feb 10 2010, 07:21 AM

524 posts

@raito
fiio e5 works well on my IEM when i feel it's lacking on the bass side.
but not always. i mean it's great and all, but sometimes along the way .. the power of poison makes u wanna .. get .. m0ar i guess? tongue.gif
and this is only on IEM, don't get me started on headphones.

like all the previous recommendation, better try out and audition to see if it can handle your requirement or not.

@kytz
shroom is it ? walabies/yuheng might have it. just drop 'em a PM.
soulone
post Feb 11 2010, 07:49 AM

524 posts

QUOTE(DarthMaus @ Feb 10 2010, 03:41 PM)
how does it sound? it looks really cute. nearly bought that for my "daughter" smile.gif
errr .. what's with the "daughter" there ? hehe .. just curious .. biggrin.gif

QUOTE(moniqee @ Feb 10 2010, 08:15 PM)
wow... everyone seem to recognize each other... danger danger...
haha .. got previous stalker case ka moniqee ? haha

0.0520sec    0.40    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 05:43 AM