Headphones HEADPHONES/ EARPHONES Recomendation Corner V4, MOAR Recommendations !!!

Fred86
post Sep 28 2009, 05:49 PM

276 posts

QUOTE(! Love Money @ Sep 28 2009, 05:29 PM)
wow! first check audiophiles got new thread rclxms.gif

yesterday bought a pioneer earphone for my humble creative zen micro thumbup.gif
reasonable price for a high quality sound...
initially wanna buy the JVC but the promoter recommend pioneer for me, but at last no regret...
PIONEER sound quality really good rclxms.gif high clarity with heavy bass cool.gif

PIONEER sound, vision, soul

Looks cool. How much and where you bought it?
Fred86
post Oct 22 2009, 01:32 PM

276 posts

QUOTE(danny_sp15 @ Oct 22 2009, 03:15 AM)
hi guys, i'm currently using soundmagic PL20, which i think is a great IEM for it's price. but now i'm thinking of upgrading. i'm not using any soundcard or headamps. what kind of earphones could u guys suggest for a strict budget of less than rm150? i'm the sort of person who listens to a lot of vocals and oldies, and i prefer clarity instead of bass. currently interested with Crossroad Mylarone SVi (RM70). is this ok? or do u guys have better suggestions? prefer earbuds, iem also ok, but not headphones though.. sweat.gif thanks in advance!! biggrin.gif

*really interested in the HR2 actually, but way out of budget... sweat.gif
Actually you prefer earbud... can try xbrand2 or xbrand 1, both also within your budget. I have 3 of them. PL20 is my first IEM, i am enjoy it so much until i get expose to my another earbud, pk3. After you listen to pk3, you will found that PL20 is really lack of bass. You need to push hard in order to get a satisfy bass for PL20. Pk3 also have a good clarity and detail just warmer and the bass is quite good. pk3 has a large quantity of bass but the quality of bass is just satisfactory.

Come back to xbrand2, i just get the both demo unit recently. (Too shame that, i just received the demo unit after a long time i coordinate the bulk for both the earphone). After i try them personally, I was surprised how good is the sound at the price. I also wonder how come Huangyong selling this earbud at this price. sweat.gif But since i am just a helper, so i cant comment so much on his pricing. BUT for the SQ, the xbrand2 will even better than pk3 which cost around Rm130++. Clarity and detail, xbrand2 is slightly better than pk3 but just the sound is bright and not as warm as pk3. For the bass, there are few buyer say that the xbrand2 is bass shy. To my ears, the xbrand2 has better bass than PL20 in terms of quality and quantity as well. If compare xbrand2 to pk3 in terms of bass, pk3 will have better bass quantity. But for bass quality xbrand2 will be better. xbrand2 bass have better control and accuracy. nod.gif

Sound signature:

xbrand2 (bright)
PL20 (bright)
PK3 (warm when compare to another 2)

Clarity & detail
xbrand2 > PK3 >PL20

Bass quantity (amount)
PK3> xbrand2> PL20

Bass quality
xbrand2 > PK3 > PL20

Packaging
PK3>PL20>xbrand2

Price (>= cheaper)
Xbrand2 > PL20 > PK3

Just another choice for you. No offense. Please take noted that i am not a basshead. I am looking for balanced and great sounding all the time. cool.gif
Fred86
post Oct 22 2009, 03:12 PM

276 posts

QUOTE(danny_sp15 @ Oct 22 2009, 01:49 PM)
hi, i already check out ur sales thread. it's one of my choices too, really cheap, but the reviews are amazing. biggrin.gif
is it comparable to yuin pk2? very tempting indeed... drool.gif
xbrand2 is not comparable to pk2 yet. But xbrand2 is comparable to pk3.

Huangyong own pk2. From him, xbrand1 will be the one comparable to pk2. I don't have pk2 so cant really make a comparison. tongue.gif

This post has been edited by Fred86: Oct 22 2009, 03:13 PM
Fred86
post Oct 22 2009, 10:51 PM

276 posts

QUOTE(danny_sp15 @ Oct 22 2009, 07:15 PM)
aisey... now really interested with xbrand1... did clieos review any of these xbrand earbuds?
No wor.... just too bad to ask him to give us a free testimonial. I think those review from out customer is enough build the image for those great earbud
Fred86
post Nov 8 2009, 10:54 AM

276 posts

Anyone who interested to get a bang for buck dac, pls have a look laugh.gif We are giving the special 7 days trial for the first buyer.

http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1212815
Fred86
post Nov 8 2009, 12:48 PM

276 posts

How much is the K601?
Fred86
post Nov 10 2009, 02:05 AM

276 posts

QUOTE(Eiraku @ Nov 9 2009, 11:58 PM)
I do have the PL50, and if ClieOS's description of SQ in his shootouts are anything to go by, the RE0 should have a similar or slightly larger soundstage compared to the PL50 (read: acceptably wide, but it can be better - PL50 compared to my relatively huge Cyclone PR2's soundstage) + the RE0 supposedly has better bass, provided it's properly amped with, lets say, an E5 minimum.

IMHO the PL50 HAS bass, but I wouldn't say there's a lot of it, even amped. Enough for my Pop and some of my Rock tracks, relatively insufficient for my Trance music.

And, bass isn't really something one looks at when looking at both the PL50 and the RE0 anyways. I'd say try the FA Eternas if you want bass - though mine haven't even been ordered yet (waiting for the bulk to end) so I can't comment much on the Eterna's SQ.

I could also recommend the bass monster that is the PR2 (think cheaper JVC-FX500), if it wasn't so flimsy out of the box.

But overall, people say the RE0 is of an entirely different level compared to the PL50, especially in terms of clarity and overall balance. So if clarity and balance is your cuppa tea, the RE0 should be the way to go - even more so now that it's on sale.
Looking forward for your eternas review. brows.gif
Fred86
post Nov 14 2009, 09:43 PM

276 posts

QUOTE(LittleGhost @ Nov 14 2009, 09:28 PM)
earbuds specifically. i have the Bijou already too so it's out of the equation lol.

No IEMs nor anything like the KSC 75, just pure buds.
Hi there, do you interested to try the xbrand2 earbud? Although it looks not so nice however its SQ excel most earphone under Rm100. You can refer to the thread below for more detail review and also our customer comment.

http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1202885

This is my own small review which i do compare the xbrand2 with other pk3 and pl20 that i owned.

QUOTE(Fred86 @ Oct 22 2009, 01:32 PM)
I have pl20, pk3 and x2. PL20 is my first IEM, i am enjoy it so much until i get expose to my another earbud, pk3. After you listen to pk3, you will found that PL20 is really lack of bass. You need to push hard in order to get a satisfy bass for PL20. Pk3 also have a good clarity and detail just warmer and the bass is quite good. pk3 has a large quantity of bass but the quality of bass is just satisfactory.

Come back to xbrand2, i just get the both demo unit recently. (Too shame that, i just received the demo unit after a long time i coordinate the bulk for both the earphone). After i try them personally, I was surprised how good is the sound at the price. I also wonder how come Huangyong selling this earbud at this price.  sweat.gif But since i am just a helper, so i cant comment so much on his pricing. BUT for the SQ, the xbrand2 will even better than pk3 which cost around Rm130++. Clarity and detail, xbrand2 is slightly better than pk3 but just the sound is bright and not as warm as pk3. For the bass, there are few buyer say that the xbrand2 is bass shy. To my ears, the xbrand2 has better bass than PL20 in terms of quality and quantity as well. If compare xbrand2 to pk3 in terms of bass, pk3 will have better bass quantity. But for bass quality xbrand2 will be better. xbrand2 bass have better control and accuracy.  nod.gif

Sound signature:

xbrand2 (bright)
PL20 (bright)
PK3 (warm when compare to another 2)

Clarity & detail
xbrand2 > PK3 >PL20

Bass quantity (amount)
PK3> xbrand2> PL20

Bass quality
xbrand2 > PK3 > PL20

Packaging
PK3>PL20>xbrand2

Price (>= cheaper)
Xbrand2 > PL20 > PK3
Just another choice for you. No offense. Please take noted that i am not a basshead. I am looking for balanced and great sounding all the time.  cool.gif
Fred86
post Nov 15 2009, 11:41 PM

276 posts

QUOTE(LittleGhost @ Nov 15 2009, 03:25 PM)
Who do they OEM for?

biggrin.gif?
If the factory allow us to stated out the name, then we can't get it at such a low price already. But what i can tell you, they do the OEM for a quite famous brand in electronic device. We are not allow to stated the name. If you are worry about the quality problem, so far all the x2 we sold, there are no customer come back for its quality problem. You can always refer to the thread for more information and customer feedback rclxms.gif
Fred86
post Jan 4 2010, 08:01 PM

276 posts

QUOTE(danny_sp15 @ Jan 4 2010, 07:50 PM)
i know... but i dunno where can i test all of the cans.. even the pair i'm planning to buy is from online.. anyway, i did try to find various sources of reviews for the AD300, AD400, AD500, and the AD700. And i try to relate the reviews to my music taste, and what sort of accessories i have (amps, soundcard, etc, none of which i have). and it seems that the AD500 is the best bet for my budget. Couldnt find any bad reviews at all. biggrin.gif

maybe i can borrow ur AD700 and MS1i, and bro Wingster's AD500 brows.gif
AD900 brows.gif
Fred86
post Jan 5 2010, 04:24 PM

276 posts

QUOTE(chchyong89 @ Jan 5 2010, 03:12 PM)
dear fellow iem audiophiles
recently i am hunting a iem with budget RM100~150 for my gf
with condition comfort and relax, sound quality wise, since girls duno much about sound quality.. sweat.gif

and currently i keeping my eyes for soundmagic, is it a good choice? if not, please guide me out from the bright side blush.gif
*PL30 RM100
*bijou 3 RM170?
*Music Valley SP1 IEM  RM180
*Mylarone LBi RM170
*SoundMAGIC PL21 RM100
How about PL50? Personally, i think that PL50 design looks much nicer than PL30. More elegant and tiny
Fred86
post Jan 7 2010, 05:30 PM

276 posts

QUOTE(warlove3 @ Jan 7 2010, 04:11 PM)
Hi guys, i've been wondering which pair of cans is good for 50% games and 50% for Music+Movies, would prefer Audio Technica or other better alternatives, budget <RM1000. (Bass and Sound positioning is more preferred than vocal)
ad900 will be a good choice smile.gif
Fred86
post Jan 28 2010, 11:01 PM

276 posts

QUOTE(danny_sp15 @ Jan 28 2010, 10:56 PM)
My poor AD500 still doesnt have a stand.. wonder when can do bulk for the stainless steel stand... sad.gif
If you don't use your headphone everyday, i will suggest you to get a case for your headphone instead of a stand. Nowadays the air in malaysia is polluted and quite dusty, hang on the stand without a cover will make the pad attract dust quite easily. Specially for those non leather pad like ad- series.
Fred86
post Jan 28 2010, 11:26 PM

276 posts

QUOTE(towkey @ Jan 28 2010, 11:16 PM)
if dat's the case go 4 AD900 lor...  brows.gif
It is not good to keep on poison ppl with ad900 tongue.gif
Fred86
post Jan 29 2010, 12:55 AM

276 posts

QUOTE(danny_sp15 @ Jan 28 2010, 11:32 PM)
besides, with stands, can show off and poison my frens.... brows.gif
It is true that it will looks nice if hang the headphone on a cool stand and show off to your friends laugh.gif

For me, i still prefer can keep the headphone in those zip lock case. Can prevent from dust and also easier when i wan to bring back my hometown. icon_rolleyes.gif

0.0415sec    0.64    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 03:20 PM