Headphones HEADPHONES/ EARPHONES Recomendation Corner V4, MOAR Recommendations !!!

Dreamworks
post May 4 2010, 10:22 AM

Shining with 3x2+1 stars!
2,141 posts

Greetings pros and sifus... Dreamworks here requires some advice on IEMs notworthy.gif Nothing too expensive, something around RM300 or less.

I'll be pairing it with a DAP for on-the-go music listening. I used to own a Fuze and nano but sold them away some time ago, might be going for a Zune HD or iPod touch 2G/3G.

Source mostly consisting of CBR@320kbps/VBR@v0 MP3s ranging from all types of genres except jazz, classical, and metal... Dunno why I can't stand those laugh.gif Sound quality takes priority, although a good looking pair wouldn't harm right haha...

I've shortlisted a few models though.
Buy locally:
1) FA Eterna (Wait for v2? It's already May drool.gif )
2) FA Silver Bullet
3) Hippo VB
4) Philips SHE9850
OR
Buy and ship from US (Hard to get or super duper expensive locally):
1) Monster Jamz @ USD85
2) Klipsch Image S4 @ USD69

Any other suggestions besides these? NO Crossroads/Koss/V-MODA(Heard they are not reliable?)/Sherwood(Too big?) ya. I could spare a lil extra for an amp like FiiO E3/E5, but best without since I hate carrying so many things around tongue.gif

Thanks!

Added on May 4, 2010, 12:48 pmForgot to mention I have MX400, PX100, SHE9500, Pro|Tone m100, Le01, X3i, so I'm hoping the new IEM will be an upgrade to what I have nod.gif

This post has been edited by Dreamworks: May 4 2010, 12:48 PM
Dreamworks
post May 4 2010, 09:42 PM

2,141 posts

Thank you for the feedbacks notworthy.gif Oh man, wanna buy something also so hard to decide rclxub.gif

QUOTE(g3n0c|d3 @ May 4 2010, 01:14 PM)
1. Eterna is a fun sounding IEM, its not accurate type of IEMs. great for rock and heavy metal, tranz, hip hop and bassy songs without sacrificing the detail (thou bassy phones tend to loose a bit of detail, eterna is no exception). this phone also picky on the source and it will reveal bad recordings with bad output sound.

2.silver bullet is a bright phones (and so ive heard)... some may like the brightness and some dont...

3. moniqee always recommend this to people... u have to ask her.... i never heard it before but the reviews are quite impressive....
Wow, I didn't expect the Klipsch Image S4 to be crossed out though, it is a highly regarded and favoured IEM for audiophiles hmm.gif Headroomers and head-fiers think it sounds in between balanced IEMs and the Eterna, which is why I included it in my list, afraid the Eterna might turn out to be too "fun" for me laugh.gif Such a pity I can't audition anything in Penang doh.gif

For the Silver Bullet or Shroom, perhaps I can buy a Fiio E3/E5 to "warm" them up?

QUOTE(DaEMoNteNTAcLe @ May 4 2010, 02:11 PM)
haha.. he crossed out for u alraedy..
i wanted to cross out the philips first..
btw.. if u are accurate tone sensitive (rare people).. u might not like the eterna.. but if u dont compare, or just compare it with lower end iems.. u'd really appreciate the price/performance value.

some people (me, and someone i know) immediately notice the vocals are off.. kinda like an off-tuned guitar.. laugh.gif
That's why I'm a little worried about getting the Eterna, it's either a hit or miss. weib mentioned that some people may experience motion sickness after listening to the Eternas for a while, while some head-fiers from India said the mid-range is artificially coloured sweat.gif But of course, majority who bought the Eternas are happy with them haha...

QUOTE(moniqee @ May 4 2010, 06:41 PM)
i recommend VB coz it's not bass shy and lots of people seem to prefer tiz over Quattro... =)

personally i kinda liked Music Valley SP1
Well... The VB is configurable, so I can still change its sound if I don't like the current setting.

This post has been edited by Dreamworks: May 4 2010, 09:43 PM
Dreamworks
post May 5 2010, 07:25 AM

2,141 posts

QUOTE(terradrive @ May 4 2010, 09:52 PM)
You probably should get Hippo VB. At least be able to determine which sound you like.
I guess it's either VB or Eterna for me then laugh.gif

QUOTE(E1 - AKG @ May 4 2010, 10:41 PM)
Erm... Any particular reason why this 2 models are recommended?

QUOTE(shadowshine @ May 5 2010, 01:17 AM)
s4 sounds like ksc75 to me. smile.gif
A sub-RM100 Koss is comparable to a RM300-ish Klipsch huh? Too bad I can't really get used to earphones with pads covering my ears...
Dreamworks
post May 9 2010, 10:52 PM

2,141 posts

I think the closes thing you can compare impedance to is resistance. A headphone/earphone with higher impedance will be harder to drive, so if you pair a high impedance headphone/earphone to a low power output source, you might find the volume inadequate even on maximum level.

Sensitivity, a earphone/headphone which is more sensitive will be able to pick up more detail(s) from the source. There is a pro and con to this. If you have a high sensitivity earphone/headphone, a high quality source will allow you to hear all the tiny details of a song. However, if your source is noisy/very lossy, then well... It'll pickup all the noise.

Maximum power input I guess is the max power you can supply to the earphone/headphone without damaging it.

As for frequency response, 20Hz to 20kHz is just theoretical... No one on earth can have this hearing range unless your physical body is PERFECT laugh.gif A earphone/headphone with wider frequncy response range doesn't mean it's better. The Triple.fi 10 sounds really good even though its max frequency is only 17kHz.
Dreamworks
post May 29 2010, 07:25 AM

2,141 posts

Eterna is around RM250~260 and SE-777 sells for RM320~330. The Phiaton would double the price of these 2 though if not mistaken... Not too sure about CKS70.
Dreamworks
post Jun 4 2010, 11:50 PM

2,141 posts

QUOTE(OrCaGaL @ Jun 4 2010, 10:16 PM)
Comply sleeve?  shocking.gif have to order from yuheng again, i think this time no free postage liao  sad.gif
i tried already. tried the small 1, too small, it'll come off. so tried the medium 1, pressure still inside.  cry.gif

Added on June 4, 2010, 10:16 pmo ya...been burning the vb for 24hours, should i give it a rest?
Try twisting it a bit as you insert the VB slowly, that's what I did nod.gif As for the burn-in, I ran mine for almost 100hrs ady... Only with normal music though, and on normal listening volume.

0.0365sec    0.31    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 06:10 AM