10 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Bottom

- (( ** House of Miniature Schnauzers V9 ** )) -, Welcome to our cosy little home!

Rayne
post Dec 4 2009, 12:53 PM

24 posts

LOL! I guess almost all of us experience the same thing...the first time I sent Scottie to the groomers, I didn't like the way he looked after he came back. They cut off his beautiful long lashes, and he doesn't have that look that makes him my Scottie...laugh.gif After that, I sent him to another groomer, who did a much better job, and I stuck to that groomer until now smile.gif It takes a few trials and errors to find a groomer that you would like. Good luck in finding yours!
Rayne
post Dec 4 2009, 04:16 PM

24 posts

Yeah, some of them do...I've seen it first hand when I visited a pet shop, and there was a lady grooming a dog there. She hit the poor dog on the head when he didn't want to cooperate. sad.gif But I guess I'm lucky that Scottie's groomer doesn't do that. And the place where I send Scottie to has a big window where we can see the grooming process...I always peek at the window whenever I stop by. laugh.gif
Rayne
post Dec 5 2009, 11:53 AM

24 posts

LOL! If you don't like the wiry harsh coats of the Schnauzer, then how? You already got a Schnauzer leh wink.gif The actual standard of the breed's coat is supposed to be harsh. But since we don't send our dogs for shows and clip their coats, it will be soft, so win-win situation I guess tongue.gif

Hand stripping is the process of pulling out the top (and dead) furs of the coat usually using a tool...it's SOMETHING like when we go to the hairstylists and they use the knife-like tool to thinner our hair that kind, I THINK (Groomers please correct me if I'm wrong). Because the Schnauzers have a double coat, stripping kind of maintains the two coats...when we send to groomers, we usually clip them ('shave' using electric clippers) so both layers are gone. What grows out is the bottom layer first, which is soft so that's why we feel their coat is soft.

Unlike our normal clippings, hand stripping cannot finish in one session...it can be quite painful if the person doesn't know how to do it, and it's quite expensive to do if you send to the groomers to do it (last I asked, it was about RM200 per session >.<") So, since our dogs are only pet dogs, easy way is to clip smile.gif

Wikipedia entry: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Dog_grooming#Stripping

I remember posting about handstripping also last time in the previous thread. It's here: http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...&#entry24595057

EDIT: A very good FAQ about stripping and clipping biggrin.gif http://www.harborside.com/~laurelt/handstrip.htm

This post has been edited by Rayne: Dec 5 2009, 12:37 PM
Rayne
post Dec 7 2009, 02:15 PM

24 posts

QUOTE(dwin95 @ Dec 7 2009, 01:45 PM)
since this is a dog section , ill just ask something ... i have a typical mongrel dog , i feed him well with quality pet shop food , i even once fed him with fish based dog food but my dog's hair wont stop dropping . any ideas ? i went to the vet b4 and that doc told me its his growing up stages , sure drop , but after 7-8 months , my dog's hair still keep droping although there is no sign of baldness on him .
Hi, since your dog is a mongrel it's quite hard to know whether its parents are from shedding breeds or not. Most dogs do shed though, some more than others. If from what you said your dog's body shows no sign of baldness and he's healthy and active, he's probably just shedding smile.gif If you are concerned about his coat, you could give him some supplements for the body and coat. There are quite a few good oil/paste supplements for coat. I used to give Scottie a brand called 'MyBeau'...but now I give him human grade salmon/fish body oil. You could try that too smile.gif Hope this helps a little!
Rayne
post Dec 8 2009, 09:25 AM

24 posts

QUOTE(yennchin @ Dec 7 2009, 10:19 PM)
hello guys, i juz bought a MS.. is very active now, but the problem is, he likes to bite around, wat can i do? and should i force him to smell his pee on the pad in the toilet or i should beat him and force him to smell his pee which he simply pee?
Since you mention that you have just bought a dog, I would assume that it's a pup and it's very new to your home. In that case, NEVER ever beat or force the pup, especially when they have just been introduced to your home. House training needs time, lots of patience and CONSISTENCY. You do not expect a pup to immediately know where to pee or poop the day it has been brought back when you haven't taught him/her where to go in the first place. It's like telling a baby not to pee an poop in the diaper the first day you brought the baby back.

Disciplining is important, but it only comes when the pup has already known the house rules and have broken them, NOT before. There are lots of sites out there which guide first time owners how to house train their pups. I would suggest you go Googling for them and do a good read up. Beating and forcing will only make your pup fearful of the house and not bond with you. Hope that helps.

This post has been edited by Rayne: Dec 8 2009, 09:26 AM
Rayne
post Dec 8 2009, 12:54 PM

24 posts

Scottie has never done that before, so I guess I can't say much about it, but I have read before that dogs sometimes do that in general (not just Schnauzers). It could be because that they have not fully digested their food or something like that. Best way is just to do what you are doing now: clean it up before he gets the idea in his head smile.gif
Rayne
post Dec 9 2009, 10:21 AM

24 posts

QUOTE(jason86 @ Dec 9 2009, 09:55 AM)
ok...most of this problem occured after the grooming session...defnitely because of the unsterilized grooming equipment, and it's irritated your dog's skin...

there are two reasons for the rashes
1. they never sterilzed the clipper
2. after grooming all the natural oil of the coat been removed, so it will definitely caused the rashes..

to overcome this problem, u can try to use malaseb medicated shampoo....

i called it grooming allergy .. is ok if not really serious rashes occur...
Jason, just a query...how do you sterilize the clipper? I have a clipper that my Mom uses to clip Scottie's coat sometimes, and I notice recently that he contracted bumps after grooming. Maybe it's grooming allergy, or maybe it's not, but to eliminate that probability, I think I'll sterilize the clipper just in case...do I just take the blade out and soak it in hot water / use Germisep? Or is there any sterilizing solution for clippers? I have a Kim Laube clipper (forgot the model name) and the blade is detachable, but there's only a lubricating oil and brush to clean the clipper.
Rayne
post Dec 9 2009, 11:03 AM

24 posts

Thanks...will look into that smile.gif
Rayne
post Dec 9 2009, 11:24 AM

24 posts

Yup, saw lots of it...but I don't groom Scottie myself tongue.gif My Mom does it for me sometimes, but for the really good grooming, I just send Scottie to the pros. smile.gif

After reading about stripping and all, I really wish I had the time to learn and do it myself but since I don't know anyone who can teach me (and I'm too chicken to DIY through trial and error), I guess Scottie will have to be clipped...laugh.gif Maybe I should look into getting a show potential dog, yes? Show dog breeders definitely will know how to strip (or at least know people who knows how to strip tongue.gif) Haha! Hopefully that will be in the future, when I get better pay biggrin.gif
Rayne
post Dec 9 2009, 12:13 PM

24 posts

Ooh, cool...you know how to strip? Would love to see how it is done (and if I can do it myself..laugh.gif Use clipper also I can get it wrong, so I'm more hesitant with the stripping blades!) I've read about plucking (use fingers to pluck the fur out) but that doesn't look that feasible, and I've seen an owner who did that before...it's not as nice as a properly stripped look, in my opinion. Haha!
Rayne
post Dec 9 2009, 04:59 PM

24 posts

QUOTE(bebe_jenny28 @ Dec 9 2009, 04:47 PM)
may i knw wat brand of kibble u guys feeding ur kids? im thinking of switching it to orijen puppy...izit a good brand for ms?
I used to give Scottie's puppies Orijen & raw before they went to their new homes...they did quite well on it smile.gif Other brands you could look into would be Addiction or Acana. Better yet, feed raw if you have the time to prepare it biggrin.gif
Rayne
post Dec 15 2009, 09:02 AM

24 posts

Ooh, the thread's been super quiet...tongue.gif

Jason, I'll be coming with Scottie for the Christmas gathering biggrin.gif I'll be bringing some smoked sausage purses (for the humans), peanut butter cups and maybe some meatballs (for the furkids) wink.gif
Rayne
post Dec 15 2009, 09:38 AM

24 posts

QUOTE(jason86 @ Dec 15 2009, 09:27 AM)
rayne~ good to hear that ...bring along your chi hua hua (kenji right???)
Kenji ar...don't know if I can handles two dogs plus all the food I'm bringing. tongue.gif They can be quite 'uncivilized' coz I haven't brought them out for a long while after I broke my arm, so...I'll see how la. laugh.gif
Rayne
post Dec 15 2009, 04:29 PM

24 posts

QUOTE(kerrie @ Dec 15 2009, 04:22 PM)
drooling~~~~wish i cud go too sad.gif
Aww...never mind, next gathering when you can go, I make some for you wink.gif
Rayne
post Dec 15 2009, 06:03 PM

24 posts

Haha...sure, no problem smile.gif Just that I'm not sure it will taste as nice as what you would expect only...tongue.gif

This post has been edited by Rayne: Dec 15 2009, 06:03 PM
Rayne
post Dec 15 2009, 11:51 PM

24 posts

Haha...thanks for the compliment smile.gif Paiseh only! Not really a good cook also...still learning and practising, so you all would be my taste testers...laugh.gif
Rayne
post Dec 16 2009, 10:44 AM

24 posts

QUOTE(jason86 @ Dec 16 2009, 09:39 AM)
only for her?? beratnye...sebelah kau ni....
Hahaha...she haven't try ma. The rest already tried that. wink.gif
Rayne
post Dec 16 2009, 12:10 PM

24 posts

QUOTE(jason86 @ Dec 16 2009, 09:39 AM)
confirmed owner
Jason86~toro
Tinie~hitler
nicholai~lex
aragonlee~kenji
aragonlee's fren~ jack jack
rayne~scottie
24 members from House of schnauzer(facebook)

any update..check here -> 4th schnauzer gathering ( Xmas )
shocking.gif Wow, I just noticed this....30 people??! I won't be preparing for 30 people though tongue.gif So, I guess it's first come first serve...laugh.gif (syok sendiri...as if the food is so nice whistling.gif )
Rayne
post Dec 16 2009, 12:52 PM

24 posts

Present ar...I just get a toy only smile.gif The exchange is for the furkids right? I keep confusing it if it's for humans or furkids...laugh.gif
Rayne
post Dec 16 2009, 03:56 PM

24 posts

QUOTE(Tinie @ Dec 16 2009, 01:08 PM)
n me n me...keep some for me pls!!  rolleyes.gif
Haha...can can smile.gif

QUOTE(jason86 @ Dec 16 2009, 03:17 PM)
furkids..haha
Haha...ok la, then I'm ready ady. laugh.gif Just need to bake the food stuff only...biggrin.gif

10 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Top

0.0490sec    0.30    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 04:00 PM