Need help with Power Amplifier selection, sifus advice welcomed

TSsaprozeldo
post Sep 26 2009, 09:12 PM, updated 17y ago

113 posts

Dear HT sifus..

i'm looking for power amplifiers to help drive my current (& future) axiom speakers..

min10w/max400w 4 ohm fronts (priority)
min10w/max400w 6 ohm surround (secondary)
min10w/max400w 6 ohm centre (can let AVR drive it)
min10w/max200w 8 ohm rear (can let AVR drive it)

earlier wanted to get the emotiva xpa-5 as its cheap considering its features BUT the speaker manufacturer advises against it due to previous problems emotiva had driving axiom speakers..

i was recommended by the speaker manufacturer the following brand power amplifiers;
- NAD
- Outlaw audio
- Crown
- Behringer

however he highlighted that Crown & Behringer uses fan-based cooling system which can be slightly noisy for in-studio like based rooms..

i've cancelled out NAD c272 as a friend said its not powerful enough.. Wrote off Outlaw Audio 7500 coz its too expensive..

Between Crown x402 & Behringer ep1500, i thought of getting the Behringer.. Why?

1. My sound engineer uses Behringer monitor & power amp for our production studio..
2. Cheap.. About half the price of the Crown x402 or Emotiva XPA-5..
3. Got authorised distributor in Malaysia which handles warranty issues..

That was until a HTsifu told me that its rough & have high noise levels.. Now i'm stuck..

i figured i'd get other sifus comments & help on this..

icon_question.gif icon_question.gif icon_question.gif icon_question.gif icon_question.gif icon_question.gif

notworthy.gif in advance notworthy.gif

p/s - will add pic of EP1500 specs soon *AMENDED*

This post has been edited by saprozeldo: Sep 26 2009, 10:09 PM
TSsaprozeldo
post Sep 27 2009, 05:07 AM

113 posts

QUOTE(jchong @ Sep 26 2009, 11:08 PM)
Did Axiom mention what problem happened when paired with Emotiva?
it was in the axiom forum.. some forumers owned the 2 items and faced scenes where some of the emotiva's channel shut down.. emotiva blamed it on the speakers.. and naturally axiom blamed it on the power amps.. bottom line, forumers felt that emotiva & axiom's are not compatible..

you can read the thread here..
http://www.axiomaudio.com/boards/ubbthread...3306#Post273306

any thoughts on behringer power amp jchong?
TSsaprozeldo
post Sep 27 2009, 01:49 PM

113 posts

QUOTE(jchong @ Sep 27 2009, 07:35 AM)
Sorry, I've no experience with Behringer amps. But do you know who is the distributor locally? Hopefully they can do demo, then after that I will have some thoughts on it.
yea.. i'm half certain its av-studio in puchong.. i have the number of the manager.. i'll try arrange a demo if we have some silver-eared (dunwan gold eared, too high standard) to comment..

jchong, from the product sheet, it looks quite good value for money.. at least thats in my newbie opinion la.. what you think based on d product sheet?
TSsaprozeldo
post Sep 28 2009, 03:30 PM

113 posts

QUOTE(htkaki @ Sep 27 2009, 10:49 PM)
87dB but impedance is 4~6ohms, which is quite pwr sapping even though its power handling is 20-250W.

When I ran my auddysey previously, it detects these as full range speakers. What I knew is that 4310 aint up to the task. Time to scout for beefy power amp liao.
sell me your 4310 lorr boss.. you go 4810 pulak laa..

Added on September 28, 2009, 3:35 pm
QUOTE(mpyw @ Sep 27 2009, 02:10 PM)
Bro, just go do a demo. bring your M22 together and listen to it, would be sound better than your Yammy? Then u go & decide....
being a newbie, i only have bronze-ear la bro.. thats why need golden-eared sifu to tell me, okay or not.. i'd probably say its okay.. but then, how to elevate my listening standard if no higher benchmark..

QUOTE(silbii @ Sep 27 2009, 01:55 PM)
behringer's are known for value for money audio post production stuff...lotsa studios in malaysia uses behringer....mainly coz it's cheap. But i'm sure they've produced a lot of good quality albums with the equipments from Behringer.

but this brand is not really hi-fi material....your ears need to be the judge for that....just know that sometimes hi-fi are a bit overrated tongue.gif

Whaferdale's should also has some power amp models for reasonable price...try calling CK Music for this.
wharfdale eh bro.. you have ck music contact details or not? let me explore..

This post has been edited by saprozeldo: Sep 28 2009, 03:35 PM
TSsaprozeldo
post Sep 28 2009, 04:49 PM

113 posts

QUOTE(saprozeldo @ Sep 26 2009, 09:12 PM)
Dear HT sifus..

i'm looking for power amplifiers to help drive my current (& future) axiom speakers..

min10w/max400w 4 ohm fronts (priority)
min10w/max400w 6 ohm surround (secondary)
min10w/max400w 6 ohm centre (can let AVR drive it)
min10w/max200w 8 ohm rear (can let AVR drive it)
fronts are 95db [91db if SPL Anechoic 1w/1m(db)]
surrounds are 95db [91db if SPL Anechoic 1w/1m(db)]
centre is 95db [91db if SPL Anechoic 1w/1m(db)]
rears are 93db [89db if SPL Anechoic 1w/1m(db)]

so sifus,
what is SPL Anechoic 1w/1m(db) & why is this lower?

0.0138sec    0.90    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 02:52 AM