Need help with Power Amplifier selection, sifus advice welcomed
htkaki
Sep 28 2009, 06:00 PM
QUOTE(jchong @ Sep 28 2009, 04:32 PM) Yup, looks like a power amp is called for  87dB sensitivity is on the lower side. That means your speaker is twice as power hungry as a 90dB speaker. You keeping the MTS-01 for yourself or is it eventually going to be the demo model in the showroom? Not keeping it as it is too reflective for my pj room.
jchong
Sep 28 2009, 06:58 PM
QUOTE(htkaki @ Sep 28 2009, 06:00 PM) Not keeping it as it is too reflective for my pj room. Even with your foams cannot control it?
taqies
Sep 28 2009, 09:08 PM

QUOTE(saprozeldo @ Sep 28 2009, 04:49 PM) fronts are 95db [91db if SPL Anechoic 1w/1m(db)] surrounds are 95db [91db if SPL Anechoic 1w/1m(db)] centre is 95db [91db if SPL Anechoic 1w/1m(db)] rears are 93db [89db if SPL Anechoic 1w/1m(db)] so sifus, what is SPL Anechoic 1w/1m(db) & why is this lower?Here is a review of behringer 1500's small brother,(behringer A500) http://www.hifiwigwam.com/view_topic.php?id=45052&forum_id=7as for the SPL, Anechoic refers to a situation where the sound is not reflected in any way, (eg, open field, treated chamber). Why this is lower? the only reason I can think of is because there is no summation of reflected sound in the frequency range(I might be wrong). I do think the standard is to take the measurement in anechoic chamber.
jchong
Sep 28 2009, 10:39 PM
QUOTE(saprozeldo @ Sep 28 2009, 04:49 PM) what is SPL Anechoic 1w/1m(db) & why is this lower? As taqies already mentioned, anechoic is measured where there is no echo/reflection. In a room, due to the room boundaries you will get additional dB from the reflections. Added on September 28, 2009, 10:47 pmOh, I did find some reviews on the Behringer EP1500: http://reviews.harmony-central.com/reviews...ger/EP1500/10/1http://www.bgra.net/2004/review.php?id=51&type=poweramphttp://www.musicgearreview.com/reviews.php...opower%20EP1500This post has been edited by jchong: Sep 28 2009, 10:47 PM
htkaki
Sep 28 2009, 11:24 PM
QUOTE(jchong @ Sep 28 2009, 06:58 PM) Even with your foams cannot control it? Unless I cover the sides of the loudspeakers. The piano finish is jsut too reflective. Need to get rosenut finishing
jchong
Sep 29 2009, 09:38 AM
Ah, you mean light reflective! I thought you're talking about sound reflection.
htkaki
Sep 29 2009, 09:50 AM
My bad, always 'encode' wrong message. Sorry for misleading you. The last time when I mentioned 'clean', someone mistook it as the characterisctic of the avr. What I meant was that it is free from 'coloration' and loss of details that are associated with 'peaks' and 'valleys'. What is the correct term to use?
jchong
Sep 29 2009, 10:14 AM
QUOTE(htkaki @ Sep 29 2009, 09:50 AM) The last time when I mentioned 'clean', someone mistook it as the characterisctic of the avr. What I meant was that it is free from 'coloration' and loss of details that are associated with 'peaks' and 'valleys'. What is the correct term to use?  Beats me what is the term to describe the sound from a flat freq response graph. Even the term 'clean' is not clearly defined. Yes, it connotes free from coloration - but coloration is not only caused by peaks and valleys. Coloration can also come from distortion (which is a function of the amp and driver). Some people also say 'clean' is being free from boominess, which can relate to ported vs sealed. So yeah, it's confusing out there...
htkaki
Sep 29 2009, 10:25 AM
Wonder if there is a dictionary for music / home theatre jargons, easy for us.
musickaki
Nov 3 2010, 09:33 AM
Hi everyone, Emotiva power ampI only have a pair of front speakers as I'm going back to stereo music. Speakers : Definitive Technology Mythos STS Supertower AV amp : Marantz SR6003 Bluray player : Oppo BDP-83 CD player : Emotiva ERC-1 I want to add power amp but cannot decide between two UPA-1 or one XPA-3. (1) Hope some sifu can give opinion on these 2 models or (from experience) Emotiva amps in general. (2) Will it make any difference if I move up to 200wpc power amp? SR6003 rated 100wpc. But I found on internet that its measured power when 2 channels driven is actually about 133watts already. (3) Will SR6003 be damaged if I only use 2 channels for long term? Thank you very much in advance
htkaki
Nov 3 2010, 09:43 AM
I thought your Def Tech STS is an active loudspeakers, no?
pierreye
Nov 3 2010, 09:51 AM
QUOTE(musickaki @ Nov 3 2010, 09:33 AM) Hi everyone, Emotiva power ampI only have a pair of front speakers as I'm going back to stereo music. Speakers : Definitive Technology Mythos STS Supertower AV amp : Marantz SR6003 Bluray player : Oppo BDP-83 CD player : Emotiva ERC-1 I want to add power amp but cannot decide between two UPA-1 or one XPA-3. (1) Hope some sifu can give opinion on these 2 models or (from experience) Emotiva amps in general. (2) Will it make any difference if I move up to 200wpc power amp? SR6003 rated 100wpc. But I found on internet that its measured power when 2 channels driven is actually about 133watts already. (3) Will SR6003 be damaged if I only use 2 channels for long term? Thank you very much in advance  If your speaker is 8ohm, go for 2xUPA-1. Only when your speaker is 4ohm, then go for XPA series. Read their technical document that in 4ohm, UPA series had higher distortion. In fact there is some comparison done that if your speaker is efficient and never use more than 25% of the rated wattage of your amp, there would be not much difference. HTKAKI, you didn't goreng him Krell amp or SVS Ice Amp?
mpyw
Nov 3 2010, 09:55 AM
XPA all the way just in case you wanna change speakers  and can PM me for my XPA-3 as I might wanna sell it....
htkaki
Nov 3 2010, 10:55 AM
QUOTE(pierreye @ Nov 3 2010, 09:51 AM) If your speaker is 8ohm, go for 2xUPA-1. Only when your speaker is 4ohm, then go for XPA series. Read their technical document that in 4ohm, UPA series had higher distortion. In fact there is some comparison done that if your speaker is efficient and never use more than 25% of the rated wattage of your amp, there would be not much difference. HTKAKI, you didn't goreng him Krell amp or SVS Ice Amp? At the 1st place, I thought Def Tech STS is an active loudspeakers. IIRC, Mythos is 8ohm with fairly good sensitivity. Above 91dB, if not mistaken. So, probably the improvement is not much with a power amp. Unless, we are talking about 4-6ohm with 86-<no spam links>. In his case, if he still want to proceed with it, I vouch him to get XPA3 from mpyw. Won't be that damaging to his wallet On another note, I am eyeing a Krell power amp; 250W/ch
musickaki
Nov 3 2010, 11:33 AM
Yes, STS is active. Each tower has own power cord. Efficiency around 93db. Impedance 4 to 8ohm (Def Tech say in reality speaker impedance goes up & down when singing).
So I'm confused power amp make difference or not. Like you said, if 'efficiency' is most important, then maybe no difference for me even with power amp. My normal listening level is -20db to -15db on SR6003.
Tai kor - what is 'secondary capacitance'? Big difference b/w UPA1 (80,000uF) & XPA3 (60,000uF). Matter or not?
Thanks again. Sorry for so many questions .... still newbie-lah.
pierreye
Nov 3 2010, 11:42 AM
capacitor is the reserve power as music/sound is dynamic. Sometime it need a short burst of power beyond what the outlet can provide, so the reserve capacitor will provide enough juice to the amp.
htkaki
Nov 3 2010, 12:10 PM
bro pierreye, any new toys lately?