Nissan sentra vs toyota vios

dstl1128
post Nov 16 2009, 08:21 AM

4,464 posts

The Sentra 1.6 are way more comfortable interior & has larger cabin. And that's about it. However it is more floaty than Vios & not as zippy as the smaller Vios & lousier FC.

Honestly, if anyone wanna own one (Sentra) or Vios, please stop comparing the FC of both, coz if he concerns too much about FC, so he better finds a Kancil or cars with smaller cc.

It is legitimate to consider FC as fuel price will be slowly becoming luxurious item - especially where 1 car is more zippy & also lighter in FC, while the other 'underpowered' & heavier FC; do remember Kancil 660cc doesn't offer the power available in these 1.5L/1.6L and even Kancil doesn't have such good FC as the 1.5L.

The only useless point for FC is when comparing 'powerful' or 'powderful' cars.
dstl1128
post Nov 17 2009, 08:15 AM

4,464 posts

QUOTE(x_barrage @ Nov 16 2009, 06:55 PM)
Kancil & Viva 660cc has better FC than any 1.5L car especially VIOS. I had heard ppl said more cc more better FC. However I’m experience different. While VIOS FC average around 14-15km/L, Kancil/Viva 660 average FC has 18.5km/L. I can fill RM50 on Vios for KL-Ipoh, but I just need RM35 KL-Ipoh for Kancil/Viva.
For comparison, Sentra 1.6 (MT) is also around 14km/L. While Sentra 1.6 (AT) around 13km/L.
Although capacity correlates FC closely, it still widely depends on other factors. Smaller capacity cars will see huge, and I mean HUGE, savings when driving in seriously congested/stop-n-go roads. Otherwise a 1.5L could reach 18.6km/L even constant on 130km/h for 375km stretch. FC measurement varies widely and very dependent on road/traffic condition as well as journey length. And the 'sweet' spots for the performance/FC balance, IMO, seems to hover on 1.5L +/- 0.3L for sedan; and 0.9L +/- 0.2L on k-cars.

QUOTE(x_barrage @ Nov 17 2009, 01:44 AM)
VVT-I is Toyota terms their variable valve timing. Had been used since 1996 & still same with VVT-i not like VTECH to i-VTECH or VTC to cVTC. Nissan use term VTC especially on Sentra N16 2001 until now. On newer model such as Latio & Grand Livina they got cVTC & X-cVTC for Sylphy. Not to mention VVL & Neo-VVL for Nissan's performance engine. While Honda with their iDSi , VTECH & i-VTECH.

While it term are different, the main goal is same & I don't think there is too much different. At this moment, only Honda's boy can proud with their adding i on VTECH (i-VTECH) although they probably doesn't even know how it work.
Dug out my old post: Variable Valves marketing names

This post has been edited by dstl1128: Nov 17 2009, 08:22 AM
dstl1128
post Nov 17 2009, 02:37 PM

4,464 posts

QUOTE(x_barrage @ Nov 17 2009, 11:37 AM)
That's why I said average driving condition. We don't always go for highway when we decided to buy city car (K-car) do we? Same as most people with VIOS or Honda City. Not to mention 1.5L City iDSi only has 8 Valve so driving in high speed after 3000RPM will consume more fuel than other car.
Average driving condition Vios FC is still far better than Sentra and still better than Kancil 660, not to say the responsiveness is also better.

And regardless of 8 valve or iDSI, driving high speed after 3000RPM definitely consume more fuel. Whether it would be more than other car, depends on which comparables are you talking about?
dstl1128
post Nov 23 2009, 07:44 AM

4,464 posts

QUOTE(x_barrage @ Nov 23 2009, 01:31 AM)
Who knows what Nissan put on their early QG batch production. Nissan Sunny 130Y around 8km/L considered best at it's time. Early QG18DE should higher than 8km/L.
A similar car Toyota GL KE70 could get at least 13km/L and you still consider 8km/L best at it's time? Come on.

The highest FC record I got should be 670km per 45L for 100% highway drive. That make around 14.8km/L. That time my mileage still below 10000km so all part still tight to got real FC. However, there are people at NismoClub forum claim it can reach 700km so around 15km/L. That if you think VIOS FC is far better with only 1.2km per liter comparing to Sentra which is 1.6cc

Using 100% highway drive for your Sentra can you get 14.8km/L and using the figure to compared to a FC of non-100% highway drive of Vios - you win!! notworthy.gif
hmm.gif I know where we are getting...

p/s: For all I know with my Vios, 100% highway FC I got 3.8km/L more than your Sentra (not the meager that you dream of 1.2km/L).
dstl1128
post Nov 30 2009, 10:14 AM

4,464 posts

QUOTE(x_barrage @ Nov 28 2009, 07:06 PM)
Adding:
They also yet to see N16 1.6 (MT) smokes Civic 2.0 i-vtec...brows.gif

The video shows more of a broken speedometer than smoking any car. Unless I've missed something important in there. rclxub.gif

p/s: FYI, Savvy 1.2L or MyVi 1.3L could cruise at that speed.

This post has been edited by dstl1128: Nov 30 2009, 10:16 AM

0.0155sec    0.47    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 01:27 AM