Shoes for (real) men

Human Nature
post Jun 27 2011, 11:02 PM

- student of human nature -
26,532 posts

Hi, what color pairs nicely with black pants? And how long lasting are these shoes? smile.gif
Human Nature
post Jul 31 2011, 07:10 PM

26,532 posts

Bought a Florsheim captoe today, in cognac. Only this and another derby are available in my size. Pick this one up. My first captoe wub.gif

This post has been edited by Human Nature: Aug 2 2011, 11:32 PM
Human Nature
post Aug 14 2011, 10:57 PM

26,532 posts

milosevens, picture of your acquisition please :-)
Human Nature
post Aug 18 2011, 10:01 AM

26,532 posts

where did you purchase it from?
Human Nature
post Aug 18 2011, 01:07 PM

26,532 posts

Thats a good price. Awesome mate.
Human Nature
post Aug 23 2011, 09:28 PM

26,532 posts

^ nice one. What brand and damage?
Human Nature
post Sep 21 2011, 08:39 PM

26,532 posts

QUOTE(rayng18 @ Sep 21 2011, 03:07 PM)
Have to check the shoes and the detailings thoroughly as workmanshiip for fakes is obviously not up to standard. Hardly see any fake Florshiem tho.

Last year managed to grab a Florsheim brogues for RM300 and surveyed in Robinson selling at RM799.
you got the Florsheim brogues online too?
Human Nature
post Oct 15 2011, 04:36 PM

26,532 posts

Taking Florsheim shoes as an example, why do they cost so much higher in stores around Malaysia, RM900 minimum compared to their online store at $100 minimum? Is this the same with stores at other countries too?
Human Nature
post Oct 17 2011, 12:26 PM

26,532 posts

QUOTE(Grimm @ Oct 17 2011, 12:55 AM)
Asked that many pages back. It's the marketing and the hype and taking advantage of the "more expensive means higher quality" mentality Malaysians tend to have.

I think for $100-200, it is pretty decent. It is obviously one or two tiers below AEs, Loakes and Churchs.
Thank you for the insight. So i can expect better price in overseas smile.gif Loakes and Churchs are certainly beyond my reach now hehe

Added on October 17, 2011, 12:28 pm
QUOTE(fuzzy @ Oct 17 2011, 11:10 AM)
Can someone help explain the differences between these two pair of Florsheim?

Canfield: http://www.florsheim.com/shop/style/18430.html

Whitworth: http://www.florsheim.com/shop/style/15038.html

I'm getting a pair as a gift and have been asked to choose between both, I've read up on this thread and it sounds like Canfield's Goodyear welt is better, but I would like to know the big difference between both and which would be better value?
one is a derby, one is an oxford biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by Human Nature: Oct 17 2011, 12:30 PM
Human Nature
post Oct 17 2011, 01:18 PM

26,532 posts

QUOTE(fuzzy @ Oct 17 2011, 01:03 PM)
Thanks!
Canfield is the derby while Whitworth is the oxford right?
Which one would you recommend? I'm leaning towards Canfield.
You are right. Appearance wise i will go with Whitworth, but it's just a personal preference smile.gif
Human Nature
post Oct 17 2011, 06:17 PM

26,532 posts

QUOTE(MeToo @ Oct 17 2011, 05:46 PM)
Florsheims here... they have 50% discount! 70% Discount! So... they markup to insane prices to try to project an exclusive image.. then slash price by half to get rid of old stock.. funny.
The huge discounts, sadly, only applicable to old stocks and those odd sizes. Other models remain exorbitantly priced..

fuzzy, do post the pics when you get them wink.gif
Human Nature
post Oct 24 2011, 08:26 PM

26,532 posts

QUOTE(kelvinftg @ Oct 24 2011, 05:23 PM)
Finally bought myself a proper pair of shoes. Loake 1880 Oxfords from Plal. I've been wearing Rockport all these while.

I have also just come to actually think why majority of men feel that shoes costing more than RM 500 is considered expensive. When we can splurge thousands on IT gadgets, car accessories, wallets, watches etc. I can understand watches, as I do splurge on them as well and feel that spending a few thousand on a watch is very easily justified.

When I paid for the Loakes, I felt that I was spending too much. However, all that feeling went away the moment I wore them out for the first time. What a glorious feeling. Can't decide if it's a good thing or not as I feel that there're more shoes to come! Which leads to more spending!
congrats on your purchase rclxms.gif share some pics
Human Nature
post Nov 15 2011, 03:08 PM

26,532 posts

QUOTE(Jganne @ Nov 15 2011, 02:42 PM)
the link isn't working sad.gif
try again, it works fine for me
Human Nature
post Nov 15 2011, 05:56 PM

26,532 posts

If you can top up by, say another 200, try heading to the florsheim store, some sizes or pairs may give you good discount
Human Nature
post Nov 15 2011, 09:10 PM

26,532 posts

Well, I am merely suggesting based on dvlzplayground need.

Indeed they are heavily marked up when they reach our shore. However, some pairs were selling at about RM450-RM500 after 70% discounts..at least they are goodyear welted, full leather...rather than spending RM300 for bata quality.

Of course if dvlzplayground can fork up a lil bit higher, RM699 cheaneys definitely =)
Human Nature
post Nov 15 2011, 11:59 PM

26,532 posts

Haha Grimm, it's more like forum poison
Human Nature
post Nov 16 2011, 11:25 AM

26,532 posts

QUOTE(sembilan @ Nov 16 2011, 10:15 AM)
Sorry if i sounded harsh Human Nature, but yeah, my bad.
glad to share our thoughts..you actually make me realise that the M$ at Plal's website refers to ringgit, and not usd$ haha
Human Nature
post Mar 19 2012, 08:08 PM

26,532 posts

Lucky me, i found 2 pairs going for 70% off the last time i visited, my size!
Human Nature
post Mar 20 2012, 11:00 AM

26,532 posts

Which brand carries small sized brogue, size 5? Wondering if there is any at Plal's

This post has been edited by Human Nature: Mar 20 2012, 11:02 AM
Human Nature
post Mar 20 2012, 07:17 PM

26,532 posts

Yup, so small size ><

0.0303sec    0.56    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 03:01 AM