HELP: Buying LCD 32", Pana TH-L32X10K or LG 32LH20

TSjimix
post Sep 24 2009, 08:28 PM, updated 17y ago

Hi All! Noob here.

im getting our family 1st lcd. have surveyed recent market and narrowed down to two models:

Panasonic TH-L32X10K & LG 32LH20R

i have few questions and hope sifus can help:

1) which model is better to watch astro (sports), normal dvd and play game ps2?
(i understand plasma is the best but it is currently out of my budget & using s-video cable helps improve viewing)

2) where can get best price paying 0% installment using aeon credit card?

rgds,

jimix
kevinc66
post Sep 24 2009, 09:42 PM

197 posts

The panasonic 32x10k color seems more natural than the LG. Lg is slightly cheaper than Panasonic. Watching DVD, Astro or gaming with 32" LCD won't much problem for you. Unless if you opt for larger screen like 42" LCD than LCD not advisable. Picture distortion and artifacts in 32" LCD is less noticable. cool2.gif
sonerin
post Sep 24 2009, 10:34 PM

8,740 posts

I suggest to go for panasonic
TSjimix
post Sep 24 2009, 11:03 PM

Thanks kevinc66 & sonerin.

quite tempted with lg since price is much cheaper & some how i think they have more features than pana. but pana is strong brandname & can sleep soundly with out worrying about the tv breaking down easily.

jusco is giving rm1999 with rebate(?) for panasonic & rm1399 after rebate for lg. saw your offer kevinc66 on your website. just wanto ask if you dun mind, best offer for pana with 0% installment?

This post has been edited by jimix: Sep 24 2009, 11:04 PM
htkaki
post Sep 25 2009, 12:58 AM

Maxx Audio Visual
14,193 posts

Bro, LG came out with LH25 to replace LH20. Just fyi
TSjimix
post Sep 25 2009, 01:05 AM

wow really..

htkaki, whats the different from lh20? extra features of lh25?

mmm its getting tough to decide.
azxel
post Sep 25 2009, 09:34 AM

moological mooster
3,421 posts

Personally, I feel that the Panasonic TH-L32X10K for RM1999 is rather expensive... especially just for a 32" LCD TV.
kevinc66
post Sep 25 2009, 11:35 AM

197 posts

Yeah, htkaki is right LH20R has since been replaced by LH25R. The diffrent is just extra USB port for the LH25R. Apparently according to LG the USB port is for servicing purposes only. Not that you can download movies into thumb drive and play in it.

Not much different between LH20R and LH25R, except the latest model.

Panasonic is the better model. 2 years warranty and the color is more natural and vibrant, seems pop-up out from the TV even just out of the box. LG seems too high in constrast level. But the GUI for LG is all time impressive.
taymichael
post Sep 25 2009, 11:36 AM

65 posts

nah..i dun think the panasonic for 32 inch screen better..in terms of fast movement..it seems abit slower....go for LG much more better.!or sharp!
kevinc66
post Sep 25 2009, 11:45 AM

197 posts

Both LCD still come with response time. Can't really tell the different with the movement. High constrast level always seems to give sharper and clearer picture but can tired your eyes easily and faster.
TSjimix
post Sep 25 2009, 12:19 PM

thats what i thought that jusco's price on the high side for 32".
to date, reading all the responds, im leaning to lg as its value for money n features. but surfing the forum, saw pana is a little bit higher only in price. very competitive.............

Added on September 25, 2009, 12:23 pmanyway, whats the reponse time for the both models?
i saw that lg has 60,000:1 contrast compare to 20,000:1 for pana, is the amount that substantial to differentiate?

This post has been edited by jimix: Sep 25 2009, 12:23 PM
richard912
post Sep 25 2009, 12:28 PM

d('_')b
1,821 posts

For the 32" market segment, the price differential band is quite narrow. I suggest you set your budget, nail down the features you want based on what you are intending to use it for e.g. TV, movies, gaming, compare the warranty periods and go for it!

One other important point to consider (if you are able to find out), is the reliability of the unit i.e. breakdown rate. Obviously it is unwise to invest in something that ends up going to the workshop regularly, warranty or otherwise
ar188
post Sep 25 2009, 12:31 PM

9,206 posts

QUOTE(richard912 @ Sep 25 2009, 12:28 PM)
Obviously it is unwise to invest in something that ends up going to the workshop regularly, warranty or otherwise
dun worry even local made LCD is more reliable than volvo.. biggrin.gif
cabuts..
richard912
post Sep 25 2009, 12:32 PM

d('_')b
1,821 posts

kns....kena pijak again
TSjimix
post Sep 25 2009, 01:07 PM

thanks richard912 & ar188.

i will surf the forum to research on the aftersale service between the 2 company and info on breakdown rate if any.

was told that the lcd screen for lg model is 2 layered. how about pana? anyone can help?

rgds.

Added on September 27, 2009, 2:14 pmhave gone to see both side by side. found that:

1) both have 2 layered screen (which is good for my family as i have kids n afraid if they throw things at it, if 1 layer might break easily)

2) 2 years warranty

3) response time about 4-5 ms

4) LG colour is so vivid! this is great for playing games but to watch tv/movies it will tire eyes. Pana gives more natural and are ease on the eyes

5) Pana has IPS panel which is great if view from the side as it does not deter colours of image

conclusion:

the image that pana projects is better than lg to my eyes. with IPS is surely a plus point & furthermore the reliability the name carries is something that makes me feel secure.

* now i have to look for shops that can give me good deal with 0% installment using AEON credit card, anyone?

regards and thanks!

This post has been edited by jimix: Sep 27 2009, 02:14 PM
pcm123
post Nov 19 2009, 02:32 PM

468 posts

hi guys, is there any significant difference between pana th-l32 C v pana th-l32 X ?

i only know that the X has an additional s-video input ,
but picture wise it should be the same rite ?

i am thinking of getting the th-l32 C , but worrying whether the S-Video input is that important ?

peter32
post Nov 19 2009, 06:21 PM

心旷神怡
1,162 posts

Hi, just my two cents.

I was meant to get a panasonic last months, but the truly basic model (can't remember the number) comes with very minimal connection options.

So I have to do a last minute browse across the board in that shop, where they are showing only the astro channels at that time.

I ended up getting a Sharp 32', which I think, has the most neutral colours, natural skin tone, and least edgy distortion on the displayed images among the LG, Panasonic, Toshiba, all displaying side by side.

And that model also has the most connection options, with I think 2 HDMI's, audio and video out (which I wanted badly to connect to a wireless headphone), with other standard composites, component in, etc.

That cost me less than other models too.

I got it in the shop of one of the forum seller in Penang.

Just to let u know. Sharp perhaps is still worth looking at.

0.0182sec    0.75    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 02:56 AM