QUOTE(newbie99 @ Apr 18 2010, 02:59 PM)
It's not bad a pay, but quite a few people i know are earning that much.. or more. Even the chrysathemum tea seller by the roadside near my office earns around 15k a month. He sells 500 glass a day, can go up to 800 a day if weather is hot. Each glass is Rm1. His cost - 2-3 bags of Chrysanthemum flowers, and 3-5kg of sugar. That works out to be around RM10-15 for cost for one whole day.
F&B industry can earn a lot. Need to have lubang with all the wet market people. There is this noodle shop nearby my place that sell all kinds of kon low and soup (laksa, loh mee, kuey teow soup, mee hoon kueh and etc.). Their daily profit margin about RM2K - RM3K. People coming in and out, tahpao 6 - 10 packets at a time. Some customers even take away another after eating there. lol
His wife, a helper and 2 maids. 5 people, sometimes his 2 daughter are there to help out.
The boss drives a new Camry. I know he can afford a 5Series but low profile.
The reason why their food is so laku is beecause of the generous portion given. A big bowl of laksa (RM4) eat until you burp non stop. And if you're one of their regular customers, will get special portion also.

I go there at least 3 times per week.
QUOTE(Jurlique @ Apr 18 2010, 05:00 PM)
True of not, chrysanthemum seller RM15K. If that's the case, all no need to study liao.. just open a stall selling chay kuey tiau can edy.
You can adapt to kopitiam environment or not?
QUOTE(Grimm @ Apr 18 2010, 07:22 PM)
Yup. Tax-free income is damn crazy. Us, salaried workers, we are taxed. Hawkers and other odd job workers do not get taxed.
There's this guy in Melbourne who got interviewed by some people. He was a very shaggy fellow, with an unshaven appearance and always acted like a beggar. He would wash people's car wind-screens for two dollars, and usually the owners of those cars will throw in some tips or buy him lunch or something.
One day, he washes wind-screens for 8 hours. He managed to do like 250 windscreens per day for 2 dollars or something, and took back like 200 bucks in tips. That's 700 dollars per day. Plus, he gets free meals. Say he works 300 days in a year. Thats 210k, tax free!!
The amounts i posted were fictional, i forgot the details, but i know he got something like an annual income of 200 ~ 220k tax free. AUSSIE DOLLARS K!
To get a 200k annual income AFTER tax in Australia, you have to earn something like 380k annually, because the tax rate here is around 47%.
What job, can earn u 380k per annum?
ps : This guy has a million dollar MANSION in the most posh residential areas in Victoria and drives a beautiful SLK to work, he parks his car a hundred metres away and then goes to his work place - in torn clothes, face all dirty dirty, shaggy and all, looking like a beggar!
pps : you can't wash your own car in victoria (thats what i heard), due to drought. You can wash your windscreens though! That's why he can do this for a living - a pretty neat one at that!
That's why, for self employed people when comes to income tax, they can cheat lor. They earn RM30K per month, but income tax put RM10K per month. Who knows? Only them!
But there was this true incident happened to one poor char kuey teow unker, been selling for the past 30 years. He never once pay tax and one of the LHDN investigator went to the site to conduct a spot check. How he check? He told the boss, I need all the egg shells to do some medicine, and is willing to pay some money for it. So without suspecting any, the boss happily agreed and keep egg shells from that day onwards. After a week he got busted! The same guy came over handed him the letter to go on court, pay the income tax for the past 30 years.
He got no choice but to sell of his house (half) to pay the fine and taxes. Poor unker!