Lets Talk Salary! v3

cranx
post Mar 31 2010, 01:56 AM

1,360 posts

QUOTE(davidfish @ Mar 28 2010, 09:35 PM)
Please let me know what would be an average salary to lead a decent life in Malaysia?

Emerio is only offering me RM3400 + 300 Allowance per month .. wil this be sufficient for a single person? Please advice!

Also how much is the monthly expense on average? for Food and Accormodation etc for single person?
Wil I be able to save some money?  Also Emerio said that HP wil take care of my travel as they have Bus service for all HP employees free of cost.
depending on what is your definition of a 'decent life' RM3700 is more than enough for a single person if you lead a frugal lifestyle.

accommodation could be as cheap as RM200 for a single room (small).
food, if you dont mind budget food, RM15 per day should be sufficient. (RM15x30) = RM450 per month.

it will be a different story if you drink and party every other weekend. tongue.gif

cranx
post Aug 13 2010, 01:55 AM

1,360 posts

QUOTE(jabelix @ Aug 12 2010, 11:28 AM)
Company: mnc
Industry: railway systems construction
Title: senior eng.
Years in company: <1 yrs
Experience: 78yrs total
Salary: 8k
Qualification: degree
Benefits: medical, hospitalization and transportation & travelling claims
78 years of experience! respect!
cranx
post Aug 13 2010, 04:02 AM

1,360 posts

QUOTE(FatalitY @ Aug 13 2010, 03:58 AM)
Guys...i really need advice....here are my stats:

24 yrs
Degree holder in Hospitality Management 2008
Worked in restaurant for 1 year+(since diploma)
Advertising 6 months.
Now in this hotel 7 months and ongoing

Paying 1.4K nett in hotel. Any pointers...? Bloody lost here...=____=
where is your location? Klang Valley?
cranx
post Aug 14 2010, 03:50 AM

1,360 posts

i thought hotel is basic pay + points?
and you work in front office?
cranx
post Oct 6 2010, 02:27 PM

1,360 posts

QUOTE(kobe8byrant @ Oct 3 2010, 03:16 PM)
Position: Audit trainee
Company: Undisclosed
Job scope: Accounting work?
Benefits: Company provide training and patient with fresh grads and teaches new staff how to perform tasks
Pay: RM 18XX + OT pay per hour RM 6-7
My experience: 6 months accounts admin, first class honours

Can anyone judge if my prospective job is adequately remunerated?
extremely low overtime pay. atleast they pay though. laugh.gif
cranx
post Nov 5 2010, 03:12 AM

1,360 posts

QUOTE(tenanggt @ Nov 4 2010, 02:12 PM)
Job Title : Project engineer
Job Description : handling both project's paperwork and site coordination/supervision.
Years spent in company : from May 2010
Industry : CME works for telco
Tenure : permanent
Employment Level : junior executive
Experience before joining : Fresh Grad
Salary : RM 1950 + 250 car maintenance + claims +(1 month bonus)
Benefits : Standard
Education Level: Bachelor's Degree

Should i move to another company?how much should i ask?
seems a little underpay. but stay on until May of 2011, at least with one year experience it looks better in your resume.

cranx
post Nov 18 2010, 05:06 PM

1,360 posts

QUOTE(georgelimsk @ Nov 18 2010, 04:10 PM)
first job after grad with fizik@usm

Asahi (Japanese Com)
Sales engineer
joined july2006 @RM1800
left april2009 @RM2000

Sony Sales & Marketing (MNC)
Sales Executive
joined may2009 @RM2200
left nov2009 @RM2200

Eong Huat (local)
Business Development Exec
joined march2010 @RM2000
now RM2500
no plan to leave yet
commission based for your current job?

it seems a little low in terms of your salary growth from mid 2006 to 2011. (RM1800 ~ RM2500) hmm.gif
cranx
post Nov 27 2010, 04:44 AM

1,360 posts

QUOTE(underpressure @ Nov 26 2010, 01:40 AM)
I think in a few years you might see a large gap in income. MNC paying more than 3k for fresh where as local firms will continue to pay less than 2.5k or a lot more lower. Reason being the fresh grad with potential are hired by the MNC. While our local ed system continue to supply an overbundle of unqualified fresh graduate. As a result they dilute the income level as they form the majority while the minority that are talented are hoping over to other countries.
not in a few years time. some MNC is already paying between RM3~RM3.5k for fresh graduates doing non technical work.
cranx
post Jan 2 2011, 08:13 PM

1,360 posts

QUOTE(tasyha @ Jan 2 2011, 12:01 AM)
Job Title : Account
Job Desciption : Full set account
Years spent in company : 7 years
Company : Sdn Bhd (bumiputra)
Tenure : permanent
Employment Level : Senior Exec
Experience before joining : 1st job
salary : RM 3.3k.
can anyone tell me am i underpay or overpay?
may I know how much did you earn 7 years back? each year increment how many percent on average? hmm.gif
yes, you are considered underpaid for 7 years of experience.
cranx
post Jan 7 2011, 01:25 AM

1,360 posts

QUOTE(conqu3ror @ Jan 6 2011, 04:59 PM)
Mine to tell me which company you working. (or PM me)

Dude you are really over paid... only few of the thousand fresh grad will get salary >7k

Most Manager with >10yrs experience wont even have 7k

Even most fresh Phd in Malaysia wont get that high of salary.
few key points to take note if you are following this thread.

1) this is not reflecting the job market in general. For every fresh grade earning RM5k per month, there are another 100 thousand of them earning RM1.5k or less.
2) lots of bullshitting. how could we verify the truth? tongue.gif

though managers with more than 10 years of experience, and less than RM7k? what kind of managers are you referring to?
if restaurant outlet manager maybe.

I know 2 F&B manager with low pay.

A) Secret Recipe. In charged of several outlets. RM3k ++, less than RM4k.
B) Coffee Bean. Slightly less than RM3k.
cranx
post Mar 1 2011, 05:01 PM

1,360 posts

QUOTE(kentLKW @ Mar 1 2011, 04:58 PM)
Job Title : System Engineer
Job Desciption : Manage Servers and Database
Years spent in company : 1.5 month
Industry : IT (System & Database)
Tenure : Probation
Employment Level : Junior
Experience before joining : 1 year
Salary : RM 2700
Benefits : 10% of salary for petrol
Education Level: Degree in Information Systems Engineering

can i ask for increment till 3k when i confirm?
do they practice 10% of salary for petrol across the board for everyone? hmm.gif
cranx
post Mar 1 2011, 05:34 PM

1,360 posts

QUOTE(august.decision @ Mar 1 2011, 05:25 PM)
the salary is ok with my almost 8 years of working experience?
may i know where is ur company located? kl or seremban?
if you stay in one company and no promotion of your position, the salary increase tend to be rather slow.
a lot of times, the seniors felt frustrated when the newly hired are getting equivalent or only slightly lower than what they are getting.

i am not sure about the situation in Seremban but the fresh graduates i hire are all getting a salary close to RM3k these days. (youngest 1989)

0.0427sec    0.24    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 05:15 PM