Lets Talk Salary! v3

calvinteh
post Mar 11 2010, 10:50 AM

County boy in Urban jungle
346 posts

Job Title : Project Manager
Job Desciption : Manage projects (software applications) in which that will be implemented to Broker Houses in Malaysia
Years spent in company : 2nd month >.<
Company : Local Berhad Company
Industry : Software / Finance
Tenure : permanent
Employment Level : Management Level 2
Experience before joining : 9 years working in IT industry... of course i do not have a Degree but merely an advance diploma. However, I have an expired MCSE and MCSA cert ... I'm working on getting my PMP so well i hope for the best.
salary : RM 4.3k + Parking + Mileage + Attendance allowance of RM12 a day.

Man I feel I've been cheated to join this company. after 1 month here I feel bored as hell, no one has time to train me on the trade market system, and I've been sitting here all day doing nothing but looking at forums.

I have enough experience for project management. about 3 years to be exact. but i feel like i'm in a hole unable to get out....any job recommendations? ke ke ke

This post has been edited by calvinteh: Mar 11 2010, 10:51 AM
calvinteh
post Mar 11 2010, 11:43 AM

346 posts

QUOTE(vey99 @ Mar 11 2010, 11:37 AM)
be a broker la.

i would if i know the damn process... this company isnt giving me much training on their own products and protocol....
before this i was working with a company that does Telekom Malaysia's projects for networks...was happy there with the workload being heavy all the time.

i left coz the internal structure was sucky... but looks of it, this new company isnt very far off as well haha
calvinteh
post Mar 11 2010, 12:05 PM

346 posts

QUOTE(vey99 @ Mar 11 2010, 11:52 AM)
i dont think u should *expect* to be trained on them
when u work there u should have oportunities to find out urself either through the job or by networking wif the staff
i usually learn things up myself and see how people go through with their jobs.
but issue with this new company is, the people here are so closed out. socializing apparently isnt their forte.

u ask 1 question, they answer just that question then keep quiet and back to work.
man i dunno how long i can keep up with this...
calvinteh
post Mar 11 2010, 01:02 PM

346 posts

QUOTE(vey99 @ Mar 11 2010, 12:57 PM)
i agree best time is break time to talk to them.

but then again many ppl just wont share info unless u are *useful* to them
yup just had lunch with them....ironically, the only things they share is the negativity of the company....gg
calvinteh
post Mar 11 2010, 03:00 PM

346 posts

QUOTE(aliceyin @ Mar 11 2010, 02:43 PM)

Hopefully you all are doing well. Would like to ask you all some opinion. What do you think the salary of the below Post?
Product Trainer

Requirements:

* Candidate must possess at least a Diploma / Bachelor's Degree in Computer Science/Information Technology or equivalent.
    * At least 1-2 year(s) of working experience in Software product training or related field is required for this position.
    * Possess "Train the Trainer Certificate" will be an added advantage.
    * Must be fluent in English.
    * Able to speak in Mandarin / Cantonese an added advantages.
    * Able to schedule training class, create training manual and conduct training effectively to end-user.
    * To assists the supporting software application.
    * Ability to learn New Products rapidly and pass the learning to end-user.
    * Willing to conduct training class continuously within a week in a very tight schedule.
    * Willing to travel to Branches or Customers site to conduct training class.
    * Must possess own transport.
hmm... if it's a big company u still can possibly squeeze RM2.5k out of it.
but if just a small company, maybe RM1.8 only
calvinteh
post Mar 11 2010, 05:53 PM

346 posts

QUOTE(aliceyin @ Mar 11 2010, 04:48 PM)
Aiii.....  My Current Salary is almost RM4K, but they said they can only offer RM2.8K after the interview. But I like the job so much, and Money is important for me as I need to provide financial support for my family. Do not know how....
hmm i guess sometimes we have to be practical also. this clearly is a question of whether u LIKE the job or you NEED the job.
if your current salary can give u this much, ma stick by lo.

else u can try negotiate with the new company. usually if they say they can give u 2.8k, it could mean they are just trying to push u down to entry level pay.
calvinteh
post Mar 12 2010, 11:20 AM

346 posts

QUOTE(deeplyheartbroken @ Mar 12 2010, 11:06 AM)
Just want to ask whether can file constructive dismissal on a case like this;

Work as sales, marketing & product trainer (under sales department) in this company for 3 years+
First 1-2 year performance is good with constant credit from the MD & GM as well as overseas affiliates' colleagues.
However 3rd year performance dropped due to personal/breakups/family/health problem coupled with somehow frequent medical/emergency leaves (all within the limit).

Anyhow, the person already resigned for some time now. So he probably can't file anything against the company, but just want to ask whether he got a chance back then. Please share.
wow a facewall!! haha
but from what i see...

1) performance dropped out due to personal issues...seems like what i've been through as well only not as bad as this person.
2) when performance goes down, one should always try to find ways to re hold your performance again. that is of course u still wanna keep the job.
3) what the company did sounds so much like a chinaman company tongue.gif

i think what i'm trying to say is that no, u cant do anything to the company UNLESS u did not sign the agreement letter for disabling you to sue the company. but if you hadnt sign it, u can actually bring this up to IR to file a complain. as you have the receipts of claims to proof your expenditure.

as for EL / MC problem, i think this is the person's fault as he/she shouldnt exceed or reach its quota. example, u have 14 days MC a year which means pro rated u can only take 1 1/2 days MC a month. unless justifiable why you take more than 3 days a month.

EL wise, well... it's pretty subjective as EL can possibly mean actual emergency nature hence u had to take. but if the person taken EL just because that person dont feel like working, then it's wrong also. either probably u had to lie your way on why that person take EL and the superior finds out the truth elsewhere.

All in all, based on the scenario, the person doesnt seem like committing to his job anymore, so in a way, resigning could do good rather than harm.
calvinteh
post Mar 12 2010, 11:42 AM

346 posts

agreed
calvinteh
post Mar 12 2010, 02:16 PM

346 posts

QUOTE(deeplyheartbroken @ Mar 12 2010, 02:09 PM)
The person didn't reach his quota for MC, still left around 6 days. Didn't take any unpaid leave before. Previously the person was one of the record holder in the company for most healthy award (never take MC for 2 consecutive years). It is a MNC run by chinaman.
Yes, job scope stated. Regarding the claims, he waited many months due to overwhelming detailed reports required (which must submit together with the claims, if not tally will be rejected as well) & also lots of family/personal/health problems which further delay the reports as well as the claims.

By the way, he know he cannot file any case now. Just asking whether he got chance back then.
he does have a chance back then given the fact that he did not sign the agreement.
the MNC would have to pay a certain amount to either drop the case or go ahead with the case and end would lose tongue.gif
calvinteh
post Mar 15 2010, 01:50 PM

346 posts

well i think whether is it truth or lies, it's up to u to decide and believe.

true also if ppl intend to lie on their salary, it'll not do them any good but basically lying to themselves as well.

but i do know this, working at oil and gas ppl, memang earn a long >.<
my friend doing drill repair underwater brings home about 40k a month....sigh
calvinteh
post Mar 16 2010, 09:11 AM

346 posts

QUOTE(robertngo @ Mar 15 2010, 10:52 PM)
oil rig diver is dangerous job, you friend is risking his life for the pay, are you willing to do the same?
me? haha nope. not really but i would consider it to be honest... sometimes good pay comes with dangerous consequences.

QUOTE(yeahoo80 @ Mar 16 2010, 08:52 AM)
haha....u r so naive and cute anyway.. tongue.gif

How do u know their salaries aren't lain..??

How can you prove that they aren't lying..???

How do u know their salaries are higher than me..???? who?

Why shall i look pathetic..????? in terms of my salary??

The Last, shall we together leave this thread if you are also unable to answer the abovementioned...??????

icon_rolleyes.gif
dude stop it... just chill, stop flaming others, just read and let go. y would u wanna intervene things that are perfectly ok to begin with?
calvinteh
post Mar 16 2010, 02:07 PM

346 posts

=.= driving risk and diving risk i think a bit the huge gap right? haha
calvinteh
post Mar 18 2010, 05:09 PM

346 posts

QUOTE(zydoce @ Mar 18 2010, 05:05 PM)
yap.. it's possible of course.. afaik, if want to demand higher, go to csc.. they r paying very well.. most of my friend that i know, with 1 year exp, can get at least 3.5k.. but must bear in mind that the workload is very high there..  sweat.gif
that is true....even for PM like me waiting for job opening in CSC...
i got a friend who works at the account side, she said PM gets about 4k a month for junior level but can reach up to 12k for senior....SYOK!
calvinteh
post Mar 19 2010, 11:33 AM

346 posts

that is true. usually when u dont really have a choice, whether being underpaid or not doesnt or shouldnt come into the picture already. that is unless u are so confident in urself that u can get better offer elsewhere, then by all means, search for your so called justly paid company.

lets face it, Malaysian companies has a culture to underpay their staff, that's why so many ppl left and go work for Singapore instead as they have a acceptable wager scheme. and plus singapore has lower lifestyle expenses compared to living in KL. unless u own a car there then different story.

0.0447sec    0.69    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 09:03 PM