Lets Talk Salary! v3

blessed
post Aug 27 2010, 08:38 PM

Hi guys, i'm a fresh grad, just started work for almost 2 mths..but I got another offer recently..

Job Title : Management trainee
Years spent in company : -
Company : MNC
Industry : IT
Tenure : Permanent
Experience before joining : Fresh grad
Education Level : Degree
Salary : RM 3.6k
Working hours : Mon-Fri (8am-5pm)

My current job:

Job Title : Management trainee
Years spent in company : 2 mths
Company : SME
Tenure : Permanent
Experience before joining : Fresh grad
Education Level : Degree
Salary : RM 2.4k
Working hours : Mon-Fri (8.30am-5pm), sat (half day, alternate)

Ok, it might seem like an easy choice, looking at the pay& the size of the company..
i would also think tat i'm rather stupid if i give up this latest offer..i went thru a lot of stages of interview to finally get this job offer..
but the prob is i hav also begin to really commit my self in the current company, my boss really treat me well..

he is very willing to share his exp & personally train me n arrange seniors to guide me..
i m working in a new dept in the company, the team is very small, many things are not set up yet..
but i m glad my boss is willing to give me the chance & be patient wif me to slowly learn & lead the dept..
i know very well if i can work long here, i can be the pioneer of the dept & the company..
i also feel very guilty to my current team & boss if i sudd left them when we've all jus started make some progress..
the ppl thr r very friendly, thr's almost zero politics..

but the job offer now seems like a golden opportunity for Freshies like me..it is my dream job too..just the way i wanted..
the only thing is the company is kinda far frm whr i stay now..n very troublesome as i dun own a car yet..
my current company is just 15 mins away frm my home..

help..i'm really in dilemma..pls advice.. unsure.gif

This post has been edited by blessed: Aug 27 2010, 08:42 PM
blessed
post Aug 28 2010, 08:45 PM

QUOTE(depster666 @ Aug 27 2010, 11:15 PM)
Loyalty and sentiment dont pay much these days...
maybe u're right, it's jus tat in my current company, i do see tat loyalty is rewarded thr..
the top management thr has been ard wif my boss for more than 10 yrs..
my boss also personally told me the stories of how he trained them up, he said u need not be smart, but loyal & sincere is wad he counts..
but of course, i dun think this will happen in big companies..

QUOTE(Gormaz @ Aug 28 2010, 02:19 AM)
Yar, I will have to agree with this, I enjoy my company and my colleagues really but this is an 50% salary increase... which is quite something to consider.
At the end of the day, one of the important thing is how much money lands on your acccount.

Go with pure facts comparison.

The only thing that could hold you back in your current company in my opinion is that you said it's a new team, new company etc. So much more room to grow and maybe get some management position much quicker and easier than in the MNC (where promotions usually take years). On the other hand nothing tells you the SME will still be alive in 1 year from now on, however nice the people are. Business is business and times arent easy

It's a choice between a better offer now but lower chance of promotion  (by going MNC) against lower conditions now but better future prospect (but nothing guaranteed also) in the current company.

With salary difference you can afford a car and petrol monthly quite fine.

Don't think anyone can tell you for sure what's the best since we cannot know the future, it's part of life to take this kind of "big" decision, good luck though wink.gif
haha, ya, usually if i jus look at the pay i wun even need to think..
but the chance of getting noticed & promoted...ya, competition will definitely be higher..
oh ya! i forgot to say tat my company now has been ard for 9 yrs..jus tat my dept is new..
but i was thinking too, like even if i get promoted in my co. now, how many yrs will i have to wait to get more than 3k?
i guess nothing's perfect, thr's always give & take..
when i first got my job now, i was actually quite happy wif the pay..i think not too bad, 2.4k at small co. + no exp..
but since now the new offer came..makes me feel like i've become greedy..
true, this is one "BIG" decision i have to make.. gotta make up my mind.. anyway..thx alot for the wishes...same to u!

blessed
post Sep 3 2010, 06:51 PM

QUOTE(depster666 @ Aug 28 2010, 10:56 PM)
Look at it this way, between SME and MNC, which 1 do you think would open more doors of opportunity for you in later years?
i get wad u're saying...my dream is to one day go oversea to stay & work thr for at least a few yrs..i guess a good record of working in an MNC for my resume will definitely help me wif this..anyway, i've resigned, gonna start all over again...

QUOTE(underpressure @ Aug 29 2010, 02:01 AM)
Its really hard to make decision. But my rule of thumb is which area gives me the best opportunity to develop myself. For now, is the leadership that is my boss. I know I'm very lucky to be under a wonderful and well respected boss. So when I work my best and I know my boss will watch out for me and help me develop.

So you might want to set which are your priorities. In the end might give you a ranking system to compare it objectively.

For example yours might be salary/perks as the top priorty, follow by environment/corporate culture.
it's good how u look up to ur boss.i had the same feeling wif my current boss too(or ex-boss coz i've ad resign)..

but things turned ugly when i told my boss abt my new job offer..he kinda let his emotions take over of him..
he did not scold me..but man, those words were definitely hard to swallow..he was arrogant and said tat it's not his lost but mine..say dun regret when i see him on the cover of the mag next time..how i'll join the rat race & bcum a just a normal employee by joining my new company..bla bla..

maybe what he said was right..i'll be in the rat race..i also understand why he's acting tat way, he must be pissed off coz he had made up so many plans for me...he wont's even look at me after that..
but still...i was really sad...he is definitely not the gentleman & humble boss that i've thought he was..when he once even ask me to take him as my 2nd father...i guess i was too stupid & naive to trust someone so easily..

well..at least he made it easy for me to leave the company..i left with no heavy heart, and i think i definitely won't regret..

anyway, it's time i moved on...gonna work hard to proved to myself that i can do it! icon_rolleyes.gif

blessed
post Sep 7 2010, 12:15 AM

QUOTE(underpressure @ Sep 6 2010, 01:06 AM)
Haha sounds like a colourful person.
Maybe he just sad that you're leaving him and he is trying to act tough to hide his feeling. As the saying goes "Its nothing personal, its just business."

All the best with your future endeavours!
ya....ya right, maybe he's trying to hide his feelings..anyway, thx alot underpressure...same to u!
blessed
post Sep 7 2010, 11:36 PM

QUOTE(wu_shi_han @ Sep 7 2010, 06:08 PM)
I heard thousands of fresh grad claimed how much he wanted that job, and how that job is his dream job. This include my self. However, after few years later, when you look back you will laugh. Coz there is no dream job in this world, there is only achievement that matters.

When you grow up, u will know your job at this so called MNC with 3.6k rm is not a dream job, it is a dream job coz u haven't been there yet.

If you ask me what is my dream job, well, it is definately not measured by 3.6k or MNC or 8 to 5pm kinda job...
QUOTE(underpressure @ Sep 7 2010, 08:03 PM)
I got the job I wanted. Sure it may not be my dream job, but lets be realistic here my dream job would not come to be automatically without experience. I may say other wise few years down to road. But I doubt I would ever regret this job. The culture is good, the opportunity is good and the pay is awesome. For now.
well..of course i would not be satisfied with just a 3.6k/month or to tell ppl which big company i work for for the rest of my life..
like underpressure,i'll say this is my ideal job, for now, as a good start..but in 2 yrs time, this might not be good enuf anymore..i might ask for more, or look for a diff kind of job..who knows??

ya right...we cant judge a "dream job" or "dream life" by just measuring the pay or the name of it..diff ppl judge life differently..
to me thr's no perfect job as well..as long as i enjoy wad i'm doing, i enjoy life, tat's wad's impt to me...
i do know tat i'm still young to clearly say wad i want in life..well at least i know wad i want now....

lol, dun wanna OT too much here...anyway, thx for the sharing...

0.0424sec    0.88    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 11:48 AM