How Bonuslink works?

SUSadvocado
post Sep 23 2009, 03:33 PM, updated 17y ago

2,948 posts

Am wondering how Bonuslink operates in order to make profits by giving out gifts etc for points?

I can understand how Credit Card points work as Banks make interest out of the cards, also understand Jusco card encourages people to buy from them developing brand loyalty,

but for Bonuslink which somehow looks "free" to us consumers, and seems the free gifts are bound by either bonus link or the affliated companies like Shell/Parkson who will give out vouchers & gifts.

Or is Bonuslink formed by the group of affliates which share the cost of the gifts & operations to promote people from buying from the group?

axantra
post Sep 23 2009, 03:38 PM

67 posts

QUOTE(advocado @ Sep 23 2009, 04:33 PM)
Bonuslink formed by the group of affliates which share the cost of the gifts & operations to promote people from buying from the group
you already answered it
gogol
post Sep 23 2009, 03:39 PM

its same like jusco card..

u can get point from shell, parkson or any other bonuslink partner.

once u reach at sum points, u redeem gifts. either u use personally @ sell to ur fren/family that way u can make profit la.. biggrin.gif
J-Slade
post Sep 23 2009, 03:39 PM

|[ Phenom II ]|
2,823 posts

Silly, Bonuslink works by selling info to market research company.

They have all your details. Your name, your phone number, your address, your credit card bank, Where you stay, what is your job... etc

Not only that, they know when you spend, where you spend, what you buy, how much you spend. What time of the year you spend most. What time of the year you spend least. As for petrol also (Shell), they know how frequent you pump, which outlets you pump.

Then they sell this statistics to research companies so other companies can make use of the data. For eg. When to have sales. Which outlet to sell more expensive. Which outlet must sell cheap. You will be surprised, one of the highest earning industry is the info and data providing industry.

This post has been edited by J-Slade: Sep 23 2009, 03:41 PM
SUSadvocado
post Sep 23 2009, 03:45 PM

2,948 posts

Nice, so does Bonuslink operate on it's own or is a shared venture by the affliated brands?

Just curious how they know your details as you are only required to fill in the name, address, IC & phone number?

Also I'm thinking of applying Bonuslink card, would like to know can i put in any name as i like on the Card Name since it says "name you would like to be printed on card".

Also can I enter fake Birthday & IC number? Would it be a problem when I redeem stuffs? Especially On The Spot vouchers in stores like Parkson?
Gundam Wing
post Sep 23 2009, 03:51 PM

Ghost In the Shell
641 posts

QUOTE(J-Slade @ Sep 23 2009, 03:39 PM)

They have all your details. Your name, your phone number, your address, your credit card bank, Where you stay, what is your job... etc

Not only that, they know when you spend, where you spend, what you buy, how much you spend. What time of the year you spend most. What time of the year you spend least. As for petrol also (Shell), they know how frequent you pump, which outlets you pump.

Then they sell this statistics to research companies so other companies can make use of the data. For eg. When to have sales. Which outlet to sell more expensive. Which outlet must sell cheap. You will be surprised, one of the highest earning industry is the info and data providing industry.
Wow, thanks for sharing the info, never thought of that before wink.gif
J-Slade
post Sep 23 2009, 04:12 PM

|[ Phenom II ]|
2,823 posts

QUOTE(advocado @ Sep 23 2009, 03:45 PM)
Nice, so does Bonuslink operate on it's own or is a shared venture by the affliated brands?

Just curious how they know your details as you are only required to fill in the name, address, IC & phone number?

Also I'm thinking of applying Bonuslink card, would like to know can i put in any name as i like on the Card Name since it says "name you would like to be printed on card".

Also can I enter fake Birthday & IC number? Would it be a problem when I redeem stuffs? Especially On The Spot vouchers in stores like Parkson?
Actually the one I mentioned is the extreme case. For Bonuslink they just mine the data about when and where you spend your stuff.

Yea the card you can put Obi Wan Kenobi for all they care...

I think IC number need to be real because for some redemptions they need you to show IC.

Bonuslink in itself I think is its own brand (not too sure though) but all their gifts that they give out are partners which sponsors items because they themselves are the ones who need the 'shopping data'

The one that is more extreme is those 'peraduan' or 'contest' because when you fill in the form, they WILL sell your info for stuff like telemarketing and etc. And you will be surprised how cheap you can buy these data. It ranges from 10cents to maybe few ringgit depending on what type of info these companies want to 'mine'
SUSadvocado
post Sep 23 2009, 04:26 PM

2,948 posts

Banks have all the info they'd ever need. So does government agencies, though unethical, they can sell anyone they want.
tinkerbel
post Sep 23 2009, 04:28 PM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

BonusLink doesn't just make $ via data mining. Their affiliates who join them also need to pay them X amount of $ for each point awarded.

tommy882
post Sep 26 2009, 09:33 AM

25 posts

Kinda like paying Bonuslink to sell them marketing research info on users
glitch
post Nov 21 2009, 01:24 PM

51 posts

QUOTE(J-Slade @ Sep 23 2009, 03:39 PM)

1st of all...good topics.

I dont know what is best word to describe ur reply J-slade........whether statement, accusation or an anti-bonuslink customer feedback hmm.gif . Btw, good explaination...i beleive that is the negative side for any company who is collecting our details...for positive side...search loyalty program on wiki...4 more info.

last week i got a call from a gurl...i cant recall the company name because their intro very fast.... sad.gif ... i dont even care about wat they would like to offer me... 1 thing is playing on my head.....where the heck you get my informations....which credit card i use...my phone #...... when i asked the gurl... where the hell u get this info.... she hang up....i think what j-slade posted might related what happen to me.

tongue.gif

This post has been edited by glitch: Nov 21 2009, 09:46 PM
mars1069
post Nov 23 2009, 11:14 AM

2,207 posts

I passed by 1 shell petrol station last saturday in Melaka & so happened they have "1 litre driving" fair & got some booths to promote their products; there was a bonus link game, just go in a "cage" & grab one paper within 10 seconds, I got 200 points free Bonus Link points, so simple only smile.gif
Ryuichi
post Aug 24 2010, 08:59 PM

46 posts

I think bonuslink, earn money from their affiliate.. In order to be their affiliate they need to pay a certain fixed amount.. But i had no idea how much they charge that.. as in some of their affiliate is rather very big.. and some are very small..
i had been doing research on this bonuslink, cos last few week ago i also wondering how they can gain profit.. One of my friend said they actually change their concept already.. they lower their charge rate in order to be their affiliate, but they get some percentage based on the sales.. They actually help their affiliate to market their product or service..
For their free gift, they can get a cheaper price rate i guess..

Added on August 24, 2010, 9:03 pmOh there is one think i don't really understand..
How did they check whether our IC and NAME is Valid or not??

This post has been edited by Ryuichi: Aug 24 2010, 09:03 PM
angelsinlove
post Aug 24 2010, 11:38 PM

264 posts

Bonuslink makes money by selling points to companies like Shell, Parkson and so. Each partnering company will buy an amount of points. Of course, they earn in advertising revenue as well.
rekucf
post Apr 20 2012, 01:19 PM

Selling customers data to research companies is not main business model of Bonuslink. Their main income is from commission based on sales transaction. I give you an example (the number is just assumption only):

A product is worth RM100, when customer buy with bonuslink she get 100 pt, but the merchant actual income is RM99, the RM1 goes to bonuslink bank account. For every RM1 bonuslink makes, it take RM0.10 and save it to a gift pool, so it actual income is RM0.90 per transaction.

If this customer shopping 10 times, each time also spend RM100, then the gift pool will got RM1, then it buy a RM1 worth gift. So that gift will need 1000 pt to redeem, got it?

Bonuslink business development department will try their best to adjust the point rate, commission of transaction and the redemption rate to maximize company profit.

Why merchants willing to giveaway RM1 to bonuslink? Because bonuslink loyalty system help them make more customers than usual way. That is it.

Hope this help.

regards,
Martin

kiwibird
post Feb 22 2013, 09:10 PM

141 posts

QUOTE(rekucf @ Apr 20 2012, 01:19 PM)
Selling customers data to research companies is not main business model of Bonuslink. Their main income is from commission based on sales transaction. I give you an example (the number is just assumption only):

A product is worth RM100, when customer buy with bonuslink she get 100 pt, but the merchant actual income is RM99, the RM1 goes to bonuslink bank account. For every RM1 bonuslink makes, it take RM0.10 and save it to a gift pool, so it actual income is RM0.90 per transaction.

If this customer shopping 10 times, each time also spend RM100, then the gift pool will got RM1, then it buy a RM1 worth gift. So that gift will need 1000 pt to redeem, got it?

Bonuslink business development department will try their best to adjust the point rate, commission of transaction and the redemption rate to maximize company profit.

Why merchants willing to giveaway RM1 to bonuslink? Because bonuslink loyalty system help them make more customers than usual way. That is it.
Hope this help.
regards,
Martin
rclxms.gif
kelvinlym
post Feb 22 2013, 10:26 PM

Yes, that was my car.
1,152 posts

Malaysia needs a reform on data privacy laws. Large fines must be imposed on those who mine data without explicit consent from the consumer.
act one
post Feb 25 2013, 06:18 PM

371 posts

Optional,

You can setup Point System at your own business as well.

Using your own customer base.

0.0194sec    0.45    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 10:37 PM