133 Pages « < 122 123 124 125 126 > » Bottom

AMD® Socket AM2&AM3 Overclocking V20, The times moves on..Can AMD Survive?...

sosostupid
post Dec 22 2009, 11:21 PM

222 posts

can some1 explain 1:1, 1:2 ddr frequency to me?

its actually set at 1:2 i changed it to 1:1 to overclock

but i have no idea what am i doing on the 1:1 part.

i overclocked to 3.0ghz as below:

is this okay? HT link exceeds 1k is that normal?

This post has been edited by sosostupid: Dec 22 2009, 11:22 PM
8tvt
post Dec 22 2009, 11:46 PM

Peace Lover
8,753 posts

htt mul set 3 if to increase more fsb..
need more reading though..
mozact89
post Dec 22 2009, 11:56 PM

~KAWASAKI NINJA~
1,137 posts

QUOTE(xixo_12 @ Dec 22 2009, 09:08 PM)
when intel user complaint about intel whistling.gif laugh.gif
now u know, why some of them still become a fan of amd..  brows.gif
hahaha

This post has been edited by mozact89: Dec 23 2009, 11:06 AM
-pWs-
post Dec 23 2009, 12:00 AM

8,545 posts

Haha. For me, I wont compare. Go w/ the heart. laugh.gif

-pWs-
8tvt
post Dec 23 2009, 12:02 AM

Peace Lover
8,753 posts

what game? u really sure the game not becoz of ur crappy gpu driver n also no patch/hotfix etc..
too broad to be true to say like that..

make the comparison with the same game, driver etc..
mozact89
post Dec 23 2009, 12:34 AM

~KAWASAKI NINJA~
1,137 posts

QUOTE(8tvt @ Dec 23 2009, 12:02 AM)
what game? u really sure the game not becoz of ur crappy gpu driver n also no patch/hotfix etc..
too broad to be true to say like that..

make the comparison with the same game, driver etc..
yes .. i compare with the same game.. crysis warhead & gta4...

maybe, intel+ati not so good as AMD+ati?? since amd produce ati now..

This post has been edited by mozact89: Dec 23 2009, 12:36 AM
Dura-Ace
post Dec 23 2009, 01:20 AM

395 posts

AMD!! flex.gif
guys, i google some review for 965 BE, none of them succes >4Ghz during stress hmm.gif
4Ghz cant boot, 3.9Ghz unstable, only 3.8Ghz will stable...and all of them used 790Fx rclxub.gif
actlly im planning to get Gigabyte GA-MA790FXT-UD5P,is it worth?
coz even my current mobo (785 cheap2) can get 3.8Ghz sweat.gif
not done with stress, but played boderland at end setting and plyed > 1 hour, got no prob at all sweat.gif whistling.gif

This post has been edited by Dura-Ace: Dec 23 2009, 01:23 AM
XiuKeong
post Dec 23 2009, 01:22 AM

[OMG] Sweetie™
9,436 posts

QUOTE(Dura-Ace @ Dec 23 2009, 01:20 AM)
AMD!! flex.gif
guys, i did some review for 965 BE, none of them succes >4Ghz during stress hmm.gif
4Ghz cant boot, 3.9Ghz unstable, only 3.8Ghz will stable...and all of them used 790Fx rclxub.gif
coz even my current mobo (785 cheap2) can get 3.8Ghz sweat.gif
not done with stress, but played boderland at end setting and plyed > 1 hour, got no prob at all sweat.gif  whistling.gif
If you read last 2 pages, we been discussing about mobo. Can refer to there.
verdict
post Dec 23 2009, 01:29 AM

Time is Flying By
2,458 posts

Woahh! this getting hot! i need cold drink~ sweat.gif

Chill a bit mozact dude! we at here mean no harm! Dont miss understood us, Keep it low bro! wub.gif

BTW as you mention earlier,Intel is much more better pairing with nvidia card! About the temp, its a bit heavy ehh?

But do bare in mind that both are deff architecture, and if you compare with the price then you know which one is good ehh!

Both have there own fanboys! nod.gif

Chill!~ notworthy.gif
QUOTE(Dura-Ace @ Dec 23 2009, 02:20 AM)
AMD!! flex.gif
guys, i google some review for 965 BE, none of them succes >4Ghz during stress hmm.gif
4Ghz cant boot, 3.9Ghz unstable, only 3.8Ghz will stable...and all of them used 790Fx :/stars:
coz even my current mobo (785 cheap2) can get 3.8Ghz :/sweat:
not done with stress, but played boderland at end setting and plyed > 1 hour, got no prob at all :/sweat:  :/w

Yo dude! do reffer here : 965 OC DB you cant simply assume that by having a good mobo and proc you can achieve higher oc result! doh.gif

It depends on the user/owner skills it self, if you using the "GOLDEN SHINNING SUPER DUPER EXTRME POWDERFULL MOBO" also no use, if the person it self didnt do his home work! sweat.gif

This post has been edited by verdict: Dec 23 2009, 01:44 AM
Dura-Ace
post Dec 23 2009, 08:08 AM

395 posts

QUOTE(verdict @ Dec 23 2009, 01:29 AM)

Chill a bit mozact dude! we at here mean no harm! Dont miss understood us, Keep it low bro! wub.gif

BTW as you mention earlier,Intel is much more better pairing with nvidia card! About the temp, its a bit heavy ehh?

But do bare in mind that both are deff architecture, and if you compare with the price then you know which one is good ehh!

Both have there own fanboys!  nod.gif 

Chill!~  :respect:Yo dude! do reffer here : 965 OC DB you cant simply assume that by having a good mobo and proc you can achieve higher oc result! doh.gif

It depends on the user/owner skills it self, if you using the "GOLDEN SHINNING SUPER DUPER EXTRME POWDERFULL MOBO" also no use, if the person it self didnt do his home work! sweat.gif
Thanks sis, that is is the answer im looking for...
what i meant by last post is, even otai2 around d world cant go further, ape lg i yg bru knal ape itu OC tp xthu nk OC sweat.gif
btw, i will stick to d plan, gaygay in da house!! whistling.gif
and u guys will b my teacher rite? hmm.gif notworthy.gif notworthy.gif
ah_khoo
post Dec 23 2009, 08:39 AM

- No Action Talk Only -
8,103 posts

QUOTE(XiuKeong @ Dec 22 2009, 09:53 PM)
The last time I used Bintang mobo, I got 3ghz for my 7750BE and tried to go for 3.1 but failed even at 1.5v. Already hit the limit wall.
sometimes it's not d fault of d board for more on capability of chip or user lazy to tweak it further... tongue.gif

QUOTE(colinwong89 @ Dec 22 2009, 09:49 PM)
What's the max CPU OC that anyone achieved here with a Biostar board? I'm trying to get mine up to 3.9GHz  but no go, board keeps restarting when voltages are raised too high. And I'm not sure whether bbs.ocer.net released any new modded BIOSes for the TA790 series, can't read chinese at all :/(
if ur talkin bout 790gxe 128m, i've yet to see any > 3.9GHz stable OC. but as mentioned, it could be d chip has hit its wall instead of d board. biostar sure not in d same league like those premium boards, but it's not too far from 'em. on a side note, am3 chips fare better on ddr3 platform imo. smile.gif

QUOTE(cloudwan @ Dec 22 2009, 09:17 PM)
LOL no wonder even retirees like ah_khoo doesn't wander far off from AMD still :/lol:  :/P
just wanna keep myself updated only mah bro... i'll stop postin if i'm no longer welcome here... sad.gif

QUOTE(Dura-Ace @ Dec 23 2009, 01:20 AM)
AMD!! flex.gif
guys, i google some review for 965 BE, none of them succes >4Ghz during stress :/hmm:
4Ghz cant boot, 3.9Ghz unstable, only 3.8Ghz will stable...and all of them used 790Fx :/stars:
coz even my current mobo (785 cheap2) can get 3.8Ghz :/sweat:
not done with stress, but played boderland at end setting and plyed > 1 hour, got no prob at all :/sweat:  :/w
c3 965BE is capable of that (not all thou), but it needs > 1.4v for sure, i've seen 4.1GHz prime stable ss iirc, again volt is beyond 24/7 friendly. sweat.gif

i'd be happy if i can run my chip (assumin only as i dun have any quaddy w/ me sad.gif ) @ 3.8GHz w/ < 1.4v, that kinda clock is actually very2 decent to me ledi. 790fxt-ud5p is one of d best board around, just like gd70 or asus cross hair 3 (which imo slightly better but think bout d $$$ rolleyes.gif ). from what i read, 790fxt is gud for all, from air/water or even extreme coolin while gd70 is less preferred under cold but a gud choice for normal coolin. smile.gif

d things bout premium boards are they provide more tweaking options, better mileage (not by miles, but slightly better), better build quality & etc... whether they worth d extra $$$ (in fact,they cost alot more), it is down to how deep is ya pocket & of course how important are those advantages mentioned earlier (more tweakin options, better mileage & etc) to u. if u have extra moolah, i'd say go for it coz u'll get what u pay for > satisfaction, but if u need to sacrifice other components like settlin for cheaper ram / gfx / whatsoever in order to get d board, it's not worthy for me. nod.gif

i'll always take value oc board + slightly above average ram/gfx instead of premium board + cheap ram/gfx at anytime. best if all are premium stuff but that's impossible to me unless i strike toto or accidentally kicked a bag of $$$ at d side of d road like our beloved abang gaban... laugh.gif

This post has been edited by ah_khoo: Dec 23 2009, 08:54 AM
cloudwan
post Dec 23 2009, 08:49 AM

- Knob -
8,524 posts

QUOTE(mozact89 @ Dec 23 2009, 12:34 AM)
yes .. i compare with the same game.. crysis warhead & gta4...

maybe, intel+ati not so good as AMD+ati?? since amd produce ati now..
QUOTE(verdict @ Dec 23 2009, 01:29 AM)

Both have there own fanboys!  nod.gif 

Chill!~  notworthy.gif
LOL that's what's funny, apparently Tom's Hardware or was it Anandtech did a test to see which pairing is the best and the result they get was a bit of a shocker..
Coz contradicting to what people believe it appears that Intel+Nvidia doesn't really blossom, but rather AMD+Nvidia gave them a better result in term of MIN FPS laugh.gif
The test was done using i7 & Phenom II 955 IIANM.. As for Intel+ATI or AMD+ATI it was more of a neutral, u won't get any performance hit using Intel cpu nor u gonna get extra boost using AMD cpu smile.gif
Dura-Ace
post Dec 23 2009, 09:18 AM

395 posts

QUOTE(ah_khoo @ Dec 23 2009, 08:39 AM)

c3 965BE is capable of that (not all thou), but it needs > 1.4v for sure, i've seen 4.1GHz prime stable ss iirc, again volt is beyond 24/7 friendly.  sweat.gif

i'd be happy if i can run my chip (assumin only as i dun have any quaddy w/ me sad.gif ) @ 3.8GHz w/ < 1.4v, that kinda clock is actually very2 decent to me ledi. 790fxt-ud5p is one of d best board around, just like gd70 or asus cross hair 3 (which imo slightly better but think bout d $$$ rolleyes.gif ). from what i read, 790fxt is gud for all, from air/water or even extreme coolin while gd70 is less preferred under cold but a gud choice for normal coolin.  smile.gif

d things bout premium boards are they provide more tweaking options, better mileage (not by miles, but slightly better), better build quality & etc... whether they worth d extra $$$ (in fact,they cost alot more), it is down to how deep is ya pocket & of course how important are those advantages mentioned earlier (more tweakin options, better mileage & etc) to u. if u have extra moolah, i'd say go for it coz u'll get what u pay for > satisfaction, but if u need to sacrifice other components like settlin for cheaper ram / gfx / whatsoever in order to get d board, it's not worthy for me.  nod.gif

i'll always take value oc board + slightly above average ram/gfx instead of premium board + cheap ram/gfx at anytime. best if all are premium stuff but that's impossible to me unless i strike toto or accidentally kicked a bag of $$$ at d side of d road like our beloved abang gaban...  laugh.gif
bro, u make me wanna cry.gif
and please dont give strong C poison rolleyes.gif
actually, gd70 oso in my budget range but im feel a bit waste when used single gc...
and i think my ram@gfx should be no prob rite? sweat.gif
ah_khoo
post Dec 23 2009, 09:33 AM

- No Action Talk Only -
8,103 posts

QUOTE(Dura-Ace @ Dec 23 2009, 09:18 AM)
bro, u make me wanna  cry.gif
actually, gd70 oso in my budget range but im feel a bit waste when used single gc...
didn't have d luxury to test gd-70 but if i were to have a chance, i'll pick dfi @ anytime. dun get me wrong, all are great board but bein a dfi fan, it's natural for d selection. laugh.gif

like it or not, any fx board comes w/ at least 2 pci-e x16 port, imo 790fxt has d best layout, dfi w/ 3 oso not bad while gd-70 w/ 4 is abit out to me. however, u can always add another gfx in future (if ur usin ati gfx) or even use it for pci-e based sound card which is gettin more & more common. nod.gif

have u tested ya ram ledi? is it capable of doin 1600+ @ cas 7 or 1333+ @ cas 6? u need that kinda timing w/ d clock speed that ya c2 965BE can go... it's pointless to run lax timing like cas 8/9 on high clock imo, especially for benchies... smile.gif

This post has been edited by ah_khoo: Dec 23 2009, 09:36 AM
antonio
post Dec 23 2009, 09:34 AM

AMD Phenom II & Intel i7 Overclocker
4,032 posts

QUOTE(Dura-Ace @ Dec 23 2009, 09:18 AM)
bro, u make me wanna  cry.gif
Nowadays semua PCIE lorrr...its not about quad CFX anymore.... shakehead.gif

GD70 probably the cheapest best you can get compared to CrossHair or Deluxe editions from Asus.... notworthy.gif thumbup.gif
Dura-Ace
post Dec 23 2009, 09:41 AM

395 posts

actually im lack of knowledge about the RAM, and i never test my ram yet sweat.gif
or u guys have better link about it notworthy.gif

Added on December 23, 2009, 9:41 am
QUOTE(antonio @ Dec 23 2009, 09:34 AM)
Nowadays semua PCIE lorrr...its not about quad CFX anymore.... shakehead.gif

GD70 probably the cheapest best you can get compared to CrossHair or Deluxe editions from Asus.... notworthy.gif  thumbup.gif
sweat.gif sweat.gif sweat.gif

This post has been edited by Dura-Ace: Dec 23 2009, 09:41 AM
XiuKeong
post Dec 23 2009, 09:51 AM

[OMG] Sweetie™
9,436 posts

QUOTE(ah_khoo @ Dec 23 2009, 08:39 AM)
sometimes it's not d fault of d board for more on capability of chip or user lazy to tweak it further...  tongue.gif
Everything went lazy after the corrupted bios stuff whistling.gif
ah_khoo
post Dec 23 2009, 09:56 AM

- No Action Talk Only -
8,103 posts

QUOTE(XiuKeong @ Dec 23 2009, 09:51 AM)
Everything went lazy after the corrupted bios stuff whistling.gif
well, u never check properly how to flash bios mah... bruce.gif

btw, poison for abang2 otromen... tongue.gif

source HERE

This post has been edited by ah_khoo: Dec 23 2009, 09:56 AM
-pWs-
post Dec 23 2009, 10:00 AM

8,545 posts

550 also got c3. drool.gifdrool.gif

-pWs-
ah_khoo
post Dec 23 2009, 10:02 AM

- No Action Talk Only -
8,103 posts

QUOTE(-pWs- @ Dec 23 2009, 10:00 AM)
550 also got c3. drool.gifdrool.gif

-pWs-
yup bro, i firmly believe this is not d best batch yet... there should be better batch comin... drool.gif icon_question.gif brows.gif sad.gif (for not bein able to own one)

133 Pages « < 122 123 124 125 126 > » Top

0.0255sec    0.66    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 09:39 PM