iPhone Club v10 - iPhone related news & Questions, Super-N00b FAQ/Q&A Thread

Superman7
post Dec 20 2009, 12:27 PM

11,086 posts

Quick question:

For iPhone (maxis) running on 3.1.2, I should jailbreak using BlackRa1n right?
Superman7
post Dec 20 2009, 11:05 PM

11,086 posts

QUOTE(Edoras @ Dec 20 2009, 04:45 PM)
Downloading from www.blackra1n.com is exactly the same as the RC3 version right?
Superman7
post Dec 23 2009, 01:43 AM

11,086 posts

guys.. i'm having problems downloading apps from iTunes.
It keep prompting me "We could not complete your iTunes store request. An unknown error occurred (2001).
Can someone pls guide me?

----
I found the cause of the problem. I did not have a login ID to iTunes. That's the reason for the error. After creating an Apple ID, downloading was OK.

This post has been edited by Superman7: Dec 23 2009, 04:45 AM
Superman7
post Dec 23 2009, 11:41 AM

11,086 posts

Question: even by purposely changing the APN to avoid being data charged, I still observed my data usage increasing, is that normal? or is it still being charged? I can't connect to 3G as it prompts me error in data connection. That is obviously cos I changed the APN settings.
Superman7
post Dec 23 2009, 06:31 PM

11,086 posts

I'm having the same problem. Hopefully someone can shine some light upon us.
Superman7
post Dec 24 2009, 03:48 AM

11,086 posts

QUOTE(alpham84 @ Dec 24 2009, 03:21 AM)
ever since i tried my friends iphone 3gs i really wanted to buy it .

but i  keep reading about all the problems here  and i wonder if its worth it?

how many of you are really happy with your decision to buy an iphone and how many would  rather have bought  some other phone?
What problems are you actually referring to?
There are always pros and cons in each devices..
Superman7
post Dec 27 2009, 04:29 AM

11,086 posts

QUOTE(Sae-chan @ Dec 27 2009, 04:19 AM)
I'm having the same problem as well... Really hate it coz I dun even wanna use EDGE or 3g. And they're so expensive. >_<
Hope someone can help on this issue soon... >_>
Again, read here
Superman7
post Dec 28 2009, 02:18 AM

11,086 posts

QUOTE(boringpig @ Dec 28 2009, 12:52 AM)
iPhone Generation : 3GS
Unlocked? No. Officially unlocked from Maxis
Current Firmware : 3.1.2
Current network : Maxis
iTunes Version : 9.0.2
PC/MAC : PC
Jailbreaking software : blackra1n
Problem Encountered : "Internet Tethering" option is missing
Steps Taken So Far : Reboot the device and tried other SIM
Screenshot of Problem(if applicable) :
Other Information/Remarks :

"Internet Tethering" option has always been there and turned off after I JB'ed my iPhone with blackra1n. This afternoon, I turned it on and then selected "USB" as connection method. After that, I'm not able to see "Internet Tethering" option anymore.

I've tried rebooting the device and using other SIM card but it still not there.

Any idea? Restore and re-JB would be my last choice..

Thank you..
Did you so happen to turn OFF and ON your iPhone?
Superman7
post Dec 28 2009, 12:53 PM

11,086 posts

a very n00b question: After JB, will I still be able to download apps from iTunes? or it is only possible via Cydia.
Superman7
post Dec 28 2009, 01:23 PM

11,086 posts

QUOTE(boringpig @ Dec 28 2009, 01:05 PM)
Yes, you can.
Thank you biggrin.gif
Superman7
post Dec 29 2009, 12:19 PM

11,086 posts

I have this situation.
I downloaded one free TV show from iTunes but then decided to cancel the download as the file size is >600MB.
Problem now is that each time I connect my iTunes, it will always prompt to download even if I had delete it manually.
Any solution for this?
Thaks.
Superman7
post Dec 30 2009, 02:38 AM

11,086 posts

QUOTE(Superman7 @ Dec 29 2009, 12:19 PM)
I have this situation.
I downloaded one free TV show from iTunes but then decided to cancel the download as the file size is >600MB.
Problem now is that each time I connect my iTunes, it will always prompt to download even if I had delete it manually.
Any solution for this?
Thaks.
Can anyone help me with this?
It's frustrating each time I start iTunes, it'll start to download. I can't seem to delete it..
Superman7
post Dec 30 2009, 07:11 PM

11,086 posts

-deleted-

This post has been edited by Superman7: Dec 30 2009, 07:24 PM
Superman7
post Jan 1 2010, 01:05 PM

11,086 posts

QUOTE(ELM0 @ Dec 31 2009, 02:53 PM)
no no dont take this the wrong way, no worries
i just want to clear my doubt , cause i never tried posting something back to KL before
thats y i ask haha nevermind then i just get it in KL maxis
You'll have some problem with customs and SIRIM.
Read Section G

Added on January 1, 2010, 1:09 pm
QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Jan 1 2010, 12:17 PM)
Hi peeps,

I am *suspecting* the fake APN thingy doesn't work anymore. Was in JB and was trying to get it disabled before coming into SG but it doesn't work.  Anyhow, was told there's no need to worry as long as 'Roaming' is off.
The fake APN doesn't work anymore with Maxis.
You will need SBsettings + fake APN

This post has been edited by Superman7: Jan 1 2010, 01:09 PM
Superman7
post Jan 1 2010, 01:34 PM

11,086 posts

QUOTE(lowyatguy @ Jan 1 2010, 01:32 PM)
This has been proven no longer working, ur last resorts will be
1) switch/port over to other SP
2) Jailbreak ur baby as i just did,now im no longer worry of the stupid data charges ^^
or you could call up Maxis to disable 3G services biggrin.gif
Superman7
post Feb 8 2010, 09:21 PM

11,086 posts

still not possible to upgrade 3.1.3 and jailbreak?
Superman7
post Feb 8 2010, 10:58 PM

11,086 posts

iPhone 3GS firmware 3.1.2.
Does it support Tethering via maxis?
for JB-ed phone, is the Tethering still possible?
Superman7
post Feb 9 2010, 11:49 PM

11,086 posts

anyway to re-calibrate the accelerometer besides sending it back to Apple?

0.0429sec    0.40    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 12:17 AM