::V6::Scorpion-Thread::V6::, Scorpion Conservation
Oct 29 2009, 06:21 PM
502 posts Joined: May 2009 |
If it is about genetic then i dun quite understand y liocheles australasiae din encounter this problem
Oct 29 2009, 06:26 PM
94 posts Joined: Sep 2007 From: Ampang, Selangor |
Good read. Don't know if you guys read it before. Maybe someone posted it before too but it's no harm bring it up
Link |
Oct 29 2009, 07:07 PM
34 posts Joined: Jun 2009 |
hmm, nice article. From what I know and from the article, those parthenogenesis do have advantages and disadvantages. They able to dominant in a stable environment, i.e their breeding rate is higher than bisexual sp, however they hardly able to adapt in a different environment as their gene doesnt undergo random segregation and crossing over (which allow their gene to be diversify). Hence, genetic disorder that occur in the bloodline might be carry on to every offspring.Maybe this explain why hot2 are vulnerable as they cant really cope on our environment. About LA, they are local sp, so they able to survive and stay strong as long as there is no big change in the environment. On the other hand sexually reproduce sp able to adapt, evolve into a different environment over generation, and enhance their survival in the nature.
This post has been edited by *FallenAngel*: Oct 29 2009, 07:08 PM |
Oct 29 2009, 07:12 PM
464 posts Joined: Jul 2005 From: Smurf Village |
I respect your persistance Kar. Perseverence pwns all. Muahaha. Thread ni dah makin ramai geeks. Me loves it. The world needs more bug nerds!
Oct 29 2009, 07:20 PM
QUOTE(*FallenAngel* @ Oct 29 2009, 07:07 PM) hmm, nice article. From what I know and from the article, those parthenogenesis do have advantages and disadvantages. They able to dominant in a stable environment, i.e their breeding rate is higher than bisexual sp, however they hardly able to adapt in a different environment as their gene doesnt undergo random segregation and crossing over (which allow their gene to be diversify). Hence, genetic disorder that occur in the bloodline might be carry on to every offspring.Maybe this explain why hot2 are vulnerable as they cant really cope on our environment. About LA, they are local sp, so they able to survive and stay strong as long as there is no big change in the environment. On the other hand sexually reproduce sp able to adapt, evolve into a different environment over generation, and enhance their survival in the nature. Dats wat i wanna say about ryo's hot hot genetic theory BTW i think bisexual doesnt suit,doesnt it? |
Oct 29 2009, 07:39 PM
QUOTE(*FallenAngel* @ Oct 29 2009, 07:07 PM) hmm, nice article. From what I know and from the article, those parthenogenesis do have advantages and disadvantages. They able to dominant in a stable environment, i.e their breeding rate is higher than bisexual sp, however they hardly able to adapt in a different environment as their gene doesnt undergo random segregation and crossing over (which allow their gene to be diversify). Hence, genetic disorder that occur in the bloodline might be carry on to every offspring.Maybe this explain why hot2 are vulnerable as they cant really cope on our environment. About LA, they are local sp, so they able to survive and stay strong as long as there is no big change in the environment. On the other hand sexually reproduce sp able to adapt, evolve into a different environment over generation, and enhance their survival in the nature. I beginning to love this thread. Here's some pics (better with pics than no pics at all, sorry for my 1.5M phone cam) AFS Scorpionlings communal setup. I try to keep it as Natural as possible. I added Mountain moss i got near Kelab Darul Ehsan jungle trek and river bed sand from Hulu Langat upriver on the bottom (false bottom). Cocofibre and some peat with some pothos plant ![]() Some aquarium bark that i had left from my old tank. (I saw the most off for my Avi avi Tarantula setup) ![]() those little things don't sit still.. ![]() NEXT My M.M Thinking it's from an arid area, i didnt put any water dish nor any plants or moss. ![]() Close up ![]() The one that I THINK is gravid is hiding under the slab. ![]() |
Oct 29 2009, 07:44 PM
2,313 posts Joined: May 2008 |
Well, that conclude all parthenogenic sp will have difficulty to adapt to new environment,
hence the death of some of my hot hot? But then again, we seems to forgotten that those hot hot in rafiqos hand are doing well I'm not good with genetic topic as i almost fail my science lesson so pardon me if i get the wrong meaning PS: Nice setup issac This post has been edited by RyoKenzaki: Oct 29 2009, 07:46 PM |
Oct 29 2009, 07:45 PM
127 posts Joined: Aug 2009 |
can recommend me from who can i get my first scorpion?
Oct 29 2009, 07:49 PM
QUOTE(RyoKenzaki @ Oct 29 2009, 07:44 PM) Well, that conclude all parthenogenic sp will have difficulty to adapt to new environment, In theory it seems so.hence the death of some of my hot hot? But then again, we seems to forgotten that those hot hot in rafiqos hand are doing well I'm not good with genetic topic as i almost fail my science lesson so pardon me if i get the wrong meaning PS: Nice setup issac But Scorpion King's case is unique. Defies Science. PS: thanks ryo. I wish i had a better cam |
Oct 29 2009, 07:49 PM
2,313 posts Joined: May 2008 |
U can ask Rideon for some AFS babies tkgan
Oct 29 2009, 09:24 PM
Oct 29 2009, 09:37 PM
» Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « bro, how you disinfect those moss b4 u put in the tank? ---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- I thk we should move our discussion to msc maybe, coz if people wanna read back would be a big trouble. Just suggestion. |
Oct 29 2009, 09:46 PM
which discussion? my setup or the genetic argument?
I dip them in spring water 1st for a day then in distilled water. Shine them under UV light. |
Oct 29 2009, 10:09 PM
217 posts Joined: Jun 2009 From: Seremban, Negeri Sembilan |
Anyone can help me to ID this scorpion?
http://www.flickr.com/photos/44126191@N02/4054988349/ http://www.flickr.com/photos/44126191@N02/...in/photostream/ Is it Heterometrus Spinifer?or... |
Oct 29 2009, 10:11 PM
QUOTE(tunemystylez @ Oct 29 2009, 10:09 PM) Anyone can help me to ID this scorpion? Liocheles waigiensis for mehttp://www.flickr.com/photos/44126191@N02/4054988349/ http://www.flickr.com/photos/44126191@N02/...in/photostream/ Is it Heterometrus Spinifer?or... |
Oct 29 2009, 10:15 PM
hope that its a parthenogenetic species cause its a WC specimen from a hiking trip...
Oct 29 2009, 10:15 PM
QUOTE(yltanisaac @ Oct 29 2009, 09:46 PM) which discussion? my setup or the genetic argument? UV light would kill those plant too (not sure, but i know that people do use uv light to prevent moss growing in garden water features). The genetic argumentI dip them in spring water 1st for a day then in distilled water. Shine them under UV light. This post has been edited by *FallenAngel*: Oct 29 2009, 10:17 PM |
Oct 29 2009, 10:24 PM
Oct 29 2009, 10:47 PM
239 posts Joined: Dec 2008 From: Bandar Baru Bangi, Cyberjaya, United Kingdom |
my.. moss.. still on the lookout for those live ones...
and some nice barks.. Well i do have some adult AFS for sale oso.. |
Oct 29 2009, 10:56 PM
| Change to: | 0.0198sec